Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This heroic fantasy hack 'n' slash takes you on a continent ravaged by a war that held ten years ago. The four Kingdoms of Men, Elves and Dwarves lay in ruins, preyed on by raiders and looters. In this chaos, a new, unknown threat is looming... trying to discover its true nature, the kingdoms sent detachments to investigate, a dangerous mission from which no one returned. But what about you ? You merely were in the wrong place, at the wrong time... Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Oct 17, 2012
    60
    R.A.W. : Realms of Ancient War is clearly neither a Diablo 3 nor a Torchlight 2. If you are simply a hack & slash game collector or looking for a ten hours experience for a low price, then maybe you can give R.A.W. : Realms of Ancient War a try. And the pleasure to kill thousands of monsters with just a click remains. We highly recommend it for people playing on consoles, where hack & slash titles are not many.
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    50
    In conclusion, Realms of War is a title that is on the lower side of average in the genre it exists in.
  3. Nov 9, 2012
    40
    R.A.W. is aeons away from both Diablo 3 and Torchlight 2. Even finding a new shiny trophy is not fun here.
  4. Oct 22, 2012
    36
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Oct 30, 2012
    35
    In every review the main question is 'why would the consumer buy this?' For R.A.W. Realms of Ancient War that is a question hard to answer. Yes, it is an action RPG like great titles such as Diablo III and Torchlight II. But no, we wouldn't recommend this game to anyone.
  6. 30
    One step away from a total disaster. And that step - lots of enemies - isn't very interesting.
  7. 30
    It's hard to find any reason to play R.A.W. – possibly the most un-inspirational click-fest of this year. Boredom has a new name. [Dec 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 10 out of 21
  1. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    This is no a Diablo III and no a Torchlight, but this is a simply and very good action RPG and good gameplay. Yes good gameplay and good graphics and animation. Expand
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    Pulse pounding action! i can say as a fan of this genre and not lightly i might add that this is easily one of my favorite games of this year. Some may argue that there are way too many games of this type and i could agree but they dont do it right. R.A.W has the feel and playability of T2 and the snazzy looks of DS3. In other words this game is fun and im glad i pre-purchased. btw i like both of the other titles i mentioned i must add that this one has a feel all its own. The somewhat visceral gameplay and an immersive atmosphere take away the grind completely. Im looking forward to playing more. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2014
    7
    this is a n fun CRPG its simple to learn you can use the xbox 360 contoller to make the game contoll a bit more easy and the game looks nice i wish that there was more video settings that was a let down only low-med-high there needs to be more like aa support etc and yeah so that Was an hughe let down but the game is fun it plays nice it runs great on my system and my pc is an med-high end gaming pc and i get over 100+ fps with this game i give this CRGP an
    75 / 100
    Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2013
    5
    Inspired by games like the Diablo franchise or Torchlight, Realms of Ancient War is an old school hack and slash dungeon crawler with very limited depth and breadth that is hard to overlook even tough it isn't a triple-A title. The story in the game is not the worst we've seen so far, in all honesty it's fairly interesting and one of the stronger points of the game. The game starts years after the so called Ancient War which divided the land to 4 territories (East, West, South and North...duh, imagination at its best). The Northern King proposed truce so he invited the remaining kings to the Hero's Garden. Something went wrong because the Northern King was never to be seen again and the rest of the kings became soulless zombies. Yes, clichés after clichés, but it's not all that bad. The game contains some witty dialogues and turns.

    We can pick from 3 unnamed characters: wizard, warrior and rogue. Each have different styles but they aren't that different that any would change the gameplay significantly. Each class has it's own skill tree, where you can level up your attacks. There are 1 level and 3 level skills. Skills open up gradually. The first group right after the beginning of the game, the second after you reach lvl 10, the last after lvl 20. However, there are two problems related to your skill management. First, in every stage you can gain exactly one level. No matter how much you fight or how many side quest (there aren't that many) you complete. You can only get 1 skill point in each stage. That makes the whole level grinding procedure useless and dropping all the challenge. You will get your skill point no matter what.

