Resident Evil 4 PC

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 236 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 236
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Saigouno
    Sep 8, 2007
    9
    For those who think this game is bad in graphic and worse in gameplay controls,Let me tell you something:dont try to complain about the gameplay controls if it is you yourself who dont have the ablity to adapt to it.dont claim yourselves as a gamer if you dont have the ability to play with keypads.RE4 wont be rated high in the Ps2 console if it is a worse game.And for graphics...do you For those who think this game is bad in graphic and worse in gameplay controls,Let me tell you something:dont try to complain about the gameplay controls if it is you yourself who dont have the ablity to adapt to it.dont claim yourselves as a gamer if you dont have the ability to play with keypads.RE4 wont be rated high in the Ps2 console if it is a worse game.And for graphics...do you know what is call a good graphic...i assume that you dont know.graphics with smooth textures is not consider as good,it can only be called pretty.only the graphics that can show the style and feeling of the game can be called good.We play games with our mind ,not our eyes,shallow minds...And the story ,characters:dont try to said the story is poor if you have not played the whole series be cause you dont have what it takes to said so.This story is continuing the unfinished story of RE2 and RE Veronica,so dont try to give comments if you haven played them before.no strafe ,cannot turn quickly...that is where the callenge is.if you are always relying for a mouse aiming then go to play counter strikes .mouse aimings are for novices.mlm Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    I'm a hardcore PC gamer and I don't usually confused about the controls. I played it with keyboard and that's a good challenge for me. The graphics are cool but others says it sucks, I admit the cut-scene was low quality and what's important is it's story. The story is enjoyable, the gameplay are great, and the puzzles are challenging too. I don't really give high rating in games but theI'm a hardcore PC gamer and I don't usually confused about the controls. I played it with keyboard and that's a good challenge for me. The graphics are cool but others says it sucks, I admit the cut-scene was low quality and what's important is it's story. The story is enjoyable, the gameplay are great, and the puzzles are challenging too. I don't really give high rating in games but the reason I give it 10 is because it's challenge me as a PC gamer. Expand
  3. EK
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    With all the negative reviews, I thought I would add my 2 pennies worth. I really had a blast playing this game. The story was engrosing and action non-stop. Above all, this game did what it was meant to do...ENTERTAIN. But playing this console port with a gamepad really is a must. I can understand why people are frustrated with the lack of mouse aiming and there is a mouse mod out there, With all the negative reviews, I thought I would add my 2 pennies worth. I really had a blast playing this game. The story was engrosing and action non-stop. Above all, this game did what it was meant to do...ENTERTAIN. But playing this console port with a gamepad really is a must. I can understand why people are frustrated with the lack of mouse aiming and there is a mouse mod out there, but even so I have avoided it and played with a pad. I feel it may have made gameplay too easy with mouse aiming and tedious to play like the House of the Dead games on the PC. The pad proves quite vital for the essential dodging that you have to do too. What's more, RE4 is budget priced and together with a decent gamepad costs not much more than a full priced game...and that pad might come in handy for other games in your collection too! Even so, aiming is a little too sensitive with the pad and I don't know how it compares to the console versions, but it is a heck of a lot easier than playing with the keyboard. Graphically, it may not compare with the latest PC shooters, but they were atmospheric, everything moved nicely. And of course remember to add the patch for full effects ( the US version comes already patched) The game runs stable and the resolution CAN be altered. Unfortunately the cut scenes are low-res and not real time like the GC version. All in all, this is a great action game with good repeat play potential and what with the extras theres a lot of content to play through. If you don't have a gamepad and don't intend to buy one, then you might want to avoid RE4. If you do, this game is a joy to play. Thanks UbiSoft and Capcom for bringing this console classic to the PC. Expand
  4. LokeszH.
    Jun 13, 2007
    8
    This is a a pleasure to play. The game has a nice story and the opponants are a lot of fun. Sound and visuals contribute a lot to a feeling of immersion. Graphics are a bit outdated. The original was build in 2004 and it shows. Stil it is very beautiful and the simplistic textures don't spoil anything. The sound isn't always placed in the right spot. Sometimes you hear someone This is a a pleasure to play. The game has a nice story and the opponants are a lot of fun. Sound and visuals contribute a lot to a feeling of immersion. Graphics are a bit outdated. The original was build in 2004 and it shows. Stil it is very beautiful and the simplistic textures don't spoil anything. The sound isn't always placed in the right spot. Sometimes you hear someone who is already somwere else. Just minor bugs. Controls are a bit tedious. I use a gamepad but movement isn't analog. The joystick has one speed for running and for turning. The analog controls are there cause when you are aiming you can control the speed of the gun. But I don't feel very comfortable with it. After a while you get used but it isn't the strong point of the game. One strong point are the opponants. There are a lot of strange creatures that require different tactics to oppose. I remember battling a slow, blind man who swings large sharp blades in a cramped room! The other strong point is the environment. I found the finest creepy graveyard I ever met in a game. Buildings often have beautiful interiors (ugly's also). In the beginning of the game I just walked through a nice village with some peasants at work ... Looked very nice and peacefull at first. If you want to know what happens next than you should try it for yourself. Expand
  5. JoeS.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Despite not having mouse support, or lacking shaders before the patch, this game runs and controlls superbly with a Xbox 360 controller. Sure the graphics are horrible compared to todays games, but it is a fun game if you can get past the cheasy-ness of everything.
  6. LukeI
    Aug 15, 2008
    8
    I gave this game 8 instead of a 10 for a few reasons. 1. S***est controls ever! You need to have 58 fingers before you find the control scheme 'EASY' 2. Graphics! GameCube wins here! Notice that they are blocky; after to killing a Ganado I thought he was wearing tissue boxes painted brown instead of shoes! And it's stupidly easy to tell what your can pickup or interact I gave this game 8 instead of a 10 for a few reasons. 1. S***est controls ever! You need to have 58 fingers before you find the control scheme 'EASY' 2. Graphics! GameCube wins here! Notice that they are blocky; after to killing a Ganado I thought he was wearing tissue boxes painted brown instead of shoes! And it's stupidly easy to tell what your can pickup or interact with! What with the light brown barrels and everything else GREY. 3. Cutscenes! Horrible FMVs with the crappest quality! But, then again, most of this can be fixed! MouseAim Patch: CHECK GameCube Graphics Patch: CHECK FMV Into In-Game Graphics: NO CHECK :( And no zombies! Isn't this what RE is all about? I mean, keep the new Camera Angle and Aiming (Not just UP, LEVEL, DOWN !!!) but make it a zombie game! This game is definatly more Action than Horror/Adventure. But all in all, given the Added extras, and mods, 8/10 is a sufficient rating. Good work Capcom, But Resident Evil 2 was just soo much better. Expand
  7. GavG.
    May 21, 2007
    9
    I have to disagree with most of the other posts here. I had this game on GC & would give that version a perfect 10. The PC version loses only one point from me, because yes I guess people do want a mouse control option, which it oddly lacks, and the graphics technically could be better. Having said that, it works beautifully with a gamepad (I use an XBox 360 controller) and the graphics I have to disagree with most of the other posts here. I had this game on GC & would give that version a perfect 10. The PC version loses only one point from me, because yes I guess people do want a mouse control option, which it oddly lacks, and the graphics technically could be better. Having said that, it works beautifully with a gamepad (I use an XBox 360 controller) and the graphics are definitely superior to the GC & any other console version of the game. They give you almost no gfx options to play around with (other than resolution basically) but as I said I think it looks significantly better than the very nice-looking GC version, and runs very well on my year-old, now mid-spec PC. Never slows down, loads very quickly & everything looks crisper than it did on GC. In summary I'm just confused why both the critics & fans are generally slating this excellent PC game. People who haven't played / owned this on a console really should not overlook this very good game. Expand
  8. AdamS.
    May 20, 2007
    8
    A phenomenal game, whether on console or PC. Surprised at how many people are bashing this game thanks to a few minor (albeit inexcusable) mistakes on Ubisoft / Capcom's part. The dark texture issue has been resolved with a patch. Textures as a whole are pretty muddy, but not bad enough to send me running for the hills. The resolution is completely acceptable at 1024 x 768. Sound A phenomenal game, whether on console or PC. Surprised at how many people are bashing this game thanks to a few minor (albeit inexcusable) mistakes on Ubisoft / Capcom's part. The dark texture issue has been resolved with a patch. Textures as a whole are pretty muddy, but not bad enough to send me running for the hills. The resolution is completely acceptable at 1024 x 768. Sound could be better, but does the job. And the biggest issue, the control scheme, is certainly aggravating at times (have fun aiming with the wasd keys as opposed to a proper analog device) but still acceptable. Played all the way through, and had a phenomenal time experiencing RE4 all over again on the PC. I feel that people are rating this game based on what Ubisoft could have / should have done with the port, and that's a shame, as it might scare away some PC owners from experiencing one of the best games ever made. Expand
  9. RichS.
    May 22, 2007
    9
    I don't see why people are complaining about the graphics so much... It's a port, what should you realistically be expecting to get? Before the patch I do agree that the graphics were bad, but hey, that's why they made a patch. It is pretty much required to have a controller to play this game, but if you own a PC and play any sports game then you most likely have one (or if I don't see why people are complaining about the graphics so much... It's a port, what should you realistically be expecting to get? Before the patch I do agree that the graphics were bad, but hey, that's why they made a patch. It is pretty much required to have a controller to play this game, but if you own a PC and play any sports game then you most likely have one (or if you're like me 3) already. When buying a port, especially from Capcom, don't expect them to reinvent the wheel because they're just not going to do it because it's not going to make them as much money and that's what it's all about for them because they're a BUSINESS. Expand
  10. SDP.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Excellent mix of puzzles and action. Once you finish the game the "professional" mode is unlocked as well as other extras. Great game!
  11. SaloM.
    Mar 7, 2008
    8
    This game is and will be, for many generations, one of the best games ever crafted... right?... RIGHT!?... For the PC, it may not... the gameplay, storyline, and everything (from the PS2 version) remains untouched (thank god), and, unfortunately, the graphics also remained untouched... This was one of the selling points back in the GameCube version, and the PC version just lack all the This game is and will be, for many generations, one of the best games ever crafted... right?... RIGHT!?... For the PC, it may not... the gameplay, storyline, and everything (from the PS2 version) remains untouched (thank god), and, unfortunately, the graphics also remained untouched... This was one of the selling points back in the GameCube version, and the PC version just lack all the Oomph that the GC had. If your machine can handle Crysis (like mine :D), you may be a bit disappointed about the graphics, but if you can bare with it, you'll get one of the best games ever created. Expand
  12. MichaelM.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Completely different than the rest of the games. Can't believe how they changed the story and the game play was awesome.
  13. Alex
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is very immersive and it's hard This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is very immersive and it's hard to put it down. Expand
  14. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    The port itself was not so great, but with a couple mods (Mouse Aiming, Hi-Res and Improved Textures) It becomes the best version of the game. My main gripe is that the quick time event buttons are numbered actions, instead of the name of the action or a picture of the key it is related to.
  15. Jan 18, 2012
    8
    Peut-etre un dès meilleur jeu de zombi que j'ai jouer, mais surement pas les meilleur graphismes cependant améliorer depuis le patch 2.0 , seulement 30 FPS ça pique les yeux.
    je conseille fortement d'avoir une manette PC car pour les combinaisons de touche il est difficile de les trouver du premier coup
  16. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Use a gamepad and it's instantly as good as it is on consoles. The graphics are slightly better, and with one of the many available texture packs it's much better. The FMV looks terrible but the PC version is the best of this outstanding game.
  17. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    Wow! What an amazing game it is! This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is veryWow! What an amazing game it is! This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is very immersive and it's hard to put it down. Expand
  18. sLm
    Oct 17, 2012
    9
    It took me a whole school grade to complete it. It was long, scary, and it took place at Spain XDDD I can't ask for anything else, it's just an awesome game.
  19. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Dear capcom just do a one good thing in your life and give us a good PC port of RE4!
    Is it to hard to make a new PC port and release it on Steam?
    I think no.
  20. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    When I bought this game about 5 years ago, I did not expect that I will still play it today. Easily one of the best games of the past decade. A lot of people hate the PC version for the controls and the lack of mouse support. For me the controls add the much needed difficulty, that today's games are lacking (few exceptions of course). Mastering the gameplay and completing the story inWhen I bought this game about 5 years ago, I did not expect that I will still play it today. Easily one of the best games of the past decade. A lot of people hate the PC version for the controls and the lack of mouse support. For me the controls add the much needed difficulty, that today's games are lacking (few exceptions of course). Mastering the gameplay and completing the story in professional mode for the first time was incredibly rewarding. I can't compare it to other versions, since I haven't played them, but I would still choose the PC version because I think it's the ultimate hardcore gaming experience (since then I played it with a controller too, but I still like to play it with keyboard as well). I also like aspects, like you can't move when you shoot and the realistic aiming. The level design is great, to be able to find the most efficient strategy against the monsters, takes a great deal of patience and trials. Needs a deeper understanding of how they work in their environment and you have to learn exactly where they are come from and how many of them in each level. This way you can learn, which kind of ammunition needs to be saved up for certain parts. The presentation is also great, with the eerie settings, chilling soundtrack and memorable and scary enemies. The story is not really special, but somehow it's very engaging and long too. This is the perfect TPS and a gaming experience that shouldn't be missed. Expand
  21. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    the story involves you playing as leon kennedy, some might remember from resident evil 2. it basically involves you investigating a mysterious new virus that spread in europe and the president's daughter of the usa, gets kidnapped. gameplay controls are not that good to be honest. feels really blocky, but the aiming is okay. lots of crazed zombies to fight, they are faster moving thanthe story involves you playing as leon kennedy, some might remember from resident evil 2. it basically involves you investigating a mysterious new virus that spread in europe and the president's daughter of the usa, gets kidnapped. gameplay controls are not that good to be honest. feels really blocky, but the aiming is okay. lots of crazed zombies to fight, they are faster moving than resident evil 3 and require better control. music and graphics are solid, it definitely looks like a port from ps2 but its still solid. no support for 360 controller so using a keyboard and mouse can be problematic at times for console ported games. Expand
  22. Sep 10, 2015
    10
    This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is very immersive and it's hard to put it down.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. It's a simple port of a console game and as such is best played on a console.
  2. The best bit is that you can experience the whole story again through the eyes of a completely different character, thus unwrapping further details about the plot. This kind of storytelling is not found too often and it was certainly a pleasure to undertake.
  3. This is actually technically inferior to the console versions, and it badly hurts the experience. Just because it works on the PC doesn't make it a PC game - ask for your fiver back, Capcom. [Apr 2007, p.84]