User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 70
  2. Negative: 9 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    Some potential game-breaking tech issues aside (USB headset users beware) this is a cheeky little masterpiece. To call it old school or retro I think does it something of disservice, it's actually more original than that. Renegade Ops takes the old classics, then takes them to a modern level with co-op, persistent characters and tremendous graphics. The camera angle is familiar maybe, and the style of zooming round a large map taking care of different objectives is very Desert Strike (if you can remember that far back) but it's much more intense than any of the old Strike series, reminiscent of maybe an Ikari Warriors or Mercs style shooter. Of course it's a simple as a two piece jigsaw puzzle, get car, blow stuff up, but it's challenging and immense fun with it. It's a great example of a really fun game based on a really simple idea that is executed with care and attention to detail. Plus it's cheap like the budgie. I'm not giving it a ten because I think it's the best thing I ever played, but because I can't recommend it more highly. It's definitely worth a go. Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. Although it was released with some major bugs and glitches, that has all since been ironed out by the developer. Now that I can actually play the game, I am thrilled with it. The controls are awesome, though a control pad is a necessity! The missions have great pacing and are challenging. I have beaten the game once, and look forward to doing it many more times with each of the 5 playable characters. Online co-op is also a blast, although some times it can be difficult finding a game. Overall experience 10/10. Expand
  3. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Renegade ops. A name that explains itself and explains the game at the same time. Chaos, anarchy, weapons of mass destruction, all in the form of cars. As you play it is liberating and anger relieving to blow up tanks and cars, run yourself through buildings, and turn infantry units into roadkill. Renegade Ops offers various way of controlling your car through a game-pad or a keyboard, whatever suits your gaming style. The campaign has an interesting climax to it with a dry sense of humor as you complete primary and secondary objectives. Altogether, a great co op game you can play with your friends. For only $12,99 you get game that's worth $19,99. Expand
  4. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    really a fun title, reminds me on a mix of command&conquer and the old playstation one game vigilante 8 :D the graphics and animations are pretty nice to look at, the sounds are good too. the music is good, but i turned it off to hear the motor sounds better. in my eyes its, together with payday:the heist, the most underrated game 2011. you can play alone or in coop with friends. its worth the investment! Expand
  5. Dec 31, 2011
    9
    This game is just fantastic FUN without a lot of commitment required, but there are perks for those who are. I have three minor beefs that make this game a 9 instead of a 10. 1. You cannot rebind the keys. 2. It crashes from time to time. 3. Even if you adjust the master volume, the in-game voice acting volume remains the same as the windows volume (fail). Otherwise, this is excellent.
  6. Dec 26, 2011
    8
    Good old arcade shooter with amazing controls if you have a controller. Its a 9 game but being too short makes it 8. It has amazing visuals and nice coop mode so if you are looking for couch coop and you have controllers for everyone this is your game!
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    Renegade Ops is a good game, its good ol fashion arcade style. The graphics are good for a top view game, controls for pc are ok, managable anyway but the game is best played with a pc xbox controller (which i dont have but tryed it at a friends). I give this game a 7 because the music i didnt even notice cuz it really had no theme to the game. The gameplay can be frustrating since the vehicles slide all over and sometimes get stuck in places. and the upgrade system is pretty weak for example sometimes the first upgrade is far better than the last in a certain row, which was kinda wierd. Lastly the games replayability isnt really there...Difficulty is right in terms of easy medium and hard, story is good considering what the game is, ya thats it.

    WARNING: dont buy this off Steam, took me hours of work to get it running correctly, read the forums there if u dont believe me, lots are having the same problems....
    Expand
  8. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Fast paced action game of a little old school style. Graphics is simply astonishing when everything starts to explode everywhere around you. There is 4 player coop also for campaign which is not that common in these days. Sound quality only puts the whole experience to higher level. This game is totally worth of your money.
  9. Dec 25, 2011
    7
    Not for the epileptic or faint of heart; Renegade Ops is a game full of bright flashes, explosions and pretty much non-stop action with a story-line delivered in comic strip-style that will bring about a few chuckles and laughs. It is best played with 3 or more friends and although the game suggests that you use an Xbox controller, skilled keyboard- and mouse-users should be just fine. The reason the game suggests an Xbox controller is because the developers decided, probably while dreaming off about marrying his Xbox, to improperly implement vehicle steering with the keyboard. The helicopter, that you get to fly from time to time, works in the fashion you're used to (A for left, D for right, W for forward and S for reverse) but the car steers in a very odd manner which causes you to constantly have to rethink the controls. The game would have easily scored an 8 or a 9 if it hadn't been for this completely retarded design decision. It's also the games only flaw, other than that it's great fun leveling your character, blowing stuff up and bumping your friends off the road and into a ravine and if the game is too easy for you on "regular" you'll be pleasantly surprised with the "hardcore" difficulty. An absolute recommendation for any one who always thought Micro Machines would be a lot better if they came with Micro Guns. Expand
  10. Jul 21, 2013
    10
    Great game. You really need a controller pad for this game. (xbox 360) Awesome game to play with friends and blow stuff up.

