User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1290 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SebastianB
    Oct 30, 2007
    10
    The best game ever!
  2. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    The game is unique, providing combat in a video game unlike any other in a unique, highly sought after WWII environment. Its realistic, gritty, tactical, and requires great skill. not for those NEW to he FPS genre. if you want an intense gaming experience this WAS the game for you. but it always had a very small server community. despite this, red orchestra players like myself never letThe game is unique, providing combat in a video game unlike any other in a unique, highly sought after WWII environment. Its realistic, gritty, tactical, and requires great skill. not for those NEW to he FPS genre. if you want an intense gaming experience this WAS the game for you. but it always had a very small server community. despite this, red orchestra players like myself never let that stop them from thoroughly enjoying the game, with certain very good high population servers and clans/groups that kept the game alive and interesting. i give a lot of respect to tripwire, who even took the time to update the game a LOT after it game out. just goes to show dedication (and tripwire does it for ALL of their games, very well at that). there are only a few minor glitches and errors that arent even bothersome or inhibiting with bombs going off around you. and these glitches are few and far between. the game is immersive and a gem of an FPS. WWII buffs and realism junkies loved it. i say loved because with the NEW red orchestra: heroes of stalingrad coming out, the first game might become a little dated. i encourage you all however to buy the new one. tripwire is a very unique and talented game developer, and i encourage anyone who :loves WWII, loves FPS, loves realism, looking for a challenge/something new. to get it. although really i encourage any and everyone to check it out. im usually hesitant to dish out 50 bucks for a new game, but after playing the first RO, i have complete confidence that its worth the money and supports tripwire to make more games i love. Expand
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    8
    This is easily my favorite online FPS. Its not a soldier sim like others are making out but it is far more advanced than most games in this genre, which is why some people (press circle to win PS3 noobs) have given it such low scores. The maps that people are saying are too big are probably the home made maps created after release, because the original maps aren't really all that big.This is easily my favorite online FPS. Its not a soldier sim like others are making out but it is far more advanced than most games in this genre, which is why some people (press circle to win PS3 noobs) have given it such low scores. The maps that people are saying are too big are probably the home made maps created after release, because the original maps aren't really all that big. Ditching the crosshairs in favour of iron sights was a definite plus, so much so i hate having them in other games. The game is 4 years old and so the graphics look extremely dated. AI is retarded but this is an multiplayer game so not really a major issue. The sound can be misleading on some occasions as some vehicles can sound a lot closer than they actually are on some of the larger maps. The community that plays this game is generally older than that of similar games i've played so team tactics are actually used. Unlike BF2 where its just a chaotic bunny jumping, base raping free for all. If your ideal online fps is one where you run around spraying bullets everywhere, then like the 136 reviewers who gave negative scores this game isn't for you. If you fancy a bit of a challenge then this might be the game for you and as it is priced so cheaply now, could be a good way of deciding whether or not to buy its upcoming sequel without spending too much. Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    I love that game. It's totally noob-unfriendly, just good players are fighting on large maps. You have to move very clever, lay down some suppression fire from your MG gunner, get close with your MP40 or StG44. Pick off enemy soldiers form distance with your bolt action rifle. Great game, but not suitable for many players. No kids running around with autofire weapons, no kill streak, noI love that game. It's totally noob-unfriendly, just good players are fighting on large maps. You have to move very clever, lay down some suppression fire from your MG gunner, get close with your MP40 or StG44. Pick off enemy soldiers form distance with your bolt action rifle. Great game, but not suitable for many players. No kids running around with autofire weapons, no kill streak, no "get-some-cover-after-a-hit-and-everything-is-fine". No, that game is totally different to all the games you have wasted your time until now. Expand
  5. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    This is not another generic shooter. Even today, despite the fact that i've played the game for many many hours, its still one of my favorite games, and it is better than RO2 in many ways. There is no generic features such as XP and perks. A game that really defines what gaming is: having a good time. Play this game as CoD and you're dead meat. Graphics isn't the best, but sound isThis is not another generic shooter. Even today, despite the fact that i've played the game for many many hours, its still one of my favorite games, and it is better than RO2 in many ways. There is no generic features such as XP and perks. A game that really defines what gaming is: having a good time. Play this game as CoD and you're dead meat. Graphics isn't the best, but sound is amazing, from the horrible death-screams on the battlefield to the deep, touching soundtrack. Wide open maps, long range combat, tank combat, close quarter combat - this game focus on realism and therefore skill, patience and planning is required to stay alive. Typical FPS behaviour often result in instant death.
    It is neither a simulation or a complete arcade game. Red Orchestra: Ostfront sits comfortable between the ArmA franchise and other FPS games.
    Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Red Orchestra is a tough, fun game that really brings FPS to a whole new level of realism. Ballistics and graphics aren't perfect, but aren't too shabby for a six year old game. Although on easier difficulty levels the friendly AI are painfully un-reliable, the tough enemy AI, useful squad commands, wide range of weapons, and 1st person vehicle combat make Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45 aRed Orchestra is a tough, fun game that really brings FPS to a whole new level of realism. Ballistics and graphics aren't perfect, but aren't too shabby for a six year old game. Although on easier difficulty levels the friendly AI are painfully un-reliable, the tough enemy AI, useful squad commands, wide range of weapons, and 1st person vehicle combat make Red Orchestra Ostfront 41-45 a highly recommended game in my book. Even if you don't like it, it's only $9.99 on Steam and comes with 2 free mods, so it is a good value. Expand
  7. AdamS.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    It's really cool and really realistic game ;) theres only one "-" there are only russians and germans.
  8. Skylarflan
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    I dont even play cod2, or bf2 anymore! great game
  9. AnonymousMC
    Aug 8, 2006
    10
    Best game ever. Its a WW2 simulation, SIMULATION! The graphics are awesome, some people never heard of settings (or a .cfg file) and the gameplay is the sweetest ever. Anyone who rates less than 9 wasn't born when Doom came out. Wait till you're old enough to appreciate a game before you rate it :-(
  10. ChristianS.
    Apr 8, 2007
    9
    Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 is the most challenging and visual stunning WW2 FPS game to date. The bleak and dull colors set you in a world of war where your gaming skills will be set at it's limit. Forget crosshairs and steady aim, your smg will be all over the place if you decide Serious Sam is the best way to encounter your enemies. If you're looking for a game with a _huge_ Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 is the most challenging and visual stunning WW2 FPS game to date. The bleak and dull colors set you in a world of war where your gaming skills will be set at it's limit. Forget crosshairs and steady aim, your smg will be all over the place if you decide Serious Sam is the best way to encounter your enemies. If you're looking for a game with a _huge_ learning curve, plenty of room for tactics, realistic infantry and armored combat; Red Orchestra: Ostfront 41-45 is easily the best and most rewarding WW2 FPS game. Expand
  11. h0bb1tBeurskens
    Aug 6, 2008
    9
    I love playing WWII games, but when i saw this i was in love, the explosions, infantry classes, tank battle realism, artillery strike, sniper scope, bullets from MG 42 , bayonet, maps.. oh and did i mention the explosions? Al little details come together to make the most exciting WW2 game ever!
  12. TylerM.
    Oct 4, 2006
    10
    Been playing RO since its first beta release back with ut2k3. If you want something other than your run of the mill spray and pray shooter try out RO. The level of detail and realism is amazing for a game. If you want to try out an intense, realistic and very immersive gaming experience, then go pick up a copy now. What are you waiting for?
  13. AnonymousMC
    Mar 26, 2006
    10
    This game blows away COD2, DOD:S, and every other FPS that calls itself a *war* game. RO:O's kickass graphics (and yes, they are good - some people apparently don't know how to change their settings) and sound really immerse you in the war.

    Overall, this is by far the most satisfying game I've played in years. It's challenging at first without the crosshair crutch
    This game blows away COD2, DOD:S, and every other FPS that calls itself a *war* game. RO:O's kickass graphics (and yes, they are good - some people apparently don't know how to change their settings) and sound really immerse you in the war.

    Overall, this is by far the most satisfying game I've played in years. It's challenging at first without the crosshair crutch and a 50 part HUD - but you soon don't miss those things. In fact, I HATE playing games with those now.
    Expand
  14. FireBladeX
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    Perfect game!
  15. spitfire
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    The best WWII FPS game I have ever played, I hope new maps will come soon. Excelent Job!
  16. MattG.
    Apr 9, 2006
    10
    this game is realidtic has great detail on the smallest things. the gameplay rules as it is challenging and not piss easy like cod2 or dod.
  17. EricS.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    The feeling of being there is amazing. Really awesome game!
  18. JeffreyK.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    The best WW2 sim i have ever played, and it still has potential to be so much more.
  19. JaniM.
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Best War-Simulation i've ever played!
  20. CraigR.
    May 5, 2006
    8
    Great game all 'round, only complaint is the loading times. The graphics are good - not great though, but the gameplay is amazing. Great work Tripware.
  21. Lucas
    May 6, 2006
    10
    Great gameplay, best first person animations/models I've ever seen, excellent maps. The graphics are surprisingly well done for such an old engine. It features such subtle things that when you switch games, you realize that every game needs what RO has. The tank combat is amazing as well as the infantry combat. Reccommended to anyone mature enough to get the hang of this game.
  22. Dillweed
    May 6, 2006
    9
    The multi player is great..Compared to COD 2 it blows the doors of of it and considering its a older engine that dosent help the COD2 cause either.
  23. Golf33
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Not for everyone but if you are after intense, highly realistic ground combat then this is for you.
  24. Shape
    May 7, 2006
    10
    Most realstic game ive ever played. Graphics could be improved, but i think when set on high are much better than Cod2.
  25. MarcO.
    Jun 7, 2006
    9
    This game totally rocks. Although the AI for the bots is 1/10, the rest of the game is good. If your more of a CS kind of player and like acarde shooter kind of games this isn't the game for you. If you like realism & team work this is definately the game for you. Although it only has one game mode, Multi-player, the game is awesome. In this game, it is impossible to go alone and try This game totally rocks. Although the AI for the bots is 1/10, the rest of the game is good. If your more of a CS kind of player and like acarde shooter kind of games this isn't the game for you. If you like realism & team work this is definately the game for you. Although it only has one game mode, Multi-player, the game is awesome. In this game, it is impossible to go alone and try to be a hero. This requires a load of team work. Tanks also give it a boost in points. Since it's not based on the western front, which has been done 101 times, the game is unique. A Very good game. And the fact that you dont have a crosshair also gives it a boost in total realism. Expand
  26. tehem
    Jul 10, 2006
    8
    The best arguments for this game are to be found in the comments of people who rated it below 5 ^^ Let me try to explain... Some called RO 'sluggish' because of the somewhat slow pace of the action => well yes, it requires a good thinking and timing to move from one position to the next and use your limited 'sprint energy' efficiently. Some point the loosy precision ofThe best arguments for this game are to be found in the comments of people who rated it below 5 ^^ Let me try to explain... Some called RO 'sluggish' because of the somewhat slow pace of the action => well yes, it requires a good thinking and timing to move from one position to the next and use your limited 'sprint energy' efficiently. Some point the loosy precision of the weapon => well, realistic it is (or tend to be as much as possible) and 'in real life' touching a target of a few square centimenter at 100 meter with a rifle from the 40's isn't the same as shooting fish in a barrel with an automatic weapon. About the technical problems, i must say i bought the game via Steam and had no problems whatsoever to install and run it. One quick passage on the forum of the french community and i could also shorten a good bit the loading time thanks to some very easy modifications. All in all a good game experience for mature players. But if you're looking for the 5424875th arcade shooter about WWII, just pass your way. Expand
  27. PaulT.
    Jul 27, 2006
    10
    Red Orchestra is a great game with wonderful graphics. Gameplay is very realistic but you must have patience and read the manual. If you play the game as intended you will have a great time with many great hours of enjoyment!
  28. JosephS.
    Aug 14, 2006
    10
    As a World War II buff and someone who has enjoyed gaming/simulations since the IBM AT days, this is among the best computer games I have ever played. Ignore the critics about slow load times etc. The developer fixed these problems in July. Now all the maps are saved on your hard drive and they load fast. This game is very realistic and after some practice even an old guy like me can As a World War II buff and someone who has enjoyed gaming/simulations since the IBM AT days, this is among the best computer games I have ever played. Ignore the critics about slow load times etc. The developer fixed these problems in July. Now all the maps are saved on your hard drive and they load fast. This game is very realistic and after some practice even an old guy like me can score in the top 5 players. This game is to FPS what IL-2 was to combat flight sims. No arcade game, its a bit hard to learn but I never really tire of it. This game is about tactics teamwork (e.g. you have to resupply ammo to your machinegunners - hint: it scores you 5 points) and being smart in combat. You need to learn to use cover and actually aim to kill your opponents. Some of the new custom maps are just incredible now that they have opened up design to the user community. Tank battles are fun and realistic but I love playing infantry. Some of the most fun things are learning to shoot from the hip and using melee attack in close quarters urban combat; learning to call in artillery with devastating effect; or destroying a giant JSII or Tiger tank with your panzerfaust or satchel charge. Finally the recoil, aiming, sight view and sounds are extremely realistic. As a WW2 buff, I own (or owned) and have fired several of the rifles and pistols in the game and I can tell you its almost as fun as shooting the real thing. You have to account for bullet drop for long shots (and probably wind too). I bet the machine and submachine guns are equally realistic but have no firsthand experience. Finally, to really enjoy the game get a headset with a mic. It makes teamwork easier and the better sounds give you clues about potential dangers/ targets. You can hear the footsteps and heavy breathing of winded players nearby and hear the bullets and artillery pass by or over you. Other fun titles like Day of Defeat, Battlefield series, Counterstrike don't even come close to this title for lasting fun and realism. Go buy it - its the best $25 you'll ever spend. Expand
  29. ChrisM.
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    The Best FPS of all time, provides the perfect combination of realism and fun factor. those who enjoy the twitch type shooting of most other arcady First person shooters will dispise this game, everyone else will fall in love because it focuses on realism, teamplay, and strategy.
  30. KevinA.
    Aug 4, 2006
    10
    I really like this game. I play it almost all the time that's why i gave it a 10.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. I absolutely love the attention Tripwire has given to the small details in the game.
  2. 85
    There's very little gameyness in RO and a whole lot of gritty crawling along the ground so you can flank over to that machine gunner and allow your team to advance to the next spawn point objective.
  3. Red Orchestra is an enjoyable, team-based online shooter for those who like the Battlefield-style games but want a more technical and realistic experience.