Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1289 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RicardoO.
    May 11, 2006
    10
    This game has a great sound quality, maps and gameplay! But if you don't like slow gameplay (like ghost recon and so on), you will certainly not like this game asswell. The only problems i found on that game were the bots ai and the graphics are not the best.. but i rate it 10/10 b/c the graphics is not the most important..
  2. Goose
    May 10, 2006
    10
    If there is a better war simulation game I would like to know.
  3. OleB.
    May 12, 2006
    10
    The best out there, and will continue to be so for a long time.
  4. Michael
    May 14, 2006
    10
    The most realistic WII game out there. The sound effects are perfect, the maps are detailed and immersive, and the gameplay is awesome. This game is about realism and it delivers.
  5. ConnorB.
    May 18, 2006
    10
    I think this game is the most accurate representation of combat on the eastern front ever made! The effects are vivid the physics is the best I've seen and the graphics are top of the line, I also enjoyed the realworld ballistics and richochets. Altogether a 10 out of 10.
  6. [-project.rattus-]
    May 19, 2006
    10
    In my Opinion the best Multiplayer experience out there. Especially if you're tired of the same old run'n'gun gameplay the industry feeds us for years.
  7. TommyS.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    one of those rare jems in FPS.s. True it won't appeal to the masses who enjoy twitch FPS's. Also be warned it grows on you. First impression may be unfavourable BUT , give it time and it becomes addictave and you start to wonder what the appeal of all those other FPS's was in the first place.
  8. TeodorIkonomov
    May 21, 2006
    10
    The Best Game Ever
  9. BrianY.
    May 22, 2006
    8
    Top rate first person shooter commercial mod for the UT2004 engine. While yes the game lacks a single player campaign, the other aspects of this fine game beg to be looked at. The first thing that impressed me is the tank combat system. The firing, watching the round to impact, visual effects, and sound all make it feel like you are really there. Having served in the military and watch Top rate first person shooter commercial mod for the UT2004 engine. While yes the game lacks a single player campaign, the other aspects of this fine game beg to be looked at. The first thing that impressed me is the tank combat system. The firing, watching the round to impact, visual effects, and sound all make it feel like you are really there. Having served in the military and watch tanks fire their main guns, and tracers that seem to bounce in every direction, Red Orchestra is the closest thing next to signing up. For those of you players who like the Quake style of play where you have armor and a body that can take ungodly amounts of punishment this game is not for you. Damage is modeled correctly, and even when getting near missed by tank rounds or grenades you get visibly shook up. For 24.95 this game is WELL worth the investment. See you on the front. Expand
  10. AnthonyG.
    May 25, 2006
    9
    Yes the WWII theme is so abused, yet this game takes place in areas untouched by the others. With a Counter-Strike/BF2 feel, it's unique, and one of the best Shooters online. Much better than DOD-S!!
  11. MarioR.
    May 5, 2006
    9
    Realista y muy jugable, lo que le falla son los gráficos, pero no quiero pensar en que máquina necesitaríamos para mover el juego si estuviese con el motor del HL2 o del nuevo unereal. Se ve algo difuminado, pero es cuestión de acostumbrarse, sobretodo viniendo del DOD:Source.
  12. TonioDestroy
    May 6, 2006
    9
    De lo mas real que hay para jugar. Le faltan pequeños detalles para ser perfecto.
  13. JoeG.
    May 6, 2006
    9
    What dod source should have been!!! needs some patching tho but pretty damn good game.
  14. ModigaD.
    May 9, 2006
    10
    A brilliant War simulator, the only game that comes to mind, close to Red Orchestra is Operation Flashpoint. The gameplay is unique to almost all other games of the genre, no crosshairs being the most noticable feature. It can take some players a while to get used to but once you know when to keep your head down and how to act as a team with your team, this game is topped by no other A brilliant War simulator, the only game that comes to mind, close to Red Orchestra is Operation Flashpoint. The gameplay is unique to almost all other games of the genre, no crosshairs being the most noticable feature. It can take some players a while to get used to but once you know when to keep your head down and how to act as a team with your team, this game is topped by no other online war sim. The graphics may be slightly outdated in comparison to other recent titles but once you turn on anti-aliasing outside the game, those feelings soon drift away. Expand
  15. BoO.
    Jun 16, 2006
    9
    This is a great game, that will continue to grow all the time, as the developers will release patches, new weapons, new maps. And with the SDK out people will continue to make custom maps, but some may suck. So you better play on servers that only allow the retail maps and the GOOD custom made ones.
  16. LevA.
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    This is by far the best World War 2 shooter I have ever played! The infantry combat is so much better than previous games I have played. My favorite is the tank combat, however, with armor deflecting shots and really cool ballistics.
  17. DavideS.
    Jun 17, 2006
    10
    I had hours upon hours of fun playing this game with my friends, and I still do. I recommend it to all my friends, and people who are in the shop for an FPS.
  18. RudeJ.
    Jun 22, 2006
    10
    Awesome game! Most realistic FPS I've played in my Life! Very Young and Talented Team! I give it a 10 :) Keep up the good work tripwire!
  19. NathanHeller
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    A superb game at an excellent price! Once purchased, updates, patches, and new content are automatically delivered to you free of charge through Steam. Some new weapons have already been added, and many bugs fixed. The game has a steep learning curve, but is very enjoyable once you get the hang of it. I have been since unable to play any other WWII shooter because "they're all tooA superb game at an excellent price! Once purchased, updates, patches, and new content are automatically delivered to you free of charge through Steam. Some new weapons have already been added, and many bugs fixed. The game has a steep learning curve, but is very enjoyable once you get the hang of it. I have been since unable to play any other WWII shooter because "they're all too gamey now". Red Orchestra is the game for me! Expand
  20. MasterofDoom
    Jun 25, 2006
    10
    This game is unique. Such a small dev team has created a addictive fun game. WITH THE NEW FIX LOAD TIMES ARE ONLY 10 SECONDS so if load times ar ekeeping you from buying the game,its been fixed. The tank armor has been rebuilt almost entirely. I was suprised when the dev team tossed im 2 new guns to fight with. Me and my friends play 6+ hours a day playing this non-stop. The map Arad hadThis game is unique. Such a small dev team has created a addictive fun game. WITH THE NEW FIX LOAD TIMES ARE ONLY 10 SECONDS so if load times ar ekeeping you from buying the game,its been fixed. The tank armor has been rebuilt almost entirely. I was suprised when the dev team tossed im 2 new guns to fight with. Me and my friends play 6+ hours a day playing this non-stop. The map Arad had so much potentional and the dev team knew it so they rebuild it. Sometimes i forget its a game. Overall its a great game if you take gameplay over graphics. Expand
  21. KyleP.
    Jun 29, 2006
    8
    First of all dont believe those people who say, the graphics are bad. Well they have the right to bequiet because I think it looks better then Call of Duty 2. Call of Duty 2 is NOTHING without bump maping and people know it. The textures in this game are amazingly detailed. The thing that really pisses me off is the G4TV review, they dont know jack crap about games and yet they got a job First of all dont believe those people who say, the graphics are bad. Well they have the right to bequiet because I think it looks better then Call of Duty 2. Call of Duty 2 is NOTHING without bump maping and people know it. The textures in this game are amazingly detailed. The thing that really pisses me off is the G4TV review, they dont know jack crap about games and yet they got a job on games. Why dont you go back to playing your n64. The tank battles are slow but once you start its tense. Its fun to scream into the mic BACK UP BACK UP! When your commander. My faverite map is Stalingrad Kessel. This is the most realistic game I have ever played in my entire life. No WW2 game stands up to this. Day of Defeat is just the cheeseist game I have ever seen where plays walk 30 mph this game is slow to get used to but once you start you wont want to stop. The ragdolls are cool and G4TV, so WHAT if the AI is stuipid. Expand
  22. KennyJ.
    Jun 5, 2006
    8
    Not too shabby of a game. Obviously its very realistic, which is a great part about it. There are quite a few maps, all of which are varied and finely crafted. Almost like 2 games in one, since the tank maps and infantry maps are totally different, and the gameplay is totally different (all the while great). Only a few things wrong with this game, and one is the graphics. For a game Not too shabby of a game. Obviously its very realistic, which is a great part about it. There are quite a few maps, all of which are varied and finely crafted. Almost like 2 games in one, since the tank maps and infantry maps are totally different, and the gameplay is totally different (all the while great). Only a few things wrong with this game, and one is the graphics. For a game arriving on the scene nowadays, 2 to 3 year old graphics barely cut it. On the infantry maps, stuff in the distance gets pretty blurry even on total max settings. Another bad thing is the character movement, which is jerky and not really convincing at times. If those problems werent there, this game would easily be a 10, but as of now Im gonna give it an 8. Expand
  23. RomanF.
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    Awesome. The perfect mix of all the realistic game elements of Day of Defeat, Battlefield and Americas Army combined in one great game. While the game graphics are good but not great, the atmosphere and game play are fantastic. You won't suffer from silly game mechanisms like Bunny Hopping. It overcomes the cumbersome controls of Americas Army while maintaining its realistic Awesome. The perfect mix of all the realistic game elements of Day of Defeat, Battlefield and Americas Army combined in one great game. While the game graphics are good but not great, the atmosphere and game play are fantastic. You won't suffer from silly game mechanisms like Bunny Hopping. It overcomes the cumbersome controls of Americas Army while maintaining its realistic features. There is even no cross hair. The only way to aim accurately on long range is the iron sight. Don't worry about "cheaters" marking the middle of the screen, for the alignment of the gun is usually not aiming at the middle - it changes accordingly to your movement. If you look for a realistic FPS, Red Orchestra is the way to go. Expand
  24. MatT.
    Jul 15, 2006
    10
    Well, in real life I'm an airsoft addict (aeg's, no springer crap for me) so I'm very particular about my shooter games, ie non of that annoying bunny hopping BS and other Halo-like cliches. So in a nut-shell, I enjoy realism. This game has plenty of that. What makes this more enjoyable is that its not a game you can start playing and become an instant God at: it has a Well, in real life I'm an airsoft addict (aeg's, no springer crap for me) so I'm very particular about my shooter games, ie non of that annoying bunny hopping BS and other Halo-like cliches. So in a nut-shell, I enjoy realism. This game has plenty of that. What makes this more enjoyable is that its not a game you can start playing and become an instant God at: it has a sharper learning curve than most other games I've played. Strategy also plays a large role in combination with team work. Although it's not 100% essential, I can say it will ALWAYS gaurantee victory. Mics are very good to have too. Seeing how it is indeed a shooter game, Tripwire really brings in full-control. Aspects like leaning, bipods for MGs, 3D iron sight (no 2D cross hairs), a health system that only shows where you get hurt. My favorite is something new that I've never seen before in a game: depending on how you're set up in a position, you can rest your gun on any kind of ledge for better support/accuracy while shooting. Something I find myself doing quite often in airsoft. So all in all, buy it! This very second! Expand
  25. AndrewH.
    Jul 23, 2006
    9
    This game is realy adictive. It takes a little time to get used to it but after it is AMAZING!
  26. KevinH.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    This is NOT a typical fps. "Run and Gun" style players will get quickly frustrated by RO's realism, intensity, and tendency to reward tactics and teamwork over 1337 skillz, which is exactly why the rest of us love it. Once you pay your dues and learn how the game works (HINT: READ THE MANUAL!), you may find yourself addicted. I don't care if I ever play with crosshairs again.
  27. EnigmaticD.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    This is just great! Great game, great levels, great price (not :) ) and great fun. New patch is out today, with new map. Awsome support by the devs. Just love this game!
  28. BrianR.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    Played sicne the day it came out as a mod, and have loved it ever since.
  29. RON.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    red orchestra:ostfront is the most realistic agme ever brought on pc, it;s graphics are pleasent enough and it holds 1005 realistic gameplay ranging from historically currect names for german/russian troops (which took some research) to balistics and big modification in releavance to other games, all combined with fast gameplay ( if you got to play with the rigyt crowed) . player skins red orchestra:ostfront is the most realistic agme ever brought on pc, it;s graphics are pleasent enough and it holds 1005 realistic gameplay ranging from historically currect names for german/russian troops (which took some research) to balistics and big modification in releavance to other games, all combined with fast gameplay ( if you got to play with the rigyt crowed) . player skins are all based on real life pictures of troops of each respective side to particpate in that war, each map was realistically constructed alike the true battle its based on, and each side holds maximal player limit (reinforcments) and armment as it was back then. Expand
  30. JesseN/A
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    This game is not for the casual gamer. It is not for the twich gamer also. You may ask who this game is for? It is for the gamer who has good battle sence and can work well with teamates. Dont expect to wtf pwn at first, but dont get me wrong, after a while you can become unstopable. This game is probly the greated fps ww2 game iv ever played, even compared to ww2online. I would recommend This game is not for the casual gamer. It is not for the twich gamer also. You may ask who this game is for? It is for the gamer who has good battle sence and can work well with teamates. Dont expect to wtf pwn at first, but dont get me wrong, after a while you can become unstopable. This game is probly the greated fps ww2 game iv ever played, even compared to ww2online. I would recommend this game to anyone who wants something new and exciting. Expand
  31. LukeL.
    Jul 8, 2006
    9
    This game is fabulous at its job; that is, making a more slow-paced, thinker's shooter. The game definately requires teamwork, almost as much teamwork as BF2, which is sorely lacking in teamworking players. Don't be intimidated by its extremely realistic environment - all you need is a little patience.
  32. DavidBeecham
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    This game is worth the money just for the tank battles and the very functional voice comms system. The first time you hop on a server with a bunch of people using the voice comm system, amidst a heated tank battle, you'll fall in love with this game. It's like being in a real war zone, with commanders frantically calling for backup, gunners yelling orders at their drivers, andThis game is worth the money just for the tank battles and the very functional voice comms system. The first time you hop on a server with a bunch of people using the voice comm system, amidst a heated tank battle, you'll fall in love with this game. It's like being in a real war zone, with commanders frantically calling for backup, gunners yelling orders at their drivers, and whatnot. The infantry combat is superb as well - tactics are very important. Rushing forward while doing the spray and pray routine will get you quickly mown down just like in real life. You have to put more thought into your movements - like crawling instead of walking, flanking instead of assaulting the front. The team the works together will consistently beat the team that does not, even when outnumbered.
    And if your a history buff, RO will definitely satisfy. For instance, I was happily surprised that they included not one, but three different versions of the Russian infantry rifle that was used during WWII.
    Expand
  33. MikeS.
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    This is an exceptional game. I have been an avid Counter Strike and Day of Defeat player for many years. However this game takes you one step further. You do have to spend a little time getting to know how it works but it is seriously worth it. I tried it during the trial and on my first attempt I left in disgust because I just could not work out what was happening. However, I sat down This is an exceptional game. I have been an avid Counter Strike and Day of Defeat player for many years. However this game takes you one step further. You do have to spend a little time getting to know how it works but it is seriously worth it. I tried it during the trial and on my first attempt I left in disgust because I just could not work out what was happening. However, I sat down with the online manual and very quickly it all became very obvious. If you like serious game play rathet than madly dashing around shooting everything, then this is for you. That's not to say it isn;t exciting because it is. My favourite feature are the tanks (once you learn how to adjust your visibility so that you can see out of them!). The voice system where you can talk to team mates or even just keep it local (ie: inside the tank) is great. If you take my advice, start by playing one map until you get the hang of it (RO-ARAD is an excellent map) and then try other maps. All in all one of the best multiplayer games I've played in a long time. Expand
  34. CharlieB.
    Aug 17, 2006
    8
    Nice FPS, very realistic. There are however, parts of the game that take away from the realism and this is an issue; also the reason I have it an 8. You can read about the great things the game has to offer on other posts, I'll just focus on why I gave it an 8: First of all, since buying the game I have not noticed one single patch to fix game issues. Some of the maps are bugged, Nice FPS, very realistic. There are however, parts of the game that take away from the realism and this is an issue; also the reason I have it an 8. You can read about the great things the game has to offer on other posts, I'll just focus on why I gave it an 8: First of all, since buying the game I have not noticed one single patch to fix game issues. Some of the maps are bugged, meaning you will find yourself stuck unable to move in rough terrain. When there aren't enough ppl playing, the server autoinserts bots, which I feel is a letdown. The bots are simply too dumb to follow basic commands on some of the maps (ie. follow me) and many times just stand there doing nothing, blocking doorways, and simply getting in the way of your fire. Nothing is more aggravating than seeing a couple of solo players infiltrate a heavily defended area with bots, and for some reason the infiltrators fly past these things no problem. I have also noticed that when first turning on the game there is supposed to be a 'news' update that first shows up onscreen that updates the community to current events. Ever since I installed the game that section has been bugged, the news will flash onscreen for about a second and disappear. It's little bugs like these which are easily fixed. The developers that made this game need to continue to patch the game to fix these issues. Otherwise I feel this is a fine game, just lacking the patching and updates that a professional game provider/designer would implement in a real world simulation. i.e. Everquest updates their game practically every week. I have owned this game going on 5 weeks, and still no patch. Expand
  35. EricMeythaler
    Aug 18, 2006
    9
    The is a very fresh shooter, there aren't many other games out there like this. The weapons are completely realistic, I love having to use iron sights. The bots are poor, but you don't have to use them, they're really only good for trying out different weapons and getting the hang of them. I love the ricochet effect of the machinegun tracers. That is 100% realistic. I doThe is a very fresh shooter, there aren't many other games out there like this. The weapons are completely realistic, I love having to use iron sights. The bots are poor, but you don't have to use them, they're really only good for trying out different weapons and getting the hang of them. I love the ricochet effect of the machinegun tracers. That is 100% realistic. I do wish that the barrels had to be changed, they give you the option to swap out barrels, but I've never had a machinegun barrel melt on me in the game. Also, the game has a few bugs, minor ones though that do not effect the gameplay in any way. This game is a lot of fun for anyone who is a fan of the shooter genre or WWII weapons. Expand
  36. AdrianG
    Aug 21, 2006
    10
    The first truly realistic WW2 game out there, and does an awesome job. An immersive experience which is extremely rewarding for the people bothered to invest a small amount of time learning the original game mechanics. Anyone with half a brain cell can adjust their game settings to get graphics which beat source, and can also adjust their settings to get quick load times (10secs). AnyThe first truly realistic WW2 game out there, and does an awesome job. An immersive experience which is extremely rewarding for the people bothered to invest a small amount of time learning the original game mechanics. Anyone with half a brain cell can adjust their game settings to get graphics which beat source, and can also adjust their settings to get quick load times (10secs). Any complaints about bots is irrelevant as it is a multiplayer game. Also there is a large community of dedicated mappers/modders who are releasing lots of quality maps and additions. Never have trouble finding many full servers playing the maps i like.

    Basically this is a game for men, the boys who can't handle the real world mechanics and complain that the game doesn't run because of their rubbish computer can go and play counterstrike or dod:S, whilst giving games 0 scores purely because they're rubbish at them.

    As a sidenote $25 is a bargain for this game, its continually being developed with patches (directly through steam, hence you won't notice), and is also releasing new content such as weapons, maps, vehicles etc for FREE until at least late 2007. As well as the developers actually listening to suggestions and thoughts from the community. Thats a few things you won't find from EA, and their BF2.
    Expand
  37. LouB
    Aug 20, 2006
    9
    Very fun, very realistic well worth the $25. Not for everyone because not everyone will have the patience to get used to a sim as apposed to an arcade game, but if you think you have the patience buy it.
  38. ChrisT.
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    Absolutely outstanding tactical online fps game probably the finest example of realistic combat the pace and flow of the game is truly amazing as the game is slow enough to allow you time to plan your next move "Do i rush that bunker?",Do i try and make it to cover ?" "Do i just charge and return fire?" and yet the game is fast enough to take your breath away at times if you want a fps Absolutely outstanding tactical online fps game probably the finest example of realistic combat the pace and flow of the game is truly amazing as the game is slow enough to allow you time to plan your next move "Do i rush that bunker?",Do i try and make it to cover ?" "Do i just charge and return fire?" and yet the game is fast enough to take your breath away at times if you want a fps online game that is realistic and so absorbing that you find yourself ducking behind your computer screen when you take incoming fire then try Red Orchestra. Expand
  39. BryanA.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    Most Realistic game ever!
  40. RafaelL.
    Aug 4, 2006
    9
    I love the reallity of this game, but it could kow have a expasion including planes and bigger maps.
  41. AdamG.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    This is without a doubt the best WW2 shooter game I have ever played! It may very well be the best of any FPS game I've ever played as well. The tank combat is by far the best. With teamwork, even driving can be harrowing!
  42. WesleyC.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    This game... is simply amazing. The game has so many realistic little, and large details that you wouldn't find anywhere else. Huge learning curve, takes a VERY long time to be able to get on average more than one kill a life, but when you do, you will LOVE this game. This game is more than a WWII game... its a slew of orignal and realistic details, and the essential WWII feel at the This game... is simply amazing. The game has so many realistic little, and large details that you wouldn't find anywhere else. Huge learning curve, takes a VERY long time to be able to get on average more than one kill a life, but when you do, you will LOVE this game. This game is more than a WWII game... its a slew of orignal and realistic details, and the essential WWII feel at the same time. Expand
  43. BrandonH.
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    The game is awesome if your tired of your everyday fps, it is completely different than DOD:S in that it takes the entire team to win, not just one person with the highest score, and the tanks are awesome, nothing like BF1942 tanks are realistic, There is one mode of gameplay that is fast paced to say the least so stay low, pick your shots and hope someone hasnt picked you off already.
  44. JonG.
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    The most realistic/Adult WWII PC Shooter ever. It's awesome, realistic, and once you've played it for a while you'll never go back to those little kid online PC shooters ever again!
  45. BrianM.
    Sep 29, 2006
    9
    Overall a great game. AI is a bit twitchy, but playable. Loses some realism factor based upon this. Loss: 1 point. Otherwise a great product that is extremely realistic. Good job!
  46. JaredM.
    Sep 5, 2006
    8
    I enjoyed the refreshing look at realism, but it comes off as something that becomes boring with realism sometimes. My only complaint is the poor visibility in Russian APCs.
  47. HarryB.
    Sep 6, 2006
    9
    I have read the other reviews and even still got the game and I have to say it is one of the best online games I have played. I know it takes a long time to load but its worth the wait because the graphics are extremely good the gameplay is realistic. I like a challenge being that I am a good video game player. I find myself getting carried away and time fly's and my wife gets pissed I have read the other reviews and even still got the game and I have to say it is one of the best online games I have played. I know it takes a long time to load but its worth the wait because the graphics are extremely good the gameplay is realistic. I like a challenge being that I am a good video game player. I find myself getting carried away and time fly's and my wife gets pissed oh well Im having fun. Its a game worth going to the doghouse for a night over. Expand
  48. SeanT.
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    AMAZING!!! yeah like Jim said I prety much threw away COD games as a result of playing. The first time I played, all the chaos scared the crap out of me so the realism speaks for it self so I give it a 10
  49. WayneS.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    This game is great and different from all other FPS's I have ever played... If you want realism this is about as good as it gets, once you get in to it you will go back again and again, it's so intense... I hope Tripwire will do one for the Western Front some time in the future too... I'd also like to see them have a go at the Vietnam conflict as well... This will keep me This game is great and different from all other FPS's I have ever played... If you want realism this is about as good as it gets, once you get in to it you will go back again and again, it's so intense... I hope Tripwire will do one for the Western Front some time in the future too... I'd also like to see them have a go at the Vietnam conflict as well... This will keep me busy until then. Expand
  50. AndresV.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    An excellent game that makes me all giddy every time im about to play it.
  51. MattE.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    An amazingly realistic shooter, and not simply for the atmosphere it has, but also for the actual gameplay. A lot of strategy and depth exists in the combat too. A definite buy for those tired of the usual Shooters.
  52. MatthewR.
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    This game is great- no crosshairs, no med packs, and far as I can tell, few if any cheaters. The game engine is very flexible, allowing graphic adjustments for nearly any PC setup. The gameplay is brutal- to be effective you need to actually think, rather than hope your armor outlasts your opponents. You can be killed by the slightest mishap, yet outlivea barrage of gunfire, simply This game is great- no crosshairs, no med packs, and far as I can tell, few if any cheaters. The game engine is very flexible, allowing graphic adjustments for nearly any PC setup. The gameplay is brutal- to be effective you need to actually think, rather than hope your armor outlasts your opponents. You can be killed by the slightest mishap, yet outlivea barrage of gunfire, simply depends on where you were hit. Every style of combat in the game is intense, provided you have decent opponents. For those that dislike it, I'm apologize, but this game is here for a different kind of gamer than the typical Halo, CS or DoD experts- it for those desiring something different and difficult, something where one can succeed with a bolt action rifle where a machine gunner failed, or where well placed and timed grenades can put him above someone with a superior weapon. It may be unbalanced, but war in general isn't about fairness, it it? Expand
  53. GuyD.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Best first person shooter I've ever played. You will HAVE to learn to shoot, no piper to make you lazy and dependent. Infantry is VERY realistic. Tanks are pretty cool but I am not a tanker so my comments there would be bias. Think you have a little skill with a gun? Come on, we'll just see how good you are.
  54. ArronT.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love this game, its such a change from all the other run-and-gun first person shooters. Games arn't full of people with PPSH's simply mowing you down, there is a real need for skill in this game. However, the realism for me makes this game really stand out, there is nothing better than hearing the crack of your rifle, knowing you may only have one chance so it needs I absolutely love this game, its such a change from all the other run-and-gun first person shooters. Games arn't full of people with PPSH's simply mowing you down, there is a real need for skill in this game. However, the realism for me makes this game really stand out, there is nothing better than hearing the crack of your rifle, knowing you may only have one chance so it needs to count, then seeing your target crumple to a heap. very satisfying. The tank battles are the best the position of your tank need careful thought, if you dont want to be knocked out instantly. it doesn't always come down to the first to fire, hit location is the most important factor, along with range and impact angle. For me this is one of the best FPS's of all, the regular updates keep things fresh with new maps and vehicles, RO can do no wrong. Expand
  55. MiikW.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Love it. The 3d soundfield is as immersive as the stunning graphics. An unmatched pleasure in gaming. The new explosive bloom effects and added maps (all updated free) have really enhanced the experience even more. Our #1 rated game for quite a while.
  56. AlexanderG.
    Jan 27, 2007
    8
    The game is great yet kinda boring. I wish you could like fly a plane or something because that would be sweet! What would also be cool is to be an artillery gunner. But thats probably asking to much. Well anyway the game was fun but could use some improvement.
  57. AnonymousMC
    Jan 7, 2007
    9
    Easily one of the finest WWII games I have ever played. Those who do not enjoy this should go back to playing MOH or COD with all the kiddies out there; this gameoffers a genuine combat experience that is both entertaining and involving. If you're looking for something light-hearted and easy though, then this isn't for you.
  58. AnonymousMC
    Feb 4, 2007
    10
    Great game. I'd just like to say how stupid so many of these low scores are. The fact that the maps take a long time to load doesn't mean the game is bad, it means you have a crappy system. I can get up and running in under 30 seconds, and the game runs perfectly, don't complain about something when it's caused by you.
  59. ShaneF.
    Mar 13, 2007
    10
    Best ww2 first shooter out there....by far! Once you're on for a day you're hooked.....if you like your realism......MOH etc. Won't be touched ever again! Trust me check it out.
  60. jeanpoop
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    for every gamer something right and good!i u want some action and tank combat get the game and play it but dont try to be the best the first couple of hours because u want but learn from the best die like the rest they say so Have FUN!
  61. JosefV.
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    This game, while it has the learning curve of a circle, is the best that could have possibly emerged for this genre- realism. Forget COD2 or HL2, those are shooters. This however is in a class of its own, and is not a shooter, but is realism. If you can move your mouse and pres wasd among a few other controls, this game will win your heart.
  62. AnonymousMC
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    only 3 complaints. first, the singleplayer is cool at very best. second, the map selction gets very small after a while, even with custom maps and, the map editor is impossible to understand. Otherwise, worlds better than any other WWII shooter out there. and best of all, you get to be russian!
  63. Vargas
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    Absolutely the best FPS game I have ever played. Really this is more of an infantry sim, but the intensity matches and surpasses any twitch shooter any day. The only problem for me is this game ruins every other game in the genre making them look arcady and cartoonish.
  64. FredB.
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    Highly realistic and better than anyone says. If your good its the best game out there.
  65. SashaC.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Awesome game!
  66. PavelS.
    Apr 5, 2007
    9
    Attention to detail is amazing. Like the open newspaper in the rubble-strewn office in Stalingrad that you can actually read, or the Russian graffiti on the wall of the bathroom in a collective farm. It's grit, mud, snow, and blood - what warfare on the Eastern front was all about. Overall excellent. Why it's not a 10: single player AI is brain-dead, and when you do play online, Attention to detail is amazing. Like the open newspaper in the rubble-strewn office in Stalingrad that you can actually read, or the Russian graffiti on the wall of the bathroom in a collective farm. It's grit, mud, snow, and blood - what warfare on the Eastern front was all about. Overall excellent. Why it's not a 10: single player AI is brain-dead, and when you do play online, you'll get picked off easily before you learn how to survive in combat. Best bet: join a gaming clan and let them teach you how to survive and win - which is how real combat is supposed to be. No Rambos here. Expand
  67. TonyG.
    May 12, 2007
    10
    With patience and practice, this game turns from a getting shot simulator to a very complex and tense shooter. There are no easy kill guns, no cheap shots. If you die, you know that either you screwed up or someone made a great shot.
  68. TrenchBot
    May 23, 2007
    9
    Dramatic WWII warfare. Paced, team-oriented, and solid implementation.
  69. Loozo
    May 31, 2007
    10
    The realism makes this the best fps i have ever played.. maybe hard at start, but when you learn to play you cant stop.. you can actually use real tactics and teamwork because the game is so real.. tank wars give also nice extra to the game!
  70. FlongaJ.
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    This game is all tactical, if you don't like tactical, don't get it.
  71. AndrewK.
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    I enjoy having to use my brain in order to play games, rather than just running around randomly shooting and blowing up everything I see. When you kill someone in RO it's satisfying. With the new 50 player style maps, the combat is very intense and allows for a lot more interesting gameplay than previously at the games early stages.
  72. NicholasJ.
    Jun 20, 2007
    8
    A very fun game but the loading times are crazy...if loading times were fastre it would be a 10.
  73. StevenM.
    Jun 20, 2007
    10
    Simply the most intense multiplayer game I've played. A piece of art in its own right.
  74. VincP.
    Jun 4, 2007
    10
    A very realistic game. Tank fights are interesting.
  75. GregR.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    The most realistic and wonderful WW2 experience yet, with many maps, all bot playable and fun!
  76. DavidS.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    I think this game in really good, and people HAVE to give covering fire and work as a team which is really realistic (like the shooting and everything), and i think after a few days of playing everyone can be a really good RO player. this is my opinion.
  77. AndrewHoffman
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    A very realistic game, and fun. Although the intensity and difficulty obviously changes a lot because its a multiplayer game, it is still a tactical and realistic fps. When i first bought it i was dissapointed about no single-player campaign, but playing with others who enjoyed the game and were good players outweighed playing a story-lined campaign with bots.
  78. JohnA.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    This game incorporates intense close quarters combat, with realistic graphics and hit system. Love wut they did with the sprint effecting your accuracy, very realistic. There is also tank battles with very realistic combat. Very goodjob tripwire... waiting for your next release.
  79. JohnD.
    Jul 22, 2007
    9
    Great game but get a mike if you don't have one. Makes coordination with teamates much simpler.
  80. AnneL.
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    Best online game EVER, for realism-loving people only! Take some time to get into it, but once you do you love it and cant stand any other online shooter like CoD anymore.
  81. clambo
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    The first seriously awesome game about the Eastern Front. The online play is fantastic and the statigies and effects really immerse oene into a cinematic experience. The sound is great too. Press F9 to save the most incredible screenshots and show them to your friends. I have played alot of bf1942/cod/ etc. and Red Orchestra is more pleasurable. You can even hear the teamspeak of actual The first seriously awesome game about the Eastern Front. The online play is fantastic and the statigies and effects really immerse oene into a cinematic experience. The sound is great too. Press F9 to save the most incredible screenshots and show them to your friends. I have played alot of bf1942/cod/ etc. and Red Orchestra is more pleasurable. You can even hear the teamspeak of actual Europeans and Austrailians etc. who online this from all over the world. It's cool to fight Germans / Soviets and hear actual Germans and Soviets in the background teamspeak while you play. My favorite game. Expand
  82. JoumanJ.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    Amazing game.
  83. MattB.
    Aug 31, 2007
    8
    A milestone in "realistic" games. However; its pretty much love it or hate it. I love it. I can see this game being optimally fun with a group of people who use teamwork and VOIP. Really fun if you're into realistic shooters, and hell its only $20.
  84. BobC.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Great game, combines just enough realism with arcady fun to make it one of the best shooters out.
  85. MichealB.
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    For a game built on the aging Unreal 2 engine this games great. Has a slight slope of a learning curve but once you get over the hill its all intense action from there out. I would recommend this game to people who want a new experience in the FPS realm.
  86. DaveChampagne
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Red Orchestra Is the best simulation of this Word
    Une realité exeptionnel pour ce jeux Tou est bien detailler Je note 10/10 Pour nous avoir donner un jeux qui te met dans lambiance de la 2ime Guerre Mondial il on meme penser au coup de cross qui son telment bien fait les rechargements des armes ses tres bien penser sa fait plus reel et surtou ce que jaime le plus ses qu'il
    Red Orchestra Is the best simulation of this Word
    Une realité exeptionnel pour ce jeux Tou est bien detailler Je note 10/10 Pour nous avoir donner un jeux qui te met dans lambiance de la 2ime Guerre Mondial il on meme penser au coup de cross qui son telment bien fait les rechargements des armes ses tres bien penser sa fait plus reel et surtou ce que jaime le plus ses qu'il na pas de mire de tir dans le millieu de lecran XD alor je dit va te faire foutre G4 TV yon rien compri a quoi servai ce jeux
    Expand
  87. CameronS
    Nov 14, 2008
    9
    Great game, rewarding as hell to learn, intense battles, a wonderful lack of arcade like mechanisms that make other online FPS games feel like super-twitch-lolDOOM. Pity it's a MP only game, makes it difficult to really get into for rural dwelling people like myself.
  88. ZackS.
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    This game is the most authentic game i have ever played. a lot of games say there ritualistic but until you play this you never truly played a WW2 game or even a shooter in general. it does have a steep learning curve but this game is lots of fun i recommend it to anyone who loves WW2, loves shooters, or just loves to blow sh*t up.
  89. justinG
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    even with a few pay-2-play games i have accounts for .. i still play this instead of them, this is one of the best multiplayer fps ww2 games my opinion.