    Well worth a 4-pack to play with friends, a very deep game as there is a stat tree where u can upgrade your vehicles and destroy stuff. From the creators of Just Cause 2 so the physics engine is bananers.
  11. Aug 9, 2012
    8
    Albeit short, Renegade Ops is a fast-paced throwback to old-school top-down exploratory arcade shooters. With great special effects, a well presented story and lots of different playable characters and builds, this game is great to play with friends via the co-op system. Definitely recommended to anyone hankering for a simple but memorable arcade game!
  12. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    Great classic game! The graphics are top notch for the art style and the gameplay is unreal. Love blowing stuff up. The upgrade system works well making you choose your play style rather than maxing out a character turning the game easy mode. There's enough challenge to come back to it again and again.
  13. Sep 23, 2012
    2
    when set to easy i would expect it to be easy and not start a time to finish the mission which you cant beat way to frustrating to not make it after a 100 try and you cant figure out how to beat that lvl so i give it a 2 the price is right for it nice shooter but it gets boring real quick if you cant beat it on easy lvl the controls are hard enough as it is
  14. Jun 30, 2012
    7
    Renegade Ops is fun on the normal difficulty, hardcore difficulty just ends up beinga frustrating time. A scoring system and level up system adds to replay value though two-thirds of the unlocks are the same thing for all the different drivers. The combat is fun and there are tactical elements that are implemented such as enemies taking more damage if you shoot at them from behind. The grahpics are also very nice and the explosions and destruction looks very good. The controls, though, are not that good, especially with a mouse and keyboard. The way the levels are designed and how you can only move in 8 directions, you are often running into walls or off cliffs. There is also no way to go in reverse, if you want to turn around your car has to go forward and then turn all the way around. This is very frustrating when you are on the edge of a fire pit or are i na narrow hallway and your character will be unable to turn around and will just skid along the wall. Some of the enemies really seem to be a bit over powered, especially rocket trucks and the difficulty significantly increases when you reach the final level. Overall it was a fun little game and is worth ~10 hours of gameplay. Expand
  15. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    only played half our of Gatling Gears. Because i found Renegade Ops, cooler action and happenings with athmosphere!. This game is A MA ZING Range Rover. Check. Mounted .50 cal machine gun. Check. Even bigger gun ready to spring out of the boot. Check. Driver's name is Gunnar. Check. Why hello there "Expendables, the game." how are you today? No, I'm not confusing the games here, this is the game that the Expendables license should have been slapped on, it has everything you could possibly want. Big over the top villains, a thoroughly ludicrous story, a main protagonist so masculine that you will feel testosterone seep out of the monitor, and a crew who either should be skydiving, in jail, or both.

    The game runs incredibly smoothly, even when there's a lot going on, and there's enough graphical whizzbangery combined with the over the top explosions (yes, everything blows up, and blows up spectacularly) that you'll feel like you just took a seat in a movie theater to be greeted by Sylvester Stalone and Jason Statham fistbumping. Athmospehre and feeling of great gameful action
    Expand
  16. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    Pretty good twin sticks arcade shooter. The story isn't a great thing, it's just listening to a bossy boss telling you to go here or there, kill that, rescue people. The main villain adds some drama though

    The controls are easy to learn (should take a look at the options first and activate tank steering), and even though all the drivers look the same, they have unique powers (and
    different skill trees).
    I generally play solo, and I enjoyed this one. Playing with friends is also nice, so you have nothing to worry

    Overall, I enjoyed the game. The story doesn't matter, it's a straight arcade shooter, just to have fun destroying stuff. The only problem is that the game seems a bit overpriced for what it offers, that's for both the game and the dlcs.
    So if this goes on sale, I recommend buying
    Expand
  17. Jul 9, 2014
    7
    This game have have nice graphics and story but it's controls are n't good much. It needs special game-pad and keyboard control is so bad, specially vehicle controls. Steering controls changing by vehicle rotation!! forward can be steer to left or right and backward become forward by vehicle rotation!!! the must awful control i ever seen in any game. It's good only with a good game-pad.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    82
    Say explosions. Say big guns. Say over the top kick-ass action. Say Renegade Ops. The top-down vehicle-based shooter puts a smile on your face if you grew up watching the action films from the 1980s. Havoc, destruction and mayhem – renegade operations have never been this entertaining before. [Feb 2012]
  2. 80
    Substantial portion of this fast paced action comes with great technical performance and offers an enjoyable 4-man cooperative mode. Main campaign would deserve longer duration though. [Christmas 2011]
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    70
    A bit outdated and a simple shooter game, bringing a few hours of an entertaining, action ride though. Still, there is a need for this type of game!