User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1290 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    The best and most realistic WW2 FPS/Simulator. Even better with the 'Darkest hour' -mod, please, locate and download it. Adds the Western Front and several US/British/German vehicles and weapons. I have the RO2, but still prefer the RO1 with Darkest hour -mod.
  2. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    well this is best world war 2 simulater this game will take you to middle of the real war and you will suddenly notice that kingtiger is coming up to you and you'll freak out hell RO2 is bad but you should try DH mod and also i have to say FFUK OFF COD KIDS this place is not where you belong
  3. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    This game is so great I don´t know what to say about, first people who say it´s crap can´t play it, it´s to hard for BF and CoD Kiddies! Much people complain about camping, well war is all about camping till the right moment for an attack is there! If you want a really realistic combat experience there´s nothing that can compare with RO:Ost! I would give it 9 points but you get 2 free ModsThis game is so great I don´t know what to say about, first people who say it´s crap can´t play it, it´s to hard for BF and CoD Kiddies! Much people complain about camping, well war is all about camping till the right moment for an attack is there! If you want a really realistic combat experience there´s nothing that can compare with RO:Ost! I would give it 9 points but you get 2 free Mods with it Darkest Hour (Western Front Scenario) and Mare Nostrum (African Scenario) and dudes it just rock on and on! Give it a try, its very cheap on steam! Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    A game better played against other online gamers, bots could do a better job. One thing bugs me, why should a small wooden fence or box block the movement ability of tanks.
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    This is not another generic shooter. Even today, despite the fact that i've played the game for many many hours, its still one of my favorite games, and it is better than RO2 in many ways. There is no generic features such as XP and perks. A game that really defines what gaming is: having a good time. Play this game as CoD and you're dead meat. Graphics isn't the best, but sound isThis is not another generic shooter. Even today, despite the fact that i've played the game for many many hours, its still one of my favorite games, and it is better than RO2 in many ways. There is no generic features such as XP and perks. A game that really defines what gaming is: having a good time. Play this game as CoD and you're dead meat. Graphics isn't the best, but sound is amazing, from the horrible death-screams on the battlefield to the deep, touching soundtrack. Wide open maps, long range combat, tank combat, close quarter combat - this game focus on realism and therefore skill, patience and planning is required to stay alive. Typical FPS behaviour often result in instant death.
    It is neither a simulation or a complete arcade game. Red Orchestra: Ostfront sits comfortable between the ArmA franchise and other FPS games.
    Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Singleplayer is a pointless shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depending on the difficulty. Multiplayer is a pointless try-shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depends on which team has the most talent or communication. The whole point of the game, I think, is the gritty experience of getting stuck into a trench with a deadly rifle, daring to pop your head up to getSingleplayer is a pointless shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depending on the difficulty. Multiplayer is a pointless try-shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depends on which team has the most talent or communication. The whole point of the game, I think, is the gritty experience of getting stuck into a trench with a deadly rifle, daring to pop your head up to get into the fight. Shooting can be brutal, constant deaths, or finding a good spot and getting several kills. I once got into a bayonet scuffle with a player in a room, my heart was pounding when I saw him storm in. It was one-on-one, I don't remember who killed who in the end, I just remember that my hands were shaking, and I loved it. Tank combat mixing with infantry is done well here, worth it if it's on sale and you enjoy experience gameplay, this is definitely not arcade fun. Mare Nostrum and Darkest Hour mods are worth a look at for this game. Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Red Orchestra is a tough, fun game that really brings FPS to a whole new level of realism. Ballistics and graphics aren't perfect, but aren't too shabby for a six year old game. Although on easier difficulty levels the friendly AI are painfully un-reliable, the tough enemy AI, useful squad commands, wide range of weapons, and 1st person vehicle combat make Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45 aRed Orchestra is a tough, fun game that really brings FPS to a whole new level of realism. Ballistics and graphics aren't perfect, but aren't too shabby for a six year old game. Although on easier difficulty levels the friendly AI are painfully un-reliable, the tough enemy AI, useful squad commands, wide range of weapons, and 1st person vehicle combat make Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45 a highly recommended game in my book. Even if you don't like it, it's only $9.99 on Steam and comes with 2 free mods, so it is a good value. Expand
  8. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    I am a fanatic of WWII games but this one is really fantastic!
    The mods are generally weak on the new models and the new factions have a poor armory.
    The multiplayer mode is very difficult to use because you have to wait a lot of time.
    But the single player mode is wonderful, simply!
    you can personalize everything and i like it very much!
    Especially because in the Mare Nostrum mod there is Italy!
  9. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    I love this game, it has the charm, the immersion, the tactics and even the music to make you know what was WW2 about. Sure you can't say it's like war, but it presents it in a respectful manner.
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is a game that the major developers should look to for pointers on how to make a refreshing FPS experience. Veterans of other first person shooters may feel uneasy upon entering Red Orchestra, because in this game you will not be allowed to run about in the open with no care in the world for very long at all. The atmosphere of war produced in this game is excellent, and when fullyThis is a game that the major developers should look to for pointers on how to make a refreshing FPS experience. Veterans of other first person shooters may feel uneasy upon entering Red Orchestra, because in this game you will not be allowed to run about in the open with no care in the world for very long at all. The atmosphere of war produced in this game is excellent, and when fully immersed it can be quite scary to have bullets flying over your head in the midst of battle, while desperately trying to take down some enemies with your bolt-action rifle. This game is probably the best FPS I've played. Expand
  11. Oct 9, 2011
    10
    A game of pure realism brilliance unmatched by any other FPS out there. This game however does have a very specific audience appealing to those who are into hardcore realism (one shot kills, no cross-hairs, etc)
    Highly recommended.
  12. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    the community is almost dead now because it's a 5+ year old game and the sequel is already out but this is probably the best FPS i've ever played. it had the perfect mix of realism and gameplay balance. sadly tripwire has dumbed down the sequel to appeal more to the mainstream market so we will probably never see a shooter as good as this again, until maybe the guys who made the Darkestthe community is almost dead now because it's a 5+ year old game and the sequel is already out but this is probably the best FPS i've ever played. it had the perfect mix of realism and gameplay balance. sadly tripwire has dumbed down the sequel to appeal more to the mainstream market so we will probably never see a shooter as good as this again, until maybe the guys who made the Darkest Hour mod for Ostfront make their own game. RIP Ostfront you were the best damn ww2 game i've ever played. Expand
  13. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    A true masterpiece, that has a still unmatched gameplay, and the proof of that is that there are full servers even after 5 years after its release. I recommend to pick this one up if you can.
  14. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece for the year it was released.
    I have never played a game that has better atmosphere than Red Orchestra.This game just makes you feel as if you are a Russian/German soldier,not a guy sitting in front of a PC.You are constantly under artillery fire,shouting,seeing your brothers and friends die,your hands shake as you aim your gun,the bullets pass beside
    This game is a true masterpiece for the year it was released.
    I have never played a game that has better atmosphere than Red Orchestra.This game just makes you feel as if you are a Russian/German soldier,not a guy sitting in front of a PC.You are constantly under artillery fire,shouting,seeing your brothers and friends die,your hands shake as you aim your gun,the bullets pass beside you,you can hear the enemy shouting and cursing,granades explode just near you,you run to cover as if you are running for your own life.

    Second game is just about to release now,and I am still playing the first one.I don't think this game will ever get old,even when it is outdated.
    Expand
  15. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I love that game. It's totally noob-unfriendly, just good players are fighting on large maps. You have to move very clever, lay down some suppression fire from your MG gunner, get close with your MP40 or StG44. Pick off enemy soldiers form distance with your bolt action rifle. Great game, but not suitable for many players. No kids running around with autofire weapons, no kill streak, noI love that game. It's totally noob-unfriendly, just good players are fighting on large maps. You have to move very clever, lay down some suppression fire from your MG gunner, get close with your MP40 or StG44. Pick off enemy soldiers form distance with your bolt action rifle. Great game, but not suitable for many players. No kids running around with autofire weapons, no kill streak, no "get-some-cover-after-a-hit-and-everything-is-fine". No, that game is totally different to all the games you have wasted your time until now. Expand
  16. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The game is unique, providing combat in a video game unlike any other in a unique, highly sought after WWII environment. Its realistic, gritty, tactical, and requires great skill. not for those NEW to he FPS genre. if you want an intense gaming experience this WAS the game for you. but it always had a very small server community. despite this, red orchestra players like myself never letThe game is unique, providing combat in a video game unlike any other in a unique, highly sought after WWII environment. Its realistic, gritty, tactical, and requires great skill. not for those NEW to he FPS genre. if you want an intense gaming experience this WAS the game for you. but it always had a very small server community. despite this, red orchestra players like myself never let that stop them from thoroughly enjoying the game, with certain very good high population servers and clans/groups that kept the game alive and interesting. i give a lot of respect to tripwire, who even took the time to update the game a LOT after it game out. just goes to show dedication (and tripwire does it for ALL of their games, very well at that). there are only a few minor glitches and errors that arent even bothersome or inhibiting with bombs going off around you. and these glitches are few and far between. the game is immersive and a gem of an FPS. WWII buffs and realism junkies loved it. i say loved because with the NEW red orchestra: heroes of stalingrad coming out, the first game might become a little dated. i encourage you all however to buy the new one. tripwire is a very unique and talented game developer, and i encourage anyone who :loves WWII, loves FPS, loves realism, looking for a challenge/something new. to get it. although really i encourage any and everyone to check it out. im usually hesitant to dish out 50 bucks for a new game, but after playing the first RO, i have complete confidence that its worth the money and supports tripwire to make more games i love. Expand
  17. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    The best WW2 realism game out. I pre ordered through steam and this is one of the games I can say 100% was worth the money. I have 300+ hours in this game and I dont plan on stopping till RO2 comes out. Tripwire is the only dev team I trust any more, I know they will put out a game that is worth the money. Ill be buying RO2 day 1.
  18. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    Has anyone said "immersive" yet? No? I will then: i've lost count of the number of times i've been pinned down by bullet fire and huddled up in a ball (or rather, gone prone...) out of fear for my life. In any other game, namely CoD, i'd have been sprinting head on into whoever's shooting at me so i can stick him with my 2 inch knife. The effect is even further enforced in the freeHas anyone said "immersive" yet? No? I will then: i've lost count of the number of times i've been pinned down by bullet fire and huddled up in a ball (or rather, gone prone...) out of fear for my life. In any other game, namely CoD, i'd have been sprinting head on into whoever's shooting at me so i can stick him with my 2 inch knife. The effect is even further enforced in the free modification "Darkest Hour" where the bullets snap and crackle (like rice krispies?) around you and make your screen go dizzy.
    It's a fantastic game. As has been said in the berjillion reviews, don't go into it hoping to run and gun because you'll lose your limbs faster than you can say "ACHTUNG".
    Play it like you're a real soldier in a real environment. A real soldier who can respawn...
    Expand
  19. May 15, 2011
    10
    Unlike many games which try to cater to everybody at the expense of overall quality, RO:O knows who it's aimed at and it hits the nail on the head completely. Like every game, it has its flaws - the engine is dated and there are some bugs that linger - but unlike most games, it is an honest, well-made tactical shooter that shirks gimmicky game features or 'cinematic' visuals or sequencesUnlike many games which try to cater to everybody at the expense of overall quality, RO:O knows who it's aimed at and it hits the nail on the head completely. Like every game, it has its flaws - the engine is dated and there are some bugs that linger - but unlike most games, it is an honest, well-made tactical shooter that shirks gimmicky game features or 'cinematic' visuals or sequences for gritty realism. The game's pacing is perfect, and the map selection is good; the plethora of custom maps available, many of which are professional-quality, only serves to enhance the experience further. Despite the age of the engine the game's atmosphere and accuracy are superb, down to every last stitch on the uniforms of its Russian and German soldiers.

