User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 126
  2. Negative: 7 out of 126

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2018
    8
    このテキストは私のプロフィールにスコアが表示されるようにここにあります。
  2. Jun 12, 2016
    7
    Red Faction is a classic first-person shooter with some nicely detailed (still decent) environments and twitchy, head-shot-focused mechanics. Probably not as innovative as the original Max Payne, but still a great game that's worth a playthrough if old-school is your preference.

    Guns are great, and destructible terrain is fun. Game-play rewards tactical thinking and choosing the correct
    Red Faction is a classic first-person shooter with some nicely detailed (still decent) environments and twitchy, head-shot-focused mechanics. Probably not as innovative as the original Max Payne, but still a great game that's worth a playthrough if old-school is your preference.

    Guns are great, and destructible terrain is fun. Game-play rewards tactical thinking and choosing the correct weapon for the right situation. Game-play and gun-play are smooth, and graphics are pretty good for a game from 2001; I never had my immersion broken b/c of low-res textures. Level design never felt boring, though it was sometimes mildly confusing.

    Some things are just outright frustrating, though. Maybe I've been spoiled by the recent generation of games that have direction finders and maps (though I didn't have a problem in Max Payne or Max Payne 2), but lack of directions and small switches to press to proceed can equal many minutes of running around aimlessly, looking for the way forward. Health is at a premium on any difficulty. Story is meh. Voice acting (except for Hendrix) is sub-par. Music is annoying and repetitive. The final levels felt tacked on, making the game too long - though, at 6 hours for a run-through, the game is actually anything but long.

    And while I didn't have the bugs that other gamers have encountered (like the submarine exploding for no reason - use V-sync, the bug comes from an uncapped frame-rate), I could only play an hour or so before the voices stopped sounding. I had to exit the game, and verify the file cache. There were usually 3 files that had to be re-acquired. Once done, the game proceeded normally - for another hour or so. Annoying, but not really game-breaking (I wasn't playing with any mods).

    Worth a look for for any Red Faction fan, or someone who enjoys old-school shooters. But there will be no hand-holding. Or clues. Or detailed directions.

    EDIT: Played with the Pure Faction mod installed, and the above problem with the voices disappeared. Pure Faction also enables native 16:9 resolutions (so the image isn't stretched) and has numerous other fixes. Recommended.
    Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2016
    9
    Despite being 15 years old now, Red Faction is still the best computer game set on Mars. There are only some minor things not letting it get the maximum score.

    As in a classic first-person shooter (FPS) game, you will be shooting enemies a lot in Red Faction. Both the enemies and available weapons will get tougher over time. This monotony is split by a few "stealth" sections, several
    Despite being 15 years old now, Red Faction is still the best computer game set on Mars. There are only some minor things not letting it get the maximum score.

    As in a classic first-person shooter (FPS) game, you will be shooting enemies a lot in Red Faction. Both the enemies and available weapons will get tougher over time. This monotony is split by a few "stealth" sections, several driving/flying/swimming sections (which was quite a new feature in 2001) and a few cutscenes. Speaking about cutscenes - if the game as a whole graphically is quite good by standards of 2001, then the cutscenes are definitely outdated.

    Red Faction technically is not really innovative game (think of Max Payne, which was released the same year), mostly following the well-tried experience of the Half Life (1998) generation FPS games. The exception is its innovative Geo-Mod game engine, which allows to create fully destructible game world. Too bad this potentially revolutionary game engine wasn't used to its full potential by Red Faction's developer team; its most unique features are hardly used designing game's locations. It's interesting the much newer Geo-Mod 2 engine is heavily used in Red Faction: Guerrilla, but lacks the reality feel of the older Geo-Mod engine.

    The game is too easy to beat - if you play carefully and quick-save a lot, even at "impossible" difficulty level there will be only a handful of challenging moments in the game.

    The story in the start lacks some logic. Why Ultor would spend enormous money on shipping miners to Mars and then "treat them like dirt"? Every miner on Mars has cost Ultor hundreds of thousands, if not millions (it's year 2075 - only a few decades after the first colony on Mars). It's economically unreasonable to beat them up or shut down just for fun.

    Read full review @ HumanMars.net
    Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2016
    10
    The best thing about Red Faction is that the creators included an editor by mistake . With this tool you can create your own levels for the game and actually post it on a server for all to download and play .
  5. Feb 25, 2016
    8
    Very good game. Amazing graphic details for 2001 year. Very interesting locations and this game is still living. In the past the geomod engine give the players amazing destroy system
  6. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    Up on Mars, a mining corporation known as Ultor mercilessly works their minors, most dropping dead because of a new plague. A faction known as the Red Faction has spoken up, lead by their leader Eos. The protagonist Parker is caught up in a small riot after his shift, and is forced to join the faction and stop the Ultor. Ultimately fighting to the control tower to call for EDF (the earthUp on Mars, a mining corporation known as Ultor mercilessly works their minors, most dropping dead because of a new plague. A faction known as the Red Faction has spoken up, lead by their leader Eos. The protagonist Parker is caught up in a small riot after his shift, and is forced to join the faction and stop the Ultor. Ultimately fighting to the control tower to call for EDF (the earth defence force) to assist. Fending off mercs, and security the whole way through. Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2015
    9
    When I was younger everyone I knew was a huge fan of 'Half Life', myself included. And 'Red Faction' was a pretty popular game upon it's release, but for the most part nobody really cared about it all that much after that. Which makes sense I suppose, I mean, 'Half Life' had the mod 'Counter-Strike' and it's revolutionary multiplayer, and 'Red Faction' had the gimmick of being able toWhen I was younger everyone I knew was a huge fan of 'Half Life', myself included. And 'Red Faction' was a pretty popular game upon it's release, but for the most part nobody really cared about it all that much after that. Which makes sense I suppose, I mean, 'Half Life' had the mod 'Counter-Strike' and it's revolutionary multiplayer, and 'Red Faction' had the gimmick of being able to destroy everything in your path, which was actually a pretty big deal back then if I remember correctly.

    But still, 'Half Life' was the game everyone cared about, the game everybody played; so it's safe to say that 'Red Faction' was swept under the rug for the majority of kids growing up in the 90's. Which isn't all that surprising actually, games were much more hit or miss back in those days, so when people found something that was great, they stuck to it and played it til they could no longer. To say it best, 'Red Faction' was the Utah Jazz to 'Half Life's' Chicago Bulls. Yeah, let's see how many of you get that reference.

    However, after coming back to this game after almost two decades, and having never beaten it until just recently, I can honestly say that 'Red Faction' is just as good as 'Half Life', if not better. You would think that such an early game with the premise for total destruction would be mediocre at best, but the developers nailed it the first time around. Combine that with combat that's just as fun as any other first person shooter on the market today, controls that feel natural from the get-go, and the ability to drive vehicles much like in the 'Halo' games, and you've got yourself one hell of a timeless shooter.
    Expand
  8. Dec 28, 2014
    1
    Game breaking bugs such as the sub bay and boring task orientated such as get key-card here and there make this a very dull experience. Frustrating since its rated a lot higher than a lot of other superior shooters. This is not a classic, its a game studio with a limited budget and imagination. 1/10 Did not enjoy.
  9. Sep 3, 2014
    9
    This game is one of mine most favorated FPS games of all time. Even to day this game single player still beast 99% of curent games. Even to day this game is awesome and worth playing.
  10. Jul 22, 2014
    6
    Its essentially half-life on Mars with a inferior story. I will admit the gameplay is fun at times and the soundtrack is decent. But overall if your looking for a good classic shooter get half life or deus ex.
  11. Nov 1, 2013
    9
    Red Faction is fabulous. It moves at an extremely fast speed, and it has a bit more depth to it than other first person shooters, which usually center around the plot of "find the keycard to open the door". There is very little of that in RF.

    The game is rather difficult, which compensates somewhat for the fact that it is short, maybe 10-15 hours long. But those 10-15 hours are worth
    Red Faction is fabulous. It moves at an extremely fast speed, and it has a bit more depth to it than other first person shooters, which usually center around the plot of "find the keycard to open the door". There is very little of that in RF.

    The game is rather difficult, which compensates somewhat for the fact that it is short, maybe 10-15 hours long. But those 10-15 hours are worth it, as there is no wasted time here. RF never, ever, gets boring.

    As for the controls, if you have played Oni before, you already know the basic control scheme. It's fairly easy to get used to. Just play the training level and you'll probably have it down quickly, although you may want to indulge in some minor retooling, since the action button is insanely far away from the movement buttons in the default control scheme.

    As for the graphics, they are good, but not great. There is a certain choppiness to everything in the cinemas, and sometimes movement of your enemies seems quite awkward and forced. But this is okay, since you encounter some rather nasty looking creatures later on, and the lack of excellent graphics means that they are not quite as terrifying as you would expect.

    One really nice facet of this game is the Geo-Mod engine, which allows you to blow holes in about 80% of everything you see. Door locked? No problem. Just whip out the Rocket Launcher (a.k.a. "Big Earl")and blast about 3 rockets into the wall, enabling you to simply go around the door. Unfortunately, you cannot simply blow a hole in the door, and there are parts of the game where you can't take advantage of the Geo-Mod engine. Oh well.

    Lastly, the plot and voice acting are both very good. The plot is simple, but not boring at all, and the acting is great.

    This game is unbelievable. Volition and THQ did a great job.
    Expand
  12. Aug 24, 2013
    8
    A highly enjoyable game at the time it was made with many great ideas. The game starts off really well in a great setting and good atmospehre. Gameplay starts off at a good pace however it starts to get very frantic and begins to lose some of the atmosphere. Only thing stopping it from similar quality games of the time such as Half Life is a little lack of polish in certain areas and notA highly enjoyable game at the time it was made with many great ideas. The game starts off really well in a great setting and good atmospehre. Gameplay starts off at a good pace however it starts to get very frantic and begins to lose some of the atmosphere. Only thing stopping it from similar quality games of the time such as Half Life is a little lack of polish in certain areas and not taking advantage of the biggest asset with the Geo-Mod.

    Still well worth playing.
    Expand
  13. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    I score this game a lot lower than I wanted too, especially being a fan of the older fps games like doom, quake, half life, etc. I bought this in a bundle with the other Red Faction games and wanted to play through them in order of story, but this game is making it really hard for me. The geo-mod is cool, though as many others have said, it is extremely under-utilized. You go around aI score this game a lot lower than I wanted too, especially being a fan of the older fps games like doom, quake, half life, etc. I bought this in a bundle with the other Red Faction games and wanted to play through them in order of story, but this game is making it really hard for me. The geo-mod is cool, though as many others have said, it is extremely under-utilized. You go around a locked door once, then that's pretty much it (I tried doing this around other doors to get a good vantage point on enemies but found the rock completely indestructible). The game is extremely hard, and sometimes in a fun way, but a lot of times it just felt cheap. The AI knows where you are at all times and shoots you before you even see them, and getting swarmed by multiple enemies that take 30+ bullets to kill is just frustrating. Speaking of frustrations, a lot of the bosses are BAD and not for GOOD reasons. They either kill you through walls or get stuck on an environment. I had to start over with one boss around 20 times until the boss finally decided to do what it was supposed to do. The game has a lot of cool ideas, but it just wasn't fun to play. Most of the time I just played to try to finish the story, but quit because I wasn't enjoying the game. Expand
  14. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    A great game. Hell, this game actually made me love FPS, before Red Faction i always preferred PRG's and other games. This game has interesting story, nice design and cool storyline, certainly must have for any FPS or Sci-fi fan.
  15. Oct 16, 2012
    6
    One of the older FPS games out there. Perhaps what Red Faction is most known for is the Geo-mod, which makes a lot of the environment destructible with the right weaponry. However, although this is a really great feature, I felt as though the game used nowhere near enough of its potential. You only really had to do it a couple of times in the beginning and then for the rest of the game itOne of the older FPS games out there. Perhaps what Red Faction is most known for is the Geo-mod, which makes a lot of the environment destructible with the right weaponry. However, although this is a really great feature, I felt as though the game used nowhere near enough of its potential. You only really had to do it a couple of times in the beginning and then for the rest of the game it was forgotten and ignored completely. As a simple FPS game, Red Faction is not bad at all. It is fun for short bursts of playtime as you mindlessly shoot the enemies with a nice variety of guns in a cool sci-fi setting. The background music is really cool too and fits the setting really well. In some ways I felt as though the game was inspired by Half Life and Deus Ex. However, having said all that, the game has plenty of drawbacks. I'm completely looking past the silly voice acting since it was kind of funny in some ways. The drawback mainly for me was that Red Faction was very repetitive and just a mindless shooter. It didn't involve you using any clever tactics and such. The whole game is just how quickly you can shoot all the people in the room. You can only play it in short, half-hour bursts before getting bored. Although the game did try to change pace in some parts, I personally found all those parts to be quite ineffective and even annoying, whether it's getting a dumb AI robot to hover over a disposal pit, extremely bland underwater combat, or the stealthy infiltration parts. Although stealthy parts weren't too bad, the game didn't have enough to make them more engaging. Most of the time there was no way of telling what would cause someone to become suspicious of you and what wouldn't. And also, when your cover does get blown, you have to still continue the rest of the area in your disguise with just a stealth pistol, which was pretty annoying because by that stage I would've preferred to take out more powerful weapons to fight off the guards. In the end I just don't see this game lasting me many hours. To conclude, I'd say unless you wish to play every FPS game under the Sun, give this one a miss. If you are into older FPS games, just stick with Half Life. Expand
  16. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    Total single-player completion time: 6 hours.
