Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Recettear is the story of an item shop, the girl who lives in it, and the fairy who turned her life upside down. Recette Lemongrass finds herself in charge of an item shop built into her house, in order to pay back a loan her father took and then skipped out on - and Tear, her newfound fairy "companion", won't take no for an answer! As Recette, you have to decide how you'll get your stock - either through playing the markets in town or going out into the wild with an adventuring friend and thrashing beasts until they give up the goodies - how much to sell things for, what the shop should look like, and how to best go about getting the money Tear needs to pay off the loan. If you can't come up with the money... well, hope you like living in a cardboard box. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    I love the synergy of all these different play mechanics. On their own, these different bits would become stale very quickly, but together each compliments the other to create what I think is a brilliant game.
  2. Deceptively simple. Don't be fooled by its cute-sy look and playful trappings. This RPG is hard as hell and incredibly addictive. Plus, with the extra post-game modes, it manages to deliver an excellent amount of value for your gaming buck.
  3. Dec 22, 2010
    90
    Recettear is one of the best indie games to arrive this year.
  4. Dec 26, 2010
    80
    One of Steam's best kept secrets and a cracking indie title that both pokes fun at and celebrates the charming absurdity of role-playing games.
  5. Jan 27, 2011
    80
    Recettear is perhaps one of the most unusual examples of a simulation game yet; with its engaging storyline, large ensemble of characters and action-RPG sequences, this is a game that really stands out from the crowd.
  6. A shining indie gem, yours for a throat-cuttingly reasonable price.
  7. 70
    For those looking for an exceptional simulation-RPG experience chock full of great humor and charm, Recettear may be that diamond in the rough that you've been searching for.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    A wonderfully addictive and inventive little commerce simulator with an entertaining RPG element. While it is very simplistic, the innovation and ideas created a very fun game for people who would enjoy bartering constantly to progress through the game. For those expecting another JRPG, there are better elsewhere, but for a unique economy simulator mixed with an RPG, this is great. Expand
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    Very fun, needs a little bit of work in the combat to make it fit in more with the rest of the game but other than that it is one of the best indie game I've played this year. Expand
  3. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    Very fun indie game. Simple and common gameplay mechanics (used in many japanese games, i.e. Princess Maker) makes the game even better. Nice and beautiful visuals, cute characters, lots of stuff to buy and sell. Some parts may feel a little repetitive, but it doesn't hurt good atmosphere. Btw, the game is bigger than it looks. So... Capitalism, ho! Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    Recettear has a great amount of gameplay for what I paid. 20 dollars for this game is not exactly a good price but translating Japanese can be difficult but there are people who translate things like this for free. Then when I think of the depth of this game and how each NPC has different tastes and preferences how they all act differently and each is unique in their own way it really brings the game to life making it worth that 20 dollars. Anyways moving on this game was pretty well done and very surprising. I enjoyed it a lot.

    Story is fairly unbelievable. A little girls father who has disappeared leaves his daughter with a huge crippling debt. She's only 10 (I am guessing?) how is she spose to repay his debt? Why the fairy Tear tells her to make a store so she can pay it back. The lil loli Recette gets help and turns her house into a store. While the story was fairly unbelievable and lacking there isn't much to do but if you do the RPG dungeon part more stories unfold and builds up more character for Recette and Tear and the Adventurers.

    Characters in the game have a huge impact. Everyone is unique and different and the events that happen make them rememberable enough. The more you unlock the more events that will happen interacting with all the characters all together. It gives incentive to do the dungeon part of the game to unlock more of these characters with their corky bits and pieces.

    Visuals and Graphics. It's 8-Bit and it's Indie. What more can I expect for a game with this much depth? Not great but monster bit-maps were great. The art for the NPC Background pictures were great notch. Overall I'd have to say it's well done but I still knida wished for a 720p version or something.

    The challenge the game presents is up to how smart your are and if you can pull it off. Me? I feel I'm pretty smart although I don't want to boast about it but I can say that some of my other friends can't even get past the 2nd week. So it's defiantly up to your own skills to be able to make this game and easy or an impossible experience.

    There are two different types of gameplay here. Running the Store and the Dungeon Crawling. Running your store was great but a challenge. Everyone has a different budget and you have to learn that by personality and age. The little girl is well in fact a little girl so she doesn't have much money. Louie is poor but the more adventuring you do with him the more money he gets and if you sell to him cheap he starts to get a bigger and better budget. It's so crazy and complex that each character in the game has specific things and goals and all this other crap that it's difficult to explain! Combat was simplistic but each Adventurer has their pros and cons and a different playstyle required. Not much to talk about here but it knida reminded me of Final Fantasy without the turn base thing.

    Would I recommend this game? Defiantly. It's a must buy. If 20 dollars is too much for your wallet though you'll have to wait for a Steam Sale or something. I don't see it move from that price much at all.
    Expand
  5. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    For those who enjoy time management games with a twist, this game is quite phenomenal. There are subtitles provided for those who don't speak Japanese, the game mechanics are solid, the ability to run an item shop is pretty fulfilling, and the adventure aspects are enjoyable. That being said, the game definitely caters to a specific type of gamer. If you aren't into anime genre, the art styles and dialogue will drive you crazy. It's also pretty unforgiving when it comes to the amount of money that you need to make before it's game over back to the beginning. The dungeons can get monotonous, but if you aren't into that style of adventure game (top down RPG hack and slash) you probably wouldn't play this game anyway. The random events could also make this game really difficult at times when it comes to making money.

    However, overall, the game was really fun, and it is worth a $10-20 cost.

    So, to sum it up...
    Pros:
    Challenging,
    simple plot,
    solid game mechanics,
    decent economy sim,
    various adventurers to play for whatever style suits you best,
    Provides a game that is exactly what is shown on the tin

    Cons:
    Random events could make the goal impossible,
    Appeals to only a certain audience in art and atmosphere,
    Dungeons and routine can get somewhat monotonous.
    Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2012
    7
    7.5 would be my rating if I could give it. In Recettear you sell items you find in dungeons or that you bought from the store at a higher price to make enough profit to reach your goal every week. The game starts easy, but quickly ramps up the difficulty as you go. Unless you look up a guide or something, you can expect to fail your first playthrough. Fortunately when you fail you keep anything that isn't story - related so the next playthrough will be much easier. The game is repetitive but also addicting. If you like Japanese style games or anime, etc you will feel much more at home playing this. If your a completionist when you play games, expect to play this for a very long time. If you quit once the story is done, I would suggest a different kind of game. Expand
  7. Sep 30, 2010
    2
    Fun for only about 2 hours. After you've finished the needlessly long introduction, you now realise you have basically had everything this game has to offer. Pretty much all you do is: wake up, go to the adventurer's guild, do some stuff around town, sell items, repeat. The dungeons themselves aren't any less monotonous. They're randomly generated ever ytime, so they're basically repeating halls and rooms with monsters, treasures and next-floor teleporters in between. The interface and low-res graphgics makes the game feel a lot more like a console port from the PS1 console generation, than an original title. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews