User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 120
  2. Negative: 25 out of 120

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, and its free! Its an incredibly addictive mix of diablo, legend of zelda, and various indie games such as binding of isaac. I can't recommend it highly enough.
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    Realm of the Mad God is as addictive as it is simple. Unlike most MMORPG's, you can, master this game in roughly a few minutes. The combat is smooth and rewarding, and the class unlock system encourages players to try different classes and see which on esuits their needs. Although lacking in depth, its accessability makes it hard to quit until you reach the magical level 20.
  3. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    Realm of the Mad God's description sounds unorthodox and downright strange, but it is entirely accurate: it's a co-op fantasy MMO shooter. The game itself is simple: run around, shoot stuff, get better stuff by shooting stuff, shoot more stuff. If you want to get further, however, you need to cooperate with others (the co-op part of the description). If you just run out into the Godlands at level 5 with nobody else, you'll get your ass handed to you on a silver platter quicker than you can say "What?" You NEED to travel in a group to survive, and you need to be able to dodge the enemies' projectiles. The only complaint I have is the Realm Gold, which you need to purchase, but it IS free to play, and the items you purchase with Realm Gold are mostly cosmetic. Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    9
    This MMO is unlike any others I've ever seen, its simple, charming and original. The emergent gameplay of this is amazing, I would definitely recommend this one to anyone.
  5. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Very simple game - you pick a class, run around, and kill stuff.

    No real plot, no real learning curve - once you unlock a few classes it gets really fun. The only really big annoyance I have is that death is permanent. You lose all your stuff. I'd prefer items to be retained but only for so many deaths; such as if you die twice, it vanishes.
  6. Jun 6, 2013
    9
    Addictive like you wouldn't believe. Realm of the Mad God provides a unique and refreshing take on the free to play MMO genre. It's got a charming 8-bit graphics style, a perma-death feature, and loads of fun content. That's right when you die in Realm of the Mad God you're dead for good. It's not actually a bad thing, sure you lose all of your gear and your character progress, but you never feel like the game is over for you. With numerous classes death gives you a fresh start to try something new. The gameplay is simple but addictive. You basically just run around and shoot everything in a large open world. As you gain levels you can fight tougher monsters and get better gear. There's no PVP, but rather the game encourages you to team up with people to take on the games more difficult monsters. The beauty of it is that you don't have to team up with other people if you don't want to. You can very well be a lone wolf, but the game is easier if you team up with others. The best part of this game is that you can play the game any way you want to. You can choose if you want to max out one character class, or you can stick with the class just long enough to unlock another one. You can play for hours at a time or just in short bursts. It's simple, addictive, and very accessible. The only real complaint I have is the lack of friendly players. So far most of the people I've come across are only interested in talking to you if you have something to offer them. In the end though I'm completely addicted to Realm of the Mad God. It's tons of fun and truly free to play outside of micro-transactions. So if your looking for a fun experience and are strapped for cash, or just love fun games, check of Realm of the Mad God. Expand
  7. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Other then occasional lag ever now and again, there really isn't much wrong with this game. The concept is simple, but the game is fun no matter how long you want to play. You can play just for 5 minutes when you have some spare time, or you can play with friends for hours and not get bored. One of the highlights of the game for me is Oryx's castle. Once all of Oryx's minions are killed, he sends the whole server to his castle. The game also is completely free to play, and won't force you to spend hundreds on enjoying the game. The game can also be fun alone too. Although I would like to see a slightly higher level cap and more weapons to keep people even more interested (While I haven't reached the point where I'm bored of the game yet, many have), it's definitely worth trying. Small download, and you don't need to spend even 1p on the game Expand
  8. Aug 17, 2012
    9
    Is this the most intelligent and in depth game ever? No. Is it mad stupid fun where everything explodes and the mechanics make it so that helping others out benefits everyone, YESYESYES!! Basically it's an old school hyper-fats isometric shooter you can (and will when you get to the realm) play with about 80 people all firing at the gigantic monsters coming towards you. As opposed to most MMOs which reward you for being bored, waiting for a raid or walking from one area to another, this is constant destruction and masses of fun. And it's free, so there you go. Expand
  9. May 26, 2013
    9
    Awesome, free, can't go wrong. The Tutorial actually feels like its teaching you something, unlike most RPGs, and has a nice Bullet-Head indie feel. RPG elements are not lacked, and loot is common. Quests are optional, and it is kind of Sandbox. The shop is pretty cool, every Class with different abilities, and Guilds can be easily made after you have grown experience. One of the best RPG games on Steam for free? COOL! Expand
  10. DME
    Apr 25, 2012
    9
    RotMG feels very simple at first, but there's a pretty good amount of depth buried within. Pros include permanent deaths, exploration, trading, balanced classes, challenging dungeons, and assortment of items. Only cons are the fact that it's difficult to tell how valuable an item is without playing the game for a long time, and you can expect some lagging (some days there's no problem and other days it's borderline unplayable). But overall, it's a smart, charming, and awesomely addictive game. I'll be spending a lot of time with it. [Steam version] Expand
  11. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    RotMG is a 2D MMORPG shooter that features retro NES style graphics, and permadeath. 3 things I love about this game: It's fun, it's free, and you can jump right in any time and play for as long or short as you like. The game does have some flaws. The graphics obviously aren't the best, lag will occasionally hit at the most inopportune times, and the game isn't particularly deep. A lot of players will be turned off by the permadeath. This game is a lot of fun for a f2p title though. Expand
  12. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    Fun, simple and addictive, although there are a few glitches and issues it is still a great game. Controls and game-play aren't too hard to learn and easy to get used to, permadeath is annoying at first but adds challenge
  13. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    Realm of the Mad God is a game that does all of it's mechanics extremely well. It's free-to play, and has micro-transactions, but it doesn't force paying money down your throat. The game play is simple, yet incredibly fast and satisfying. It doesn't concern itself with upgrading character stats, which is a breath of fresh air. Fighting Oryx and his minions is among the most satisfying things I have experienced in a game thus far. It's simple graphics make the game run smoothly and give it personality. I recommend this game with all my heart, if only because everybody deserves to take a breather from photo realistic customize-all-the-things games and play something easy and simple. Expand
  14. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    This game rocks! Enough said! Myth: The game is pay to win Fact: The only items bought in the store with coins bought with $$$ are cosmetics, extra dungeons, and some potions (MP and HP restore) which can be picked up in game. Myth: You must die to win. Fact: The whole point is not to die. You MUST beat Oryx (the final boss) alive. You gain fame (the free currency) when you die for some cosmetics and access to some dungeons (not all require real $$$)

    Enough of the Myth-Fact, here's my take:

    The game is fun for several reasons: here are my top 10:

    10: "Trains" - Groups of players who travel around the map to defeat mobs and gain massive XP. This helps you gain fame and be able to take on bosses later.

    9: The graphics - 8-bit, you must love that

    8: The trade system - While you can't sell your stuff for currency of any sort, you can trade with other players to get weapons and supplies to help you win.

    7: The simple UI - click to shoot, numbered item slots, you can press a button to shoot all the time

    6: The gameplay - Shoot and don't get hit. Simple and effective

    5: CO-OP style - You can't win without other players to help you.

    4: No kill steals - Everyone in your party/train gets XP when a mob is killed, not just the killer

    3: Permadeath - So frustrating, it's addicting

    2: Selection of characters - You earn classes by leveling up on other classes and you can get any class with skill

    1: Adrenaline-Releasing/Heart-Pumping action - THIS is what gets you hooked on the game
    Expand
  15. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    realm of the mad god i have it lol then why am i here im nuw to meta score 4 evreyone im
    lvl 20 sorcarer i died in the spider cave im eating thats why i have words wrong
  16. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Realm of the mad god is a very good game,
    it teaches respect and is co operative so your child will not be
    anti social. I would strongly recommend this game opposed
    to violent killing games.
  17. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I can never get high powered items but that doesn't matter as it's a very well made game. The damage system is good and despite the lo-res graphics, the colours make it look great.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    An anarchic lo-fi MMO with a refreshing disregard for your sanity. Unrepentantly simplistic and fun. [May 2012, p.94]
  2. Apr 4, 2012
    78
    Lag was an acceptable issue in games up until five or so years ago. At this point, most high-quality online experiences are relatively lag free. That's why I have to say that RMG is not a high-quality experience, but not just because of lag; Realm of the Mad God suffers in its simplicity.
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    90
    Superb. It's a game that can be played in 30-minute bursts or sessions that stretch long into the night, and its balance of instant gratification and long-term pay-off is beautifully done. It's the perfect game for people who love the idea of raiding, but can't afford to invest the time all MMOs require before the really good stuff - and all for free.