Realm of the Mad God PC

Realm of the Mad God Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 139 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Realm of the Mad God is a co-op fantasy MMO shooter.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    90
    Superb. It's a game that can be played in 30-minute bursts or sessions that stretch long into the night, and its balance of instant gratification and long-term pay-off is beautifully done. It's the perfect game for people who love the idea of raiding, but can't afford to invest the time all MMOs require before the really good stuff - and all for free.
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    80
    Death is permament and every new beginning tastes the same, but its wide variety of classes and enemies fairly compensates. When you start, its winning mix of features taken from MMO and hell-bullets games won't let you go anymore.
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    80
    Easy to jump into and damn near impossible to quit, this unusual free-to-play MMO hybrid is worth every second of your spare time.
  4. Mar 31, 2012
    80
    The easy-to-learn combat system and temporary nature of characters make the game a blast to sit down and play for a few minutes, while more hardcore gamers will enjoy the challenge of survival while trying to hunt down the biggest monsters to find the best gear, and eventually top the leaderboards. While the lag in the game can be a problem at times, adventuring with smaller parties seems to alleviate most of it, and the developers are always working to improve the game. Furthermore, the combination of several popular styles of games into a single MMO makes for a fun, new, and most certainly refreshing experience. Realm of the Mad God is certainly a game worth taking the time to experience.
  5. Apr 16, 2012
    80
    An anarchic lo-fi MMO with a refreshing disregard for your sanity. Unrepentantly simplistic and fun. [May 2012, p.94]
  6. Apr 4, 2012
    78
    Lag was an acceptable issue in games up until five or so years ago. At this point, most high-quality online experiences are relatively lag free. That's why I have to say that RMG is not a high-quality experience, but not just because of lag; Realm of the Mad God suffers in its simplicity.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 57
  2. Negative: 15 out of 57
  1. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    Awesome game, and its free! Its an incredibly addictive mix of diablo, legend of zelda, and various indie games such as binding of isaac. IAwesome game, and its free! Its an incredibly addictive mix of diablo, legend of zelda, and various indie games such as binding of isaac. I can't recommend it highly enough. Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2015
    9
    Increible juego. Los graficos de la era 8-bit son geniales, el permadeath esta muy bien y hay una gran variedad de items. Pero lo que mas meIncreible juego. Los graficos de la era 8-bit son geniales, el permadeath esta muy bien y hay una gran variedad de items. Pero lo que mas me gusta es la facilidad que uno tiene para volverse "pro", no hay que tardar horas en levear pero hay muchos bugs y eso es lo unico en lo que hay que mejorar. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    Realm of the Mad God's description sounds unorthodox and downright strange, but it is entirely accurate: it's a co-op fantasy MMO shooter. TheRealm of the Mad God's description sounds unorthodox and downright strange, but it is entirely accurate: it's a co-op fantasy MMO shooter. The game itself is simple: run around, shoot stuff, get better stuff by shooting stuff, shoot more stuff. If you want to get further, however, you need to cooperate with others (the co-op part of the description). If you just run out into the Godlands at level 5 with nobody else, you'll get your ass handed to you on a silver platter quicker than you can say "What?" You NEED to travel in a group to survive, and you need to be able to dodge the enemies' projectiles. The only complaint I have is the Realm Gold, which you need to purchase, but it IS free to play, and the items you purchase with Realm Gold are mostly cosmetic. Expand
  4. May 20, 2012
    8
    Realm of the Mad God is quite a fun game. It has a very nice combat system and class uses are varied enough. With the different items, it canRealm of the Mad God is quite a fun game. It has a very nice combat system and class uses are varied enough. With the different items, it can be quite rewarding to level up as well. Different monsters have different difficulties. The permanent death feature makes it quite frustrating when you die at high levels, but this is repaid in a counter-intuitive way. Only problem I'm having is excessive lag, which can cause me to lose control for short amounts of time. Still, a very fun game, not to mention it's free and doesn't take up much space at all on your hard drive. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    7
    For a free game, it is quite fun. the permadeath feature makes it so you'll never be able to truly keep a character forever, but that's notFor a free game, it is quite fun. the permadeath feature makes it so you'll never be able to truly keep a character forever, but that's not the point of the game. It's a fun little pick up and play game, and while the grind "Train" has taken over on most parts, it can still be pretty fun if you get a few friends. I think the game would have been a little better if you were able to specialize or manually level up your characters a bit, but other than that it's spot on for a lite free game that you can pick up and play anywhere. Expand
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    4
    Nope. A friend of mine tried to get me into this game. I started off on a title page that is glitchy and if you mess up you have to restartNope. A friend of mine tried to get me into this game. I started off on a title page that is glitchy and if you mess up you have to restart the game. I press play and I am swarmed with advertisements and restrictions: Buy this buy that! It's free to play so we can spam you all we want! Next I am only allowed to play one class, Wizard. I spawn in a terrible looking map and get 2 moves. Click and spacebar. Spacebar does a special move and clicking is a regular move.
    After killing chickens I find myself in this place where there is a statue asking me to give myself a name. I type my name in and realize there is no way to enter the name and continue. Restart again, i spawn online and out of the tutorial with no idea what to do. My friend (guiding me) tells me to press a button (r i think). I spawn into a hub with bot controlled players spamming the chat so fast that half the screen was always covered with pointless words. Don't bother talking in the hub. I go to name myself the was my friend tells me. I then go to this cave that he again, tells me to go to (because they explain nothing inside the game so someone else has to explain it for me.) I start running around moving my mouse in circles shooting projectiles and random enemies I don't even know if this game has a story or not). My friend tells me (again) to kill myself every time I reach level 5 so i can unlock the next class. Yep. I reach level 5, kill myself, unlock the next class. (Why you can't be given the classes at the start? Beats me. Anyway I ended up dieing on the next class because it was even worse than the starting class.

    Any positives? Well it is free to play at least, the controls are easy in combat, the AI is "ok" and there still are items and a leveling system.

    That's it. And it dosn't even matter anyway. it's canceled out by the fact that whenever a character you own dies, he and his items are permanently deleted. Yep. Liked that max level with all of those awesome rare weapons? Gone you died. Try again.

    So if you want to play a game where you're spinning your mouse in circles, losing valuable items, and trying to figure out the point, you should play this game.

    One more thing, I only put 32 minutes of time into the game to create this review. It could possibly be better if you played it more.

    Summary negatives: -No (known) story line
    -Ad swarm
    -Minimal assistance for new players
    -Losing everything permanently on death
    -Cancels out positives
    -Boring gameplay
    -Very glitchy menus
    -high restrictions in beginning

    Summary positives: +Ok AI
    +Playable gameplay
    +Ok leveling system and item system.
    +free to play

    Final score: 4/10
    Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2013
    0
    mostly everything involves paying to get gold to buy good equipment,backpack space, and vaults. other currency is fame which you get frommostly everything involves paying to get gold to buy good equipment,backpack space, and vaults. other currency is fame which you get from dying but cant buy vaults because that would be against their money grabbing scheme. at least you can get some less important items but with a high cost of fame usually about 100-300 deaths since only a few actually get a fair amount of fame. god high spawn, dungeons and bosses designed to kill you with some of their high cc (slow instantly drops spd by half to 80%, paralyzed that make you immobile so they cant miss, or confused that changes movement that none to a few can navigate when it matters.) and high dmg where some bosses can kill any maxed character with 1 to as high as 3 shots or even stupider minions even one if messing up can instantly kill within secs. other things include no daily chance, annoying players attempting/preventing to steal loot (as in dmg to god/boss for soulbound). Then there is the lag that's obviously their servers but refuse to do anything about it except to start over and pay (they dont come out and say pay but the *intention is there*). It is futher proven since all who know about kabaam, all to most hate them because of their lag, ignored suggestions, etc Expand

See all 57 User Reviews