User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 206 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 206

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    7
    This game is amazing. This game is the definition of a horror game, in my opinion. The story line is well-written, and the voice acting is much better than that of the previous games. This game deserves a 10, but I give it a 7. The reason being is that it does not make for a good PC port. The controls are very hard to play on, and the aiming system is flawed. Aside from this, though itThis game is amazing. This game is the definition of a horror game, in my opinion. The story line is well-written, and the voice acting is much better than that of the previous games. This game deserves a 10, but I give it a 7. The reason being is that it does not make for a good PC port. The controls are very hard to play on, and the aiming system is flawed. Aside from this, though it does the horror genre and the Resident Evil series proud. This one is worth picking up and playing! Expand
  2. Technicha
    Oct 7, 2008
    7
    A really really awful port. But if you patch it and download a couple of mods this game can be enjoyable. The modding community really makes this game worth playing with using improved models, skins, layout changes and Mousemod.
  3. warrenduffy
    Jan 25, 2009
    7
    Like others said, there are a variety of community mods/enhancements that are free to download that make this game totally worth playing--new textures, a better lighting dynamic, even the cinematics have been improved. Capcom should've released it this way by themselves of course, but they cut corners and it looks like junk. After installing said enhancements, I compared it to my oldLike others said, there are a variety of community mods/enhancements that are free to download that make this game totally worth playing--new textures, a better lighting dynamic, even the cinematics have been improved. Capcom should've released it this way by themselves of course, but they cut corners and it looks like junk. After installing said enhancements, I compared it to my old PS2 version--whoa! Without a doubt, community modders have come to the rescue and have almost made this bad PC port of a LAST GEN game (almost) look as good as pretty as a THIS GEN game. You don't need a killer rig to run the enhancements either. For the "Basic Community Patch" (or the "Ultimate Community Patch" for those with higher-end video cards), just Google "Resident Evil Community Patch." Enjoy! I sure am. Expand
  4. CarlH.
    Aug 14, 2007
    6
    The only decent aspect of this game is the shooting, everything else was bad, really bad. The characters are some of the cheesiest, corniest and lamest ive ever witnessed in a game, such awful dialogue. The graphics were terrible, missing many effects that completely detracted from the overall experience and no mouse support? Terrible, just terrible.
  5. Dec 4, 2011
    6
    this game is fun and great but got harmed by a controller zombies,Controller was a painful and i should waste my money for a controller.And i didn`t see any changes between PS2 and PC,it was same thing.Graphics and videos was still Low Detail....And i think consider this game was a lousy port.
  6. TomG.
    Apr 28, 2007
    5
    A great game, but a mediocre port to the PC. Numerous technical flaws make the PC port... how do you say... suck.
  7. Konron
    May 17, 2007
    5
    A bad port of an otherwise great game. After Capcom patched the game, they added shading and lighting and other visual effects that were originally missing, but it still doesn't look as good as the Gamecube version. You'd best have a PC controller if you really must play this, because it has no native mouse support, but there is a third-party mouse support patch out there that A bad port of an otherwise great game. After Capcom patched the game, they added shading and lighting and other visual effects that were originally missing, but it still doesn't look as good as the Gamecube version. You'd best have a PC controller if you really must play this, because it has no native mouse support, but there is a third-party mouse support patch out there that isn't so good. Pray that they add mouse support and better graphics quality when they release it in North America. Expand
  8. JonT.
    Jul 28, 2007
    6
    Yea, Capcom looked like they didnt really concentrate on the game that much. I tried installing it on my Windows Vista, and everything worked fine, the graphics, movie schenes and all,but the one thing that bothered me was the gameplay. When u move the person, theres like glitches in the game. In the PS2 and GC version when u move him its nice and smooth, while in the PC version, its Yea, Capcom looked like they didnt really concentrate on the game that much. I tried installing it on my Windows Vista, and everything worked fine, the graphics, movie schenes and all,but the one thing that bothered me was the gameplay. When u move the person, theres like glitches in the game. In the PS2 and GC version when u move him its nice and smooth, while in the PC version, its slow. Did anyone had trouble with it on a Windows Vista? Expand
  9. AnthonyN.
    Aug 2, 2007
    6
    No Mouse Control.
  10. KurtK.
    Aug 4, 2007
    5
    + for good Graphics, good character models + for best implementation of escort missions, unlike other games the escorted character doesn't get into to the line of fire and you can hide the person into a trunk + for many hours of gameplay + for weapons + for replayability + for "STRANGJAAAR" and "WELLLLLCOMMMMMME" - for tanklike controls, i dont mind the missing mouse support (doom I + for good Graphics, good character models + for best implementation of escort missions, unlike other games the escorted character doesn't get into to the line of fire and you can hide the person into a trunk + for many hours of gameplay + for weapons + for replayability + for "STRANGJAAAR" and "WELLLLLCOMMMMMME" - for tanklike controls, i dont mind the missing mouse support (doom I & doom II didnt have mouse controls) but even with a gamepad i especially for this game it feels like i am controlling a tank with a cow sitting on its turret and a two fat men sitting on cow. - for these stupid parts of the game where you have to press certain or multiple buttons very fast and the message on the screen says something like "press button 1 and 3" no matter what your key/button bindings are - you cant shoot and run/strafe - what the hell ? In Silent Hill 2,3 and 4 you can walk/run and shoot depending on the weapon - so dont tell me it is because RE4 is a console game - the 3rd Person view is very disturbing, normally i always prefer 3rd person view to 1rst person view, maybe it is the distance or the elevation angle but i cant see sh.t ( games with better 3dprs. view are: Silen Hill 1-4, Max Payne 1-2, gothic I-III ....). Expand
  11. JackD.
    May 22, 2007
    6
    WHen i heard PC RE4 i was so excited. I am very disappointed. the first thing i did was amp my resolution up. but the graphics are horrible! i mean come on! Its a PC game. it should be better. The controls are horrible. 1, 2, 3, 4? i dont even know what those are. and No MOUSE?! how did they think this would work. Microsoft should just do this game again for the 360. it would look better WHen i heard PC RE4 i was so excited. I am very disappointed. the first thing i did was amp my resolution up. but the graphics are horrible! i mean come on! Its a PC game. it should be better. The controls are horrible. 1, 2, 3, 4? i dont even know what those are. and No MOUSE?! how did they think this would work. Microsoft should just do this game again for the 360. it would look better and have both parts. Expand
  12. WillT.
    Jul 22, 2007
    5
    RE4 is probably the most over-rated game in the past 10 years. I have played this version as well as the PS2 version and neither are much fun. The game's difficulty is derived from the slow and constrained control scheme more than anything else.
  13. HashMyth
    Aug 5, 2007
    6
    All I have to say is that this game was fun but the controls are lame, and for all complaints about the gfx looking crappy, when you first start the game with the auto load screen... CLICK ON SETUP idiots... I had my rez at 1600x1200 and it made the PS2 version look like crap... Also there is a patch out there, I dident play without the patch and thats what made it look way better. a 6 All I have to say is that this game was fun but the controls are lame, and for all complaints about the gfx looking crappy, when you first start the game with the auto load screen... CLICK ON SETUP idiots... I had my rez at 1600x1200 and it made the PS2 version look like crap... Also there is a patch out there, I dident play without the patch and thats what made it look way better. a 6 out of 10 due to the messed up controler issue. PS: I have a Saitek keyboard and the damn game wont pick up anything else for a game controler but the keyboards extra game pad... Capcom has no idea how to make a console game for a PC. Expand
  14. GlennM.
    Jan 6, 2008
    5
    If you liked Resident Evil 4 for the PS2 this is almost identical, right down to the lousy control scheme that ties the run to the reload. In a game where you want to run all the time and never walk, it makes it impossible to set a controller to always run. If you have a programmable controller, you will HAVE to press 2 buttons to run or you will be constantly reloading when you If you liked Resident Evil 4 for the PS2 this is almost identical, right down to the lousy control scheme that ties the run to the reload. In a game where you want to run all the time and never walk, it makes it impossible to set a controller to always run. If you have a programmable controller, you will HAVE to press 2 buttons to run or you will be constantly reloading when you don't want to. Another game without fully reconfigurable controls, drops it from a 10 to a frustrating 5. Expand
  15. PeteW.
    Apr 24, 2008
    5
    I will never buy capcom again---this game is pathetic and was only released for the pc to STEAL money from gamers!
  16. JimmusM.
    Apr 24, 2007
    6
    A direct port from the Playstation 2 game, which was a direct port from the Nintendo Gamecube, as far as I know. Capcom continues to crap out unoptimized ports for the PC and wondering why nobody buys their games. Resident Evil 4 is one of my all-time favorite Playstation 2 games - good graphics, decent controls (for the PS2), less cheesy dialogue, and a great gameplay mechanic. Simply A direct port from the Playstation 2 game, which was a direct port from the Nintendo Gamecube, as far as I know. Capcom continues to crap out unoptimized ports for the PC and wondering why nobody buys their games. Resident Evil 4 is one of my all-time favorite Playstation 2 games - good graphics, decent controls (for the PS2), less cheesy dialogue, and a great gameplay mechanic. Simply one of the best "survival horror" games around. This game had great potential on the PC, if they had implemented high graphics resolutions and color-depth, sound improvements like EAX, and given it a mouse-driven control scheme. Instead, they did texture conversions that make everything look repetitive, dull and washed-out; you need to configure a gamepad, or fight with keyboard controls for their headscratching decision to make almost all actions require two buttons/keys pressed, as in aiming with one button, and shooting with another. Why not change the game enough to use "Quake Keys" (WASD) and a mouse? Beyond your programming abilities, Capcom? The game is fun, to be sure, but it could have been superior on the PC, and it could have sold a good number of copies. As it is, it joins the long line of craptastic Capcom hack-jobs, all of which will only remembered for how poor they were. And finally, the game is renamed from Resident Evil 4 to Biohazard 4. Nevermind the fact that there are no Biohazards 1-3, but there were two other crappy ports of Resident Evil 2&3 for the PC. This only confirms that Capcom is sloppy and hoping to sling its titles out for PC gamers who knew the games from console systems. Expand
  17. PeterA.
    Jun 27, 2007
    5
    This game was seriously disappointing. The lack of customizing the controls, the fixed low resolution, and lack of mouse support really killed this game for me. This is probably the worst port I've seen to the PC in quite some time.
  18. DaveW.
    Aug 25, 2007
    5
    This game is pretty for a Gamecube game and pretty for a PS2 game. However it lacks the depth in gameplay, story, and atmosphere of earlier titles in the series making it a very average game.
  19. Aug 17, 2012
    6
    I didn't play the console versions, but this one is OK. Resident Evil 4 on PC haves fancy graphics, but the controls are complicated. Resident Evil 4 on PC, is just like copying the Gamecube version, and putting in the PC, with the same controls tutorial, where in PC the controls are showed from Gamecube controls. Still, fun and addictive. 69 out of 100
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. It's a simple port of a console game and as such is best played on a console.
  2. The best bit is that you can experience the whole story again through the eyes of a completely different character, thus unwrapping further details about the plot. This kind of storytelling is not found too often and it was certainly a pleasure to undertake.
  3. This is actually technically inferior to the console versions, and it badly hurts the experience. Just because it works on the PC doesn't make it a PC game - ask for your fiver back, Capcom. [Apr 2007, p.84]