Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 270 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rayman Origins is a comic adventure set in a lush 2D world brimming with unexpected secrets and outlandish enemies. The Glade of Dreams is overrun by the "nefurrious" Darktoons. The Fairy Council seeks Rayman's help to save the day. Rayman receives the aid of his best friend Globox as well as two crafty wizards, the Teensies. Together the world's most hilarious team of heroes sets out to restore peace to the Glade before their beloved home is destroyed. Rayman Origins supports four-player jump-in-and-jump-out co-op gameplay. The game offers a massive universe to explore, with more than 100 characters, 12 unique worlds, and more than 60 levels of platforming gameplay designed for all ages and play styles. Unlock new abilities and moves as you progress through the game. All members of your team will discover new unique abilities, including swimming, diving, slapping, and the sensational "HarilyCopter." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 29, 2012
    95
    It's downright gorgeous and a total blast to play alone or with friends. A truly realized vision at the top of its genre, Rayman Origins is an extravaganza with plenty of action to keep it fresh from start to finish and beyond.
  2. Apr 13, 2012
    92
    Rayman Origins is an incredible piece of art, recommended for every gamer with no exception.
  3. 92
    Even so, Rayman: Origins is the best designed, most accessible, vast, gameplay rich and fun platformer that I've played in a very long time. It's nothing short of a Nintendo A-list (which I still think of as the best platforming game developer ever to have graced the market) and could be the beginning of a beautiful series.
  4. Mar 30, 2012
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. May 16, 2012
    82
    Rayman Origins re-introduces an intense freshness to a genre that many gamers chose to remember by a couple of well-known brand names that monopolize interest… and the rest consider long dead. It delivers many hours of pure fun (and some discomfort for completionists) and does that in the best way possible. [May 2012]
  6. Apr 8, 2012
    80
    In lesser hands, the art design might have overwhelmed everything, leaving the levels to feel like an overly cluttered and repetitive mess. Instead, it's a wonderful platformer with its own unique style that's most definitely worth experiencing, and especially shared.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    80
    A well-written story could have transformed Rayman Origins into a beautiful fairytale. Without it, it's an incredibly fun ride and a great party game.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Negative: 5 out of 50
  1. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Beautiful art, no DRM, and works great with a gamepad. There are plenty of hidden easter eggs and the soundtrack always seems to be spot on. A must buy if you liked the original 2D rayman games. Expand
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    10
    The best platformer ever made in my opinion an absolute must have for any gamer who grew up playing donkey kong country mario etc etc i really hope they release rayman legends on the pc platform because i will buy it day one this game is absolutly amazing buy it Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I tend to avoid giving games perfect scores, mostly because it implies that I'm a fanboy, but also because no game is perfect. In Rayman Origins' case, I really can't find anything in it worth criticising. In anyone else's hands, RO could've been a visually confusing and frustrating mess, but in Michael Ancel's case, it instead turns out to be a near flawless masterpiece of 2D plat forming. I do have some minor gripes though: the soundtrack can sometimes get repetitive, such as the music at the end of each level can sometimes grate but it's hardly game-breaking. The game is a console port, but the controls themselves feel quite intuitive and the feel of the game diminishes these issues. It can become trial & error fairly often, but since it's such a joy to play and listen to, I didn't really care. The fact that this game (along with all of Ancel's games) has sold quite poorly seems almost tragic, so if you're in the mood for something that'll liven your spirit and provide an anti-dote to LIMBO's grim atmosphere, get Rayman Origins! Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    Outstanding visual design, great music, goofy story and sense of humor plus precise controls and just simple plain fun throughout make Rayman Origins a sublime platformer in a gaming world obsessed with online shooters. It's a MUST! Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    Great for cooperative playing. I've been playing this game with my girlfriend (both of us with wireless gamepads) and we have had a blast!
    It's like a super Mario Bros with nice graphs, music, level design, etc. It is clearly a console-type game, with no intellectual aspirations, but runs great on the PC and is lot's of fun when playing cooperative.
    Expand
  6. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    As far as platformer games go, this is one of the best I've played in a very long time… The animations are superb, the environments are incredible, the menus are all well presented and the character selections are vast. I wasn't overly optimistic about Rayman becoming a 2.5D side scroll game as a supposed to the 3D adventure style of the past, but it truly was a fantastic gaming experience. The only gripes I have with the game comes down to some of the truly unnecessary difficult moments near the end, every single move during certain segments has to be performed point perfect, it felt like BIT.TRIP.RUNNER but overall it was an awesome game! Expand
  7. Mar 30, 2012
    0
    Piece of S**t, dont buy it..............i found it utterly boring, simple and mediocre. The soundtrack was just ok, and there are problems with character control. Overall the game doesn't worth it. Collapse

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers