Red Faction: Guerrilla PC

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 311 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 311
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 26, 2011
    7
    In a casual sense, RF:G's gameplay is a LOT of fun, I say casual because after an hour or so, things get monotonous (the objective of almost every mission is to destroy stuff), gameplay resembles Saints Row 2 somewhat, minus story, customisation and characters (I finished the game and can't recall what was happening) - you basically drive from location to location destroying stuff, soundsIn a casual sense, RF:G's gameplay is a LOT of fun, I say casual because after an hour or so, things get monotonous (the objective of almost every mission is to destroy stuff), gameplay resembles Saints Row 2 somewhat, minus story, customisation and characters (I finished the game and can't recall what was happening) - you basically drive from location to location destroying stuff, sounds bad but it isn't really. Expand
  2. SDM
    Jun 21, 2011
    7
    While the gimmick of a destructible environment brings enormous fun during the first few hours of gameplay, it also loses its appeal quite quickly and you're left with "just" a solid sandbox game.
  3. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    Always wanted to destroy the world that is around you ?
    Never wanted to visit Mars ?
    Well this game is made for you, a mix of action with an amazing story and nicely made enemies AI, be ready cause they won't die easy, you will also have a big arsenal of weapons with all they're upgrades, save Mars and the people who became slaves under EDF control.
  4. Nox
    Oct 28, 2009
    7
    God why do people jack the score up on this game? Did you not play Saint's Row 2? This game plays like a showpiece for their destructability engine. It's excruciatingly repetitive, the story is not at all engaging and none of the things we know are possible are in it. Customization, multiplayer, flight, interesting missions, side missions, humor - there's nothing in here God why do people jack the score up on this game? Did you not play Saint's Row 2? This game plays like a showpiece for their destructability engine. It's excruciatingly repetitive, the story is not at all engaging and none of the things we know are possible are in it. Customization, multiplayer, flight, interesting missions, side missions, humor - there's nothing in here that made Saint's Row 2 great, and it's a baffling mystery since it's the same studio. Expand
  5. Coeco
    Oct 13, 2009
    8
    Probably the most fun third person game i've ever played. I dearly wish to give it a 10/10 but i managed to find some dissapointments with it, There's not enough huge stuff to be destroyed, The shooting is a bit awkward with the nanorifle since the character needs to turn around, THEN shoot with the help of one click, but boy, destroying stuff couldn't be more fun. Probably the most fun third person game i've ever played. I dearly wish to give it a 10/10 but i managed to find some dissapointments with it, There's not enough huge stuff to be destroyed, The shooting is a bit awkward with the nanorifle since the character needs to turn around, THEN shoot with the help of one click, but boy, destroying stuff couldn't be more fun. Guerrilla missions gets a bit repetitive but the game allows you to go and smash stuff whenever you feel like it so its a clear 8 from me. Expand
  6. DrakeS
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    There are few games that use gimmicks and pull them off. There's Prey, which takes portals and gravity experiments and puts them in the back seat in order to have a damn good shooter with some really fun extras once in a while. There's Penumbra, which uses its amazing lighting and physics at the front of the title in order to stimulate a sense of realism and the player's There are few games that use gimmicks and pull them off. There's Prey, which takes portals and gravity experiments and puts them in the back seat in order to have a damn good shooter with some really fun extras once in a while. There's Penumbra, which uses its amazing lighting and physics at the front of the title in order to stimulate a sense of realism and the player's fear of the unknown. Red Faction: Guerrilla follows in this small chain of unique games that actually do it right in which you, simply enough, fuck shit up. It follows in the path of Volition's other work Saints Row 2. It's an open world shooter based more around incredible minigames than the real storyline. It's really great, since the storyline is generic, more likely to have been directed by THQ rather than Volition (see: FreeSpace for Volition's awesomeness). The perspective has been changed from the previous RF games from first- to turd-person in order to please wimpy console gamers, which is bad, but the perspective doesn't fall flat as in Dead Space. There are various bugs reported by consumers, none of which I have come across, but I'm lucky, and, as with Saints Row 2, I'd wait for a patch if I was someone else, because the port was again not made by Volition. Also, like Saints Row 2, there are also limited graphics options due to a quick port job, but nothing as drastically bad as that of Grand Theft Auto IV. Now, I've covered all the iffy-to-bad stuff. What about the gameplay, Mister Person Man? Well, it's awesome. The driving controls are smooth, and I do believe the bouncy vehicles generates a sense of Martian gravity. The guns are the most fun weapons I've shot since the TrueCombat:Elite mod for Enemy Territory. The effects are amazing and definitely add depth to the world. Blowing shit up is also very in-depth and feels simply correct. A.I. is smart on both friendly and enemy sides, sans a few small glitches. I still like the original Red Faction more, but this is also a candidate for super awesome. Expand
  7. SPMXVC
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    Why 9? Simple really. The game is new, fresh, something totally different! There ARE problems within the game, but as far as problems go they are well within the limits. The AI is a little shaky at times, sometimes it knows exactly where you are even if you're hiding inside a building on one side of a compound and an explosion goes off at the other end. The over the shoulder view is Why 9? Simple really. The game is new, fresh, something totally different! There ARE problems within the game, but as far as problems go they are well within the limits. The AI is a little shaky at times, sometimes it knows exactly where you are even if you're hiding inside a building on one side of a compound and an explosion goes off at the other end. The over the shoulder view is still something I'll never like, it always generates this false sense of gravity, targeting, and movement. Bullets don't travel from your character model, but rather the center of your screen right behind your cross hair. You can be standing behind a solid object with the cross hair around the corner, you can shoot around it, but can't be shot yourself. It also causes problems when team-mates run to your right hand side, they will actually get shot even though physically that are standing BESIDE the gun and not in front of it. Controlling turrets and mechs is just an absolute travesty, it somehow beefs up your sensitivity to levels of insanity, making precise movements or aim difficult and sometimes outright impossible. I do understand this game came from the console first, in which case it's a VERY good job. I've seen MUCH MUCH MUCH worse jobs done in that category. Driving Vehicles doesn't feel natural, the physics of them feel very stiff and difficult to turn and control, precise turns become laborious and frustrating. As far as the major issues with the game, that's probably about all of them. You really don't have to worry too much about it, they definitely don't remain in the foreground for too long and soon you'll be blasting pretty much everything on screen into little itty bitty pieces! This game certainly is one of those games I hated to stop playing, realizing it was 3AM in the morning and I had to get up at 6AM for work. The weapons were numerous enough to give you a decent selection, although some weapons were pretty useless. The explosions and creative demolition in the game is revolutionary. This is destructive power and force at the absolute pinnacle! How do you destroy a giant bridge? Park a car fitted with a high explosive charge in the middle of it, set remote charges in structural support zones? It doesn't end there, I thought about it "What would really make this cool is if a bunch of enemy soldiers were ON the bridge when I set it off!" So I shot some soldiers and lured them back over the bridge, by the time I got there I had about 10 Soldiers chasing me in vehicles, on foot and even one of those Hoverdrone thingies. I shot down the Hoverdrone with my rocket launcher. Lo and Behold it smashed RIGHT INTO THE BRIDGE! So not only did the impact severely damage the bridge, but it set off some of my remote charges and blew up my high explosive in the vehicle I had parked there earlier. The ensuing chaos was brilliant, I detonated my remaining remote charges, watched from one side of the bridge as the entire structure creaked, groaned, crumbled, and finally collapsed into a gigantic pile of steel, enemy bodies, and burning vehicles at the foot of the canyon. The major feature of this game is that you can be so creative about how you accomplish your goals. You can charge in guns blazing and rockets firing everywhere, be sneaky and plant charges in inconspicuous places, move gasoline tanks and use them as explosives, drive a vehicle strapped with explosives towards a huge structure and jump just before it smashes through the wall and explodes in a cosmic display of fire, smoke, and flying metal! Alternatively you can just charge in screaming "IT'S HAMMER TIME!" This game certainly had me hooked early, and gave me plenty of game time for my moneys worth! Let's not forget, it was heaps of fun too! Expand
  8. Sean
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    I agree with most of the positive feedback however, this is directed toward Calvin... the game doesn't have the sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of GTA... it has a more sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of Saints Row, coincidentally made by THQ and Volition... Saints Row 2 being one of the most underrated games I've ever played, RF:Guerilla using practically the same I agree with most of the positive feedback however, this is directed toward Calvin... the game doesn't have the sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of GTA... it has a more sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of Saints Row, coincidentally made by THQ and Volition... Saints Row 2 being one of the most underrated games I've ever played, RF:Guerilla using practically the same game elements but gaining higher ratings. Expand
  9. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Blowing stuff up with the various weapons you're given is REALLY fun, and multiplayer is pretty cool with all the backpacks, adding a twist to an otherwise bog standard FPS.
    Fine, the story is not exactly amazing, and the whole game suffer from Far Cry 2-itis. That is, it's too long and repetitive to finish without wanting to kill yourself. Booting up the game every so often to blow up
    Blowing stuff up with the various weapons you're given is REALLY fun, and multiplayer is pretty cool with all the backpacks, adding a twist to an otherwise bog standard FPS.
    Fine, the story is not exactly amazing, and the whole game suffer from Far Cry 2-itis. That is, it's too long and repetitive to finish without wanting to kill yourself. Booting up the game every so often to blow up locations has made this game entertaining enough to gain a score of 8 in any case, but be warned that is all this game really excels at.
    Expand
  10. May 17, 2014
    7
    Game: Red Faction Guerrilla
    Genre: Action
    Developer: Volition/Nordic Games System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 76/100 Value Score: 7.6/10 • Story: 7/10 • Characters: 6/10 • GamePlay: 8/10 • Graphics: 8/10 • Sound: 9/10 • Music: 5/10 • Length: 7/10 • Replay Value: 9/10 • Player Value:7 /10 Pros +Open World/Sandbox with elements of destructible environment makes this
    Game: Red Faction Guerrilla
    Genre: Action
    Developer: Volition/Nordic Games
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 76/100
    Value Score: 7.6/10

    • Story: 7/10
    • Characters: 6/10
    • GamePlay: 8/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 9/10
    • Music: 5/10
    • Length: 7/10
    • Replay Value: 9/10
    • Player Value:7 /10

    Pros
    +Open World/Sandbox with elements of destructible environment makes this a unique experience
    +A lot of action packed fights
    +Multiplayer competitive capabilities with different types of game modes
    +Different Difficulty modes (allows you to unlock harder difficulties upon completion of game)
    +Ability to customize your weapons and tools through upgrades
    +A morale base system which is affected depending on your actions (Unique)

    Cons
    -Repetitive missions
    -Characters are forgettable
    -Music is almost non-existent except during fights
    -Mechanics of the controls are a bit awkward (mostly with driving)
    Expand
  11. Aug 30, 2012
    7
    It's insanely fun to break apart buildings, this has never been done so well before, with the physics engine and all. The controls and gameplay is fun, you'll enjoy fighting and shooting in the destrutible environment, wandering around in this sandbox game blowing **** up the many weapons offered to you. Now the bad. The story deserves a 0. It has no believability at all. It's so stupid IIt's insanely fun to break apart buildings, this has never been done so well before, with the physics engine and all. The controls and gameplay is fun, you'll enjoy fighting and shooting in the destrutible environment, wandering around in this sandbox game blowing **** up the many weapons offered to you. Now the bad. The story deserves a 0. It has no believability at all. It's so stupid I just skipped everything. The game could have been optimized better for PC, I find it runs slower than other games with better graphics. Thirdly, the overall terrain is repetitive and dull. Since breaking things is so fun I would have liked more of that, however the settlements are too few. Overall, fun game, fun while you're in the midst of the heat, in the core of the gameplay, and forget the all around ****ty package. Will last you about 10 hours. This game deserves a 6.5, I'll round that to a low 7. Reminds me of Just Cause 2 but about 100x less good, get that game instead. Expand
  12. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Personally I didn't like the singleplayer mode on this game, it becomes boring quite fast.
    That said, the Multiplayer is simply AMAZING alot like the old Red Faction1, awesome weapons, hammers and special ability backpacks. The gamecontrols are very easy to use and maps are very simple, I really enjoyed the MP in this game alot.
  13. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Recently picked up this game for 5 bucks on steam, I didn't regret it at all. It demostrates something that has been rare in recent games, some good ole explosions, most of the games recently have been shoot em ups, with little desctruction elements besides things like vehicles. Beautiful landscape and polished gameplay make this a treat to play
  14. Mar 16, 2013
    7
    This game has so much potential but the graphical bugginess makes it impossible to receive a score any higher than 7. It becomes nearly impossible to drive, which you do a LOT of, when the game fails to render busy intersections that also have elaborate check points. You are literally driving blind. I love the effects when they render. Blowing up buildings, vehicles, etc. is veryThis game has so much potential but the graphical bugginess makes it impossible to receive a score any higher than 7. It becomes nearly impossible to drive, which you do a LOT of, when the game fails to render busy intersections that also have elaborate check points. You are literally driving blind. I love the effects when they render. Blowing up buildings, vehicles, etc. is very satisfying. The open world aspects are great but can be overly challenging at times as in occasionally unfair. The shooting is sort of bland despite having a great variety of weapons at your disposal. The pacing of the story is horrid and you should not expect that much from the story line. After liberating 3 of the six districts I find myself becoming a bit bored of the repetitive nature. The stealth in the game is not well developed. The AI is not great but at least it will not bug out completely. All in all its an enjoyable game but certainly one that you will want to pick up when its on sale on steam like I did. At 75% off its a steal considering what is good about this game graphics, open world and awesome destruction with bombs. launcher, gas cylinders, etc. Expand
  15. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the best open world third person shooters i have ever played. The other games in the red faction series were not always that great but i greatly enjoyed this one. It helps make the game fun when you can destroy any building you see.
  16. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    This game is awesome! You play as Alec Mason. He is new to the Red Faction series. Anyway, you go around just blowing stuff up! IT's addicting, and fun. The only problem I found with the buildings is the fact that they don't rebuild. But even if the buildings don't rebuild, you can go around and murder the EDF (Earth Defense Force) It can get really bloody though, especially when you areThis game is awesome! You play as Alec Mason. He is new to the Red Faction series. Anyway, you go around just blowing stuff up! IT's addicting, and fun. The only problem I found with the buildings is the fact that they don't rebuild. But even if the buildings don't rebuild, you can go around and murder the EDF (Earth Defense Force) It can get really bloody though, especially when you are using a sledge hammer, or the assault rifle. And if that doesn't satisfy you, than there is a lot of vehicles you can drive. From simple cars to missile tanks, you have your selection. And then you have bonus missions, which award you with scrap metal, which is the currency in this game. The bonus missions includes, Faction missions, defending missions, delivering EDF messages, and then destroying buildings. It is very addicting. But the main missions aren't that great though. The writing can be kinda cheesy or boring. But the missions over-all are decent enough. But the main missions are the only thing holding this game back from a 10. Expand
  17. sft
    Nov 15, 2015
    7
    Go ape with a sledgehammer

    RED FACTION: GUERRILLA is all about destruction. A lot of game time is spent smashing buildings and enemies with a huge sledgehammer. What’s not to like about that? It is great fun and remains so throughout the game. Unfortunately the rest of the package isn’t quite so effective. The graphics are tolerable but not great for a 2009 game, and Mars is a pretty
    Go ape with a sledgehammer

    RED FACTION: GUERRILLA is all about destruction. A lot of game time is spent smashing buildings and enemies with a huge sledgehammer. What’s not to like about that? It is great fun and remains so throughout the game. Unfortunately the rest of the package isn’t quite so effective. The graphics are tolerable but not great for a 2009 game, and Mars is a pretty dull landscape. The story is instantly forgettable, and I really didn’t think about it at all during the time I spent playing the game. The missions are very repetitive and the voice acting variable (Kari Whalgren’s British accent is really bizarre). The combat is surprisingly tough and frustrating at times, especially when ammo is scarce and enemies continuously spawn. The most fun is to be had completing the missions where you ride shotgun and shoot at as much stuff as you can in a given time limit, and the Heavy Metal missions, where you get to operate a mechanical loader and smash as much stuff as possible in a given time limit. This is where RFG excels, as much of the developer’s efforts have gone into the physics of the game. Just about everything in the environment is destructible and the level of realism when an object comes apart is quite impressive. If you fancy a few hours of fun smashing things to pieces with a big hammer, and blowing buildings to kingdom come then you should enjoy this game.
    Expand
  18. Nov 6, 2015
    7
    In this game, you get to **** some **** up on Mars. You are Alec Mason, the hero (a.k.a. the only person who's really doing anything) of Red Faction, a resistance movement fighting against the tyrannical rule of Earth Defence Force.

    The open world of Mars gets fairly dull quickly, the graphics look really outdated, the story and characters are "meh" at best (Samanya's fake British
    In this game, you get to **** some **** up on Mars. You are Alec Mason, the hero (a.k.a. the only person who's really doing anything) of Red Faction, a resistance movement fighting against the tyrannical rule of Earth Defence Force.

    The open world of Mars gets fairly dull quickly, the graphics look really outdated, the story and characters are "meh" at best (Samanya's fake British accent is absolutely unbearable) and the third person shooting is quite bare-bones. However, the game does have an ace up its sleeve: completely destructible buildings. Pretty much every man-made thing can be utterly annihilated by explosives or vehicles or even your trusty sledgehammer. I cannot stress enough how fun it is to just go to an enemy stronghold and destroy everything in your sight.

    Every open world game needs to have its own gimmick to stand out from the crowd. Red Faction Guerrilla's gimmick is destruction. A damn fine gimmick, I'd say. Otherwise, it's just an alright open world third person action/adventure game.
    Expand
  19. Aug 25, 2015
    7
    This is a game I did not pay any attention to or notice until there was a free weekend, I was almost not going to try it out as I have heaps of games Iam yet to play. But I tried it and played through the start and was immediately hooked and had to buy it even though I wanted to play other games first.

    I love games where you get to destroy your surroundings I always find them so much
    This is a game I did not pay any attention to or notice until there was a free weekend, I was almost not going to try it out as I have heaps of games Iam yet to play. But I tried it and played through the start and was immediately hooked and had to buy it even though I wanted to play other games first.

    I love games where you get to destroy your surroundings I always find them so much fun.
    And there are so very few games like that. The only other game I played that was sort of like that was Just Cause 2.

    I enjoy this game a lot. Blow up entire buildings, destroy everything around you with explosives, sledgehammer and even your vehicle, what more could you want?

    It also has decent combat, and side missions that test your skills such as beating the time for demolitions master which you have various scenarios such as find the buildings weak spot, destroy it with 1 explosive and beat the pro time of 15 seconds, or destroy this building as quick as possible just using your sledgehammer as well as various others.

    There's also transporter challenge of getting a vehicle somewhere as quick as possible. But I find those boring. I dislike vehicle controls so found it rather frustrating doing transporter missions.
    And some others as such as raids, rescue etc.

    The story and characters aren't much, but I don't mind as destroying everything is what the focus of the game is and I can't get enough of that. Once I start destroying I get so immersed and can't stop.

    I really like the futuristic look to some vehicles and buildings. The music is very good. Though the landscape looks rather bland and barren being mountainous and dusty, but I guess that's what you get with Mars.
    Did not have any problems or bugs with this game and like that the world feels very open and not boxed in

    It's great that when morale is high guerilla's join you and help attack the enemy and they can be helpful when trying to destroy things they can draw the enemies focus so I can destroy things easier, but they also can be a hindrance and get in the way of explosions and hammer swings.

    This is a great game for those who love destruction and I did not start to feel bored until after the 46 hour mark which is good.

    What I disliked most was that you get such a small amount of ammo, even with full upgrade.

    Awesome fun and a must play. Doesn't quite get an 8 as there is not much variety in what you do.
    Expand
  20. Feb 26, 2016
    7
    Some are comparing the Red Faction: Guerrilla with Grand Theft Auto (GTA) on Mars. Indeed the gameplay can be very similar to that of GTA. The most unique and compelling feature of Guerrilla is the ability to destroy almost everything in the game world. And you can do this in a lot of ways - by crushing with your powerful sledgehammer or any type of transport, by shooting, by blowing up aSome are comparing the Red Faction: Guerrilla with Grand Theft Auto (GTA) on Mars. Indeed the gameplay can be very similar to that of GTA. The most unique and compelling feature of Guerrilla is the ability to destroy almost everything in the game world. And you can do this in a lot of ways - by crushing with your powerful sledgehammer or any type of transport, by shooting, by blowing up a charge or a chemical cistern and so on.

    Although "on paper" the missions are quite varied in reality you are endlessly crushing (most times it's more effective than shooting) and blowing your opponents, their vehicles and buildings. Besides your enemies are respawning infinitely from "empty air", even in "liberated" sectors. All in all the gameplay is quite repetitive. Also you would want more role playing options when interacting with the game world. Guerrilla is a game of driving, killing, crushing and blowing, not of talking and enjoying Mars.

    The world is quite poor in aspects of detailed landscape features and texture richness (especially indoors). The transport quality, variety and control easiness in contrary is very good. The game is really heavy on using physics but it is simplified to destructibility. Don't expect qualitative body motion or realistic damage to materials. As the destruction is the selling point of Guerrilla I would expect more accuracy in this aspect. You will often end in a building hanging in mid-air with only a tiny bar holding it or blow up an atomic(!) bomb realizing it can't even destroy some mediocre bridge.

    Despite the imperfections Guerrilla is still a great game and definitely a must-play for Mars fans. Its open world freedom is the thing every Mars fan would dream of in the real world.

    The full review @ HumanMars.net
    Expand
  21. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    Red Faction: Guerrilla is a game that takes some getting used to. The first couple of hours are a real frustrating bore. Early on, it takes one forever to get used to driving mechanics on the PC version. I felt they were horrendous, yet, as you move on and become more fluent with the game, the easier they become, and by the end of the game you're able to enjoy them. The only big flaw isRed Faction: Guerrilla is a game that takes some getting used to. The first couple of hours are a real frustrating bore. Early on, it takes one forever to get used to driving mechanics on the PC version. I felt they were horrendous, yet, as you move on and become more fluent with the game, the easier they become, and by the end of the game you're able to enjoy them. The only big flaw is how flimsy they are. You can be going so slow, accidently tap a rock and all your windows will shatter and the front end of your vehicle will be damaged. All vehicles are like this, and I felt as if NPC vehicles were much weaker than mine on the Normal difficulty. I would plow into an NPC vehicle and absolutely destroy the thing. And the lack of any sort of flying vehicle was a shame. Graphically the game looks pretty well, characters design here is solid. However, things tend to get boring environmentally. Every environment is virtually the same, just different shades of dirt. Oasis green, Parker red, Dust dust, Eos dust, Badlands darker red (but then again, it IS Mars, what can you really do for it?). The storyline is almost as bland as the color scheme. Mars is controlled by the evil corporations who just want moneymoneymoney and it's up to you, the downtrodden masses to rise up. Characters have no real character, and cut scenes always feel awkward for some reason. And what would a review be without talking about RF's destruction? Destruction is really fun, and probably the saving grace of the game. I really enjoyed being able to knock into a building, or place charges and watch a building implode on itself (my favorite being any of the games few massive bridges you're able to take down). The only real problem with it, is that the number of buildings to destroy are limited and over time they don't repair. Once you liberate a zone, targets go away. I kind of wish they wouldn't. The bigger buildings especially would be nice to be able to destroy again and again. When all is said and done, RF: Guerrilla is your typical shooter with the same bland taste in story as the franchise has come to know, held up by some entertaining free roam destruction and driving mechanics. Expand
  22. FredrikP
    Oct 7, 2009
    5
    I thought this game was pretty dull. The atmosphere the game offers is repetitive.. the story is nothing new; it has been done million times. The only thing fun in this game is the physics. Destroying a building with a hammer is fun! The rest is pretty unbalanced and boring. The weapons and vehicles lack weight.
  23. TM
    Oct 16, 2009
    2
    This game is a terrible, terrible console port. While it is incredibly fun blowing stuff up and destroying buildings with hammers, it does get boring quickly. The missions very repetative and the combat is laughable. Don't waste your money on this.
  24. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    Wonderful potential almost realized is my lead-in for this game. I honestly believe the next BIG thing in gaming is destructible environments using physics. This is a great attempt and loads of fun on that front. The nano rifle is by far my favorite weapon, the Mechs are fun, the jetpack is cool, but the vehicle driving has this strange "floaty" feeling. Overall I enjoyed the game andWonderful potential almost realized is my lead-in for this game. I honestly believe the next BIG thing in gaming is destructible environments using physics. This is a great attempt and loads of fun on that front. The nano rifle is by far my favorite weapon, the Mechs are fun, the jetpack is cool, but the vehicle driving has this strange "floaty" feeling. Overall I enjoyed the game and now that it is discounted from MSRP, it is a great value for anyone that has not had the opportunity to play it. I am a bit concerned with the upcoming sequel being underground, but we'll wait and see... Expand
  25. MadsL
    Oct 30, 2009
    5
    this game is a physics demo more than a game. it IS by all means fun to blow up buildigs, but there are a million soldiers and missions holding you away from doing just that. The combat is a joke, the vihicle-part handles like fucking toy cars, and riding shotgun on a those damage missions suddenly makes the sensitivity skyrocket. The storyline is a complete failure, we want to kick this game is a physics demo more than a game. it IS by all means fun to blow up buildigs, but there are a million soldiers and missions holding you away from doing just that. The combat is a joke, the vihicle-part handles like fucking toy cars, and riding shotgun on a those damage missions suddenly makes the sensitivity skyrocket. The storyline is a complete failure, we want to kick people off mars, (and then starve to death, since there is no food and water) we do this mostly by blowing up civilian buildings . the weapons are completly useless, exept for the hammer, which breaks buildings in 3 strokes and kill instantly, and the nanorifle. building up morale is good, it makes guerillas come to battle, and get themselves killed, so your morale goes down agai WTF!? sucks so bad the only good part about this game is the "demolition crew" part, which should have been released seperately, cheap, keeping people entertained until the astronomic morons at volition could launch a proper game. not just a physics engine with a broken campaign attached to it. Expand
  26. Feb 29, 2012
    7
    The only other 'interesting' red faction game after the original. RFG does a lot right. It gives you a free roaming world, most of which you can level. It scatters most generic activities around, and basically gives you the keys to do whatever you want. Unlike the original red faction, this game takes away the ability to destroy the actual ground, and lets you destroy anything on top of itThe only other 'interesting' red faction game after the original. RFG does a lot right. It gives you a free roaming world, most of which you can level. It scatters most generic activities around, and basically gives you the keys to do whatever you want. Unlike the original red faction, this game takes away the ability to destroy the actual ground, and lets you destroy anything on top of it - I would have preferred both. The side content is mostly just 'go here and destroy this' 'destroy this is 30 seconds' 'bring there people over here' 'kill these guys'. It all get's repetitive really fast. That's why this game is best enjoyed in small spurts, a few generic quests and a dull storyline mission are perfectly fine if you just use them as an excuse to collect some parts for upgrades and level as much as you can. If you want a story focused game with quality side content. Look elsewhere. Expand
  27. R.L
    Oct 16, 2009
    5
    The destroyable buildings are amazing, but everything else in this game isn't. Boring missions, boring storyline, bad weapons design, mediocre world design. Combat has almost no flavor to it - the weapons are very similar in performance (and especially performance to ammo available), you can't really apply any interesting tactics, and the enemies aren't good for any The destroyable buildings are amazing, but everything else in this game isn't. Boring missions, boring storyline, bad weapons design, mediocre world design. Combat has almost no flavor to it - the weapons are very similar in performance (and especially performance to ammo available), you can't really apply any interesting tactics, and the enemies aren't good for any surprise either. It feels like you usually move around for 2-4 minutes to reach a mission or strategic building, do whatever thing you need to do, then restock weapons, and repeat. Expand
  28. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    After starting the game, I spent 20 minutes just destroying walls, destroying the floor and just causing mayhem with a sledgehammer. When I finally decided to follow the mission I got trigger-happy with the explosives, becoming somewhat of a demoman. I majorly enjoyed the destruction engine, and the fact that pretty much anything can be blown up, smashed or shot. After finishing theAfter starting the game, I spent 20 minutes just destroying walls, destroying the floor and just causing mayhem with a sledgehammer. When I finally decided to follow the mission I got trigger-happy with the explosives, becoming somewhat of a demoman. I majorly enjoyed the destruction engine, and the fact that pretty much anything can be blown up, smashed or shot. After finishing the tutorial, I hopped into one of the ute/truck like vehicles and started to run down people, run through walls and just causing more mayhem behind the wheel.
    I found Red Faction Guerilla an interesting game. What I adore about it is that its a sandbox where when it comes to destruction the skies the limit. However, what I did find was that many of the enemies are quite difficult to kill on Normal, as it takes close to a full clip (40 rounds) to defeat an opponent. The storyline is not bad, however the death at the start (not naming names) was unexpected. Overall, this deserves to be recognised along with games with a destruction engine similar like Battlefield, Brothers in arms Hells Highway and Quantum of Solace. This game deserves recognition as a game that is absolutely amazing. A few kinks but the rest very easily makes up for it.
    Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2014
    7
    After so many years and full Steam support coming up, I've replayed this game and finished it under 20 hours minus some collectables. The destruction mechanics is as fun as ever. Visuals are good and the music is non-intrusive.

    However, the game has some shortcomings and outright frustrating properties. For example, you can "collect" ores and supply crates yet only a grand total is
    After so many years and full Steam support coming up, I've replayed this game and finished it under 20 hours minus some collectables. The destruction mechanics is as fun as ever. Visuals are good and the music is non-intrusive.

    However, the game has some shortcomings and outright frustrating properties. For example, you can "collect" ores and supply crates yet only a grand total is given and doesn't list how many of each remained in a particular sector; forcing the player to sweep the whole map just for the last few of them. Being a console port, it was a bit difficult to get used to how the movement controls work on the character and in vehicles (no strafe but full body turn).

    Driving via mouse and keyboard gave me the most frustration. Sometimes, the vehicle wouldn't turn, sometimes it would turn a lot for the shortest keypresses. The smallest bump throws it into the air or starts drifting; all these come exponentially when one does the driving challenges. I know its Mars with 1/3 gravity, but steering shouldn't be this difficult.

    By the way, mission are quite strange in respect of their location. The marker sends the player somewhere, then there is usually a 2 minute long driving section to get to the actual mission location. I don't get it why missions couldn't be started way closer to the intended target area?

    The final annoyance was with the limited ammo. Some say they are gerrillas so live with the limited resources, but they should be able to carry more ammunition (or have upgrades to them), especially when half a clip is needed per enemy or half stock per building.

    Enemies seem to be smart as they take cover and (sarcastically) spawn behind the player; health regenerates but usually there isn't a quiet spot where it would. I often found myself surrounded and seemingly cleared areas produce more enemies pretty quickly.

    In conclusion, it is a decent game, but clearly doesn't have the advancements in mechanics, dos and don'ts in making sandbox games.
    Expand
  30. Solinski
    Sep 26, 2009
    0
    The game is just a physics demo that plays like 4-5 star GTA. Ironically, the addition of other weapons and combat detracts from the game. The combat is insufferably dull.
  31. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    From Volition Inc comes Red Faction Guerrilla an open world destruction game. I combines explosions with open world action. You are Alec Mason an explosives expert who is sent to Mars early in the game your brother is killed and the Red Faction takes you in and you get started with your destruction and killing the Earth Defense Force the main enemy. Or you could just run around blowingFrom Volition Inc comes Red Faction Guerrilla an open world destruction game. I combines explosions with open world action. You are Alec Mason an explosives expert who is sent to Mars early in the game your brother is killed and the Red Faction takes you in and you get started with your destruction and killing the Earth Defense Force the main enemy. Or you could just run around blowing stuff up. The story missions are generally fantastic but there are one or two terrible ones. But all the missions are very wide open you can take different approaches. The game engine is geo mod 2.0 and unlike Red Faction 1 and 2 you only destroy every building instead of edit the land. The graphics are impressive but sometimes I got some bugs with the graphics. The explosions look and sound great. So it's a 9. This review will be on my blog at http://maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/2011/08/red-faction-guerilla.html Expand
  32. Jul 26, 2011
    4
    Good game which is ruined by how much of a poor port it is. You open this game and It screams 'console' at you. Even running in mid-low graphics the game still tends to give a poor performance. When I first downloaded the game from Steam I could not change the audio volume in game as it would stay the same to whatever I changed it to which meant that I could not listen to music or talk toGood game which is ruined by how much of a poor port it is. You open this game and It screams 'console' at you. Even running in mid-low graphics the game still tends to give a poor performance. When I first downloaded the game from Steam I could not change the audio volume in game as it would stay the same to whatever I changed it to which meant that I could not listen to music or talk to friends while playing. The second thing is that the other day I launched the game and it started in a window. I took it out of the window and all the resolutions had disappeared.
    Poor Console Port!
    Expand
  33. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    Played this game twice through story mode, and once with the pc add-on marauders campaign, and it is an excellent piece of work! This is more like "GTA with WAY MORE cool stuff to do". Though it can get a little difficult to continually push back their attacks, should you set off too many alarms. Really nice FOV blurring, totally immerses you in your firefights from small to largePlayed this game twice through story mode, and once with the pc add-on marauders campaign, and it is an excellent piece of work! This is more like "GTA with WAY MORE cool stuff to do". Though it can get a little difficult to continually push back their attacks, should you set off too many alarms. Really nice FOV blurring, totally immerses you in your firefights from small to large scale. If you go exploring at night, expect to be ambushed by marauders! But they have their own unique weapons, so it's worth it. They also control a large piece of desert to the southeast on the map, which is worth exploring in detail once the story provides time. Bottom line, this game is easy on your gpu, is very well polished and optimized AND comes with an extra marauder campaign for when you finish the primary! Steam has had it on sale 3 times, I paid 10 bucks for it and was well worth the 40+ hours spent on it. Now it's on sale for 5, I hope many more people realize this game's greatness. Expand
  34. DavidM
    Dec 27, 2009
    2
    I really wanted to like Red Faction 3; I loved Red Faction 1. But I hate it. Everything moves fast like a silly cartoon. There's no feel of weight or reality to the world so you never suspend disbelief. At the end of the training area you are asked to smash towers around the map. Police cars come at you in such great numbers and at such speed you are constantly surrounded by a I really wanted to like Red Faction 3; I loved Red Faction 1. But I hate it. Everything moves fast like a silly cartoon. There's no feel of weight or reality to the world so you never suspend disbelief. At the end of the training area you are asked to smash towers around the map. Police cars come at you in such great numbers and at such speed you are constantly surrounded by a comical Blues Brothers style pile up with cop cars flying through the air. Unfortunately this is not as cool as it sounds because the game isn't *trying* to be funny. This is the point at which I quit and uninstalled in disgust. This game earns two point for being technically interesting, in that you are able to break nearly everything in the world, but the lack or realism completely ruined the experience for me. Expand
  35. Jan 4, 2011
    3
    RF:G doesn't have that many variety in missions. Any mission you do is some form or variation of destroying EDF property. At first, I thought I was playing the game wrong, it seemed like no matter what I did in the missions I would have a swarm of EDF troopers shooting at me from all sides, I would constantly die, and when I escaped it would barley be with enough health orRF:G doesn't have that many variety in missions. Any mission you do is some form or variation of destroying EDF property. At first, I thought I was playing the game wrong, it seemed like no matter what I did in the missions I would have a swarm of EDF troopers shooting at me from all sides, I would constantly die, and when I escaped it would barley be with enough health or unsatisfied mission complete and death that followed. I tried approaching the mission several different ways, I tried being stealthy, even though the game suggest that you can, no matter what direction you come in from even through the back or concealed in a vehicle you just can not be stealthy, then you have to complete you missions while your being shot at because your somehow expected to be a one man army with no one at your side to assist in the mission, but when you do get assistance it usually one or two people that quickly get shot to death. You can try to take one of the EDF armored vehicles only to find out that the same bullets they are shooting you with is piercing through the armored vehicle and destroying the vehicle quickly. The troops don't stop coming either, Even for a video game it just seems unrealistic to be shot at over and over again while you trying to get your missions done.

    Your suppose to be in a resistance against the EDF in this game and you will just get frustrated that nobody comes out to help you, after a while I just decided I wasn't playing this game cause I got tired of doing all the work while the underground resistance did nothing! As for destructible environments, not true, the only thing you can break is the structures, however unlike the first game the ground and hills your on can't be destroyed or altered, another annoyance in the mission is that the buildings don't crumble so easily and the missions aren't completed until they are completely decimated. This means that even though half a building is standing up, it won't collapse on its own you have to place more explosives. In closing I just want to say, having played this game several months after its release, I am really disappointed that every credible video game magazine and website gave this game a good review, I feel like they didn't play this game long enough or at all to see the issues. It makes me wonder what they are really reviewing.
    Expand
  36. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    What a great game.. Its awesome. To me its one of the best sandbox games i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  37. NickL
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Whats with all the low reviews? This is a damn good game people! If you want to have fun freeing miners on mars, blowing up entire buildings, charging into edf bases with your assault rifle or racing across the martian landscape, this s your best bet.
  38. DaveJ.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Booooooooom! nuff said. Couldn't work out what people said about a lack of plot, you pretty much make your own in an open world, a little like "GTA Mars" but with destructible buildings and a neat morale system that governs whether other citizens take up arms along side you. Neat game, missions more open ended in terms of approach than GTA, which I also liked. Oh, and there Booooooooom! nuff said. Couldn't work out what people said about a lack of plot, you pretty much make your own in an open world, a little like "GTA Mars" but with destructible buildings and a neat morale system that governs whether other citizens take up arms along side you. Neat game, missions more open ended in terms of approach than GTA, which I also liked. Oh, and there aren't any hookers. Expand
  39. HoustG.
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. I think people don't give it the credit it deserves. By just walking around and exploring all of the different places and buildings you can tell the developers put a lot of thought into this game. To truly enjoy this game though, you really need to explore all the little things scattered around Mars. One thing that made me laugh is in This is one of the best games I have ever played. I think people don't give it the credit it deserves. By just walking around and exploring all of the different places and buildings you can tell the developers put a lot of thought into this game. To truly enjoy this game though, you really need to explore all the little things scattered around Mars. One thing that made me laugh is in the Badlands sector where there is a Mars Rover hidden by some rocks by the side of the road (it marks it as a vehicle on your minimap). All in all, I think this is a GREAT game. With all the different things you can do (going off huge jumps in cars, running EDF people over, destroying stuff for fun, bailing out of cars while in the air, freeing hostages, and much more) and how much fun it is to do them, I believe this game is an amazing game and that people should look past it's minor problems and really enjoy the game. Expand
  40. TylerH.
    Dec 29, 2009
    7
    My scores reflects the games great physics and total distruction, which proves enjoyable. While the plot isnt anything great, nor the detail in the levels when you get down to it, the game itself is fun and knocking down a building feels/looks pretty cool. The Mulitplayer is a blast LAN, matchmaking online is a pain as it takes way to damn long to find a game/players. This game has My scores reflects the games great physics and total distruction, which proves enjoyable. While the plot isnt anything great, nor the detail in the levels when you get down to it, the game itself is fun and knocking down a building feels/looks pretty cool. The Mulitplayer is a blast LAN, matchmaking online is a pain as it takes way to damn long to find a game/players. This game has several flaws, coding errors ect... that you need to patch via windows live or a direct download. It also will product incredible lag in certain menus and when distroying large buildings, but i did find a work around that has the game running flawlessly. start the game - press alt tab to go to the desktop - ctrl alt del - find RFG.exe - right click and set priority to low - go back to game - it should now work how its suppose to. I would rate higher, but with a poor port job and a good not great graphics engine, along with a lack of suppose for nvidia physx or sli, it gets a 7... or a C. Fun, but flawed.... also at times proves repetitive. Expand
  41. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    one of the cool things about the red faction series has always been how much stuff can be blown to hell . well RFG makes it even more fun by making it a free roam game and letting you blow the hell out of buildings and just about every thing els under the mars sun . which is alot of fun just taking a big vehicle and plowing it through a building flatting all the enimys inside . the storyone of the cool things about the red faction series has always been how much stuff can be blown to hell . well RFG makes it even more fun by making it a free roam game and letting you blow the hell out of buildings and just about every thing els under the mars sun . which is alot of fun just taking a big vehicle and plowing it through a building flatting all the enimys inside . the story is fairly simplistic and nothing that grabs you . pretty much just out for revenge . the controls are good the wepon selection is just to small they had a much better one in the first RF game . the missions are fairly well put together and graphics ok . the online was also just ok . it kinda reminded me of lost planet abit with all theese back packs you get that give you certain powers. i did love the rampage mode or what ever it was called where you can just blow the hell out of a small town with out any one gettin in your way. its a pretty fun game that is fueled by your love of just blowin crap up. Expand
  42. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    If you like blowing **** up, this is definitely the game for you; an absolute hidden gem. The destruction physics are pretty amazing and they never get old. Grand Theft Auto sandbox play style--a good single player story with plenty of side missions. The multiplayer experience was kind of weak, but certainly playable. Pick it up when it's on sale for $5 for some good entertainment value.
  43. May 25, 2011
    9
    One of the greatest games this gen. Sure it's lax on story, but it's there and it's perfectly fine.

    It delivers loads of content to play around with and hours upon hours of destruction based gameplay.
  44. Jun 2, 2011
    4
    Interesting physics, decent story, but the controls ruined the game for me. It played like a poor console port, the controls just felt terrible. For an FPS, the controls felt spongy and imprecise, and badly needed some polish. This was the only Red Faction game I've bought, and I don't intend to buy another. Simple aweful.
  45. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    My first try in the Red Faction series... was pretty awesome. The game itself, meaning combination of plot, characters, world etc. is getting better and better every mission, but overall it's not any better than a "good" game. It could be an amazing production combining the best elements of open-world games, but it didn't really did that. Although I was AMAZED by how the world is big, it'sMy first try in the Red Faction series... was pretty awesome. The game itself, meaning combination of plot, characters, world etc. is getting better and better every mission, but overall it's not any better than a "good" game. It could be an amazing production combining the best elements of open-world games, but it didn't really did that. Although I was AMAZED by how the world is big, it's empty. No houses, almost no buildings. Just a desert. Sick. Also, it's way too difficult, some of the missions were too hard to complete them even at the 5th try! But, at the same time, physics (maybe the best in the gaming history!), plot, missions - really worth buying. Might be the biggest surprise of 2009. Expand
  46. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    Played this game twice through story mode, and once with the pc add-on marauders campaign, and it is an excellent piece of work! This is more like "GTA with WAY MORE cool stuff to do". Though it can get a little difficult to continually push back their attacks, should you set off too many alarms. Really nice FOV blurring, totally immerses you in your firefights from small to large scale.Played this game twice through story mode, and once with the pc add-on marauders campaign, and it is an excellent piece of work! This is more like "GTA with WAY MORE cool stuff to do". Though it can get a little difficult to continually push back their attacks, should you set off too many alarms. Really nice FOV blurring, totally immerses you in your firefights from small to large scale. If you go exploring at night, expect to be ambushed by marauders! But they have their own unique weapons, so it's worth it. They also control a large piece of desert to the southeast on the map, which is worth exploring in detail once the story provides time. Bottom line, this game is easy on your gpu, is very well polished and optimized AND comes with an extra marauder campaign for when you finish the primary! Steam has had it on sale 3 times, I paid 10 bucks for it and was well worth the 40+ hours spent on it. Now it's on sale for 5, I hope many more people realize this game's greatness Expand
  47. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    love this game! i remember playing the older Red faction games and i missed the environment destruction from the older ones i love destroying the buildings which is why i got the game i wasn't paying attention to the story as much as i should have....but i the physics of destroyed buildings where there was only one support strut in place and the building didn't collapse under its ownlove this game! i remember playing the older Red faction games and i missed the environment destruction from the older ones i love destroying the buildings which is why i got the game i wasn't paying attention to the story as much as i should have....but i the physics of destroyed buildings where there was only one support strut in place and the building didn't collapse under its own weight kinda killed the game play for me...would have liked more building to destroy though or ones that would be rebuilt so i could destroy them again would have kept me entertained for days.... Expand
  48. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    Every man-made structure in sight is made of cardboard and you're armed with explosives... *lightbulb* Who cares about the main plot when you can cause/watch the world burn?

    In all seriousness, a good game, but I still believe the main selling point is the destructible environment. Something about covering a residential building with demolition charges and then watching every piece fly
    Every man-made structure in sight is made of cardboard and you're armed with explosives... *lightbulb* Who cares about the main plot when you can cause/watch the world burn?

    In all seriousness, a good game, but I still believe the main selling point is the destructible environment. Something about covering a residential building with demolition charges and then watching every piece fly off into the distance floods my brain with dopamine.
    Expand
  49. Dec 13, 2012
    5
    GTA clone in space but with highly destructible environments. Main story is relatively short compared to other sandbox games but I think it's worth getting just to destroy peoples houses with your hammer & det packs. Overall it's pretty bland and not much unique about it besides the physics.
  50. Jan 22, 2013
    7
    Key word for this game is: meh. Gameplay is pretty polished but legitimately gets repetitive really quickly. But what saves it and saved for me is it's destruction physics. When i saw it for the first time, i thought it was awesome, and i still think. Everything gets much more fun when you start to figure out how you can destroy building, or, you're shooting baddies while destroyingKey word for this game is: meh. Gameplay is pretty polished but legitimately gets repetitive really quickly. But what saves it and saved for me is it's destruction physics. When i saw it for the first time, i thought it was awesome, and i still think. Everything gets much more fun when you start to figure out how you can destroy building, or, you're shooting baddies while destroying building! It's cool, but overall game is repetitive and forgettable. But it's okay, you can let it pass and it is an improvement after Red Faction 2. Expand
  51. Dstar2
    Jan 3, 2010
    5
    I bought this expecting a first person game like RF2, but was surprised to see that it's third person. Still, the third person controls are very well done and I never had any trouble with the camera. Possibly the best third person camera I've seen yet. This game is basically GTA with all the fun stuff removed. You run around Mars grabbing vehicles, blowing up the baddies' I bought this expecting a first person game like RF2, but was surprised to see that it's third person. Still, the third person controls are very well done and I never had any trouble with the camera. Possibly the best third person camera I've seen yet. This game is basically GTA with all the fun stuff removed. You run around Mars grabbing vehicles, blowing up the baddies' buildings and killing baddie swarms. Blowing up stuff and completing missions gives you credits which you spend in buying better weapons with which to blow up baddies more efficiently. While this sounds like fun, blowing up stuff gets tiring after 5 minutes, and every time you blow up a baddie's building, a swarm of baddies attack you. Killing enemies in this game is a chore, you don't feel any satisfaction after a battle - it's just something that needs to be done. You'll want to avoid combat as much as possible because it's extremely tedious and repetitive. Unfortunately blowing stuff up (which is the point of the game) always ssts a horde of baddies on your ass. Pros: Good graphics Blow stuff up with a variety of weapons Open world, go anywhere, steal any of the plentiful cars Very well executed camera and controls Cons: Blowing stuff up gets boring after 5 minutes Combat is _Extremely_ tedious, boring and repetitive and is forced on you often Really easy game. Aforementioned combat is very easy to win (or flee from if you're losing) so there's little challenge or satisfaction after a battle. Vehicles are boring variants of one or two core types, although there is a cool walker that can smash stuff with its arms This is a good game, if you like action RPGs with repetitive combat, free roam and lots of vehicles. Expand
  52. SimonC
    Oct 7, 2009
    0
    The game does not work! It has needed a patch to get it working from the second it was released. No patch is forthcoming from Volition. How they screwed up this badly I do not know. Do not buy this game. Wait until they have fixed it (if they ever do) and get it cheaper and working, do not be conned like I have been.
  53. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    One of the finest games of the 200#'s, Red Faction: Guerilla is the first mainstream game since Shadow of the Colossus to truly offer new technology and gameplay design.

    Additionally, the desolate atmosphere of Mars and the sense of paranoia - either of the EDF or of worse things in the desert is second to very few games, while the depth and variety of AI behaviours both in combat and in
    One of the finest games of the 200#'s, Red Faction: Guerilla is the first mainstream game since Shadow of the Colossus to truly offer new technology and gameplay design.

    Additionally, the desolate atmosphere of Mars and the sense of paranoia - either of the EDF or of worse things in the desert is second to very few games, while the depth and variety of AI behaviours both in combat and in general are superior to any other open world game I've played.

    If you play at a high difficulty and let your imagination take you, Red Faction: Guerilla will straddle the lines between Action, Stealth, and RPG. Offering freedom, emotional engagement with the AI as they fight and die across Tharsis, and varied tactical opportunities as you are granted absolutely free reign and a wide variety of equipment to take out hundreds of optional targets by any means available.

    Expect difficulty, expect the AI to be both deadly and foolish in turns - expect them to act like fallible humans, and be prepared for the brutal collateral damage that will occur when civilian rebels play with explosives and large vehicles.

    The downsides of the game include a poorly ported Multiplayer experience, now utterly inactive - and at times bizarre spawn-rates of EDF vehicles that can mob you to death with a single-minded determination to ram you until your vehicle explodes. Additionally, while the setting is fantastic, the storyline as depicted in cutscenes and missions is very much a homage to the eighties, bearing more in common with the cliche and distinct Good and Evil moralism of Total Recall, or Robocop. It's cheesy as hell, and quite simplistic. The background depth of the world shown in the subtle behaviours of colonist AI and the hand-crafted designs of towns and ruined structures, however, is fantastic - you can believe in the Mars of Red Faction: Guerilla as you can in the worlds of few other open world games - here, it feels alive, more akin to Morrowind's Vvardenfel than any sterile, constantly-respawning city of Grand Theft Auto.

    Both technologically and atmospherically, RF:G provides an incredible gaming experience, one of very few action games that can satisfy my imagination like a classic RPG, or the freedom of Hitman: Codename 47.

    Give it a try - it costs very little today - and support Volition by trying out their next release; Red Faction: Armageddon.
    Expand
  54. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    Great game! I really enjoyed the storyline and the destruction. Multiplayer is alot of fun and the backpacks just add to the chaos.

    Overall this game is great and is a great time waster.
  55. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    What a great game.. Its awesome. To me its one of the best sandbox games i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  56. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Probably my favourite game ever, Beautiful colour scheme and art, but the terrain isn't destructible like the previous games whereas the scenery and buildings are instead, another thing, the keyboard controls are a tad clunky but you do get used to them after a good 2 hours of playing.
  57. Jan 3, 2011
    6
    I love the fact that you can destroy any building, you feel needs destroyed. I like the missions, yet they become repetitive and start to get boring. This game is mainly good for the free world and killing people. I enjoyed it but no where near Saints row 2.
  58. Aug 28, 2012
    4
    Quite a dull game in my opinion. Blowing up stuff is kida fun, but the slaughtering of countless generic enemies is a real chore after a while, and they will just pop up out of thin air as soon as you set off some explosives. Besides, it's really hard to suspend disbelief: the enemy throws at you as if on a suicide mission, with police cars flying all around the place and crashing intoQuite a dull game in my opinion. Blowing up stuff is kida fun, but the slaughtering of countless generic enemies is a real chore after a while, and they will just pop up out of thin air as soon as you set off some explosives. Besides, it's really hard to suspend disbelief: the enemy throws at you as if on a suicide mission, with police cars flying all around the place and crashing into each other. The physics aren't that good either, you can blow up three quarters of a large tower's base and find it balancing on the last remaining bit, but thankfully this doesn't happen with every kind of building. The combat is why I couldn't bring myself to finish this game tough. It seems this is a game about blowing things up, that does everything to make you spend less and less time blowing things up. It also needed a stealth component in my opinion. Expand
  59. Dec 6, 2014
    3
    Just about worth the steam sale price. The demolition is the only good thing here, and the music is ok, but the rest is your usual bland console port fare and way too arcade. The world is not persistent enough - enemies pop in from nowhere, or you demolish something huge only to find it replaced next mission etc. The graphics are not as good as the screenshots suggest. World design isJust about worth the steam sale price. The demolition is the only good thing here, and the music is ok, but the rest is your usual bland console port fare and way too arcade. The world is not persistent enough - enemies pop in from nowhere, or you demolish something huge only to find it replaced next mission etc. The graphics are not as good as the screenshots suggest. World design is bland like mars in real life, and has a lego city feel (lots of copy paste buildings etc). The story starts ok but is not so interesting afterwards. While other ports like Assassins Creed have similar flaws, they just about make up for it while this one just about does not.
    If you are easy to please and like arcade action, this game is ok, otherwise leave it alone.

    Respect to the developers though for still updating their game 5 years after release. Finally good riddance to Games-For-Windows-Live.
    Expand
  60. Feb 16, 2013
    4
    A half-hearted console port. As far as gameplay goes, its fine if you want a mid-tier third person shooter. The physics are cool if you just like breaking through walls with a sledge hammer. Otherwise, its model of structural damage and collapse isn't as good as some free 2d flash games. The storyline isn't anything meaningful or interesting. Level design is bad. There are no features of aA half-hearted console port. As far as gameplay goes, its fine if you want a mid-tier third person shooter. The physics are cool if you just like breaking through walls with a sledge hammer. Otherwise, its model of structural damage and collapse isn't as good as some free 2d flash games. The storyline isn't anything meaningful or interesting. Level design is bad. There are no features of a console game to speak of, modders are almost non-existent, and the Games for Windows interface further blocks what you can do with the game.

    Each level is a reskin of the last, except with an arbitrary color scheme. The first level you start in is red, then orange, then green, then blue. Why? Its very ugly and plain. There's nothing cool to blow up except one huge bridge (which is one of the only really cool and interesting thing about the game) and two sky scrapers which have indestructible hard-points which make it only possible to destroy them one way. Why would they do this in a game who's only appeal is that you can destroy stuff?

    The multiplayer is pretty good. The different backpacks make gameplay interesting. For example, you can be a 'rhyno' backpack wielder with a sledge hammer, and wreck through walls to surprise targets. However, the multiplayer is buggier than on console and I don't think there are as many players.

    There is little moddability. With such potential with the destruction engine, why not a system where you can add and design buildings? This is an insult to PC gamers, just handing them a console port with no attention to the things PC gamers expect. You can't even use cheat codes to, for example, get rid of the bad guys so you can sandbox destroy stuff in the world. Even if you have a minimal destruction save file there's still not much to blow up in the world.

    The progression system feels so limiting. Just Cause 2 got guerrilla warfare right. In this game, there's no place to hide or anything. You just kill people and blow stuff up to unlock new areas. So lame. I don't want to have to sit through your bad storyline just to play the game the way I want to.

    I only payed $5 for this game I feel like I wasted my money. I was really disappointed that this is the only non-indy title that tries to emulate destruction physics and it totally fails. I liked it better on Xbox anyway.
    Expand
  61. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    The best Red Faction because the freedom in the gam eplay. A good atmosphere. But the difficult level is only for mad Japanese. I have played the game hundred of hours, because the half of the gameworld it open at the start, i have never see the rest of the world. The game has only 1 difficult level for the story line missions: Hyper-Nightmare-Suicidal. As a sample: to open the first newThe best Red Faction because the freedom in the gam eplay. A good atmosphere. But the difficult level is only for mad Japanese. I have played the game hundred of hours, because the half of the gameworld it open at the start, i have never see the rest of the world. The game has only 1 difficult level for the story line missions: Hyper-Nightmare-Suicidal. As a sample: to open the first new region you will over life a destruction derby race, all your "friends" do nothing else as kill you, not enoth you drive under artillery fire as well. I have tried it 30 times, then i give up. Whithout this heavy bug, the game get a 9/10, but so... sorry. Expand
  62. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    A game that feels as though it could of been so much on PC but a very lack lustre port and poor performance on PC just means this game never quites hits the mark the way it should and becomes a chore to play.
  63. Sep 2, 2014
    2
    I like the idea of this game but some of the design choices leave a bad aftertaste. I remember playing the original Red Faction and compared to that this game sucks. The atmosphere isn't there, the AI is buggy, the way-points are static not dynamic, mini map is horrible and shows some unrelated info. The only really good weapon is marauder shotgun, others lack of damage and do nothing inI like the idea of this game but some of the design choices leave a bad aftertaste. I remember playing the original Red Faction and compared to that this game sucks. The atmosphere isn't there, the AI is buggy, the way-points are static not dynamic, mini map is horrible and shows some unrelated info. The only really good weapon is marauder shotgun, others lack of damage and do nothing in fight, enemies eat lead like it was popcorn and cars do not take nearly enough damage from tanks and explosions. Some buildings are too weak like they would have been made from paper and glue. In the other extreme cases some buildings stay up even without any walls. Sometimes you can die by walking to invisible wall and that invisible wall falls on to you or sends you flying through the air with while you do a barrel roll. I once shot an enemy and watched him do four back flip in the air. Really, is this physics or magic? I was using a normal assault rifle. You can fail missions without any reason, for example the game informs "do not leave the mission area" fine I get that, except I am still standing in the middle of mission area. All the missions are basically the same so this game is extremely boring and repetitive. I hate to give it such a low score because I would like to play a good Red Faction game for a change but this is not it. Be aware this game feels and handles like a poor port on PC and I feel very bad and betrayed even when I paid only 0.90€ for it. It's no wonder that the original publisher went bankrupt. What a horrible piece of garbage this is, even the cut scenes do not feel like they belong to this game. There was some serious potential in this and somebody somewhere didn't care enough to make things work. Trust me when I tell you that there are some better and more complete indie games out there worth more of your money than this. Expand
  64. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Red Faction - Guerrilla is a 3rd person open world shooter, taking place on mars 2125 where the player takes control of Alec Mason, after his brother is killed by the EDF for helping the Red Faction. The player is then brought into the world to take down EDF property to slowly liberate the 6 sectors. "Parker, Dust, Oasis, Badlands, Free fire zone, & Eos.
  65. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    Guerilla is an amazingly cathartic game. I expect because it comes from what has never been a triple A franchise, it gets prematurely thumbed down. I admit, i didn't like the earlier games much. But that's what makes Guerilla so interesting- it is the breakout title in the series, a dramatic reinvention of an otherwise samey FPS into a surprisingly entertaining Third Person sandboxGuerilla is an amazingly cathartic game. I expect because it comes from what has never been a triple A franchise, it gets prematurely thumbed down. I admit, i didn't like the earlier games much. But that's what makes Guerilla so interesting- it is the breakout title in the series, a dramatic reinvention of an otherwise samey FPS into a surprisingly entertaining Third Person sandbox shooter. Alec Mason is the iconic revolutionary underdog, the working-class hero who rises from the Martian dust to shake the foundations of his world. Guerilla maintains the key gameplay feature that sets the series apart from other shooters- it's environmental destruction mechanic. With everything from the humble sledgehammer to explosives to a hijacked EDF personnel carrier, you can literally smash the oppressive Earth government's war machine to pieces, crashing through walls, tearing down buildings and generally blowing the ♥♥♥♥ out of anything that gets in your way. Expand
  66. CalvinM
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    Incredible physics system, good driving, cool weapons, cool vehicles (including some mechs). Without feeling derivative, I think RF:Guerrilla successfully implemented the sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of GTA games, but in a sci-fi context (everything set on mars in the far future). I think most will underappreciate how excellent the camera was implemented in this game- but only Incredible physics system, good driving, cool weapons, cool vehicles (including some mechs). Without feeling derivative, I think RF:Guerrilla successfully implemented the sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of GTA games, but in a sci-fi context (everything set on mars in the far future). I think most will underappreciate how excellent the camera was implemented in this game- but only because nobody will ever have any issue with it. The game seamlessly transitions between a 3rd person viewpoint when the character is running around and driving to a 2nd person viewpoint (a la Gears of War) when shooting. Graphics are amazing- the world exists in a night/day cycle. Gorgeous is the word to describe it when you see the suns rays pierce through the martian atmosphere, and dusk-nighttime is just as incredible. Only backdraws- the game isn't quite as free and expansive and immersive as an actual Grand Theft Auto game. Once in a while there is a slight hiccup/slowdown when driving, and I'm playing with a very high-end PC. Lastly, aiming turrets can be frustrating- it feels like they forgot that PC gamers use mice- there is no acceleration. They made it too sensitive to aim well, but slow enough that it takes too long to spin the turret 180 degrees. This is despite the fact that aiming with your character works perfectly. I've played the first 2 Red Faction games, and was definitely excited for this one. I love the quasi-marxist revolutionary motif, not nearly enough of that sort of politically-aware thing. Expand
  67. LeeW
    Sep 23, 2009
    7
    This is an incredibly fun game. I love it to bits. However, I've only been able to play the singleplayer portions of the game. I apparently seem to be the only one having this difficulty as trying to connect to multiplayer freezes and soon crashes, as well as the control menu. However, I cannot stress this enough: buy this game. I doubt more than a small amount of other people will This is an incredibly fun game. I love it to bits. However, I've only been able to play the singleplayer portions of the game. I apparently seem to be the only one having this difficulty as trying to connect to multiplayer freezes and soon crashes, as well as the control menu. However, I cannot stress this enough: buy this game. I doubt more than a small amount of other people will have this problem and the part of the game I've played so far is amazing. Hopefully Volition will release a patch soon for me. Expand
  68. Mar 1, 2012
    7
    Bought this game based on cambria's review and all I gotta say is that it was a decent disappointment. My main gripes were the linear, same old missions over and over again, and the bland environment. I still haven't beat this game and I'm not rushing back to play it again :/
  69. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    I don't understand the people that write **** reviews. this is the ONLY game I know where you can walk up to a sprawling tower and smash it into oblivion. and for the people that say that it is a bad port, I can run the game completely smooth at max settings, Ever consider that your PC sucks?
  70. Aug 14, 2013
    5
    I actually don't think that this game represents an aweful port. The problems with this game is how repetitive the game is. To give you an example when I completed the game I had done 74 side missions to the 18 story missions in the game, the side missions are either get hostages, wreck a building, drive a car or defend a building; There is very little variety. The story missions are veryI actually don't think that this game represents an aweful port. The problems with this game is how repetitive the game is. To give you an example when I completed the game I had done 74 side missions to the 18 story missions in the game, the side missions are either get hostages, wreck a building, drive a car or defend a building; There is very little variety. The story missions are very similar to the side missions sadly seperated with 4 or 5 cut scenes through the game, there is very little vehicle choice in the game and they all feel the same. since 2009 there are so many better open world games and I really think that RFG is very average at best. Expand
  71. Aug 1, 2013
    5
    Had a couple of fun hours, then it was the same thing over and over. Very repetitive. Worth a low price, but don't buy it if it's over 10$, in my opinion.
  72. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    The only reason I give this an 8 out of ten, is because of the destruction engine. That is really it's only redeeming feature. I couldn't follow the story very well, and it's extraordinary long. However since it's on PC, you can cheat and enable free roam, which makes it more fun. The driving mechanics are odd, and feel off. I have a pretty powerful PC, and it struggled to run it onThe only reason I give this an 8 out of ten, is because of the destruction engine. That is really it's only redeeming feature. I couldn't follow the story very well, and it's extraordinary long. However since it's on PC, you can cheat and enable free roam, which makes it more fun. The driving mechanics are odd, and feel off. I have a pretty powerful PC, and it struggled to run it on anything above medium. But the destruction engine is my favorite part... More games need this engine... just better shooting/aiming/ better story where you can just destroy things. Expand
  73. Feb 1, 2015
    8
    A very beloved game of mine, it holds a special place in my heart personally. Now, Red Faction is about a group of colonist's being screwed over on Mars. VIA harsh living conditions, strenuous work hours and of course the corrupt and brutal EDF Soldiers that are present there. You play Alec Mason, a man who is hell bent of getting revenge on the EDF after they killed your brother and afterA very beloved game of mine, it holds a special place in my heart personally. Now, Red Faction is about a group of colonist's being screwed over on Mars. VIA harsh living conditions, strenuous work hours and of course the corrupt and brutal EDF Soldiers that are present there. You play Alec Mason, a man who is hell bent of getting revenge on the EDF after they killed your brother and after he sees just how much of a jerk they are to the people of Mars. Now, this game is made by the people who made Saint's Row and it sure shows! It has it's humor and such, {Such as if you kill your brother in the tutorial mission you get a special mission failed text that says "WTF? YOU KILLED YOUR BROTHER!!!"}

    It is also quite funny how the A.I in this game reacts, there are times when I have made the EDF SO mad they run over their own guys and run through their own buildings just to try and kill me.

    Oh ya, almost forgot. In case you did not know already, this game has destructible buildings. And I do not mean Battle Field Copy Paste Asset destruction, no. Every little bit and piece of building in this game is programmed to have its own weight, strength and mass. Meaning, you could play a game of "Let us see just how many support beams this building actually needs" though, knock down any ladders you see first, they somehow cheat and can hold an entire building up by themselves.

    Now, the story is quite well done. By no means some magnum opus {Neither is the voice acting good at all times either} But it is still quite the fun game to play with TONS of diverse weapons!

    You have of course have your standard Pistol, Assault Rifle, two shotguns and an Enforcer {Which is basically a weak assault rifle but the bullets home in on targets} and a Sub Machine Gun {If you buy the DLC}

    You have two types of rocket launchers {Three if you buy the DLC} Two of which fire three rockets before needing to reload {The DLC one is more powerful, but cannot lock onto vehicles} And then you have a Thermobaric Rocket Launcher, basically a CoD nuke you can launch without needing to camp for 25 kills.

    You also get your share of Detonation Charges, Proximity Mines, and Singularity Bombs, which is basically a mini black hole.

    You also have Thor's hammer...it can knock through buildings and send people FLYING! My favorite thing to do is to put on the Super Hammer cheat and send cars into space, or send them flying through buildings.

    The multiplayer is really fun too! Sure, most of the game modes are not original. But the fact you can pretty much not camp means players have to get creative. Camping a corner with a shotgun or sniper? Well then someone will just run to the wall you hiding behind/beside and blow it up with charges!

    Oh ya, and you can get walkers... a small jet pack one, a large rocket one, a huge arm crushing one.

    I seriously wish there was a game mode where everyone got on of the big punch walkers and just had a massive boxing fight.

    The only real issues I have, is with the civilian AI. They are sometimes SOOOO DUMB! And you get punished for it, like if one of them decides to drive off a cliff in panic from gun fire literally ten kilometers from them, you get punished for them dying. Or when you are trying to escort hostages away and save them, they sometimes just STAY in open fire! And only the civilians do this! The EDF are smart enough so what gives?

    But anyways, I seriously recommend this game to anyone! It is for cheap and certainly worth your time~
    Expand
  74. May 10, 2015
    8
    it was very fun to smash the hell out of buildings and the weapons were unique. but the cheats didn't work for me very well. but overall, it's a good game about smashing things with a hammer
  75. Nov 2, 2016
    7
    A very fun and casual game that relies on impressive destrucatable enviroments as its main selling point. If not for that, game would be a pretty boring marsian based open world game with crappy and unrefined driving that take up a lot of the game time. Combat and gunplay is a mixed bag with standard guns feeling too light to shoot and underpowered, except for some of the special ones youA very fun and casual game that relies on impressive destrucatable enviroments as its main selling point. If not for that, game would be a pretty boring marsian based open world game with crappy and unrefined driving that take up a lot of the game time. Combat and gunplay is a mixed bag with standard guns feeling too light to shoot and underpowered, except for some of the special ones you get later in the game, those can cause massive destruction, also the way game just endlessly throws enemies at you is tiresome. Story and characters are nothing special aswell, pretty forgetable. Point A to B driving missions are also tedious.

    Graphics wise it looks pretty good for 2008 and runs well on PC, tho some settings like ambient occlusion tank the frame rate way too much if enabled. Controls on PC with mouse and kboard work smoothly.

    A solid game if youre after some open world mayhem with possibly the best destruction mechanics in a video game.
    Expand
  76. Mar 27, 2017
    10
    the destruction in this game is a very good example of an amazing mechanic that is so impressive yet so difficult to replicate that no one till this day made a game like this, its exceptional, fun and well made, though the story may not be as solid... wait... what story.... no one really cares... game has missile launcher tanks for god sake...
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Red Faction: Guerrilla is a sandbox game in its purest form. Watching giant structures collapse is an absolute thrill, and although the characters and their backgrounds aren't very compelling, the awesome weapons and great amount of side missions will take players on a path of destruction for hours to come.
  2. 90
    Despite its lackluster storytelling, Red Faction: Guerrilla is a whole lot of fun to play, thanks to its meaty campaign and well-rounded multiplayer offerings.
  3. The best in-game destruction ever can't make up for a few major shortcomings, but when a game is built to blow up buildings, it's hard to find much fault when it does that so well. You'll definitely overlook the shortcomings and focus on what this game does well instead.