Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 PC

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1285 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    8
    Singleplayer is a pointless shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depending on the difficulty. Multiplayer is a pointless try-shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depends on which team has the most talent or communication. The whole point of the game, I think, is the gritty experience of getting stuck into a trench with a deadly rifle, daring to pop your head up to getSingleplayer is a pointless shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depending on the difficulty. Multiplayer is a pointless try-shoot-em-up with objectives, winning or losing depends on which team has the most talent or communication. The whole point of the game, I think, is the gritty experience of getting stuck into a trench with a deadly rifle, daring to pop your head up to get into the fight. Shooting can be brutal, constant deaths, or finding a good spot and getting several kills. I once got into a bayonet scuffle with a player in a room, my heart was pounding when I saw him storm in. It was one-on-one, I don't remember who killed who in the end, I just remember that my hands were shaking, and I loved it. Tank combat mixing with infantry is done well here, worth it if it's on sale and you enjoy experience gameplay, this is definitely not arcade fun. Mare Nostrum and Darkest Hour mods are worth a look at for this game. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    This is not another generic shooter. Even today, despite the fact that i've played the game for many many hours, its still one of my favorite games, and it is better than RO2 in many ways. There is no generic features such as XP and perks. A game that really defines what gaming is: having a good time. Play this game as CoD and you're dead meat. Graphics isn't the best, but sound isThis is not another generic shooter. Even today, despite the fact that i've played the game for many many hours, its still one of my favorite games, and it is better than RO2 in many ways. There is no generic features such as XP and perks. A game that really defines what gaming is: having a good time. Play this game as CoD and you're dead meat. Graphics isn't the best, but sound is amazing, from the horrible death-screams on the battlefield to the deep, touching soundtrack. Wide open maps, long range combat, tank combat, close quarter combat - this game focus on realism and therefore skill, patience and planning is required to stay alive. Typical FPS behaviour often result in instant death.
    It is neither a simulation or a complete arcade game. Red Orchestra: Ostfront sits comfortable between the ArmA franchise and other FPS games.
    Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I love that game. It's totally noob-unfriendly, just good players are fighting on large maps. You have to move very clever, lay down some suppression fire from your MG gunner, get close with your MP40 or StG44. Pick off enemy soldiers form distance with your bolt action rifle. Great game, but not suitable for many players. No kids running around with autofire weapons, no kill streak, noI love that game. It's totally noob-unfriendly, just good players are fighting on large maps. You have to move very clever, lay down some suppression fire from your MG gunner, get close with your MP40 or StG44. Pick off enemy soldiers form distance with your bolt action rifle. Great game, but not suitable for many players. No kids running around with autofire weapons, no kill streak, no "get-some-cover-after-a-hit-and-everything-is-fine". No, that game is totally different to all the games you have wasted your time until now. Expand
  4. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece for the year it was released.
    I have never played a game that has better atmosphere than Red Orchestra.This game just makes you feel as if you are a Russian/German soldier,not a guy sitting in front of a PC.You are constantly under artillery fire,shouting,seeing your brothers and friends die,your hands shake as you aim your gun,the bullets pass beside
    This game is a true masterpiece for the year it was released.
    I have never played a game that has better atmosphere than Red Orchestra.This game just makes you feel as if you are a Russian/German soldier,not a guy sitting in front of a PC.You are constantly under artillery fire,shouting,seeing your brothers and friends die,your hands shake as you aim your gun,the bullets pass beside you,you can hear the enemy shouting and cursing,granades explode just near you,you run to cover as if you are running for your own life.

    Second game is just about to release now,and I am still playing the first one.I don't think this game will ever get old,even when it is outdated.
    Expand
  5. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    This is easily my favorite online FPS. Its not a soldier sim like others are making out but it is far more advanced than most games in this genre, which is why some people (press circle to win PS3 noobs) have given it such low scores. The maps that people are saying are too big are probably the home made maps created after release, because the original maps aren't really all that big.This is easily my favorite online FPS. Its not a soldier sim like others are making out but it is far more advanced than most games in this genre, which is why some people (press circle to win PS3 noobs) have given it such low scores. The maps that people are saying are too big are probably the home made maps created after release, because the original maps aren't really all that big. Ditching the crosshairs in favour of iron sights was a definite plus, so much so i hate having them in other games. The game is 4 years old and so the graphics look extremely dated. AI is retarded but this is an multiplayer game so not really a major issue. The sound can be misleading on some occasions as some vehicles can sound a lot closer than they actually are on some of the larger maps. The community that plays this game is generally older than that of similar games i've played so team tactics are actually used. Unlike BF2 where its just a chaotic bunny jumping, base raping free for all. If your ideal online fps is one where you run around spraying bullets everywhere, then like the 136 reviewers who gave negative scores this game isn't for you. If you fancy a bit of a challenge then this might be the game for you and as it is priced so cheaply now, could be a good way of deciding whether or not to buy its upcoming sequel without spending too much. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2011
    10
    Has anyone said "immersive" yet? No? I will then: i've lost count of the number of times i've been pinned down by bullet fire and huddled up in a ball (or rather, gone prone...) out of fear for my life. In any other game, namely CoD, i'd have been sprinting head on into whoever's shooting at me so i can stick him with my 2 inch knife. The effect is even further enforced in the freeHas anyone said "immersive" yet? No? I will then: i've lost count of the number of times i've been pinned down by bullet fire and huddled up in a ball (or rather, gone prone...) out of fear for my life. In any other game, namely CoD, i'd have been sprinting head on into whoever's shooting at me so i can stick him with my 2 inch knife. The effect is even further enforced in the free modification "Darkest Hour" where the bullets snap and crackle (like rice krispies?) around you and make your screen go dizzy.
    It's a fantastic game. As has been said in the berjillion reviews, don't go into it hoping to run and gun because you'll lose your limbs faster than you can say "ACHTUNG".
    Play it like you're a real soldier in a real environment. A real soldier who can respawn...
    Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    The best WW2 realism game out. I pre ordered through steam and this is one of the games I can say 100% was worth the money. I have 300+ hours in this game and I dont plan on stopping till RO2 comes out. Tripwire is the only dev team I trust any more, I know they will put out a game that is worth the money. Ill be buying RO2 day 1.
  8. Apr 11, 2012
    9
    I am a fanatic of WWII games but this one is really fantastic!
    The mods are generally weak on the new models and the new factions have a poor armory.
    The multiplayer mode is very difficult to use because you have to wait a lot of time.
    But the single player mode is wonderful, simply!
    you can personalize everything and i like it very much!
    Especially because in the Mare Nostrum mod there is Italy!
  9. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Red Orchestra is a tough, fun game that really brings FPS to a whole new level of realism. Ballistics and graphics aren't perfect, but aren't too shabby for a six year old game. Although on easier difficulty levels the friendly AI are painfully un-reliable, the tough enemy AI, useful squad commands, wide range of weapons, and 1st person vehicle combat make Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45 aRed Orchestra is a tough, fun game that really brings FPS to a whole new level of realism. Ballistics and graphics aren't perfect, but aren't too shabby for a six year old game. Although on easier difficulty levels the friendly AI are painfully un-reliable, the tough enemy AI, useful squad commands, wide range of weapons, and 1st person vehicle combat make Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45 a highly recommended game in my book. Even if you don't like it, it's only $9.99 on Steam and comes with 2 free mods, so it is a good value. Expand
  10. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    This game is so great I don´t know what to say about, first people who say it´s crap can´t play it, it´s to hard for BF and CoD Kiddies! Much people complain about camping, well war is all about camping till the right moment for an attack is there! If you want a really realistic combat experience there´s nothing that can compare with RO:Ost! I would give it 9 points but you get 2 free ModsThis game is so great I don´t know what to say about, first people who say it´s crap can´t play it, it´s to hard for BF and CoD Kiddies! Much people complain about camping, well war is all about camping till the right moment for an attack is there! If you want a really realistic combat experience there´s nothing that can compare with RO:Ost! I would give it 9 points but you get 2 free Mods with it Darkest Hour (Western Front Scenario) and Mare Nostrum (African Scenario) and dudes it just rock on and on! Give it a try, its very cheap on steam! Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    I love this game, it has the charm, the immersion, the tactics and even the music to make you know what was WW2 about. Sure you can't say it's like war, but it presents it in a respectful manner.
  12. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    A true masterpiece, that has a still unmatched gameplay, and the proof of that is that there are full servers even after 5 years after its release. I recommend to pick this one up if you can.
  13. May 15, 2011
    10
    Unlike many games which try to cater to everybody at the expense of overall quality, RO:O knows who it's aimed at and it hits the nail on the head completely. Like every game, it has its flaws - the engine is dated and there are some bugs that linger - but unlike most games, it is an honest, well-made tactical shooter that shirks gimmicky game features or 'cinematic' visuals or sequencesUnlike many games which try to cater to everybody at the expense of overall quality, RO:O knows who it's aimed at and it hits the nail on the head completely. Like every game, it has its flaws - the engine is dated and there are some bugs that linger - but unlike most games, it is an honest, well-made tactical shooter that shirks gimmicky game features or 'cinematic' visuals or sequences for gritty realism. The game's pacing is perfect, and the map selection is good; the plethora of custom maps available, many of which are professional-quality, only serves to enhance the experience further. Despite the age of the engine the game's atmosphere and accuracy are superb, down to every last stitch on the uniforms of its Russian and German soldiers.

    RO isn't for everyone, but for its realism level, the learning curve really isn't that steep; TWI's approach of keeping things simple has worked wonders, and it takes most players little more than a few games to adjust to the gameplay. If you're someone who can't live without a crosshair, or think that the weapons in Counter-Strike reload too slowly, or just plain can't go without shooting someone every five seconds - stay away. No doubt some of the negative reviews here are from these kinds of gamers, and they would be within their rights to say the same to me about Counter-Strike. Don't play a game you won't enjoy. With that said, RO is a lot more accessible than games like ArmA or Jagged Alliance, and the payoffs for good teamwork are more immediately apparent.

    Overall, I'm going to have to rate RO at a 10/10 on principle. The game is immensely enjoyable for those who shy away from the twitch shooters that flood the FPS market today and it's aged well - servers are often still full around the clock. The gameplay, atmosphere and most of the level design are some of the best I've seen in any game, let alone of this class. An absolute must-buy for any serious tactical shooter fan and a must-try for anyone interested in WWII history, and I suspect it will remain so long after the sequel is released later this year.
    Expand
  14. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    the community is almost dead now because it's a 5+ year old game and the sequel is already out but this is probably the best FPS i've ever played. it had the perfect mix of realism and gameplay balance. sadly tripwire has dumbed down the sequel to appeal more to the mainstream market so we will probably never see a shooter as good as this again, until maybe the guys who made the Darkestthe community is almost dead now because it's a 5+ year old game and the sequel is already out but this is probably the best FPS i've ever played. it had the perfect mix of realism and gameplay balance. sadly tripwire has dumbed down the sequel to appeal more to the mainstream market so we will probably never see a shooter as good as this again, until maybe the guys who made the Darkest Hour mod for Ostfront make their own game. RIP Ostfront you were the best damn ww2 game i've ever played. Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This is a game that the major developers should look to for pointers on how to make a refreshing FPS experience. Veterans of other first person shooters may feel uneasy upon entering Red Orchestra, because in this game you will not be allowed to run about in the open with no care in the world for very long at all. The atmosphere of war produced in this game is excellent, and when fullyThis is a game that the major developers should look to for pointers on how to make a refreshing FPS experience. Veterans of other first person shooters may feel uneasy upon entering Red Orchestra, because in this game you will not be allowed to run about in the open with no care in the world for very long at all. The atmosphere of war produced in this game is excellent, and when fully immersed it can be quite scary to have bullets flying over your head in the midst of battle, while desperately trying to take down some enemies with your bolt-action rifle. This game is probably the best FPS I've played. Expand
  16. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    well this is best world war 2 simulater this game will take you to middle of the real war and you will suddenly notice that kingtiger is coming up to you and you'll freak out hell RO2 is bad but you should try DH mod and also i have to say FFUK OFF COD KIDS this place is not where you belong
  17. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    A breath of fresh air for the tired, worn out WW2 genre. Red Orchestra 2 is a multi-player focused game that transports you to the massive Eastern Front of the Second World War, playing as either a heroic Red Army grunt or a brave German soldier. Red Orchestra is a near perfect blend of realism, fun and atmosphere, and will leave you shaking at the end of every match.
  18. AdamS.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    It's really cool and really realistic game ;) theres only one "-" there are only russians and germans.
  19. OlivierG.
    Jul 24, 2006
    9
    One of the best game of the decade, realism, ambiance ..... I LOVE!
  20. AdamC.
    Jul 31, 2006
    9
    At first, it wasn't that good, it was buggy, but i've just started playing it and wow, this game is amzing, servers connect in no time, there are loads of servers bussing the tankcombat is amzing, the game is fantastic and theres so much custom content out like mapsand the such.. Seriosuly, this is a worthly investmaent with all the new weapons and dare I say tanks being added
  21. Skylarflan
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    I dont even play cod2, or bf2 anymore! great game
  22. AnonymousMC
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Best game ever. Its a WW2 simulation, SIMULATION! The graphics are awesome, some people never heard of settings (or a .cfg file) and the gameplay is the sweetest ever. Anyone who rates less than 9 wasn't born when Doom came out. Wait till you're old enough to appreciate a game before you rate it :-(
  23. ChristianS.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 is the most challenging and visual stunning WW2 FPS game to date. The bleak and dull colors set you in a world of war where your gaming skills will be set at it's limit. Forget crosshairs and steady aim, your smg will be all over the place if you decide Serious Sam is the best way to encounter your enemies. If you're looking for a game with a _huge_ Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 is the most challenging and visual stunning WW2 FPS game to date. The bleak and dull colors set you in a world of war where your gaming skills will be set at it's limit. Forget crosshairs and steady aim, your smg will be all over the place if you decide Serious Sam is the best way to encounter your enemies. If you're looking for a game with a _huge_ learning curve, plenty of room for tactics, realistic infantry and armored combat; Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 is easily the best and most rewarding WW2 FPS game. Expand
  24. h0bb1tBeurskens
    Aug 6, 2008
    9
    I love playing WWII games, but when i saw this i was in love, the explosions, infantry classes, tank battle realism, artillery strike, sniper scope, bullets from MG 42 , bayonet, maps.. oh and did i mention the explosions? Al little details come together to make the most exciting WW2 game ever!
  25. TylerM.
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Been playing RO since its first beta release back with ut2k3. If you want something other than your run of the mill spray and pray shooter try out RO. The level of detail and realism is amazing for a game. If you want to try out an intense, realistic and very immersive gaming experience, then go pick up a copy now. What are you waiting for?
  26. AnonymousMC
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    This game blows away COD2, DOD:S, and every other FPS that calls itself a *war* game. RO:O's kickass graphics (and yes, they are good - some people apparently don't know how to change their settings) and sound really immerse you in the war.

    Overall, this is by far the most satisfying game I've played in years. It's challenging at first without the crosshair crutch
    This game blows away COD2, DOD:S, and every other FPS that calls itself a *war* game. RO:O's kickass graphics (and yes, they are good - some people apparently don't know how to change their settings) and sound really immerse you in the war.

    Overall, this is by far the most satisfying game I've played in years. It's challenging at first without the crosshair crutch and a 50 part HUD - but you soon don't miss those things. In fact, I HATE playing games with those now.
    Expand
  27. FireBladeX
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Perfect game!
  28. spitfire
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    The best WWII FPS game I have ever played, I hope new maps will come soon. Excelent Job!
  29. MattG.
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    this game is realidtic has great detail on the smallest things. the gameplay rules as it is challenging and not piss easy like cod2 or dod.
  30. EricS.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    The feeling of being there is amazing. Really awesome game!
  31. JeffreyK.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    The best WW2 sim i have ever played, and it still has potential to be so much more.
  32. JaniM.
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Best War-Simulation i've ever played!
  33. CraigR.
    May 5, 2006
    8
    Great game all 'round, only complaint is the loading times. The graphics are good - not great though, but the gameplay is amazing. Great work Tripware.
  34. Lucas
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Great gameplay, best first person animations/models I've ever seen, excellent maps. The graphics are surprisingly well done for such an old engine. It features such subtle things that when you switch games, you realize that every game needs what RO has. The tank combat is amazing as well as the infantry combat. Reccommended to anyone mature enough to get the hang of this game.
  35. Dillweed
    May 6, 2006
    9
    The multi player is great..Compared to COD 2 it blows the doors of of it and considering its a older engine that dosent help the COD2 cause either.
  36. Golf33
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Not for everyone but if you are after intense, highly realistic ground combat then this is for you.
  37. Shape
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Most realstic game ive ever played. Graphics could be improved, but i think when set on high are much better than Cod2.
  38. MarcO.
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    This game totally rocks. Although the AI for the bots is 1/10, the rest of the game is good. If your more of a CS kind of player and like acarde shooter kind of games this isn't the game for you. If you like realism & team work this is definately the game for you. Although it only has one game mode, Multi-player, the game is awesome. In this game, it is impossible to go alone and try This game totally rocks. Although the AI for the bots is 1/10, the rest of the game is good. If your more of a CS kind of player and like acarde shooter kind of games this isn't the game for you. If you like realism & team work this is definately the game for you. Although it only has one game mode, Multi-player, the game is awesome. In this game, it is impossible to go alone and try to be a hero. This requires a load of team work. Tanks also give it a boost in points. Since it's not based on the western front, which has been done 101 times, the game is unique. A Very good game. And the fact that you dont have a crosshair also gives it a boost in total realism. Expand
  39. tehem
    Jul 10, 2006
    8
    The best arguments for this game are to be found in the comments of people who rated it below 5 ^^ Let me try to explain... Some called RO 'sluggish' because of the somewhat slow pace of the action => well yes, it requires a good thinking and timing to move from one position to the next and use your limited 'sprint energy' efficiently. Some point the loosy precision ofThe best arguments for this game are to be found in the comments of people who rated it below 5 ^^ Let me try to explain... Some called RO 'sluggish' because of the somewhat slow pace of the action => well yes, it requires a good thinking and timing to move from one position to the next and use your limited 'sprint energy' efficiently. Some point the loosy precision of the weapon => well, realistic it is (or tend to be as much as possible) and 'in real life' touching a target of a few square centimenter at 100 meter with a rifle from the 40's isn't the same as shooting fish in a barrel with an automatic weapon. About the technical problems, i must say i bought the game via Steam and had no problems whatsoever to install and run it. One quick passage on the forum of the french community and i could also shorten a good bit the loading time thanks to some very easy modifications. All in all a good game experience for mature players. But if you're looking for the 5424875th arcade shooter about WWII, just pass your way. Expand
  40. PaulT.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    Red Orchestra is a great game with wonderful graphics. Gameplay is very realistic but you must have patience and read the manual. If you play the game as intended you will have a great time with many great hours of enjoyment!
  41. JosephS.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    As a World War II buff and someone who has enjoyed gaming/simulations since the IBM AT days, this is among the best computer games I have ever played. Ignore the critics about slow load times etc. The developer fixed these problems in July. Now all the maps are saved on your hard drive and they load fast. This game is very realistic and after some practice even an old guy like me can As a World War II buff and someone who has enjoyed gaming/simulations since the IBM AT days, this is among the best computer games I have ever played. Ignore the critics about slow load times etc. The developer fixed these problems in July. Now all the maps are saved on your hard drive and they load fast. This game is very realistic and after some practice even an old guy like me can score in the top 5 players. This game is to FPS what IL-2 was to combat flight sims. No arcade game, its a bit hard to learn but I never really tire of it. This game is about tactics teamwork (e.g. you have to resupply ammo to your machinegunners - hint: it scores you 5 points) and being smart in combat. You need to learn to use cover and actually aim to kill your opponents. Some of the new custom maps are just incredible now that they have opened up design to the user community. Tank battles are fun and realistic but I love playing infantry. Some of the most fun things are learning to shoot from the hip and using melee attack in close quarters urban combat; learning to call in artillery with devastating effect; or destroying a giant JSII or Tiger tank with your panzerfaust or satchel charge. Finally the recoil, aiming, sight view and sounds are extremely realistic. As a WW2 buff, I own (or owned) and have fired several of the rifles and pistols in the game and I can tell you its almost as fun as shooting the real thing. You have to account for bullet drop for long shots (and probably wind too). I bet the machine and submachine guns are equally realistic but have no firsthand experience. Finally, to really enjoy the game get a headset with a mic. It makes teamwork easier and the better sounds give you clues about potential dangers/ targets. You can hear the footsteps and heavy breathing of winded players nearby and hear the bullets and artillery pass by or over you. Other fun titles like Day of Defeat, Battlefield series, Counterstrike don't even come close to this title for lasting fun and realism. Go buy it - its the best $25 you'll ever spend. Expand
  42. ChrisM.
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    The Best FPS of all time, provides the perfect combination of realism and fun factor. those who enjoy the twitch type shooting of most other arcady First person shooters will dispise this game, everyone else will fall in love because it focuses on realism, teamplay, and strategy.
  43. KevinA.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    I really like this game. I play it almost all the time that's why i gave it a 10.
  44. MichaelC.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    Most realistic shooter I've ever seen. The depth of the maps, and wepon realism make it worth a 10. Plus busting a Commie tank with a panzerfaust and watching gore and bodyparts come outta the commanders hatch is a big plus. I highly recommend this game. Its historically accurate and very well played. I also have to give props to the hit location system on the infantry andMost realistic shooter I've ever seen. The depth of the maps, and wepon realism make it worth a 10. Plus busting a Commie tank with a panzerfaust and watching gore and bodyparts come outta the commanders hatch is a big plus. I highly recommend this game. Its historically accurate and very well played. I also have to give props to the hit location system on the infantry and tanks...give it a shot. Expand
  45. EnricoF.
    Aug 8, 2006
    9
    Just amazing! Maps are very close to reality and they make you feel like you are really fighting there! Even the sounds are spectacular! Weapons, weather, engines...all is very real-like! I'm sure i'm gonna buy this game!
  46. Mad5cout
    Aug 8, 2006
    9
    The people who gave this 1's and 0's are either too young or too impatient or both to actually enjoy this game. Even reading their comments shows they did not figure out that you have to press a button to aim down the sight and fire some weapons. Likewise, some guns, such as MGs, must be deployed on a secure surface before being useful at all. If you are a plug and play type of The people who gave this 1's and 0's are either too young or too impatient or both to actually enjoy this game. Even reading their comments shows they did not figure out that you have to press a button to aim down the sight and fire some weapons. Likewise, some guns, such as MGs, must be deployed on a secure surface before being useful at all. If you are a plug and play type of person, don't even try this game. If you are an avid gamer that enjoys a challenge and depth of game play, this game is king of the WWII FPS/Sims. On the bad side, as stated previously, the engine is 2004 and the graphics are pretty good but not as good as some games coming down the line. Let's be honest $25 is half of what you pay for new games and is not that expensive but I'm sure if you go try to pick up Unreal 2004 (what the mod is based off of) it will only be $19.99 so tripwire hass overshot a bit, I think. I hope they take this game to the next level and make a newer version based on a newer engine with imporoved physics, add planes and the ability to use the AA/flak and mortar weapons on the maps. Adding a single player would be a token attempt at pleasing those who don't really understand what this game is about. Expand
  47. TobiasS.
    Aug 9, 2006
    9
    The best game of its kind in the market at this time. I like the tankbattles best, but the infantry maps come as close to realism as currently possible. There are still some features to becorrected (read the forums;-)) but that will come with time, I'm sure.
  48. CharlieShentall
    Sep 1, 2006
    9
    This is a lifestyle not a game - it grows and grows, as does your skill, an hour in you are totally frustrated, a day in you start to smile, a week in you can't wait, after a month - you are fully immersed. Average Time to veteran - 6 weeks
  49. RodneyF.
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    A tactical masterpeice.
  50. joker3004joker3004
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    The best WWII FPS ever... but I spent about 5-7 hours to understand it :D
  51. Plesnjivec
    Sep 2, 2006
    10
    Play that game give to us something difference in our feeling to another game. Realism, tgame is team-play based...and thnx God without noob who running arround the map like blind chicken's... If thay do that, than they cant live so enough.
  52. DavidH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    Red O is a great game. I am a history major, so realism is important to me. (It would amaze you but not even the advanced nazi sciences had a personal HUD for their soldiers so they could have cross hairs and an ammo counter //sarcasm)
  53. DannyL.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    Realistic, hard and the best. The hardness of the game keep small kids away.
  54. Vihkr
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Simply the finest FPS on the marketplace, period. Actually breaks the FPS genre by making gameplay so realistic that it is no-longer "twitch-based" but skill-based. In RO, it takes patience and skill to get into position to enage the enemy, let alone hit and kill them. Sound, graphics and environmental effects are superb, down to the "camera shake" and blurryness delivered by near misses Simply the finest FPS on the marketplace, period. Actually breaks the FPS genre by making gameplay so realistic that it is no-longer "twitch-based" but skill-based. In RO, it takes patience and skill to get into position to enage the enemy, let alone hit and kill them. Sound, graphics and environmental effects are superb, down to the "camera shake" and blurryness delivered by near misses from high explosives. Historical accuracy so researched that your empty shell casings are actually the right colour. And finally, a game that tells the real story about what happened to the infamous German war machine: its fate was sealed on the Eastern Front in the most titianic conflict in the history of mankind, not by the Western Allies, as is commonly believed. Buy it, try it and love it! Expand
  55. GabrielT.
    Jan 24, 2007
    9
    Very good game, a lot of realism and a good playability.
  56. TawficF.
    Feb 21, 2007
    9
    The Game play is awesome .... tanks tactics and fps assault through. I think its not too bad at all. I only noticed that changing maps is not as smooth as counter strike source. But its not as bad as changing maps in Battlefield 2. Of course my favorite part is the explosive sound in the back ground. Makes you feel you are in the battle for real.
  57. YanisAbt
    Mar 4, 2007
    10
    GREAT simulation attempt , we need more simulations , Red Orchestra ranks among IL-2 Sturmovik 1946 and Silent Hunter III as the best WWII simulations available.
  58. MatthewP.
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    By far the most awesome and realistic WWII game I've ever played!
  59. RicardoL.
    Apr 3, 2007
    10
    Best WW2 shooter ever. It could be better? Of course, they all can. This game is a big step though, for those who craves for WW2 game experience. My 10 is based on that. It is clear that mostly everyone loves very much or hate this game. In my opinion, his game is for those who likes the WW2 atmosphere and scenario, not for those who wants to play an all-round and dynamic type of game Best WW2 shooter ever. It could be better? Of course, they all can. This game is a big step though, for those who craves for WW2 game experience. My 10 is based on that. It is clear that mostly everyone loves very much or hate this game. In my opinion, his game is for those who likes the WW2 atmosphere and scenario, not for those who wants to play an all-round and dynamic type of game that have a WW2 skin. I like to play some BF2 and BF1942 (which has no realism at all) in LANs w/ friends but RO is really worth buying it! It is more like a simulator type (like some were saying) but it also have good action. The "near-missing bullets", explosion and sound effects get in your blood like a rush! Ppl there are very cool also. There is no other way I can feel a little like of the WW2 historic environment in the safe of my home. Expand
  60. AndreO.
    Apr 9, 2007
    9
    Once of the best Multiplayer Shooter, very real and it is not for beginners
  61. MichaelW.
    Aug 4, 2007
    9
    The most realistic FPS I have ever played and completely addictive. If you are into WW2 and the eastern front type games like me you must get this game, you will not be dissapointed. All my other games are collecting dust.
  62. LewisJ.
    Mar 9, 2008
    10
    The most intense and strategic FPS I have ever played, I easily rate this game higher than the popular counter strike. You want an intense battle, thats challenging enough to make a single kill really rewarding? Red Orchestra....no doubt about it.
  63. UmutG.
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    its very great i just bod it yesterday.
  64. @nthony7
    Jul 9, 2008
    10
    Ce jeu c tout simplement un des meilleur fps toute console confondue! il lui manke juste d avoir une communauter aussi imposante ke css paske autant 1.6 es moin bien a tt les nivo ke red mais c culte et on peut pas decrocher autant css es pourit et merite pas d avoir autant de joueur ki son kasi ts des connard ki pense avoir du lvl alors ke ss la hitbox pourie il toucherais rien mdr! Vive Ce jeu c tout simplement un des meilleur fps toute console confondue! il lui manke juste d avoir une communauter aussi imposante ke css paske autant 1.6 es moin bien a tt les nivo ke red mais c culte et on peut pas decrocher autant css es pourit et merite pas d avoir autant de joueur ki son kasi ts des connard ki pense avoir du lvl alors ke ss la hitbox pourie il toucherais rien mdr! Vive Red dods AA cs 1.6 ^^ Expand
  65. PaulG
    Feb 1, 2009
    8
    For any realism fans out there, this is a must have. Although I admit the controls can be a bit clunky at times (picking up weapons is much harder then it should be, for instance), other than that it's an excellent game! It's got great graphics, tons of great maps, and a handful of amazing mods that bring you from North Africa to Italy to Normandy!
  66. Mo0nBugGy1
    Apr 19, 2009
    9
    Amazing game. There realy is nothing better than sitting in a tiny little fox-hole in a snow covered forest while green and yellow tracers zoom past your head at the same time as grenades are exploding just on the other side of your hole and you pop up quickly to get off a shot and scream with joy as you blow some Nazi F**kers head off only to be blown to tiny little Russian pieces of Amazing game. There realy is nothing better than sitting in a tiny little fox-hole in a snow covered forest while green and yellow tracers zoom past your head at the same time as grenades are exploding just on the other side of your hole and you pop up quickly to get off a shot and scream with joy as you blow some Nazi F**kers head off only to be blown to tiny little Russian pieces of meat by a King tiger tank. This game is Brilliant the only complaint i hear is the use of the word ''Camping'' but as this game is trying to be realistic its not really camping but covering behind a wall so you dont end up like that COD noob who thinks he can blind fire a K98. If you want to go run around like rambo then be my guest but you will cop a heap of abuse for WASTING ALL THE SPAWNS!!......My only issue is i just came from playing crysis and Arma so the graphics are very dated, other than that this game is TOP NOTCH. Expand
  67. YaU
    Jul 4, 2009
    8
    Bought this long time ago and didn't like it much. Just tried out the new mod Darkest Hour and couldn't stop playing. This mod is way better with couple of really good maps. The atmosphere is more engaging and I see more team spirit. Look forward to the final version.
  68. MarcL
    Jul 8, 2009
    10
    Best game ever...got the game since 3 years now and have not seen any better game till now...the aim system is the thing that makes the game great, no stupip aiming with a circle in middle of screen like in call of duty world at war, and no silly scripted show...its real action.
  69. BanjoPants
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    This is a difficult game. But that is what makes it great. It is my favorite game, second only to BF1942. It takes what should have been included in Forgotten Hope and wraps it all into one game with 2 mods. The thing that sold me on the game was the Eastern Front.
  70. Frank
    Oct 15, 2006
    9
    I love that you can use a mic and headphones to (voip) communicate with and the graphics are awesome.
  71. [DF]VARG[RUS]
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    Very realistic. You've just forgot about all world around when you drive in the tank or when you prey to a god under artillery fire! Not just a multiplayer game, it's real war! Now RO available in Russia. Za Rodinu!
  72. JonB.
    Dec 4, 2006
    10
    I did not know that a game could feel so real, I did not know that war could be displayed that beautiful.
  73. ClausT.
    Oct 26, 2006
    8
    Very nice game. It's the most realistic game I've ever played. However, I think the bots are to easy.
  74. LasseT.
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    Well, This is one of the best games I've ever played. Tho' it is not good at all in the Singleplayer mode, but it works. I've never cared about graphics in games. But this graphics is very impresive. And for all people who says : "The reload feels like 5 mins!" well well well, Have you guys tried it in real life under fire? The first thing, it isn't just to swap a Well, This is one of the best games I've ever played. Tho' it is not good at all in the Singleplayer mode, but it works. I've never cared about graphics in games. But this graphics is very impresive. And for all people who says : "The reload feels like 5 mins!" well well well, Have you guys tried it in real life under fire? The first thing, it isn't just to swap a magazine in 10 second, if you are gonna spare the empty magazine, you need to lay it on the ground, get your hand on the new mag in the closed puoch, drag the mag out, lay it on the ground, put the empty mag in the pouch, push the full mag in the weapon, and make sure it is IN, then you will have to ... uhmm... how to say it.. drag that thing back so the bullet will get in.. (sry, bad english :P) And all this under fire! this game, is well.. Reloading way to fast :D but it is a nice time to reload for a game :) Also, when you didn't have any mags left in a war, you would take a mag and put one and one and one and one and one bullet at time.... Try taht under fire! That is waht takes ages.. And I've played more realistic games, like flight simulators. But, this game is of course on the top 5 realistic games in my opinion. It is worth Buying. Lasse, From Norway. Thank you! Expand
  75. GuillaumeC.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    This game is wait I was waiting for. A perfect mix between fast action and extreme realism. Considering that game is using a 2/3 years old engine graphism are very well done. And this game is sold under 30 $ ! If you're not afraid about high skill level that is required to play and if you're a fan of "true" realism game like operation flashpoint (not call of duty). This game is This game is wait I was waiting for. A perfect mix between fast action and extreme realism. Considering that game is using a 2/3 years old engine graphism are very well done. And this game is sold under 30 $ ! If you're not afraid about high skill level that is required to play and if you're a fan of "true" realism game like operation flashpoint (not call of duty). This game is for you. IMHO This game a pure bargain. A must have ! Expand
  76. TJ
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    The absolutely best WWII multiplayer FPS ever made. period.
  77. DavidF.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Outstanding game from East front WW2 era proving that small independent studios are able release top quality titles.
