Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 276 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman Legends is the follow-up to last year's Rayman Origins and aims to bring innovative multiplayer interactions for you to use.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    90
    Rayman Legends is one of the finest platform games on any system. It's bright, colourful, clever, well-designed, and the vast majority of it is a sheer joy to experience.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    A charming and inventive platformer that understands what makes the genre special, and never rests on its laurels.
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    90
    Rayman Legends falls just short of being an absolutely timeless classic, but that’s just about the worst thing anyone can say about it. It’s every bit as good as its predecessor — stronger on some fronts and a little weaker on others — and continues to strengthen Rayman’s position as an enduring gaming mascot.
  4. Sep 11, 2013
    90
    While in many ways superior to Origins I’m giving it the same score because it’s a little bit too similar in places, nevertheless Rayman Legends is one of the best platformers of all time and you should definitely buy it if you want to have a smile on your face.
  5. Sep 2, 2013
    85
    The soundtrack is 100 percent tuned into the environment, which is terrific!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Ubisoft has brought this supposed-to-be WiiU exclusive game to pc,ps3 and xbox 360 and i have to say that they have done a fine job.StunningUbisoft has brought this supposed-to-be WiiU exclusive game to pc,ps3 and xbox 360 and i have to say that they have done a fine job.Stunning visuals,great level design(you'll never get bored as you will witness something new and creative in every level),tons of levels(main game is roughly about 12 hours) and special mention to the background score.The game has a nice mixture of easy and tough levels.For gamers who want challenging levels, its gonna be extremely fun.Four player co-op is an absolute treat, and will be a lot more easier to play than single-player.It will be among the best platformers ever. Go for it! Expand
  2. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    My favourite game of 2013, by far. I'm happy to give it a 10 because it's such a pure gaming experience, and beautifully crafted. It's aMy favourite game of 2013, by far. I'm happy to give it a 10 because it's such a pure gaming experience, and beautifully crafted. It's a thrilling example of a platform game, elevated by its artistic quality to the position of a living cartoon. There's a wonderful interaction between music and visual effects which means you'll rarely be in doubt how to handle a tricky jump even when you're hurtling towards it for the first time, since you'll feel the moment in the rhythm of the music. (Incidentally, this could be a problem for deaf gamers: best to try the demo first if you have hearing difficulties.)

    There's the welcome option of female characters, and not just one but several to unlock. Rayman and the other characters didn't appeal to me much, so I used Barbara and her sisters exclusively. You're never short of choices if a particular level is causing you a problem, with lots of "hallways" of missions, daily challenges, and remastered versions of all the levels from Rayman Origins.

    As if it needs saying: if you don't have an XBox controller, buy an XBox controller! This game, and many others, really benefit from it. You might not even realise how many great games you're subconsciously avoiding.
    Expand
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Rayman is back, in a best in class platformer. The game is brillant in all aspects: graphism, animation, handling. Mind you, it requires a padRayman is back, in a best in class platformer. The game is brillant in all aspects: graphism, animation, handling. Mind you, it requires a pad the well known and appreciated xbox 360 is supported and works like a charm in this game. Some innovations will certainely be copied, and that's a good thing.
    Rayman Legends is fairly long, it took me approx 20 hours to get to the first ending. But that's only 50% of the game! There are more levels that appear and can be unlocked. And for those that enjoy competition, there are 2 daily and 2 weekly challenges, where your skills to complete a level will be compared to this of other players.
    A word on the DRM: Rayman is protected by UPLAY. I cannot say I like it, but it proved to be working just a good as steam, if not better. That means it is non-obtrusive, and allowed me to play online, offline, after my computer resumed from suspend mode.
    Rayman Legends is a solid 10 for anyone into platformers!
    Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    Very rarely i have the pleasure of witnessing such a level of creativity and quality in a game. I am really glad they haven't made it consoleVery rarely i have the pleasure of witnessing such a level of creativity and quality in a game. I am really glad they haven't made it console exclusive because i would've lost the change of experiencing such and incredible game. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    So, I didn't play Origins and I decided to pick this up because I wanted to check out Rayman's modern offering, and Rayman Legends didn'tSo, I didn't play Origins and I decided to pick this up because I wanted to check out Rayman's modern offering, and Rayman Legends didn't disappoint. The game controls fluidly, especially with a controller, although if you rebind the keys to something sane, the keyboard controls work fine. The main thing that makes the game good, though, is the great design of everything, from the daily challenges, to the individual and varied sequences of levels, even to the hub world from which you select levels everything feels polished and perfectly designed. The game varies heavily, one world focuses heavily on wind currents, having a Zero-Wing style shooting mini game at one point, while a later world is focused on James Bond 2D 'stealth' (more timing-based, but it still feels like stealth). In the end, Rayman Legends is just a fantastic game, and it's so good that if I owned a PS Vita and Wii U I'd buy it again for those systems. It has endless, polished, well designed content. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    8
    In terms of game-play,creativity,visuals and sounds it delivers a very pleasant experience...But it lacks in terms of story,and 3DIn terms of game-play,creativity,visuals and sounds it delivers a very pleasant experience...But it lacks in terms of story,and 3D visuals...Even though it is a 2D plat-former I have been able to watch it under 3D stereoscopic visuals and it looks quite appealing...But as soon as I have beaten the last boss I didn't have any incentive to continue playing even though there were still many more scenes to play...(Game opens them gradually as you become more & more adept...)The fact that the game offers a weak story mode has been the reason for me terminating my interest in it earlier than I have planned...No matter how I enjoyed playing it ,it still hasn't been immersive enough to keep me going once I finished story mode...I didn't bother with all that was offered to me but I still appreciate the fact it was available for me to keep playing...At some point I got tired of the repetitive game-play and lack of interest due to weak story...But as long as it lasts there wasn't any possibility for me ending it before finishing story mode... Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2013
    1
    I tried to like this game...I really did. But this is a game for kids. No storyline, all fun and games(which is sometimes good). It just makesI tried to like this game...I really did. But this is a game for kids. No storyline, all fun and games(which is sometimes good). It just makes me feel like I'm going nowhere with the game Collapse

See all 34 User Reviews