    The second problem comes with the use of your skills. You have only 4 skills at your use at a given time. Two of them are to be activated with the mouse and two with keystrokes on the keyboard. You can program these skills to the aforementioned buttons. If you want to use other skills you have to use the alternative set. Essentially you have 2 sets of skills, which can be changed at any time with a button push. Easy enough, in theory at least. Practice is a different beast. Remembering which skill you have assigned to which button in which set is pointless, painful and horrible. When a dozens of foes are attacking you there is no way this system can be use properly. Using this method is understandable on consoles where there are limited buttons to use, but on a PC it's unacceptable. This is where you realize that 4 skills/attacks are well enough to complete the game.

    At least the fighting and hack'n slashing is exciting. You are continuously attacked by tens of enemies, making the game challenging and intense. Sometimes it is hard to hit smaller enemies, like spiders which live everywhere, rain forests or volcanoes it doesn't matter for them. Graphically the game doesn't excel, but it's not bad either. For an XBLA title it's passable. Not are the audio tracks though. Audio effects are horrible and repeating. Listening to the same 3 grindings throughout 8-10 hours when you hit enemies is annoying. The music is on par with the rest of the audio. You get one passable song which plays when you start the game, the rest of the music tracks during gameplay are just pointless burrs.

    R.A.W. is a below average hack and slash game that tries to build upon it's great predecessors of the genre but fails in every possible way. It's chaotic, mediocre and boring. A game that is hard to recommend when you can get a dozen of it's kind cheaper (or even for free). If you can finish it once there is no point starting the game ever again.

    Rating: 45/100; Replay Value: 1/5; To Beat: 8-9 hours; Played on: normal.
    Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2013
    4
    At its core this game has pretty good action gameplay with different skills and weapons. The lack of any kind of engrossing story or NPC interaction quickly loses your interest and after a while the highly repetitive gameplay make this a chore to finish, especially with many better alternatives. Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    3
    One of the worst dungeon crawlers to date.
    It misses in all of it's aims, but namely the calling of a dungeon crawler-at least one hook.


    The Pros-
    1> Giving this game any rating below 50 allow me not to insult anyone, and give an accurate review.
    2> Gives me an excuse to use my thesaurus and look up antonyms for "riveting."

    Cons-
    1> Poor controls; cannot customize them.
    2> Camera angles, and bouncing characters.
    3> Lack of any meaningful story
    4> Poor itemization.
    5> No meaningful description of stats, and their uses.
    6> Absolutely no character customization as the game all but requires you spam AoE skills (on every class) to avoid certain death whilst surrounded by monsters.
    7> Almost no range in monsters-when my player character commented "Again?!" I saw it as a sign.
    Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2014
    0
    To be fair, a game deserves a 0 only if it's barely functioning or not functioning at all ("Big Rigs"), however this "game" along with it's ilk ("Iesabel", "Secret Service") are a special case. They are mostly functioning, hence they can also serve as entertainment ( just like any other game) and, to be fair, most of them don't even try to rip you off with DLC, DRM and the like. But they have absolutely no purpose to exist. Everything "Realms of Ancient War" offers has been done before and executed far better. If I was asked to name the most generic hack-and-slasher, this would be it. There is nothing about game that is particularly bad, the most accurate word to describe the game's quality would be mediocre: 3 classes (Rogue,Warrior,Mage), a story that exists just for the sake of it ( I don't even remember what the plot was about as I am writing this review), generic characters, you click on the generic monsters to slaughter them with your generic weapons to collect generic loot and complete generic quests. While the ARPG isn't the most innovative genre, at least most hack-and-slashers posses at least one unique quality, but not this game. The only thing remotely original is the visual design in a few areas, that's it. "Realms of Ancient War" is a waste of code and money, nothing can justify it's existence. People need to stop being so lenient to generic games.Bland garbage like this deserves nothing more than a 0/10. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews