Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 881 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Imagine Neo-Paris, 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded like commodities. The last vestiges of privacy and intimacy have been extinguished in what feels like a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the start of the 21st century. TheImagine Neo-Paris, 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded like commodities. The last vestiges of privacy and intimacy have been extinguished in what feels like a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the start of the 21st century. The citizens themselves have given in to this surveillance society in exchange for the comfort only smart technology can provide. This memory economy transfers immense power over society to just a small group of people. Remember Me is a third-person action adventure in which players assume the role of Nilin, a former elite memory hunter with the ability to penetrate people’s minds and steal or even alter their memories. The authorities, fearful of her knowledge and skills arrested Nilin and wiped away her memory. After her escape from prison, Nilin embarks on a mission to recover her identity, helped by her last and only friend. This search for her past leads to her being hunted by the very people that created this surveillance society. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. 90
    It’s one of the games that got me excited because its story is intertwined with the gameplay and with a philosophical view on our reality. Highly suggested for people that enjoy stories in any form. [June 2013]
  2. 80
    You get a fascinating vision of the future, in which you have to fill a few gaps yourself, if you don´t want to fall into its holes. But at the core it is a very solid story, entertaining, with a few fresh ideas – something that can’t be said about every work in this genre – and would not have been misplaced in one of the books by Gibson/Sterling. As it is, I experienced Remember Me first as this story and only second as a game of decent climbing-passages and solid brawling, which I enjoyed more as a nice form of diversion.
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    79
    In general terms, Remember Me works, but it's extremely easy and the new ideas and mechanics don't offer a remarkable addition. We would love to have a sequel in which all these issues are polished and fixed because the universe Dontnod has created is full of possibilities.
  4. Jun 9, 2013
    68
    The good ideas need to be backed up with good gameplay.
  5. Jun 13, 2013
    62
    Overall, Remember Me is just another graduate of Luc Besson's Style Over Substance Academy. It looks amazing and manages to be convincing in minor cutscenes, but the issues it raises are handled superficially and every problem is ultimately solved through violence.
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    60
    A society with lost privacy is doomed. Unfortunately, this poetic message is not enough to make an entertaining game. Remember Me needs one more instalment to enhance its gameplay.
  7. 40
    A game with great potential, great setting and great music. However, it's knocked down by its incomplete implementation of the original ideas and its frustrating battle system. [Issue#231]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 224
  1. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    *UPDATE!

    Four days ago I eagerly awaited the release game, and now that it is over I can say without any reserve that this is a game you DO
    *UPDATE!

    Four days ago I eagerly awaited the release game, and now that it is over I can say without any reserve that this is a game you DO NOT WANT TO MISS. I'll put the ending first for those who don't want to read my entire discourse. I rate "Remember me" as an 8/10, however I've decided to keep my official score as a 10 to help tip the scales. The simple fact is that as valuable as metacritic is, these scores can be the life or death of a game. The same way they can destroy or make a movie, or actor on stage. How many people will skip this game, simply because its not an 8 or higher? "Remember Me" is well crafted, it deserves to be played. DONTNOD Entertainment deserves whatever profits they can get, hopefully enough to encourage more games if not a sequel, which I personally would like to see.

    So what games can I compare to "Remember me" to? In my opinion it plays like an assassin's creed warped in a deus ex with a twist (Memories rather than augmentations) The story? Fantastic! Not as good as AC2, or bioshock 1, but better than the ends of either Farcry 3, or deus ex. The combat system was one of genius; and quite frankly something I've been waiting a long time to see. It does have its downfalls eg. the boss battles are repetitive, but unlike AC once I learned this combat system there was never a moment where I had to get my bearings, where combat was too fast, or I was too surrounded. When you add that I was able to, with some restrictions, mold the combos it really puts the player in the action. I stopped worrying about which button at which time and simply enjoyed the game.

    Graphics in "Remember me" are a delight to behold. When my computer reported that the game was running in 32bit, and directX 9 I didn't want to believe it. Of course thats the beauty of the unreal engine, from the moment I saw they used it I knew I'd like the game. I do wish they'd used directX 11, I do understand why they didn't but 11 has been out for a while now, and with top end graphic cards now costing half a grand for a single unit.

    About the linear qualities of the game. I really do feel this was ultimately the downfall of "Remember Me", and it is why I rate it at 8/10. Below I did list some bugs I experienced, but these were all a minor inconvenience, and could be either limited to my computer or fixed with a patch. Many of the story elements of this game depended on it being linear, I understand that and enjoyed the story. However I believe that there was a lot of wasted potential, especially with the memory remixes in which I wish there was more of. Again I look forward to a sequel.

    Errors in "remember me" include: 1) a few subtitle errors, 2) what appear to be some graphical glitches, like a bird stuck in place, and falling through the floor twice. One level appeared all red till I reloaded. 3) The camera is not completely free, it does fight you quite a bit in certain areas.

    END OF UPDATE (Original post below)
    I would like to start by stating that I am not an avid video game reviewer, and in fact this is the first I've posting on this website. However, I do like many users look at metacritic scores to "tip the scales" when it comes to buy and judging games. I like many that have already posted, am trying to stop this game from dying before/at release, due to negative/low score. I have only just started this game, and will edit both my score and review later.

    To start: The game runs smooth and so far flawless on my system with AMD FX6150, and ATI 6950HD. The music and sounds along with the animation in the menu immediately draw you in. It is clear in just starting it up, like hitman: absolution main menu, that some love went into crafting this game. Options for graphical changes were limited, but in no way hindered either my system, or (from what I can tell) the game in running smoothly.

    Upon starting the intro the game loaded extremely fast especially for an HDD, the beginning immediately drew me into the story, my favorite part, and I once again I note care in the games design by a immersive sounds, lighting, sound effects, and small added details to the character's & NPCs clothing, and level design.

    This is about as far as I can go so far, but If you read this, I urge you not to go by the current score. I will update this post as I continue to play the game. I am giving it a 10 atm to help balance until I can determine a fair score.
    Expand
  2. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    This is by far one of my favourite games ever. The storyline is fantastic, the art is beautiful and the mechanics to set up your combos forThis is by far one of my favourite games ever. The storyline is fantastic, the art is beautiful and the mechanics to set up your combos for fights are unique. The controls can be a little awkward due to the often bad camera angles but as a big fan of Capcom games, you get used to it. The storyline of this game easily makes up for this anyhow. 10/10 will never forget this game :D Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Remember me is an amazing game for people like me who enjoy story based games. The story is great with couple of twists (don't they all) andRemember me is an amazing game for people like me who enjoy story based games. The story is great with couple of twists (don't they all) and the game's linearity helps see the story without spending 30 minutes trying to get to the top of the tower or fighting a boss that doesn't mean anything in the big picture. The feeling that the game left me after finishing it was the feeling that i got after finishing Mass Effect 1 & 2. Awesome storyline and great characters all around. Collapse
  4. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    I actually really like this game. The combos could be a little more freeflow, but overall it's great, but that's the problem, Dontnod actuallyI actually really like this game. The combos could be a little more freeflow, but overall it's great, but that's the problem, Dontnod actually made an interesting game world,but didnt expand on it. If it was a bigger game, not open world, but like in the same way Dark Souls is laid out, or like Deus Ex, and lets us have more freedom, put stealth and more memory abilities, like making them forget how to fire a gun ir something and it would've been amazing Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    This game deserves a MUCH higher rating than it has. It's not a 66. I'm thoroughly enjoying this game. The combat system fights like batman,This game deserves a MUCH higher rating than it has. It's not a 66. I'm thoroughly enjoying this game. The combat system fights like batman, but you also get to select how each strike in a combo effects your situation. Some strikes can heal you, some can reduce cooldown timers, some add more damage. Ignore the metacritic rating. Watch the gameplay videos. If you think you might like it from that, then play. Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2014
    7
    IMO, this capcom's best game in years. it isn't perfect but as a new IP. it does sometings right like the story,voice acting, & combat system.IMO, this capcom's best game in years. it isn't perfect but as a new IP. it does sometings right like the story,voice acting, & combat system. What it does wrong, the breaking of combos due to dodging, the lead by the hand platforming, & not going the full way with the create a combo system. This game is worth at least a one time play through Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    I have to give this game 0 points since it's completely unplayable. I'm stuck on the control tutorial, I am being asked to use the mouse/rightI have to give this game 0 points since it's completely unplayable. I'm stuck on the control tutorial, I am being asked to use the mouse/right stick to look around but no mater how much I look the game just wont move on. It's broken therefore ZERO points. Expand

See all 224 User Reviews