Remember Me PC

Remember Me Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 998 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Imagine Neo-Paris, 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded like commodities. The last vestiges of privacy and intimacy have been extinguished in what feels like a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the start of the 21st century. TheImagine Neo-Paris, 2084. Personal memories are now digitised, bought, sold and traded like commodities. The last vestiges of privacy and intimacy have been extinguished in what feels like a logical progression of the explosive growth of social networks at the start of the 21st century. The citizens themselves have given in to this surveillance society in exchange for the comfort only smart technology can provide. This memory economy transfers immense power over society to just a small group of people. Remember Me is a third-person action adventure in which players assume the role of Nilin, a former elite memory hunter with the ability to penetrate people’s minds and steal or even alter their memories. The authorities, fearful of her knowledge and skills arrested Nilin and wiped away her memory. After her escape from prison, Nilin embarks on a mission to recover her identity, helped by her last and only friend. This search for her past leads to her being hunted by the very people that created this surveillance society. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    90
    It’s one of the games that got me excited because its story is intertwined with the gameplay and with a philosophical view on our reality. Highly suggested for people that enjoy stories in any form. [June 2013]
  2. 80
    You get a fascinating vision of the future, in which you have to fill a few gaps yourself, if you don´t want to fall into its holes. But at the core it is a very solid story, entertaining, with a few fresh ideas – something that can’t be said about every work in this genre – and would not have been misplaced in one of the books by Gibson/Sterling. As it is, I experienced Remember Me first as this story and only second as a game of decent climbing-passages and solid brawling, which I enjoyed more as a nice form of diversion.
  3. Jun 3, 2013
    79
    In general terms, Remember Me works, but it's extremely easy and the new ideas and mechanics don't offer a remarkable addition. We would love to have a sequel in which all these issues are polished and fixed because the universe Dontnod has created is full of possibilities.
  4. Jun 9, 2013
    68
    The good ideas need to be backed up with good gameplay.
  5. Jun 13, 2013
    62
    Overall, Remember Me is just another graduate of Luc Besson's Style Over Substance Academy. It looks amazing and manages to be convincing in minor cutscenes, but the issues it raises are handled superficially and every problem is ultimately solved through violence.
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    60
    A society with lost privacy is doomed. Unfortunately, this poetic message is not enough to make an entertaining game. Remember Me needs one more instalment to enhance its gameplay.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 9, 2013
    40
    A game with great potential, great setting and great music. However, it's knocked down by its incomplete implementation of the original ideas and its frustrating battle system. [Issue#231]

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 239
  1. Jun 7, 2013
    10
    *UPDATE!

    Four days ago I eagerly awaited the release game, and now that it is over I can say without any reserve that this is a game you DO
    *UPDATE!

    Four days ago I eagerly awaited the release game, and now that it is over I can say without any reserve that this is a game you DO NOT WANT TO MISS. I'll put the ending first for those who don't want to read my entire discourse. I rate "Remember me" as an 8/10, however I've decided to keep my official score as a 10 to help tip the scales. The simple fact is that as valuable as metacritic is, these scores can be the life or death of a game. The same way they can destroy or make a movie, or actor on stage. How many people will skip this game, simply because its not an 8 or higher? "Remember Me" is well crafted, it deserves to be played. DONTNOD Entertainment deserves whatever profits they can get, hopefully enough to encourage more games if not a sequel, which I personally would like to see.

    So what games can I compare to "Remember me" to? In my opinion it plays like an assassin's creed warped in a deus ex with a twist (Memories rather than augmentations) The story? Fantastic! Not as good as AC2, or bioshock 1, but better than the ends of either Farcry 3, or deus ex. The combat system was one of genius; and quite frankly something I've been waiting a long time to see. It does have its downfalls eg. the boss battles are repetitive, but unlike AC once I learned this combat system there was never a moment where I had to get my bearings, where combat was too fast, or I was too surrounded. When you add that I was able to, with some restrictions, mold the combos it really puts the player in the action. I stopped worrying about which button at which time and simply enjoyed the game.

    Graphics in "Remember me" are a delight to behold. When my computer reported that the game was running in 32bit, and directX 9 I didn't want to believe it. Of course thats the beauty of the unreal engine, from the moment I saw they used it I knew I'd like the game. I do wish they'd used directX 11, I do understand why they didn't but 11 has been out for a while now, and with top end graphic cards now costing half a grand for a single unit.

    About the linear qualities of the game. I really do feel this was ultimately the downfall of "Remember Me", and it is why I rate it at 8/10. Below I did list some bugs I experienced, but these were all a minor inconvenience, and could be either limited to my computer or fixed with a patch. Many of the story elements of this game depended on it being linear, I understand that and enjoyed the story. However I believe that there was a lot of wasted potential, especially with the memory remixes in which I wish there was more of. Again I look forward to a sequel.

    Errors in "remember me" include: 1) a few subtitle errors, 2) what appear to be some graphical glitches, like a bird stuck in place, and falling through the floor twice. One level appeared all red till I reloaded. 3) The camera is not completely free, it does fight you quite a bit in certain areas.

    END OF UPDATE (Original post below)
    I would like to start by stating that I am not an avid video game reviewer, and in fact this is the first I've posting on this website. However, I do like many users look at metacritic scores to "tip the scales" when it comes to buy and judging games. I like many that have already posted, am trying to stop this game from dying before/at release, due to negative/low score. I have only just started this game, and will edit both my score and review later.

    To start: The game runs smooth and so far flawless on my system with AMD FX6150, and ATI 6950HD. The music and sounds along with the animation in the menu immediately draw you in. It is clear in just starting it up, like hitman: absolution main menu, that some love went into crafting this game. Options for graphical changes were limited, but in no way hindered either my system, or (from what I can tell) the game in running smoothly.

    Upon starting the intro the game loaded extremely fast especially for an HDD, the beginning immediately drew me into the story, my favorite part, and I once again I note care in the games design by a immersive sounds, lighting, sound effects, and small added details to the character's & NPCs clothing, and level design.

    This is about as far as I can go so far, but If you read this, I urge you not to go by the current score. I will update this post as I continue to play the game. I am giving it a 10 atm to help balance until I can determine a fair score.
    Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    This game is a little piece of art itself. After you get through the tutorial (which is pretty well implemented, very immersive) you get inThis game is a little piece of art itself. After you get through the tutorial (which is pretty well implemented, very immersive) you get in love with the ambientation and the world that the guys from Dontnod Entertainment have created. Ok, the combat system may be not as complex as say Devil May Cry, Bayonetta, etc. But it actually is very fun, the Combo Lab is a really interesting tool that should be definetly considered for future games of the genre. The level of exploration may be easy and a little linear, but you get to search really well to find all of the easter eggs, and some jumps/animations while doing some platforms are really awesome in my opinion. The levels where you have to remix the memories of a person are simply amazing, again really immersive, you feel completely like playing God.
    But the thing that really impressed me the most was the characters. All of them really polished and created with love. You are going to love Nilin, you are going to love Neo-Paris and you definetly are going to love the soundtrack, which I have to say, it's probably one of the best of the year.

    If you like action but you don't consider a "super pro" at the genre, and you like well written stories and emotional characters... believe me, this is your game. You won't be dissapointed.
    Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2013
    9
    i totally agree with everything good, that has been said about the game PLUS the fighting system is AWESOME! it does steal from arkhams batmani totally agree with everything good, that has been said about the game PLUS the fighting system is AWESOME! it does steal from arkhams batman obviously, but it does a good job stealing and even comes with some fresh ideas: check out the kombo-system, that lets you build your own kombos with different effects (damage, healing, cooling time for specials, mulitpicators), then there are the special techniques that are ALL usefull and fun. whenever a fight starts you need to check against which kind of enemies you are fighting and really have to make a plan on how to beat them. and the game does a great job in introducing all the possibilities you have and all the varying enemies you are up against.

    one little critic, that i haven't read yet: it makes me cry at night, that despite the main story cutscenes there are no dialoges in this game. whats the point in creating such an optically rich enviroment when you don't have the possibility to explore this world and get to know its inhabitants? that's reaaally sad and the only reason i wouldn't score a 10.
    Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    I actually really like this game. The combos could be a little more freeflow, but overall it's great, but that's the problem, Dontnod actuallyI actually really like this game. The combos could be a little more freeflow, but overall it's great, but that's the problem, Dontnod actually made an interesting game world,but didnt expand on it. If it was a bigger game, not open world, but like in the same way Dark Souls is laid out, or like Deus Ex, and lets us have more freedom, put stealth and more memory abilities, like making them forget how to fire a gun ir something and it would've been amazing Expand
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    I don't get why people are complaining about the combat? If you read watched anything about the combat, it's basically another button mashingI don't get why people are complaining about the combat? If you read watched anything about the combat, it's basically another button mashing game. I knew what I was going into before I bought it. To me, it has more flexible combat due to combos. You can't button mash X constantly. You actually have to land combos. It's a fun combat system in all honestly. I love the idea of being able to have different combos. Do I need high DPS? 4 damage Presence (the items you put into combos) then a double Presence at the end that double the entire combo. Do I need fast healing? Swap out all those Presences for healing ones with a double at the end. I can change combos on the fly. It's wonderful.

    I'm only into Episode 3 I think. Not far. But I love the setting. I love the stealing memories and remixing memories. And using the memories to find collectable is interesting, very easy, but still fun at the same time. Story is pretty good. Original, different, etc.

    I got this game for $35 through Groupon. Would recommend it if you like Batman:AA Batman: AC. Will update when I finish the game.
    Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    I was really anxious to play this game. I don't usually find out about games before they're released, but this one was different. I thoughtI was really anxious to play this game. I don't usually find out about games before they're released, but this one was different. I thought that the story seemed interesting, and so I got the game on it's release date. Right of the back I noticed it's unoriginal graphics. It is powered by the Unreal engine, but I was expecting something much more ground-breaking. The cut-scenes look lifeless, the voice actors give the characters very cliche personalities. As for the game-play, it's very monotonous. I loved remixing dreams, it's a very great, fresh idea. I would've loved the game to be based more on that. Sadly, it is overshadowed by dull combat mechanics, even on normal, I didn't have a challenge because of the healing pressens. The game tried to go for an Arkham City kind of game-play, but all that fails because of the enemies feeling like logs that you hit with sticks that are sketched over to look like arms and legs. I also had a few glitches playing with the controller, where the game would just send me in one direction, but I guess that's just a battery issue.

    The game doesn't provide an interesting story, but rather goes the safe way. It has very forgettable characters, and it doesn't make you care about Nillin. A very cliche story and monotonous game-play makes this game miss out on a spot in anyone's top 10 games of the year list, but it's still a fun game. Not really worth the 40 euro price tag though. 7/10
    Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2013
    0
    This game is a of Assassin's Creed and Prototype with a "new" twist; or it can be considered just a same old 3rd person "shooter" with a newThis game is a of Assassin's Creed and Prototype with a "new" twist; or it can be considered just a same old 3rd person "shooter" with a new storyline (shell).

    Graphics just OK on today's standard for a $50 3rd person shooter. Fun to pass-time when you got way too much time, nothing more.
    Expand

See all 239 User Reviews