  78. ShooterJ.
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    It cannot be described as FPS. It is something else. More like OFP and AA. But better. Much better.... Ok .. back to playing :)
  79. DanH.
    Apr 14, 2006
    9
    i really like this game, and for all the ones complaining about the graphics, this game uses a slightly upgraded version of the Unreal 2004 engine, therefore it is outdated slightly. All in all, i love this game, the sound is great, the realism is awesome, and the gameply if fun as hell ps. for the one who said this game came out of DOD:S, thats not true becuz this game was a mod for i really like this game, and for all the ones complaining about the graphics, this game uses a slightly upgraded version of the Unreal 2004 engine, therefore it is outdated slightly. All in all, i love this game, the sound is great, the realism is awesome, and the gameply if fun as hell ps. for the one who said this game came out of DOD:S, thats not true becuz this game was a mod for Unreal tournament way before DOD:S even came out on steam. Expand
  80. DannyM.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    Nice graphics and gameplay.
  81. AaronL.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    absoluately brilliant, in terms of realism, there is no other ww2 games that can beat this, and i don't think there will be for a long time. (maybe if they release a second one :) )
  82. PaulJ.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    Just been reading some of the comments, some of them are seriously stupid, just because you can't aim or shoot for * doesn't mean this game is bad, ***ooo where's the crosshair!! there isn't one!? damn this game sucks!!*** lol, i can see how people come up with comments like this, it is a hard fps game, but once u get the hang of it it's truely amazing, and theJust been reading some of the comments, some of them are seriously stupid, just because you can't aim or shoot for * doesn't mean this game is bad, ***ooo where's the crosshair!! there isn't one!? damn this game sucks!!*** lol, i can see how people come up with comments like this, it is a hard fps game, but once u get the hang of it it's truely amazing, and the graphics are NOT BAD AT ALL, maybe consider some new graphic cards if you're having trouble. Expand
  83. OberstG.
    Apr 10, 2006
    10
    This is without any doubt the best multi-player FPS WWII game produced sofar. Before Ostfront the RO mod ruled the WWII FPSes but OF is even more refined bringing computer gaming realism even further - perhaps further than many mainstream triggerhappy gamers can take. Realism is a subjective word but being a game it suceeds in conveying a submersive and satisfying experience.The foci of This is without any doubt the best multi-player FPS WWII game produced sofar. Before Ostfront the RO mod ruled the WWII FPSes but OF is even more refined bringing computer gaming realism even further - perhaps further than many mainstream triggerhappy gamers can take. Realism is a subjective word but being a game it suceeds in conveying a submersive and satisfying experience.The foci of the game are realism, tactical thinking and teamplay as oposed to the other mainstream kiddie games out there (think bunny hopping, ammo counters, crosshairs, scripted story lines etc). It will probably not appeal to the BF, DoD and CS fans out there as it requires quite other skills to sucessful play (think 'brain' and "cooperation" instead of 'keyboard twitching reflexes' and a fragaholic mindset). Hardware-wise you will need a goid graphics card and lot of memory for the ultimate experience. I look forward to the future of this game. The only real minus is that they dropped support for Linux and Mac users who are now ditched with the RO mod. Expand
  84. JoumanJ.
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    Amazing game.
  85. AdamJ.
    Apr 18, 2006
    9
    It's a very good game. Definately the MOST REALISTIC WW2 game out there. It is very easy to be misled by the people who gave it poor ratings. Some of them claim to want "realistic war simulation," but then complain when the actual view that one would have from a real tank is too small for them (believe it or not, in a real war, you cannot simply switch to 3rd person to get a better It's a very good game. Definately the MOST REALISTIC WW2 game out there. It is very easy to be misled by the people who gave it poor ratings. Some of them claim to want "realistic war simulation," but then complain when the actual view that one would have from a real tank is too small for them (believe it or not, in a real war, you cannot simply switch to 3rd person to get a better picture of the battlefield... sorry to spoil it!). There was one person who complained about the "outdated Unreal engine," and this same person claimed to have been "misled" by the promo video. This is where competency of ones own system comes into play. When developers put together a promotional video that serves as the face of their product, it only makes sense that they are going to make it using a top-of-the-line system, which will in turn display the game and graphcis at their best. (SPOILER ALERT: Everyone does this! If Tripwire wants to promote their game using a video that was made on a brand new, state-of-the-art computer, then that is simply good marketing. I do not have a brand new computer, and I realize that before I buy a game that I am not going to be able to max out the settings. However, I still buy games, and I do not complain because my own out-of-date system can't handle it. Finally, any complaints about bugs are very unwarranted. Yes, there have been a lot of bugs in this game. Yes, there are some lag issues and long load times. HOWEVER, Tripwire already had a support site set up and ready to go by the time the game was released, and they are already addressing issues and working on a patch. In fact, I would say that I much more pleased with Tripwire than almost any other gaming company (besides Valve, of course), mainly because they are acknowledging that their product has flaws, but that they are also devoting a lot of time and energy to eliminating thos flaws. BOTTOM LINE: Tripwire is a brand new company of guys who won a mod contest... cut them some slack. They have very quickly put together an awesome game, quite possibly the most realistic WW2 fps out there, and they are giving it to us for $24.99. Compared to the $50.00 pricetag of most new games, this is a great value. The technical support and attention to flaws is unmatched by any other game developer out there (once again, besides Valve), and I think that I can speak for almost all mature gamers out there when I say that we would much rather have a cheap game that needs some fine tuning (with amazing tech support and developer attention) instead of an over-priced game that we have to wait 3 years to play. If you're an adult and can withstand a few minor setbacks, then this game is going to be a great purchase. If you can't handle realism and expect some mod-makers to deliver a fast, cheap, flawless game their first time, then you're going to be waiting a while. Expand
  86. JohnJ.
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    Best ive played so far.No bunny hoping, run and gun frenzy like most of other fps. Its just what i was looking for.
  87. Boogyman
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    This game succeeds where others fail. The IGN review sums it well. Here's the clincher, if you are good enough to last the learning curve you'll find the game fun even heart-pounding.
  88. Ordie25
    Apr 5, 2006
    9
    very well rendered. Sweet eye candy. a little goofey on the controls. wish this was as popular as bf2 and had as many players. it is worth the 25 bux to have it in your arsenal of fps's. i would give it a 10 if games had MANY people playing. again, it is a very good game.
  89. chadr
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    I didnt enjoy this much when i first played it,but after some good hours of play time this game grew on me alot!!! The realism of the game is top notch the graphics i would say are up to par with todays games. The controls are a liitle tough to get used to but after you figure everthing out they work quite well. I own a boatload of games i play css alot but this is NO css you must useI didnt enjoy this much when i first played it,but after some good hours of play time this game grew on me alot!!! The realism of the game is top notch the graphics i would say are up to par with todays games. The controls are a liitle tough to get used to but after you figure everthing out they work quite well. I own a boatload of games i play css alot but this is NO css you must use strats and work as a team, there will be no spray -n- pray here either you will die very quickly using that method....grab the visine some and some strong coffee you'll be up for a while playin this game ......great game great price 4 real go get it!!!!! Expand
  90. Vega
    May 12, 2006
    10
    Great game. I've played RO since it was in Beta 1.0 I have always been impressed by the amount of detail that Tripwire has put into every version of RO. Vehicle's are amazingly realistic, there is no magical 3rd person camera that let's you see your surroundings. You see what would be seen if you were truly operating this vehicle. After playing RO, I went back to play DoD Great game. I've played RO since it was in Beta 1.0 I have always been impressed by the amount of detail that Tripwire has put into every version of RO. Vehicle's are amazingly realistic, there is no magical 3rd person camera that let's you see your surroundings. You see what would be seen if you were truly operating this vehicle. After playing RO, I went back to play DoD and realized how much of a joke it was. Expand
  91. Sheep
    May 13, 2006
    10
    Simply THE best WW2 multiplayer shooter out there. Realistic and immersive gameplay at a reasonable pace. Not the ridiculously unrealistic warp speed of other WW2 based online shooters.
  92. HenrikS.
    May 16, 2006
    9
    Awsome Game! Brutal realistic ww2 game, some open field tank battles or Close Combat in ruin cities. Not the best looking game out there but the grafic is more then enough. Its intense and brutal to say the least... Worth every penny:)
  93. TomP.
    May 19, 2006
    9
    Great game. This is all I am playing right now.
  94. ViktorW.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    Red Orchestra: ostfront 41-45 is the best game/simulator i've ever seen! But there is a con... There is wery long loading times in the game.
  95. AronO.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    Great graphics, great gameplay, great support! The weopen models are the best i've seen, in comparison to DoD:S models they are much much better, the soldiers are much more detailed, they have facial animations (your other eye closes when you aim, when riding a halftrack the other soliders sit there, moving around nervously, etc!) The gameplay is just GREAAAAAAAT! It's so much Great graphics, great gameplay, great support! The weopen models are the best i've seen, in comparison to DoD:S models they are much much better, the soldiers are much more detailed, they have facial animations (your other eye closes when you aim, when riding a halftrack the other soliders sit there, moving around nervously, etc!) The gameplay is just GREAAAAAAAT! It's so much fun to get shot by a MG42, then you hit the dirt and try to find cover as you see the supression blur all over,which makes it IMPOSSIBLE to take a aim at the machine gunner!! At first I could not start the game, so I went over to the Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 forums, stated my problem, provided all system specs and other usefull information, and withing a couple of minutes my problem was solved (there where a couple of other guys that also had this problem, but it worked out for them aswell as me) I just LOVE THIS GAME! And the fact that there are going to be alot of FREE content updates (maps, weopens, etc) Just make the game oh so much better, EA games etc SELL THEIR content updates, which is so cheap, becouse they have earned more then enough money. Expand
  96. KevinB.
    May 19, 2006
    9
    If you're into bunny-hopping, crosshairs, and saying "ownz0red!" everytime you get a kill then Ostfront is not for you. However, if you are sick of the above and would like a game that makes you feel like you're in a war Ostfront is for you! Love the game.
  97. GeorgeC.
    May 19, 2006
    8
    The gameplay takes a long time to adjust to, but once you do, you'll find it very difficult to go back to more conventional shooters. The incredible weapon sounds combined with the detailed ironsights and the recoil will make you feel like you're wielding a weapon, instead of a toy. The graphics, while not spectacular, are good enough not to detract from your enjoyment of the The gameplay takes a long time to adjust to, but once you do, you'll find it very difficult to go back to more conventional shooters. The incredible weapon sounds combined with the detailed ironsights and the recoil will make you feel like you're wielding a weapon, instead of a toy. The graphics, while not spectacular, are good enough not to detract from your enjoyment of the game. I would give it a 9 if it didn't have a few performance issues. Expand
  98. JohnR.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    The most realistic and entertaining FPS I have ever played. And I have played a lot!! Real world tactics actually make a difference in this game. The use of cover and correct aiming will keep you alive for longer and make you a deadlier oppnent. I highly recommend this game/sim to anyone who is sick of the mindless glut of FPS that are out there at the moment.
  99. ErikuK.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    Great realistic game play, wonderful maps and overall great game. Its the game that made me become an active FPS player again.
  100. MaTtHeWD.
    May 20, 2006
    8
    Its got good graphics sometimes lags on some p.c's but allaround goood and worth the purchase its still not as good as counter-strike source but better than Day-Of-Defeat Source. plz purchase this for a good time its very good.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. I absolutely love the attention Tripwire has given to the small details in the game.
  2. 85
    There's very little gameyness in RO and a whole lot of gritty crawling along the ground so you can flank over to that machine gunner and allow your team to advance to the next spawn point objective.
  3. Red Orchestra is an enjoyable, team-based online shooter for those who like the Battlefield-style games but want a more technical and realistic experience.