    RO isn't for everyone, but for its realism level, the learning curve really isn't that steep; TWI's approach of keeping things simple has worked wonders, and it takes most players little more than a few games to adjust to the gameplay. If you're someone who can't live without a crosshair, or think that the weapons in Counter-Strike reload too slowly, or just plain can't go without shooting someone every five seconds - stay away. No doubt some of the negative reviews here are from these kinds of gamers, and they would be within their rights to say the same to me about Counter-Strike. Don't play a game you won't enjoy. With that said, RO is a lot more accessible than games like ArmA or Jagged Alliance, and the payoffs for good teamwork are more immediately apparent.

    Overall, I'm going to have to rate RO at a 10/10 on principle. The game is immensely enjoyable for those who shy away from the twitch shooters that flood the FPS market today and it's aged well - servers are often still full around the clock. The gameplay, atmosphere and most of the level design are some of the best I've seen in any game, let alone of this class. An absolute must-buy for any serious tactical shooter fan and a must-try for anyone interested in WWII history, and I suspect it will remain so long after the sequel is released later this year.
    Expand
  20. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    A breath of fresh air for the tired, worn out WW2 genre. Red Orchestra 2 is a multi-player focused game that transports you to the massive Eastern Front of the Second World War, playing as either a heroic Red Army grunt or a brave German soldier. Red Orchestra is a near perfect blend of realism, fun and atmosphere, and will leave you shaking at the end of every match.
  21. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game can be described with three words: great but hard! If you manage the hard learning theres no better WW2 shooter then Red Orchestra! Intense firefights, realistic tank combat and combined arms fights like you never seen them before! It´s shipped with two mods "Darkest Hour"(West Front) and "Mare Nostrum" (African Front) that still get updates with new tanks, guns and for example mortars! Anyone who downrated this game, just isn´t good enough for this game and should go back and play CoD! Try it handle the hard learning curve and enjoy the greatest FPS of all times! Expand
  22. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    This is easily my favorite online FPS. Its not a soldier sim like others are making out but it is far more advanced than most games in this genre, which is why some people (press circle to win PS3 noobs) have given it such low scores. The maps that people are saying are too big are probably the home made maps created after release, because the original maps aren't really all that big.This is easily my favorite online FPS. Its not a soldier sim like others are making out but it is far more advanced than most games in this genre, which is why some people (press circle to win PS3 noobs) have given it such low scores. The maps that people are saying are too big are probably the home made maps created after release, because the original maps aren't really all that big. Ditching the crosshairs in favour of iron sights was a definite plus, so much so i hate having them in other games. The game is 4 years old and so the graphics look extremely dated. AI is retarded but this is an multiplayer game so not really a major issue. The sound can be misleading on some occasions as some vehicles can sound a lot closer than they actually are on some of the larger maps. The community that plays this game is generally older than that of similar games i've played so team tactics are actually used. Unlike BF2 where its just a chaotic bunny jumping, base raping free for all. If your ideal online fps is one where you run around spraying bullets everywhere, then like the 136 reviewers who gave negative scores this game isn't for you. If you fancy a bit of a challenge then this might be the game for you and as it is priced so cheaply now, could be a good way of deciding whether or not to buy its upcoming sequel without spending too much. Expand
  23. MattO'R
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    If you play any of the CoD series and encounter someone who has glitched his way up to level 1,000, try RO. No levels, no EXP points, but experience is a major bonus. If that prat in CoD starts to call you a noob or proclaim how much he owns you, try RO. Even if some lucky guy managed to grenade a whole group of people (It happens), when they stop to type "Suck it !", halfway through the If you play any of the CoD series and encounter someone who has glitched his way up to level 1,000, try RO. No levels, no EXP points, but experience is a major bonus. If that prat in CoD starts to call you a noob or proclaim how much he owns you, try RO. Even if some lucky guy managed to grenade a whole group of people (It happens), when they stop to type "Suck it !", halfway through the sentence he's going to be ripped in half by a machine-gunner or have his head blown off by a sniper. When that 7 year old CoD noobling pulls out an MG42 and runs at you whilst pumping you full of lead, try RO. Beacuse you can't run and gun with a bloody .30 cal now, can you? When YOU get ripped in half by an obscure machine-gunner or get decapitated by an elite sniper, don't give up. Next time you might get the sniper class, you won't have to log 100 hours of game time to match him. Expand
  24. Tim`W
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    This game still absolutely rocks! Just compare the '10's' to the "2's" and it's clear that this has been a groundbreaking and long lived favorite for 90% of the people here. From reading most of the negative posts it's clear that alot of the posters do not have a good enough computer, have not bothered to adjust their settings or simply don't understand This game still absolutely rocks! Just compare the '10's' to the "2's" and it's clear that this has been a groundbreaking and long lived favorite for 90% of the people here. From reading most of the negative posts it's clear that alot of the posters do not have a good enough computer, have not bothered to adjust their settings or simply don't understand the concept of 'realism'. When somebody complains that getting shot in the leg caused him to not be able to run you've got to wonder if he's thought this out. With the Europe '44 mod out and Red Orchestra 2 on the way I'd like to encourage any body who doesn't yet own this game to buy it and play on-line, Yeah, you will get your ass handed to you the first few hours, but then when you sight up on a kraut from 40 meters and take him out for the first time you will be HOOKED! Expand
  25. PatrickW
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    I love realistic games and this one is the most realistic game i ever saw. It's better than americas army 2 and 3 and its in World War 2.
  26. PaulB
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Best WW2 game i've played. Very epic moments from when you're trying to bayonette the russian lurking in the next room too when you stand a mile away and take out that tiger tank with your T34 :)
  27. BanjoPants
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    This is a difficult game. But that is what makes it great. It is my favorite game, second only to BF1942. It takes what should have been included in Forgotten Hope and wraps it all into one game with 2 mods. The thing that sold me on the game was the Eastern Front.
