Red Faction: Guerrilla PC

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 305 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 305
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    Always wanted to destroy the world that is around you ?
    Never wanted to visit Mars ?
    Well this game is made for you, a mix of action with an amazing story and nicely made enemies AI, be ready cause they won't die easy, you will also have a big arsenal of weapons with all they're upgrades, save Mars and the people who became slaves under EDF control.
  2. Coeco
    Oct 13, 2009
    8
    Probably the most fun third person game i've ever played. I dearly wish to give it a 10/10 but i managed to find some dissapointments with it, There's not enough huge stuff to be destroyed, The shooting is a bit awkward with the nanorifle since the character needs to turn around, THEN shoot with the help of one click, but boy, destroying stuff couldn't be more fun. Probably the most fun third person game i've ever played. I dearly wish to give it a 10/10 but i managed to find some dissapointments with it, There's not enough huge stuff to be destroyed, The shooting is a bit awkward with the nanorifle since the character needs to turn around, THEN shoot with the help of one click, but boy, destroying stuff couldn't be more fun. Guerrilla missions gets a bit repetitive but the game allows you to go and smash stuff whenever you feel like it so its a clear 8 from me. Expand
  3. DrakeS
    Oct 29, 2009
    9
    There are few games that use gimmicks and pull them off. There's Prey, which takes portals and gravity experiments and puts them in the back seat in order to have a damn good shooter with some really fun extras once in a while. There's Penumbra, which uses its amazing lighting and physics at the front of the title in order to stimulate a sense of realism and the player's There are few games that use gimmicks and pull them off. There's Prey, which takes portals and gravity experiments and puts them in the back seat in order to have a damn good shooter with some really fun extras once in a while. There's Penumbra, which uses its amazing lighting and physics at the front of the title in order to stimulate a sense of realism and the player's fear of the unknown. Red Faction: Guerrilla follows in this small chain of unique games that actually do it right in which you, simply enough, fuck shit up. It follows in the path of Volition's other work Saints Row 2. It's an open world shooter based more around incredible minigames than the real storyline. It's really great, since the storyline is generic, more likely to have been directed by THQ rather than Volition (see: FreeSpace for Volition's awesomeness). The perspective has been changed from the previous RF games from first- to turd-person in order to please wimpy console gamers, which is bad, but the perspective doesn't fall flat as in Dead Space. There are various bugs reported by consumers, none of which I have come across, but I'm lucky, and, as with Saints Row 2, I'd wait for a patch if I was someone else, because the port was again not made by Volition. Also, like Saints Row 2, there are also limited graphics options due to a quick port job, but nothing as drastically bad as that of Grand Theft Auto IV. Now, I've covered all the iffy-to-bad stuff. What about the gameplay, Mister Person Man? Well, it's awesome. The driving controls are smooth, and I do believe the bouncy vehicles generates a sense of Martian gravity. The guns are the most fun weapons I've shot since the TrueCombat:Elite mod for Enemy Territory. The effects are amazing and definitely add depth to the world. Blowing shit up is also very in-depth and feels simply correct. A.I. is smart on both friendly and enemy sides, sans a few small glitches. I still like the original Red Faction more, but this is also a candidate for super awesome. Expand
  4. SPMXVC
    Oct 8, 2009
    9
    Why 9? Simple really. The game is new, fresh, something totally different! There ARE problems within the game, but as far as problems go they are well within the limits. The AI is a little shaky at times, sometimes it knows exactly where you are even if you're hiding inside a building on one side of a compound and an explosion goes off at the other end. The over the shoulder view is Why 9? Simple really. The game is new, fresh, something totally different! There ARE problems within the game, but as far as problems go they are well within the limits. The AI is a little shaky at times, sometimes it knows exactly where you are even if you're hiding inside a building on one side of a compound and an explosion goes off at the other end. The over the shoulder view is still something I'll never like, it always generates this false sense of gravity, targeting, and movement. Bullets don't travel from your character model, but rather the center of your screen right behind your cross hair. You can be standing behind a solid object with the cross hair around the corner, you can shoot around it, but can't be shot yourself. It also causes problems when team-mates run to your right hand side, they will actually get shot even though physically that are standing BESIDE the gun and not in front of it. Controlling turrets and mechs is just an absolute travesty, it somehow beefs up your sensitivity to levels of insanity, making precise movements or aim difficult and sometimes outright impossible. I do understand this game came from the console first, in which case it's a VERY good job. I've seen MUCH MUCH MUCH worse jobs done in that category. Driving Vehicles doesn't feel natural, the physics of them feel very stiff and difficult to turn and control, precise turns become laborious and frustrating. As far as the major issues with the game, that's probably about all of them. You really don't have to worry too much about it, they definitely don't remain in the foreground for too long and soon you'll be blasting pretty much everything on screen into little itty bitty pieces! This game certainly is one of those games I hated to stop playing, realizing it was 3AM in the morning and I had to get up at 6AM for work. The weapons were numerous enough to give you a decent selection, although some weapons were pretty useless. The explosions and creative demolition in the game is revolutionary. This is destructive power and force at the absolute pinnacle! How do you destroy a giant bridge? Park a car fitted with a high explosive charge in the middle of it, set remote charges in structural support zones? It doesn't end there, I thought about it "What would really make this cool is if a bunch of enemy soldiers were ON the bridge when I set it off!" So I shot some soldiers and lured them back over the bridge, by the time I got there I had about 10 Soldiers chasing me in vehicles, on foot and even one of those Hoverdrone thingies. I shot down the Hoverdrone with my rocket launcher. Lo and Behold it smashed RIGHT INTO THE BRIDGE! So not only did the impact severely damage the bridge, but it set off some of my remote charges and blew up my high explosive in the vehicle I had parked there earlier. The ensuing chaos was brilliant, I detonated my remaining remote charges, watched from one side of the bridge as the entire structure creaked, groaned, crumbled, and finally collapsed into a gigantic pile of steel, enemy bodies, and burning vehicles at the foot of the canyon. The major feature of this game is that you can be so creative about how you accomplish your goals. You can charge in guns blazing and rockets firing everywhere, be sneaky and plant charges in inconspicuous places, move gasoline tanks and use them as explosives, drive a vehicle strapped with explosives towards a huge structure and jump just before it smashes through the wall and explodes in a cosmic display of fire, smoke, and flying metal! Alternatively you can just charge in screaming "IT'S HAMMER TIME!" This game certainly had me hooked early, and gave me plenty of game time for my moneys worth! Let's not forget, it was heaps of fun too! Expand
  5. Sean
    Sep 25, 2009
    9
    I agree with most of the positive feedback however, this is directed toward Calvin... the game doesn't have the sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of GTA... it has a more sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of Saints Row, coincidentally made by THQ and Volition... Saints Row 2 being one of the most underrated games I've ever played, RF:Guerilla using practically the same I agree with most of the positive feedback however, this is directed toward Calvin... the game doesn't have the sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of GTA... it has a more sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of Saints Row, coincidentally made by THQ and Volition... Saints Row 2 being one of the most underrated games I've ever played, RF:Guerilla using practically the same game elements but gaining higher ratings. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2010
    8
    Blowing stuff up with the various weapons you're given is REALLY fun, and multiplayer is pretty cool with all the backpacks, adding a twist to an otherwise bog standard FPS.
    Fine, the story is not exactly amazing, and the whole game suffer from Far Cry 2-itis. That is, it's too long and repetitive to finish without wanting to kill yourself. Booting up the game every so often to blow up
    Blowing stuff up with the various weapons you're given is REALLY fun, and multiplayer is pretty cool with all the backpacks, adding a twist to an otherwise bog standard FPS.
    Fine, the story is not exactly amazing, and the whole game suffer from Far Cry 2-itis. That is, it's too long and repetitive to finish without wanting to kill yourself. Booting up the game every so often to blow up locations has made this game entertaining enough to gain a score of 8 in any case, but be warned that is all this game really excels at.
    Expand
  7. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Personally I didn't like the singleplayer mode on this game, it becomes boring quite fast.
    That said, the Multiplayer is simply AMAZING alot like the old Red Faction1, awesome weapons, hammers and special ability backpacks. The gamecontrols are very easy to use and maps are very simple, I really enjoyed the MP in this game alot.
  8. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Recently picked up this game for 5 bucks on steam, I didn't regret it at all. It demostrates something that has been rare in recent games, some good ole explosions, most of the games recently have been shoot em ups, with little desctruction elements besides things like vehicles. Beautiful landscape and polished gameplay make this a treat to play
  9. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    Played this game twice through story mode, and once with the pc add-on marauders campaign, and it is an excellent piece of work! This is more like "GTA with WAY MORE cool stuff to do". Though it can get a little difficult to continually push back their attacks, should you set off too many alarms. Really nice FOV blurring, totally immerses you in your firefights from small to large scale.Played this game twice through story mode, and once with the pc add-on marauders campaign, and it is an excellent piece of work! This is more like "GTA with WAY MORE cool stuff to do". Though it can get a little difficult to continually push back their attacks, should you set off too many alarms. Really nice FOV blurring, totally immerses you in your firefights from small to large scale. If you go exploring at night, expect to be ambushed by marauders! But they have their own unique weapons, so it's worth it. They also control a large piece of desert to the southeast on the map, which is worth exploring in detail once the story provides time. Bottom line, this game is easy on your gpu, is very well polished and optimized AND comes with an extra marauder campaign for when you finish the primary! Steam has had it on sale 3 times, I paid 10 bucks for it and was well worth the 40+ hours spent on it. Now it's on sale for 5, I hope many more people realize this game's greatness Collapse
  10. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Honestly, this is one of the best open world third person shooters i have ever played. The other games in the red faction series were not always that great but i greatly enjoyed this one. It helps make the game fun when you can destroy any building you see.
  11. Dec 21, 2012
    10
    Every man-made structure in sight is made of cardboard and you're armed with explosives... *lightbulb* Who cares about the main plot when you can cause/watch the world burn?

    In all seriousness, a good game, but I still believe the main selling point is the destructible environment. Something about covering a residential building with demolition charges and then watching every piece fly
    Every man-made structure in sight is made of cardboard and you're armed with explosives... *lightbulb* Who cares about the main plot when you can cause/watch the world burn?

    In all seriousness, a good game, but I still believe the main selling point is the destructible environment. Something about covering a residential building with demolition charges and then watching every piece fly off into the distance floods my brain with dopamine.
    Expand
  12. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    This game is awesome! You play as Alec Mason. He is new to the Red Faction series. Anyway, you go around just blowing stuff up! IT's addicting, and fun. The only problem I found with the buildings is the fact that they don't rebuild. But even if the buildings don't rebuild, you can go around and murder the EDF (Earth Defense Force) It can get really bloody though, especially when you areThis game is awesome! You play as Alec Mason. He is new to the Red Faction series. Anyway, you go around just blowing stuff up! IT's addicting, and fun. The only problem I found with the buildings is the fact that they don't rebuild. But even if the buildings don't rebuild, you can go around and murder the EDF (Earth Defense Force) It can get really bloody though, especially when you are using a sledge hammer, or the assault rifle. And if that doesn't satisfy you, than there is a lot of vehicles you can drive. From simple cars to missile tanks, you have your selection. And then you have bonus missions, which award you with scrap metal, which is the currency in this game. The bonus missions includes, Faction missions, defending missions, delivering EDF messages, and then destroying buildings. It is very addicting. But the main missions aren't that great though. The writing can be kinda cheesy or boring. But the missions over-all are decent enough. But the main missions are the only thing holding this game back from a 10. Expand
  13. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    Wonderful potential almost realized is my lead-in for this game. I honestly believe the next BIG thing in gaming is destructible environments using physics. This is a great attempt and loads of fun on that front. The nano rifle is by far my favorite weapon, the Mechs are fun, the jetpack is cool, but the vehicle driving has this strange "floaty" feeling. Overall I enjoyed the game andWonderful potential almost realized is my lead-in for this game. I honestly believe the next BIG thing in gaming is destructible environments using physics. This is a great attempt and loads of fun on that front. The nano rifle is by far my favorite weapon, the Mechs are fun, the jetpack is cool, but the vehicle driving has this strange "floaty" feeling. Overall I enjoyed the game and now that it is discounted from MSRP, it is a great value for anyone that has not had the opportunity to play it. I am a bit concerned with the upcoming sequel being underground, but we'll wait and see... Expand
  14. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    After starting the game, I spent 20 minutes just destroying walls, destroying the floor and just causing mayhem with a sledgehammer. When I finally decided to follow the mission I got trigger-happy with the explosives, becoming somewhat of a demoman. I majorly enjoyed the destruction engine, and the fact that pretty much anything can be blown up, smashed or shot. After finishing theAfter starting the game, I spent 20 minutes just destroying walls, destroying the floor and just causing mayhem with a sledgehammer. When I finally decided to follow the mission I got trigger-happy with the explosives, becoming somewhat of a demoman. I majorly enjoyed the destruction engine, and the fact that pretty much anything can be blown up, smashed or shot. After finishing the tutorial, I hopped into one of the ute/truck like vehicles and started to run down people, run through walls and just causing more mayhem behind the wheel.
    I found Red Faction Guerilla an interesting game. What I adore about it is that its a sandbox where when it comes to destruction the skies the limit. However, what I did find was that many of the enemies are quite difficult to kill on Normal, as it takes close to a full clip (40 rounds) to defeat an opponent. The storyline is not bad, however the death at the start (not naming names) was unexpected. Overall, this deserves to be recognised along with games with a destruction engine similar like Battlefield, Brothers in arms Hells Highway and Quantum of Solace. This game deserves recognition as a game that is absolutely amazing. A few kinks but the rest very easily makes up for it.
    Expand
  15. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    From Volition Inc comes Red Faction Guerrilla an open world destruction game. I combines explosions with open world action. You are Alec Mason an explosives expert who is sent to Mars early in the game your brother is killed and the Red Faction takes you in and you get started with your destruction and killing the Earth Defense Force the main enemy. Or you could just run around blowingFrom Volition Inc comes Red Faction Guerrilla an open world destruction game. I combines explosions with open world action. You are Alec Mason an explosives expert who is sent to Mars early in the game your brother is killed and the Red Faction takes you in and you get started with your destruction and killing the Earth Defense Force the main enemy. Or you could just run around blowing stuff up. The story missions are generally fantastic but there are one or two terrible ones. But all the missions are very wide open you can take different approaches. The game engine is geo mod 2.0 and unlike Red Faction 1 and 2 you only destroy every building instead of edit the land. The graphics are impressive but sometimes I got some bugs with the graphics. The explosions look and sound great. So it's a 9. This review will be on my blog at http://maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/2011/08/red-faction-guerilla.html Expand
  16. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    Played this game twice through story mode, and once with the pc add-on marauders campaign, and it is an excellent piece of work! This is more like "GTA with WAY MORE cool stuff to do". Though it can get a little difficult to continually push back their attacks, should you set off too many alarms. Really nice FOV blurring, totally immerses you in your firefights from small to largePlayed this game twice through story mode, and once with the pc add-on marauders campaign, and it is an excellent piece of work! This is more like "GTA with WAY MORE cool stuff to do". Though it can get a little difficult to continually push back their attacks, should you set off too many alarms. Really nice FOV blurring, totally immerses you in your firefights from small to large scale. If you go exploring at night, expect to be ambushed by marauders! But they have their own unique weapons, so it's worth it. They also control a large piece of desert to the southeast on the map, which is worth exploring in detail once the story provides time. Bottom line, this game is easy on your gpu, is very well polished and optimized AND comes with an extra marauder campaign for when you finish the primary! Steam has had it on sale 3 times, I paid 10 bucks for it and was well worth the 40+ hours spent on it. Now it's on sale for 5, I hope many more people realize this game's greatness. Expand
  17. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    What a great game.. Its awesome. To me its one of the best sandbox games i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  18. NickL
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Whats with all the low reviews? This is a damn good game people! If you want to have fun freeing miners on mars, blowing up entire buildings, charging into edf bases with your assault rifle or racing across the martian landscape, this s your best bet.
  19. DaveJ.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Booooooooom! nuff said. Couldn't work out what people said about a lack of plot, you pretty much make your own in an open world, a little like "GTA Mars" but with destructible buildings and a neat morale system that governs whether other citizens take up arms along side you. Neat game, missions more open ended in terms of approach than GTA, which I also liked. Oh, and there Booooooooom! nuff said. Couldn't work out what people said about a lack of plot, you pretty much make your own in an open world, a little like "GTA Mars" but with destructible buildings and a neat morale system that governs whether other citizens take up arms along side you. Neat game, missions more open ended in terms of approach than GTA, which I also liked. Oh, and there aren't any hookers. Expand
  20. HoustG.
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. I think people don't give it the credit it deserves. By just walking around and exploring all of the different places and buildings you can tell the developers put a lot of thought into this game. To truly enjoy this game though, you really need to explore all the little things scattered around Mars. One thing that made me laugh is in This is one of the best games I have ever played. I think people don't give it the credit it deserves. By just walking around and exploring all of the different places and buildings you can tell the developers put a lot of thought into this game. To truly enjoy this game though, you really need to explore all the little things scattered around Mars. One thing that made me laugh is in the Badlands sector where there is a Mars Rover hidden by some rocks by the side of the road (it marks it as a vehicle on your minimap). All in all, I think this is a GREAT game. With all the different things you can do (going off huge jumps in cars, running EDF people over, destroying stuff for fun, bailing out of cars while in the air, freeing hostages, and much more) and how much fun it is to do them, I believe this game is an amazing game and that people should look past it's minor problems and really enjoy the game. Expand
  21. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    one of the cool things about the red faction series has always been how much stuff can be blown to hell . well RFG makes it even more fun by making it a free roam game and letting you blow the hell out of buildings and just about every thing els under the mars sun . which is alot of fun just taking a big vehicle and plowing it through a building flatting all the enimys inside . the storyone of the cool things about the red faction series has always been how much stuff can be blown to hell . well RFG makes it even more fun by making it a free roam game and letting you blow the hell out of buildings and just about every thing els under the mars sun . which is alot of fun just taking a big vehicle and plowing it through a building flatting all the enimys inside . the story is fairly simplistic and nothing that grabs you . pretty much just out for revenge . the controls are good the wepon selection is just to small they had a much better one in the first RF game . the missions are fairly well put together and graphics ok . the online was also just ok . it kinda reminded me of lost planet abit with all theese back packs you get that give you certain powers. i did love the rampage mode or what ever it was called where you can just blow the hell out of a small town with out any one gettin in your way. its a pretty fun game that is fueled by your love of just blowin crap up. Expand
  22. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    If you like blowing **** up, this is definitely the game for you; an absolute hidden gem. The destruction physics are pretty amazing and they never get old. Grand Theft Auto sandbox play style--a good single player story with plenty of side missions. The multiplayer experience was kind of weak, but certainly playable. Pick it up when it's on sale for $5 for some good entertainment value.
  23. May 25, 2011
    9
    One of the greatest games this gen. Sure it's lax on story, but it's there and it's perfectly fine.