    I was always hesitant to pick up Red Faction. But I'm glad I finally did because it was worth the experience. Sure, the graphics don't hold up well, the voice acting is laughably bad, the stealth levels are annoying, getting one hit killed by the AI the instant you peak a corner is cheap, and getting 1920x1080 resolution requires a community
    Total single-player completion time: 6 hours.
    I was always hesitant to pick up Red Faction. But I'm glad I finally did because it was worth the experience. Sure, the graphics don't hold up well, the voice acting is laughably bad, the stealth levels are annoying, getting one hit killed by the AI the instant you peak a corner is cheap, and getting 1920x1080 resolution requires a community patch. But the game is FUN. I used the various weapons equally, the environmental damage is neat (although underused), the story is simple yet interesting, and the fast paced gameplay keeps you on edge. What I especially appreciated were the various branching paths leading to the same objective. I only wish the game were a bit longer.
    Expand
  17. Jun 13, 2011
    6
    Workers' revolts are always awesome. Where the game lacked in convincing voice acting, it made up for in gameplay and the ability to blow things up. Not the greatest game ever made, but well worth playing.
  18. RowanF
    Jun 11, 2009
    9
    A lovely game. The geo-mod is really good however, unfortunately, the game makes almost no use of it. At the beggining there are a few attempts, but these quickly stop as the game progresses. Whilst this may seem a little disappointing, you will soon be so caught up in the story, the objectives, the whole Red Faction universe that you wont even mind. This is a great game, not because A lovely game. The geo-mod is really good however, unfortunately, the game makes almost no use of it. At the beggining there are a few attempts, but these quickly stop as the game progresses. Whilst this may seem a little disappointing, you will soon be so caught up in the story, the objectives, the whole Red Faction universe that you wont even mind. This is a great game, not because it's incredibly fun, realistic or epic, but simply because its an interesting, well played out tale that's good fun to play and has a host of great characters and weapons. Expand
  19. EliasO.
    Oct 8, 2006
    8
    This game is definitely worth buying if you're into abit of sci-fi, and action. The story is intresting, the action is cool, and the ending is exciting, Red Faction 2 was a big disaster though.
  20. ChrisK.
    May 29, 2006
    8
    This game's worth the play and seeing how it's only about five to ten bucks for a new copy, I suggest testing it for yourself. Although it's been outdated by Red Faction II and all the new games out there, this is the prequel which made Red Faction II such a "great game."
  21. TroyW.
    Apr 22, 2005
    10
    This game got me hooked on pc.
  22. DavidW.
    Feb 23, 2005
    9
    I bought this second hand just to see what it was like and its now my favorite game. The graphics are great and it runs smoothly on my laptop, just as good as halo if not better because of the superior graphics plus halo always crashes when i run it on my laptop.
  23. JoshuaM.
    Nov 20, 2003
    10
    I loved this game, but could not help cheating first. I think that it would be harder and more chalenging if you didn't. Oh, yeah, I would also like to know if there are any cheats for the multiplayer games on the internet as I see people flying and using rapid fire. BUY THIS GAME!!!!!
  24. AndrewW.
    Feb 10, 2003
    9
    Awesome.... No matter how long you play the storyline always keeps you going...
  25. Caligo
    Jul 30, 2002
    10
    Wonderful... absolutely WONDERFUL. I've NEVER seen a game with such AMAZING landscape damage capabilities. You can blow up practically ANYTHING! And great gashes, the VEHICLES!! The only FPS game I've ever seen with vehicles was Tribes 2 (though Tribes 1 probably has them too), and they were cool, but THESE VEHICLES TOTALLY BEAT THE LIVING SNOT OUT OF THEM!
  26. DrapeZ
    Apr 20, 2002
    10
    Sweet.
  27. IainD.
    Apr 7, 2002
    10
    Cool!... cool!....cool!
  28. RichardM.
    Jan 29, 2002
    10
    It is a really good and nice looking game. And the Geo-Mod is great!
  29. Dep
    Dec 1, 2001
    9
    It's very cool.
  30. MatsS.
    Nov 29, 2001
    9
    It`s hot...
  31. AJGilmore
    Nov 27, 2001
    10
    Red Faction has everythng a first person shooter should have...and more. The multiplayer mode is awesome and the controls are easy to master. All in all not a bad game!
  32. Stevie811K.
    Nov 17, 2001
    9
    Not the best grafix compared to "Max Payne" but more enjoyable. the multiplayer is superb and unrivaled. Blasting your way through the scenery is an excellent touch. How some players float and become invincible is cheating and not good. I'm moaning coz *i* dont know how to do it,,,,,YET lol keep up the most excellent work violition. do i ever shut up? i dont think so either lol.
  33. OllyC.
    Sep 30, 2001
    9
    Brilliant gameplay...great graphics...fun vehicles...great!
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Red Faction is not a classic, but the new Doom ain’t out yet buddy. Red Faction will allow you to practice the frag fest fever for the time being.
  2. A couple of years ago, Red Faction would have been a stellar title but now, it’s simply a very good one.
  3. 80
    The single-player experience is great on its own, which explains the success of the PS2 version, but with the addition of a powerful and customisable multiplayer mode, PC owners are in for a treat.