User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 180 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 180

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    This is where RE series started to go wrong changing from a survival horror into a action shooter. Still ignoring the RE in the title its still a very fun game to play.
  2. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    Grafika je slaba kao i kontrole, ali zato priča sa puno zapleta, pravovremenim animacijama, odlično osmišljenim protivnicima, odličnim izborom oružja kao i unaprijeđenje istih.
  3. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Dear capcom just do a one good thing in your life and give us a good PC port of RE4!
    Is it to hard to make a new PC port and release it on Steam?
    I think no.
  4. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    When I bought this game about 5 years ago, I did not expect that I will still play it today. Easily one of the best games of the past decade. A lot of people hate the PC version for the controls and the lack of mouse support. For me the controls add the much needed difficulty, that today's games are lacking (few exceptions of course). Mastering the gameplay and completing the story in professional mode for the first time was incredibly rewarding. I can't compare it to other versions, since I haven't played them, but I would still choose the PC version because I think it's the ultimate hardcore gaming experience (since then I played it with a controller too, but I still like to play it with keyboard as well). I also like aspects, like you can't move when you shoot and the realistic aiming. The level design is great, to be able to find the most efficient strategy against the monsters, takes a great deal of patience and trials. Needs a deeper understanding of how they work in their environment and you have to learn exactly where they are come from and how many of them in each level. This way you can learn, which kind of ammunition needs to be saved up for certain parts. The presentation is also great, with the eerie settings, chilling soundtrack and memorable and scary enemies. The story is not really special, but somehow it's very engaging and long too. This is the perfect TPS and a gaming experience that shouldn't be missed. Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    the story involves you playing as leon kennedy, some might remember from resident evil 2. it basically involves you investigating a mysterious new virus that spread in europe and the president's daughter of the usa, gets kidnapped. gameplay controls are not that good to be honest. feels really blocky, but the aiming is okay. lots of crazed zombies to fight, they are faster moving than resident evil 3 and require better control. music and graphics are solid, it definitely looks like a port from ps2 but its still solid. no support for 360 controller so using a keyboard and mouse can be problematic at times for console ported games. Expand
  6. sLm
    Oct 17, 2012
    9
    It took me a whole school grade to complete it. It was long, scary, and it took place at Spain XDDD I can't ask for anything else, it's just an awesome game.
  7. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    I'm a hardcore PC gamer and I don't usually confused about the controls. I played it with keyboard and that's a good challenge for me. The graphics are cool but others says it sucks, I admit the cut-scene was low quality and what's important is it's story. The story is enjoyable, the gameplay are great, and the puzzles are challenging too. I don't really give high rating in games but the reason I give it 10 is because it's challenge me as a PC gamer. Expand
  8. Aug 17, 2012
    6
    I didn't play the console versions, but this one is OK. Resident Evil 4 on PC haves fancy graphics, but the controls are complicated. Resident Evil 4 on PC, is just like copying the Gamecube version, and putting in the PC, with the same controls tutorial, where in PC the controls are showed from Gamecube controls. Still, fun and addictive. 69 out of 100
  9. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    Wow! What an amazing game it is! This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is very immersive and it's hard to put it down. Expand
  10. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Use a gamepad and it's instantly as good as it is on consoles. The graphics are slightly better, and with one of the many available texture packs it's much better. The FMV looks terrible but the PC version is the best of this outstanding game.
  11. Mar 14, 2012
    1
    Overrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. Buy Resident Evil Outbreak, Resident Evil Code veronica, or Resident evil Operation Raccoon City INstead! Expand
  12. Jan 18, 2012
    8
    Peut-etre un dès meilleur jeu de zombi que j'ai jouer, mais surement pas les meilleur graphismes cependant améliorer depuis le patch 2.0 , seulement 30 FPS ça pique les yeux.
    je conseille fortement d'avoir une manette PC car pour les combinaisons de touche il est difficile de les trouver du premier coup
  13. Dec 4, 2011
    6
    this game is fun and great but got harmed by a controller zombies,Controller was a painful and i should waste my money for a controller.And i didn`t see any changes between PS2 and PC,it was same thing.Graphics and videos was still Low Detail....And i think consider this game was a lousy port.
  14. Nov 28, 2011
    7
    This game is amazing. This game is the definition of a horror game, in my opinion. The story line is well-written, and the voice acting is much better than that of the previous games. This game deserves a 10, but I give it a 7. The reason being is that it does not make for a good PC port. The controls are very hard to play on, and the aiming system is flawed. Aside from this, though it does the horror genre and the Resident Evil series proud. This one is worth picking up and playing! Collapse
  15. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    The port itself was not so great, but with a couple mods (Mouse Aiming, Hi-Res and Improved Textures) It becomes the best version of the game. My main gripe is that the quick time event buttons are numbered actions, instead of the name of the action or a picture of the key it is related to.
  16. Nov 28, 2011
    0
    This game is amazing. This game is the definition of a horror game, in my opinion. The story line is well-written, and the voice acting is much better than that of the previous games. This game deserves a 10, but I give it a 7. The reason being is that it does not make for a good PC port. The controls are very hard to play on, and the aiming system is flawed. Aside from this, though it does the horror genre and the Resident Evil series proud. This one is worth picking up and playing! Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. It's a simple port of a console game and as such is best played on a console.
  2. The best bit is that you can experience the whole story again through the eyes of a completely different character, thus unwrapping further details about the plot. This kind of storytelling is not found too often and it was certainly a pleasure to undertake.
  3. This is actually technically inferior to the console versions, and it badly hurts the experience. Just because it works on the PC doesn't make it a PC game - ask for your fiver back, Capcom. [Apr 2007, p.84]