    It delivers loads of content to play around with and hours upon hours of destruction based gameplay.
  24. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    My first try in the Red Faction series... was pretty awesome. The game itself, meaning combination of plot, characters, world etc. is getting better and better every mission, but overall it's not any better than a "good" game. It could be an amazing production combining the best elements of open-world games, but it didn't really did that. Although I was AMAZED by how the world is big, it'sMy first try in the Red Faction series... was pretty awesome. The game itself, meaning combination of plot, characters, world etc. is getting better and better every mission, but overall it's not any better than a "good" game. It could be an amazing production combining the best elements of open-world games, but it didn't really did that. Although I was AMAZED by how the world is big, it's empty. No houses, almost no buildings. Just a desert. Sick. Also, it's way too difficult, some of the missions were too hard to complete them even at the 5th try! But, at the same time, physics (maybe the best in the gaming history!), plot, missions - really worth buying. Might be the biggest surprise of 2009. Expand
  25. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    love this game! i remember playing the older Red faction games and i missed the environment destruction from the older ones i love destroying the buildings which is why i got the game i wasn't paying attention to the story as much as i should have....but i the physics of destroyed buildings where there was only one support strut in place and the building didn't collapse under its ownlove this game! i remember playing the older Red faction games and i missed the environment destruction from the older ones i love destroying the buildings which is why i got the game i wasn't paying attention to the story as much as i should have....but i the physics of destroyed buildings where there was only one support strut in place and the building didn't collapse under its own weight kinda killed the game play for me...would have liked more building to destroy though or ones that would be rebuilt so i could destroy them again would have kept me entertained for days.... Expand
  26. Feb 14, 2011
    10
    One of the finest games of the 200#'s, Red Faction: Guerilla is the first mainstream game since Shadow of the Colossus to truly offer new technology and gameplay design.