  28. MikeS
    Jul 29, 2009
    9
    Amazing game with possibly the most realist portrail of world war 2 and with the now development enforces mods of both the African and Western frounts it make for one complete realistic world war 2 battle field experience, the only down side is possibly over realism with out cross hairs you have to shoulder your rifle to make a shot count even then you character can flintch at the wrong Amazing game with possibly the most realist portrail of world war 2 and with the now development enforces mods of both the African and Western frounts it make for one complete realistic world war 2 battle field experience, the only down side is possibly over realism with out cross hairs you have to shoulder your rifle to make a shot count even then you character can flintch at the wrong second and spoil the ambush a great game for those of us who enjoy a break from bunny hopping but the casual player would be turned away. Expand
  29. GabrielU
    Jul 14, 2009
    10
    Red Orchestra is the best online shooter... Nah, the best online soldier simulation world ever saw. I can nearly feel like at the real battlefield. There's no chance that productions like ArmA or Op. Flashpoint are better in this (scripts!). Full 10/10 and I'm still waiting for more modifications and addons!
  30. James
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    The best multiplayer I have come across. A lot of fun even if you're stuck with a bolt action (as long as you know how to use it).
  31. MarcL
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    Best game ever...got the game since 3 years now and have not seen any better game till now...the aim system is the thing that makes the game great, no stupip aiming with a circle in middle of screen like in call of duty world at war, and no silly scripted show...its real action.
  32. YaU
    Jul 4, 2009
    8
    Bought this long time ago and didn't like it much. Just tried out the new mod Darkest Hour and couldn't stop playing. This mod is way better with couple of really good maps. The atmosphere is more engaging and I see more team spirit. Look forward to the final version.
  33. NasrallahB.
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    When I go to friends' places, and they have CoD, I must tell them to please keep the disc in the box. After playing RO, CoD feels like playing a kiddy game. RO's realism is what makes the gameplay; the steep learning curve and initial difficulty make every small achievement feel like something grand, making you thirst for more. The best of this, game, however, is that its When I go to friends' places, and they have CoD, I must tell them to please keep the disc in the box. After playing RO, CoD feels like playing a kiddy game. RO's realism is what makes the gameplay; the steep learning curve and initial difficulty make every small achievement feel like something grand, making you thirst for more. The best of this, game, however, is that its realism scares off the CoD fans. I sleep better at night knowing that those types of gamers will never be welcome here. Expand
  34. MolonL.
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    Truly an excellent take on the FPS genre. Instead of embracing the super-human, one man army features that many other platforms encourage, RO: Ostfront explores relatively unchartered territory by emphasizing realism over heroism. As an avid WWII rifle collector and shooter, I must say that Tripwire made the bolt-action rifles a little unrealistically difficult to use. That point aside, Truly an excellent take on the FPS genre. Instead of embracing the super-human, one man army features that many other platforms encourage, RO: Ostfront explores relatively unchartered territory by emphasizing realism over heroism. As an avid WWII rifle collector and shooter, I must say that Tripwire made the bolt-action rifles a little unrealistically difficult to use. That point aside, this game's boldness finally breaks the monotonous onslaught of FPS games that make each player capable of un-natural feats. This game creates a divergence in the FPS genre that no other production team wished to attempt. Expand
  35. JonO
    May 4, 2009
    10
    A solid game with a great community of people. Ever want to command a Tiger,Panther,Mk III,IV? This is the sim for you. Great deal these days for 15 dollars.
  36. Mo0nBugGy1
    Apr 19, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. There realy is nothing better than sitting in a tiny little fox-hole in a snow covered forest while green and yellow tracers zoom past your head at the same time as grenades are exploding just on the other side of your hole and you pop up quickly to get off a shot and scream with joy as you blow some Nazi F**kers head off only to be blown to tiny little Russian pieces of Amazing game. There realy is nothing better than sitting in a tiny little fox-hole in a snow covered forest while green and yellow tracers zoom past your head at the same time as grenades are exploding just on the other side of your hole and you pop up quickly to get off a shot and scream with joy as you blow some Nazi F**kers head off only to be blown to tiny little Russian pieces of meat by a King tiger tank. This game is Brilliant the only complaint i hear is the use of the word ''Camping'' but as this game is trying to be realistic its not really camping but covering behind a wall so you dont end up like that COD noob who thinks he can blind fire a K98. If you want to go run around like rambo then be my guest but you will cop a heap of abuse for WASTING ALL THE SPAWNS!!......My only issue is i just came from playing crysis and Arma so the graphics are very dated, other than that this game is TOP NOTCH. Expand
  37. FireBladeX
    Apr 15, 2009
    10
    Perfect game!
  38. TobusL
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Best online experience available, IF you like realism to a certain degree. The only gripes I have is that it is built on Unreal3 engine, which makes it impossible to destroy environment. This makes tanks bounce to a halt on little wooden fences and some such. Other than that, it rewards players for cooperating. Camping in a corner to get kills will get you killed and fail to get you Best online experience available, IF you like realism to a certain degree. The only gripes I have is that it is built on Unreal3 engine, which makes it impossible to destroy environment. This makes tanks bounce to a halt on little wooden fences and some such. Other than that, it rewards players for cooperating. Camping in a corner to get kills will get you killed and fail to get you points. A kill is 1 point, helping defending or capturing a point 10 points, resupplying teammates with MG's 5. Teamplay is everything and te atmosphere it creates is what sets RO apart from the common herd of shooters. And the best thing? Because of this, the servers are filled with people who crave this. The 13 year old, abuse yelling kiddies will not be found playing this game, which I find a relief. Expand
  39. JesseV.
    Feb 9, 2009
    9
    Although this game does have its obvious flaws, with annoying bots, and a single gameplay mode graphics that are pretty dated by todays standards. Especially in the beginning its a tough nut to crack, and if the atmosphere of the fighting does not make you love it enough to try it out more you could be falling short. For getting into the pace of this game can take a little while. But if Although this game does have its obvious flaws, with annoying bots, and a single gameplay mode graphics that are pretty dated by todays standards. Especially in the beginning its a tough nut to crack, and if the atmosphere of the fighting does not make you love it enough to try it out more you could be falling short. For getting into the pace of this game can take a little while. But if you bit through that lots of things will be falling into place, and you start seeing that the game just plays different from all other games. And especially for those that are bored of playing most games that seem to play exactly the same these days, can possibly find something in this. For me i'm having a blast. Expand
  40. PaulG
    Feb 1, 2009
    8
    For any realism fans out there, this is a must have. Although I admit the controls can be a bit clunky at times (picking up weapons is much harder then it should be, for instance), other than that it's an excellent game! It's got great graphics, tons of great maps, and a handful of amazing mods that bring you from North Africa to Italy to Normandy!
  41. gametester
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    Best WWII game ever seen ! Just buy it, 10 $ is not a fortune.
  42. alexj
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    just about in a league of it's own as far as realistic shooters go. deseres a 10 simply for daring not to compromise it's vision.
  43. SebastianB
    Dec 21, 2008
    10
    The best game ever!
  44. CameronS
    Nov 14, 2008
    9
    Great game, rewarding as hell to learn, intense battles, a wonderful lack of arcade like mechanisms that make other online FPS games feel like super-twitch-lolDOOM. Pity it's a MP only game, makes it difficult to really get into for rural dwelling people like myself.
  45. justinG
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    even with a few pay-2-play games i have accounts for .. i still play this instead of them, this is one of the best multiplayer fps ww2 games my opinion.
  46. joshgamer
    Oct 28, 2008
    10
    It a good ww2 game. It a hard game to play online. TWB's game is a BAST sever I play. Try It
  47. ZackS.
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    This game is the most authentic game i have ever played. a lot of games say there ritualistic but until you play this you never truly played a WW2 game or even a shooter in general. it does have a steep learning curve but this game is lots of fun i recommend it to anyone who loves WW2, loves shooters, or just loves to blow sh*t up.
  48. BenO.
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    This game has everything that a TRUE WWII fan will enjoy! It might be a little lacking for all you graohics nuts out there, but if you are a true WWII fan, the realism of this game is unmatched by any other. Every detail is as it should be, and trust me on that, I have been studying WWII for almost 20 years now and obtained my masters degree in history. (specificaly European history 1900 This game has everything that a TRUE WWII fan will enjoy! It might be a little lacking for all you graohics nuts out there, but if you are a true WWII fan, the realism of this game is unmatched by any other. Every detail is as it should be, and trust me on that, I have been studying WWII for almost 20 years now and obtained my masters degree in history. (specificaly European history 1900 - 1950). Back to the game though. The tank battles are intense. You are capable of taking shots at other tanks that are over 1000 meters away! And as a driver/gunner/commander you actually have time to make decisions and use tactics. Not like some other FPS games out there where it's just a bunch of acne ridden teens shooting anything that moves to see who can get the most kills after 15 mins. This game is a MUST HAVE for those who appreciate realism and accuracy in WWII themed games and NOT just another reason for a FPS. Expand
  49. Simonnoneedtoknow...
    Aug 29, 2008
    10
    this is one of the best game i ever played :) so realistic and i got many friends (now 131) on it :) all is good with it, only the bugs is annoying but all the rest is great.
  50. PaulH.
    Aug 25, 2008
    10
    Just great, realism brings you back into ww2.
  51. h0bb1tBeurskens
    Aug 6, 2008
    9
    I love playing WWII games, but when i saw this i was in love, the explosions, infantry classes, tank battle realism, artillery strike, sniper scope, bullets from MG 42 , bayonet, maps.. oh and did i mention the explosions? Al little details come together to make the most exciting WW2 game ever!
  52. VincentV.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    This game is awesome, very well balanced, what a satifaction when you start to play well. Less harder to play than quake 3.
  53. AdamR.
    Jul 23, 2008
    10
    realism is what the gaming world lacked for me ever since i first started playing simulators and shooters. Finally this game/mod presents to me the experience I've been waiting for all my gaming life.
  54. DanielCrook
    Jul 17, 2008
    9
    To be blunt there are many things that SHOULD come as standard in a FPS thesedays. Some of these are lacking - mainly in the graphics area. Tanks get stuck on stupid stuff - like thin trees which is really frustrating in a game that is trying to be as realistic as possible. Also, you are not too sure whats going on at times and after the ultrarealism was off you are left with a bitterTo be blunt there are many things that SHOULD come as standard in a FPS thesedays. Some of these are lacking - mainly in the graphics area. Tanks get stuck on stupid stuff - like thin trees which is really frustrating in a game that is trying to be as realistic as possible. Also, you are not too sure whats going on at times and after the ultrarealism was off you are left with a bitter taste in your mouth as you realise your playing a game because you wanted a game!!!

    For all its bad points, however, you will go back to it and it will grow on you - because for all its bad points it does have gameplay. Let's face it after playing games like COD4 BF2, 2142 and Crysis - you'd forgotten what gritty gameplay and skill was. You get hit in the chest with a .50 cal?? No problem. But, in Ostfront your down like a sack of s*it. Suddenly, you have to use real skill and the buzz you get from getting kills is excellent. IIf you want to run around like a headless chicken - then this is not for you. If you want to play with the big boys and want a solid, historically accurate and deep game then buy this
    Expand
  55. Mikael
    Jul 14, 2008
    10
    This game might be the best second world war game ever made and on the war game genre its on my list second best game ever after OFP.
  56. SasA.
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    The every best realistic WW2 FPS game. Who hate that.... So, they can't loose or they are very very freak persons.
  57. @nthony7
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Ce jeu c tout simplement un des meilleur fps toute console confondue! il lui manke juste d avoir une communauter aussi imposante ke css paske autant 1.6 es moin bien a tt les nivo ke red mais c culte et on peut pas decrocher autant css es pourit et merite pas d avoir autant de joueur ki son kasi ts des connard ki pense avoir du lvl alors ke ss la hitbox pourie il toucherais rien mdr! Vive Ce jeu c tout simplement un des meilleur fps toute console confondue! il lui manke juste d avoir une communauter aussi imposante ke css paske autant 1.6 es moin bien a tt les nivo ke red mais c culte et on peut pas decrocher autant css es pourit et merite pas d avoir autant de joueur ki son kasi ts des connard ki pense avoir du lvl alors ke ss la hitbox pourie il toucherais rien mdr! Vive Red dods AA cs 1.6 ^^ Expand
  58. UmutG.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    its very great i just bod it yesterday.
  59. JanL.
    May 28, 2008
    10
    It`s the best WW 2 what ever will be!
  60. NathanialB.
    May 27, 2008
    10
    I really love this game. Real life tank and car functions. When your a sniper you'll see the scope and the gun at the same time. That is awesome. I wish it had American and British teams to. So far this is my favorite game. I have played it before at my grandpa's, but I don't have it. I realy wish I did. I am 14 years old and I have been in a clan for 4 years. That was just I really love this game. Real life tank and car functions. When your a sniper you'll see the scope and the gun at the same time. That is awesome. I wish it had American and British teams to. So far this is my favorite game. I have played it before at my grandpa's, but I don't have it. I realy wish I did. I am 14 years old and I have been in a clan for 4 years. That was just some extra info. Well bye. Expand
  61. JoonasP.
    May 7, 2008
    10
    Played 1 year now. Best game. Best clan fights. Carpathian Crosses and many more mods. Realistic enough. Grenades really kills you. DoD isn't nothing compared to this game. Red Orchestra for life!
  62. LeanneL.
    May 6, 2008
    10
    This game is great, no, awesome to play once you get the hang of it. It's very realistic too!
  63. MatthewT.
    May 5, 2008
    10
    Tank combat at it's best, no question.
  64. JimC
    Apr 21, 2008
    10
    Don't listen to the bullshit that been posted by kiddies like: "NO CROSSHAIRS!!11 BAD GRAPHICS!!111!one" The graphics, for an 2005 game, is GREAT, if you actually TRY to open the configuration menu (just set everything to high, and pray it wouldn't lag on your PC). I, for one, am playing it on Medium and it looks GREAT. Now, the gameplay. What could bother you, is the actual Don't listen to the bullshit that been posted by kiddies like: "NO CROSSHAIRS!!11 BAD GRAPHICS!!111!one" The graphics, for an 2005 game, is GREAT, if you actually TRY to open the configuration menu (just set everything to high, and pray it wouldn't lag on your PC). I, for one, am playing it on Medium and it looks GREAT. Now, the gameplay. What could bother you, is the actual team you're on. Sometimes, even if you just start playing this game BUT you have a lot of FPS experience, you will find it very annoying for the newplayers do stupid stuff like TeamKilling or not listening your orders in the tank (e.g. going on full speed in random directions like they're in some GTA game). The sound and the music are great, I even listen to the music alone sometimes. The level design is great, but DON'T compare it with custom made maps, as sometimes they are VERY bad ( e.g. a room with bad texturing and random spawn positions like it's some CS game). Now, about the funniest part: the crosshairs. This game is about REALISM. Do you actually think if you take a gun, a ****ing crosshair will appear in your eyes?! Why don't use Iron-sights, it's much better and it feels more realistic, so get over it! Someone even told that the graphics were so bad that there were no crosshair. First off, THERE'S NO CROSSHAIRS, and secondly the graphics are great when you set them right. Overall, a great Mult-player game. Period. Expand
  65. RolandL
    Apr 15, 2008
    10
    Once i played BF1942 and i thought it was a good game, but RO, is better than BF oder any other game. The realism is amazing. The graphics are really good and you don't need a highend computer to play it.
  66. JohnW.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Now there are free MODS coming in from several modders - the betas for Carpathian Crosses and Mare Nostrum are out - and Darkest Hours (Normandy) is due out in May. I'd hate to overhype this game - But I love it! The best WWII game out - the online experience is wonderful - the sound is fantastic - the are teams and competitions - everything - Want to satchel a Tiger in town Now there are free MODS coming in from several modders - the betas for Carpathian Crosses and Mare Nostrum are out - and Darkest Hours (Normandy) is due out in May. I'd hate to overhype this game - But I love it! The best WWII game out - the online experience is wonderful - the sound is fantastic - the are teams and competitions - everything - Want to satchel a Tiger in town fighting? You can do it. Want to call in artillery? You can do it. Want to be a sniper - fire a machine gun, semiautomatic, bolt action, submachinegun, panzerfausts (like a bazooka) etc? You can do it! Intense online battles 24/7. There are new maps showing up all of the time - Every week its like Christmas with a new map - ha! Anyway - If you ever wanted a great WWII game - this is it. *(and it's just $20. from Steam). Expand
  67. LeandroD.
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    The best WWII shoot game.
  68. AllenG.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    Best graphics for a last gen game,even better than Battlefield 2!!! Love to see a new one remade with UE3 engine!
  69. AndrewB.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    I love this game I will never go back to Cod again the graphics are great and most computers can run it on high and even on lower settings it looks great and the tankings great best tanking ive ever seen I love the sniper scope to the sounds are great and the weapons look real the soldiers look good and theres lots of tactical gameplay and teamwork along with the realism the only problem I love this game I will never go back to Cod again the graphics are great and most computers can run it on high and even on lower settings it looks great and the tankings great best tanking ive ever seen I love the sniper scope to the sounds are great and the weapons look real the soldiers look good and theres lots of tactical gameplay and teamwork along with the realism the only problem I have with this game is the bots are very very stupid but other wise this game is great they also are about to release a north Africa mod as well theres going to be a Normandy mod all fronts this is the forgotten hope and cod killer and its in expensive plus theres over 50 maps and virtually no bugs a must buy! Expand
  70. ThorstenS.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    In conclusion to "modern" games, the graphics are quite.. hm on average. sound is good (use a dx9 soundcard) the best is inside: holy lord, awesome game. realism, maps, weapons, vehicles, balance - everything has been well done. buy it!!!
  71. PeterD.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    I haven't played this game but man this looks awesome, I badly want it now. Any way congratulations.
  72. LewisJ.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    The most intense and strategic FPS I have ever played, I easily rate this game higher than the popular counter strike. You want an intense battle, thats challenging enough to make a single kill really rewarding? Red Orchestra....no doubt about it.
  73. WenY.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    Real wars Real activity Real tanks!!
  74. SebastianB
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    The best game ever!
  75. DimpyT.
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    Now wat places it above most of the fps games is reality......Sound of strings when the player breathes in the game.......in very cold envornment ......dropping of weapon when took a shot on hand ......and many more thing which make u feel the pain and ensures presense of the wwII The weapons (specially the german rifle)...used are amazing .......The envornment......inhospitable or hard Now wat places it above most of the fps games is reality......Sound of strings when the player breathes in the game.......in very cold envornment ......dropping of weapon when took a shot on hand ......and many more thing which make u feel the pain and ensures presense of the wwII The weapons (specially the german rifle)...used are amazing .......The envornment......inhospitable or hard to play in. Even vehicles can also be used in middle of the play..........10 goes for the game. Expand
  76. JoeD.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    It's a truly unique game, which I've had for a while now, the maps allow lots of variety, and will keep a player occupied for a very long time. The thing that really makes this different is the added touch of realism. Definately a must buy.
  77. JubjubM.
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Great game, very intesive and addicted. it's answone. Best ever multiplayer game.
  78. MichaelM.
    Dec 26, 2007
    8
    Steep learning curve if you're use to traditional FPSs. But if you're willing to put in a little time, it's worth the effort.
  79. DanielG.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    What can i say, solid game, few bugs, good support. Interface does the job quickly and feel fresh even if the game is old. Alot of playability. Realism you rarely see in games, and almost never to this price.
  80. MikeG.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Very cool. I've played ALOT of games - This is the most FUN game I've ever had. In a 50 person online game it's unbelevable! Best game by far. I can't believe it's ONLY 19.95 from steam. I'd pay 49.95. It takes a few more hours to get used to the realism and iron sights than other games - But you get a "FEEL" for this game environment that is the BEST EVER Very cool. I've played ALOT of games - This is the most FUN game I've ever had. In a 50 person online game it's unbelevable! Best game by far. I can't believe it's ONLY 19.95 from steam. I'd pay 49.95. It takes a few more hours to get used to the realism and iron sights than other games - But you get a "FEEL" for this game environment that is the BEST EVER gaming experience. Expand
  81. MiikW.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Love it. The 3d soundfield is as immersive as the stunning graphics. An unmatched pleasure in gaming. The new explosive bloom effects and added maps (all updated free) have really enhanced the experience even more. Our #1 rated game for quite a while.
  82. Vihkr
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Simply the finest FPS on the marketplace, period. Actually breaks the FPS genre by making gameplay so realistic that it is no-longer "twitch-based" but skill-based. In RO, it takes patience and skill to get into position to enage the enemy, let alone hit and kill them. Sound, graphics and environmental effects are superb, down to the "camera shake" and blurryness delivered by near misses Simply the finest FPS on the marketplace, period. Actually breaks the FPS genre by making gameplay so realistic that it is no-longer "twitch-based" but skill-based. In RO, it takes patience and skill to get into position to enage the enemy, let alone hit and kill them. Sound, graphics and environmental effects are superb, down to the "camera shake" and blurryness delivered by near misses from high explosives. Historical accuracy so researched that your empty shell casings are actually the right colour. And finally, a game that tells the real story about what happened to the infamous German war machine: its fate was sealed on the Eastern Front in the most titianic conflict in the history of mankind, not by the Western Allies, as is commonly believed. Buy it, try it and love it! Expand
  83. TomB.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Oh yeah baby. This game is da bomb! Gritty and viseral...no bunny hopping BS here. This is the real deal.
  84. MattE.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    An amazingly realistic shooter, and not simply for the atmosphere it has, but also for the actual gameplay. A lot of strategy and depth exists in the combat too. A definite buy for those tired of the usual Shooters.
  85. WayneS.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    This game is great and different from all other FPS's I have ever played... If you want realism this is about as good as it gets, once you get in to it you will go back again and again, it's so intense... I hope Tripwire will do one for the Western Front some time in the future too... I'd also like to see them have a go at the Vietnam conflict as well... This will keep me This game is great and different from all other FPS's I have ever played... If you want realism this is about as good as it gets, once you get in to it you will go back again and again, it's so intense... I hope Tripwire will do one for the Western Front some time in the future too... I'd also like to see them have a go at the Vietnam conflict as well... This will keep me busy until then. Expand
  86. DavidH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Red O is a great game. I am a history major, so realism is important to me. (It would amaze you but not even the advanced nazi sciences had a personal HUD for their soldiers so they could have cross hairs and an ammo counter //sarcasm)
  87. AndresV.
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    An excellent game that makes me all giddy every time im about to play it.
  88. MatthewR.
    Nov 2, 2007
    9
    This game is great- no crosshairs, no med packs, and far as I can tell, few if any cheaters. The game engine is very flexible, allowing graphic adjustments for nearly any PC setup. The gameplay is brutal- to be effective you need to actually think, rather than hope your armor outlasts your opponents. You can be killed by the slightest mishap, yet outlivea barrage of gunfire, simply This game is great- no crosshairs, no med packs, and far as I can tell, few if any cheaters. The game engine is very flexible, allowing graphic adjustments for nearly any PC setup. The gameplay is brutal- to be effective you need to actually think, rather than hope your armor outlasts your opponents. You can be killed by the slightest mishap, yet outlivea barrage of gunfire, simply depends on where you were hit. Every style of combat in the game is intense, provided you have decent opponents. For those that dislike it, I'm apologize, but this game is here for a different kind of gamer than the typical Halo, CS or DoD experts- it for those desiring something different and difficult, something where one can succeed with a bolt action rifle where a machine gunner failed, or where well placed and timed grenades can put him above someone with a superior weapon. It may be unbalanced, but war in general isn't about fairness, it it? Expand
  89. SebastianB
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    The best game ever!
  90. ArronT.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    I absolutely love this game, its such a change from all the other run-and-gun first person shooters. Games arn't full of people with PPSH's simply mowing you down, there is a real need for skill in this game. However, the realism for me makes this game really stand out, there is nothing better than hearing the crack of your rifle, knowing you may only have one chance so it needs I absolutely love this game, its such a change from all the other run-and-gun first person shooters. Games arn't full of people with PPSH's simply mowing you down, there is a real need for skill in this game. However, the realism for me makes this game really stand out, there is nothing better than hearing the crack of your rifle, knowing you may only have one chance so it needs to count, then seeing your target crumple to a heap. very satisfying. The tank battles are the best the position of your tank need careful thought, if you dont want to be knocked out instantly. it doesn't always come down to the first to fire, hit location is the most important factor, along with range and impact angle. For me this is one of the best FPS's of all, the regular updates keep things fresh with new maps and vehicles, RO can do no wrong. Expand
  91. MikelL.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    The game has even realism in the moment of pointing and shooting it's realy great when you are an on foot soldier. It's also great that you can drive tanks despite they are quite simple to manage and I wold have liked them a bit more realistic working maner. Perhaps the next will be to inclued plains or ships, if any simulator realy started thinking about global war fare in an The game has even realism in the moment of pointing and shooting it's realy great when you are an on foot soldier. It's also great that you can drive tanks despite they are quite simple to manage and I wold have liked them a bit more realistic working maner. Perhaps the next will be to inclued plains or ships, if any simulator realy started thinking about global war fare in an action "simulation" game, this could be the one. Great game, thats the truth. Expand
  92. GuyD.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Best first person shooter I've ever played. You will HAVE to learn to shoot, no piper to make you lazy and dependent. Infantry is VERY realistic. Tanks are pretty cool but I am not a tanker so my comments there would be bias. Think you have a little skill with a gun? Come on, we'll just see how good you are.
  93. MarekB.
    Oct 9, 2007
    9
    Very good, realistic WW2 FPS. Probably the best on the market at the moment.
  94. DannyL.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Realistic, hard and the best. The hardness of the game keep small kids away.
  95. DaveChampagne
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Red Orchestra Is the best simulation of this Word
    Une realité exeptionnel pour ce jeux Tou est bien detailler Je note 10/10 Pour nous avoir donner un jeux qui te met dans lambiance de la 2ime Guerre Mondial il on meme penser au coup de cross qui son telment bien fait les rechargements des armes ses tres bien penser sa fait plus reel et surtou ce que jaime le plus ses qu'il
    Red Orchestra Is the best simulation of this Word
    Une realité exeptionnel pour ce jeux Tou est bien detailler Je note 10/10 Pour nous avoir donner un jeux qui te met dans lambiance de la 2ime Guerre Mondial il on meme penser au coup de cross qui son telment bien fait les rechargements des armes ses tres bien penser sa fait plus reel et surtou ce que jaime le plus ses qu'il na pas de mire de tir dans le millieu de lecran XD alor je dit va te faire foutre G4 TV yon rien compri a quoi servai ce jeux
    Expand
  96. MichealB.
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    For a game built on the aging Unreal 2 engine this games great. Has a slight slope of a learning curve but once you get over the hill its all intense action from there out. I would recommend this game to people who want a new experience in the FPS realm.
  97. AceGec3D
    Sep 21, 2007
    10
    It's extreamly edictive! AND REALISTIC! If they payed a little more attention to the sound, like in Half Life 2, then it could be one of the most realistic games ever! Oh, and by the way, realism is key to any game. Thats why realistic games get better scores. And by the way, don't be so lazy and say "Oh, this is taking so long! *boom* I'm dead :(" Resulving idea's:It's extreamly edictive! AND REALISTIC! If they payed a little more attention to the sound, like in Half Life 2, then it could be one of the most realistic games ever! Oh, and by the way, realism is key to any game. Thats why realistic games get better scores. And by the way, don't be so lazy and say "Oh, this is taking so long! *boom* I'm dead :(" Resulving idea's: Think what the real soldiers had to put up with and TAKE COVER! AND TACTICS! STAY IN SQUADS, NEVER LEAVE SOME ONE BEHIND! RELOAD BEFORE GOING INTO COMBAT, AND USE IRONSIGHTS! AND ITS ALWAYS HARD TO SEE PEOPLE AT DISTANCES! THATS WHY YOU GET GLASSES!

    Thank you!
    Sweet ass game!
    Expand
  98. ChrisB.
    Sep 16, 2007
    10
    This game is the pinnacle of realism. It offers it all, Tanks,Cannons,Iron sites and actually takes skill to get a kill. This game is awsome.
  99. BobC.
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Great game, combines just enough realism with arcady fun to make it one of the best shooters out.
  100. HenrikP.
    Sep 9, 2007
    9
    Love this game. So minor tweaking is needed. But its nothing important. Love it I tell you
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. I absolutely love the attention Tripwire has given to the small details in the game.
  2. 85
    There's very little gameyness in RO and a whole lot of gritty crawling along the ground so you can flank over to that machine gunner and allow your team to advance to the next spawn point objective.
  3. Red Orchestra is an enjoyable, team-based online shooter for those who like the Battlefield-style games but want a more technical and realistic experience.