  90. DimpyT.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Now wat places it above most of the fps games is reality......Sound of strings when the player breathes in the game.......in very cold envornment ......dropping of weapon when took a shot on hand ......and many more thing which make u feel the pain and ensures presense of the wwII The weapons (specially the german rifle)...used are amazing .......The envornment......inhospitable or hard Now wat places it above most of the fps games is reality......Sound of strings when the player breathes in the game.......in very cold envornment ......dropping of weapon when took a shot on hand ......and many more thing which make u feel the pain and ensures presense of the wwII The weapons (specially the german rifle)...used are amazing .......The envornment......inhospitable or hard to play in. Even vehicles can also be used in middle of the play..........10 goes for the game. Expand
  91. alexj
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    just about in a league of it's own as far as realistic shooters go. deseres a 10 simply for daring not to compromise it's vision.
  92. joshgamer
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    It a good ww2 game. It a hard game to play online. TWB's game is a BAST sever I play. Try It
  93. WenY.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Real wars Real activity Real tanks!!
  94. PeterD.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    I haven't played this game but man this looks awesome, I badly want it now. Any way congratulations.
  95. ThorstenS.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    In conclusion to "modern" games, the graphics are quite.. hm on average. sound is good (use a dx9 soundcard) the best is inside: holy lord, awesome game. realism, maps, weapons, vehicles, balance - everything has been well done. buy it!!!
  96. AllenG.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    Best graphics for a last gen game,even better than Battlefield 2!!! Love to see a new one remade with UE3 engine!
  97. RolandL
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Once i played BF1942 and i thought it was a good game, but RO, is better than BF oder any other game. The realism is amazing. The graphics are really good and you don't need a highend computer to play it.
  98. JimC
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    Don't listen to the bullshit that been posted by kiddies like: "NO CROSSHAIRS!!11 BAD GRAPHICS!!111!one" The graphics, for an 2005 game, is GREAT, if you actually TRY to open the configuration menu (just set everything to high, and pray it wouldn't lag on your PC). I, for one, am playing it on Medium and it looks GREAT. Now, the gameplay. What could bother you, is the actual Don't listen to the bullshit that been posted by kiddies like: "NO CROSSHAIRS!!11 BAD GRAPHICS!!111!one" The graphics, for an 2005 game, is GREAT, if you actually TRY to open the configuration menu (just set everything to high, and pray it wouldn't lag on your PC). I, for one, am playing it on Medium and it looks GREAT. Now, the gameplay. What could bother you, is the actual team you're on. Sometimes, even if you just start playing this game BUT you have a lot of FPS experience, you will find it very annoying for the newplayers do stupid stuff like TeamKilling or not listening your orders in the tank (e.g. going on full speed in random directions like they're in some GTA game). The sound and the music are great, I even listen to the music alone sometimes. The level design is great, but DON'T compare it with custom made maps, as sometimes they are VERY bad ( e.g. a room with bad texturing and random spawn positions like it's some CS game). Now, about the funniest part: the crosshairs. This game is about REALISM. Do you actually think if you take a gun, a ****ing crosshair will appear in your eyes?! Why don't use Iron-sights, it's much better and it feels more realistic, so get over it! Someone even told that the graphics were so bad that there were no crosshair. First off, THERE'S NO CROSSHAIRS, and secondly the graphics are great when you set them right. Overall, a great Mult-player game. Period. Expand
  99. JanL.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    It`s the best WW 2 what ever will be!
  100. DanielCrook
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    To be blunt there are many things that SHOULD come as standard in a FPS thesedays. Some of these are lacking - mainly in the graphics area. Tanks get stuck on stupid stuff - like thin trees which is really frustrating in a game that is trying to be as realistic as possible. Also, you are not too sure whats going on at times and after the ultrarealism was off you are left with a bitterTo be blunt there are many things that SHOULD come as standard in a FPS thesedays. Some of these are lacking - mainly in the graphics area. Tanks get stuck on stupid stuff - like thin trees which is really frustrating in a game that is trying to be as realistic as possible. Also, you are not too sure whats going on at times and after the ultrarealism was off you are left with a bitter taste in your mouth as you realise your playing a game because you wanted a game!!!

    For all its bad points, however, you will go back to it and it will grow on you - because for all its bad points it does have gameplay. Let's face it after playing games like COD4 BF2, 2142 and Crysis - you'd forgotten what gritty gameplay and skill was. You get hit in the chest with a .50 cal?? No problem. But, in Ostfront your down like a sack of s*it. Suddenly, you have to use real skill and the buzz you get from getting kills is excellent. IIf you want to run around like a headless chicken - then this is not for you. If you want to play with the big boys and want a solid, historically accurate and deep game then buy this
    Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. I absolutely love the attention Tripwire has given to the small details in the game.
  2. 85
    There's very little gameyness in RO and a whole lot of gritty crawling along the ground so you can flank over to that machine gunner and allow your team to advance to the next spawn point objective.
  3. Red Orchestra is an enjoyable, team-based online shooter for those who like the Battlefield-style games but want a more technical and realistic experience.