    Additionally, the desolate atmosphere of Mars and the sense of paranoia - either of the EDF or of worse things in the desert is second to very few games, while the depth and variety of AI behaviours both in combat and in
    One of the finest games of the 200#'s, Red Faction: Guerilla is the first mainstream game since Shadow of the Colossus to truly offer new technology and gameplay design.

    Additionally, the desolate atmosphere of Mars and the sense of paranoia - either of the EDF or of worse things in the desert is second to very few games, while the depth and variety of AI behaviours both in combat and in general are superior to any other open world game I've played.

    If you play at a high difficulty and let your imagination take you, Red Faction: Guerilla will straddle the lines between Action, Stealth, and RPG. Offering freedom, emotional engagement with the AI as they fight and die across Tharsis, and varied tactical opportunities as you are granted absolutely free reign and a wide variety of equipment to take out hundreds of optional targets by any means available.

    Expect difficulty, expect the AI to be both deadly and foolish in turns - expect them to act like fallible humans, and be prepared for the brutal collateral damage that will occur when civilian rebels play with explosives and large vehicles.

    The downsides of the game include a poorly ported Multiplayer experience, now utterly inactive - and at times bizarre spawn-rates of EDF vehicles that can mob you to death with a single-minded determination to ram you until your vehicle explodes. Additionally, while the setting is fantastic, the storyline as depicted in cutscenes and missions is very much a homage to the eighties, bearing more in common with the cliche and distinct Good and Evil moralism of Total Recall, or Robocop. It's cheesy as hell, and quite simplistic. The background depth of the world shown in the subtle behaviours of colonist AI and the hand-crafted designs of towns and ruined structures, however, is fantastic - you can believe in the Mars of Red Faction: Guerilla as you can in the worlds of few other open world games - here, it feels alive, more akin to Morrowind's Vvardenfel than any sterile, constantly-respawning city of Grand Theft Auto.

    Both technologically and atmospherically, RF:G provides an incredible gaming experience, one of very few action games that can satisfy my imagination like a classic RPG, or the freedom of Hitman: Codename 47.

    Give it a try - it costs very little today - and support Volition by trying out their next release; Red Faction: Armageddon.
    Expand
  27. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    Great game! I really enjoyed the storyline and the destruction. Multiplayer is alot of fun and the backpacks just add to the chaos.

    Overall this game is great and is a great time waster.
  28. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    What a great game.. Its awesome. To me its one of the best sandbox games i have ever played, it so **** underrated, i recommend it to every gamer out there
  29. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Probably my favourite game ever, Beautiful colour scheme and art, but the terrain isn't destructible like the previous games whereas the scenery and buildings are instead, another thing, the keyboard controls are a tad clunky but you do get used to them after a good 2 hours of playing.
  30. CalvinM
    Sep 21, 2009
    9
    Incredible physics system, good driving, cool weapons, cool vehicles (including some mechs). Without feeling derivative, I think RF:Guerrilla successfully implemented the sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of GTA games, but in a sci-fi context (everything set on mars in the far future). I think most will underappreciate how excellent the camera was implemented in this game- but only Incredible physics system, good driving, cool weapons, cool vehicles (including some mechs). Without feeling derivative, I think RF:Guerrilla successfully implemented the sandbox-freeform-do-as-you-please feel of GTA games, but in a sci-fi context (everything set on mars in the far future). I think most will underappreciate how excellent the camera was implemented in this game- but only because nobody will ever have any issue with it. The game seamlessly transitions between a 3rd person viewpoint when the character is running around and driving to a 2nd person viewpoint (a la Gears of War) when shooting. Graphics are amazing- the world exists in a night/day cycle. Gorgeous is the word to describe it when you see the suns rays pierce through the martian atmosphere, and dusk-nighttime is just as incredible. Only backdraws- the game isn't quite as free and expansive and immersive as an actual Grand Theft Auto game. Once in a while there is a slight hiccup/slowdown when driving, and I'm playing with a very high-end PC. Lastly, aiming turrets can be frustrating- it feels like they forgot that PC gamers use mice- there is no acceleration. They made it too sensitive to aim well, but slow enough that it takes too long to spin the turret 180 degrees. This is despite the fact that aiming with your character works perfectly. I've played the first 2 Red Faction games, and was definitely excited for this one. I love the quasi-marxist revolutionary motif, not nearly enough of that sort of politically-aware thing. Expand
  31. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    I don't understand the people that write **** reviews. this is the ONLY game I know where you can walk up to a sprawling tower and smash it into oblivion. and for the people that say that it is a bad port, I can run the game completely smooth at max settings, Ever consider that your PC sucks?
  32. Sep 28, 2014
    8
    The only reason I give this an 8 out of ten, is because of the destruction engine. That is really it's only redeeming feature. I couldn't follow the story very well, and it's extraordinary long. However since it's on PC, you can cheat and enable free roam, which makes it more fun. The driving mechanics are odd, and feel off. I have a pretty powerful PC, and it struggled to run it onThe only reason I give this an 8 out of ten, is because of the destruction engine. That is really it's only redeeming feature. I couldn't follow the story very well, and it's extraordinary long. However since it's on PC, you can cheat and enable free roam, which makes it more fun. The driving mechanics are odd, and feel off. I have a pretty powerful PC, and it struggled to run it on anything above medium. But the destruction engine is my favorite part... More games need this engine... just better shooting/aiming/ better story where you can just destroy things. Expand
  33. Feb 1, 2015
    8
    A very beloved game of mine, it holds a special place in my heart personally. Now, Red Faction is about a group of colonist's being screwed over on Mars. VIA harsh living conditions, strenuous work hours and of course the corrupt and brutal EDF Soldiers that are present there. You play Alec Mason, a man who is hell bent of getting revenge on the EDF after they killed your brother and afterA very beloved game of mine, it holds a special place in my heart personally. Now, Red Faction is about a group of colonist's being screwed over on Mars. VIA harsh living conditions, strenuous work hours and of course the corrupt and brutal EDF Soldiers that are present there. You play Alec Mason, a man who is hell bent of getting revenge on the EDF after they killed your brother and after he sees just how much of a jerk they are to the people of Mars. Now, this game is made by the people who made Saint's Row and it sure shows! It has it's humor and such, {Such as if you kill your brother in the tutorial mission you get a special mission failed text that says "WTF? YOU KILLED YOUR BROTHER!!!"}

    It is also quite funny how the A.I in this game reacts, there are times when I have made the EDF SO mad they run over their own guys and run through their own buildings just to try and kill me.

    Oh ya, almost forgot. In case you did not know already, this game has destructible buildings. And I do not mean Battle Field Copy Paste Asset destruction, no. Every little bit and piece of building in this game is programmed to have its own weight, strength and mass. Meaning, you could play a game of "Let us see just how many support beams this building actually needs" though, knock down any ladders you see first, they somehow cheat and can hold an entire building up by themselves.

    Now, the story is quite well done. By no means some magnum opus {Neither is the voice acting good at all times either} But it is still quite the fun game to play with TONS of diverse weapons!

    You have of course have your standard Pistol, Assault Rifle, two shotguns and an Enforcer {Which is basically a weak assault rifle but the bullets home in on targets} and a Sub Machine Gun {If you buy the DLC}

    You have two types of rocket launchers {Three if you buy the DLC} Two of which fire three rockets before needing to reload {The DLC one is more powerful, but cannot lock onto vehicles} And then you have a Thermobaric Rocket Launcher, basically a CoD nuke you can launch without needing to camp for 25 kills.

    You also get your share of Detonation Charges, Proximity Mines, and Singularity Bombs, which is basically a mini black hole.

    You also have Thor's hammer...it can knock through buildings and send people FLYING! My favorite thing to do is to put on the Super Hammer cheat and send cars into space, or send them flying through buildings.

    The multiplayer is really fun too! Sure, most of the game modes are not original. But the fact you can pretty much not camp means players have to get creative. Camping a corner with a shotgun or sniper? Well then someone will just run to the wall you hiding behind/beside and blow it up with charges!

    Oh ya, and you can get walkers... a small jet pack one, a large rocket one, a huge arm crushing one.

    I seriously wish there was a game mode where everyone got on of the big punch walkers and just had a massive boxing fight.

    The only real issues I have, is with the civilian AI. They are sometimes SOOOO DUMB! And you get punished for it, like if one of them decides to drive off a cliff in panic from gun fire literally ten kilometers from them, you get punished for them dying. Or when you are trying to escort hostages away and save them, they sometimes just STAY in open fire! And only the civilians do this! The EDF are smart enough so what gives?

    But anyways, I seriously recommend this game to anyone! It is for cheap and certainly worth your time~
    Expand
  34. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Red Faction - Guerrilla is a 3rd person open world shooter, taking place on mars 2125 where the player takes control of Alec Mason, after his brother is killed by the EDF for helping the Red Faction. The player is then brought into the world to take down EDF property to slowly liberate the 6 sectors. "Parker, Dust, Oasis, Badlands, Free fire zone, & Eos.
  35. May 10, 2015
    8
    it was very fun to smash the hell out of buildings and the weapons were unique. but the cheats didn't work for me very well. but overall, it's a good game about smashing things with a hammer
  36. Jun 22, 2016
    8
    Guerilla is an amazingly cathartic game. I expect because it comes from what has never been a triple A franchise, it gets prematurely thumbed down. I admit, i didn't like the earlier games much. But that's what makes Guerilla so interesting- it is the breakout title in the series, a dramatic reinvention of an otherwise samey FPS into a surprisingly entertaining Third Person sandboxGuerilla is an amazingly cathartic game. I expect because it comes from what has never been a triple A franchise, it gets prematurely thumbed down. I admit, i didn't like the earlier games much. But that's what makes Guerilla so interesting- it is the breakout title in the series, a dramatic reinvention of an otherwise samey FPS into a surprisingly entertaining Third Person sandbox shooter. Alec Mason is the iconic revolutionary underdog, the working-class hero who rises from the Martian dust to shake the foundations of his world. Guerilla maintains the key gameplay feature that sets the series apart from other shooters- it's environmental destruction mechanic. With everything from the humble sledgehammer to explosives to a hijacked EDF personnel carrier, you can literally smash the oppressive Earth government's war machine to pieces, crashing through walls, tearing down buildings and generally blowing the ♥♥♥♥ out of anything that gets in your way. Expand
  37. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    Played this game twice through story mode, and once with the pc add-on marauders campaign, and it is an excellent piece of work! This is more like "GTA with WAY MORE cool stuff to do". Though it can get a little difficult to continually push back their attacks, should you set off too many alarms. Really nice FOV blurring, totally immerses you in your firefights from small to large scale.Played this game twice through story mode, and once with the pc add-on marauders campaign, and it is an excellent piece of work! This is more like "GTA with WAY MORE cool stuff to do". Though it can get a little difficult to continually push back their attacks, should you set off too many alarms. Really nice FOV blurring, totally immerses you in your firefights from small to large scale. If you go exploring at night, expect to be ambushed by marauders! But they have their own unique weapons, so it's worth it. They also control a large piece of desert to the southeast on the map, which is worth exploring in detail once the story provides time. Bottom line, this game is easy on your gpu, is very well polished and optimized AND comes with an extra marauder campaign for when you finish the primary! Steam has had it on sale 3 times, I paid 10 bucks for it and was well worth the 40+ hours spent on it. Now it's on sale for 5, I hope many more people realize this game's greatness Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Red Faction: Guerrilla is a sandbox game in its purest form. Watching giant structures collapse is an absolute thrill, and although the characters and their backgrounds aren't very compelling, the awesome weapons and great amount of side missions will take players on a path of destruction for hours to come.
  2. 90
    Despite its lackluster storytelling, Red Faction: Guerrilla is a whole lot of fun to play, thanks to its meaty campaign and well-rounded multiplayer offerings.
  3. The best in-game destruction ever can't make up for a few major shortcomings, but when a game is built to blow up buildings, it's hard to find much fault when it does that so well. You'll definitely overlook the shortcomings and focus on what this game does well instead.