User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 233 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 233

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 27, 2014
    2
    This is another **** port. Fps always drop at crucial moments leaving you with massive input lag leading to many cheap deaths. This is some B.S , be ashamed crapcom.
  2. Mar 14, 2014
    1
    Wonderful game. However, it crashes so often that it's almost unplayable - I've attempted all possible graphics settings to no avail. None of the support links work - I get redirected to a Ubisoft (who produced this game) page that no doesn't exist. If they fix the many, many bugs I'll give this a good review. As of now, I'm angry that I spent $20 on an unplayable game.
  3. Apr 17, 2014
    3
    Menus still suck, bad aspect ratio, controls on the gamepad are illogical. Game might have a good story and such but it's barely playable. All other recent RE games are much better.
  4. Jun 22, 2015
    3
    The game looks very nice and interesting, but the controls just killed it for me. The mouse is terrible and you can't control the character right. It's another disappointing ps remake...
  5. Jul 31, 2015
    4
    Non è esattamente ciò che mi aspettavo. Non avendo mai giocato a nessun Resident Evil, pensavo si trattasse di un gioco ricco di atmosfera e che facesse abbastanza paura, o comunque che fosse un gioco ricco di suspense (ho giocato poco, è vero, ma ho già beccato i primi 2 o 3 """colpi di scena""" che avrebbero dovuto farmi paura o avrebbero dovuto stupirmi, ma vuoi l'audio vuoi leNon è esattamente ciò che mi aspettavo. Non avendo mai giocato a nessun Resident Evil, pensavo si trattasse di un gioco ricco di atmosfera e che facesse abbastanza paura, o comunque che fosse un gioco ricco di suspense (ho giocato poco, è vero, ma ho già beccato i primi 2 o 3 """colpi di scena""" che avrebbero dovuto farmi paura o avrebbero dovuto stupirmi, ma vuoi l'audio vuoi le animazioni e soprattutto i versi dei personaggi che sembrano frasi in spagnolo ripetute all'infinito sempre uguali identiche, nah). Questo gioco invece è più uno splatterone abbastanza ignorante, con un fight system anche simpatico. Non sarebbe niente male comunque, se questa versione per PC uscita nel 2014 fosse ... una versione PC degna del 2014. La telecamera è orribile, è fissa e NON si può muovere il personaggio e allo stesso tempo muovere la telecamera (cosa che secondo me è essenziale in questo gioco). Il sistema di mira è scadente, non è sempre facile mirare correttamente e si sbaglia spesso, non è centrato. Per cambiare l'arma occorre accedere al'inventario! Si avete letto bene, occorre premere TAB, selezionare l'arma, premere E, premere EQUIPAGGIA e riperemere TAB! Che bello! Considerato quanto spesso torna utile cambiare arma fare questa cosa 50 volte a sessione di gioco è stupido e ridicolo. Non si può regolare il field of view, che è bassissimo. Non si può giocare in prima persona. Non puoi schivare. Muoversi in battaglia è un'agonia, è scomodo. La UI è brutta persino per un gioco della sua età, potevano benissimo rimpicciolire le scritte e renderla al "passo coi tempi". Navigare nel menù è scomodo. Praticamente fare ogni cosa in questo gioco va da "un pochetto scomodo" a "mamma miaaaaa". Sconsigliata questa versione. Forse su PS2 o Gamecube nel 2005 meritava, anzi, effettivamente capisco il successo che ebbe 10 anni fa. Ma se mi riproponete una versione HD nel 2014, su PC, a pagamento, fatela per bene Cristo. Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2014
    3
    This is a port of a game from the xbox 360
    the options menu is terrible not supporting most 16:9 resoloutions and barely anything of substance.
    its not optimized for anything but high end nvidia cards. I have a amd 7480D gpu and a amd A4-5300B so i can barely play a game that honestly looks like crap at 15 frames on a good pc that can run skyrim 30 fps on high. This is better then the
    This is a port of a game from the xbox 360
    the options menu is terrible not supporting most 16:9 resoloutions and barely anything of substance.
    its not optimized for anything but high end nvidia cards.
    I have a amd 7480D gpu and a amd A4-5300B so i can barely play a game that honestly looks like crap at 15 frames on a good pc that can run skyrim 30 fps on high.
    This is better then the prevouis port but this is still a crap port.
    Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2016
    4
    I really don't understand what makes this game special for so many people. To me, it marks the point where resident evil starts going downhill, it's no longer about clever puzzles and being low on health and ammo and feeling the next step could very well be your last, instead this is more like a shooter were you are just shooting all the time against 1000 dudes on the outside, no fear, noI really don't understand what makes this game special for so many people. To me, it marks the point where resident evil starts going downhill, it's no longer about clever puzzles and being low on health and ammo and feeling the next step could very well be your last, instead this is more like a shooter were you are just shooting all the time against 1000 dudes on the outside, no fear, no horror, no anything, just shooting and shooting. And they even add a shop? What the hell, is this resident evil or Counter strike? The game kinda starts to get boring after the first two massacres. Also, you have "over the shoulder" perspective but the character moves like in old resident evils, it's SOOOO unintuitive.

    To finish, something really annoying was he fact that the action takes place in Spain and the voice actors are clearly speaking mexican dialect, it makes me feel the game is kind of a joke, they didn't even research anything about the place the game was taking place in?

    Overall, mediocre game and the PC port sux, even if graphically it's kinda nice even if it's old and the storyline is good despite the mexican thing kinda taking away the immersion I can't rate it more than 4.
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. May 14, 2014
    60
    Sadly the final score has to be lower than originally expected, at least until the developers can fix the issues. Resident Evil 4: Ultimate HD Edition is essentially the great PC version we've been waiting for all these years, it is priced quite reasonably and, under normal conditions, I would recommend the game wholeheartedly to fans of the series and newcomers alike, but not until all the bugs have been squashed. Until then, keep your money in your pockets.
  2. Apr 29, 2014
    90
    If you haven’t played Resident Evil 4, it’s still absolutely worth playing. It’s a definite classic that stands along with the likes of Half Life 2 as one of the best games of its generation.
  3. Apr 24, 2014
    88
    Resident Evil 4 is still one of the best games ever made, but less-than-ideal mouse and keyboard controls and a barely noticeable texture upgrade keep this PC port from being the ultimate version of this masterpiece that it could have been.