User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 204 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 204

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 13, 2014
    3
    RE 1 and 2 were clearly major hits that propelled the series into almost countless novels, comic books, movies, merchandise and of course all the spin-off games. Once the series made it to RE2, Capcom of course released RE 3, which wasn't hated... but it was boring. Which is probably the worst insult you can give to a video game. At least if you hate something you are mad because youRE 1 and 2 were clearly major hits that propelled the series into almost countless novels, comic books, movies, merchandise and of course all the spin-off games. Once the series made it to RE2, Capcom of course released RE 3, which wasn't hated... but it was boring. Which is probably the worst insult you can give to a video game. At least if you hate something you are mad because you wanted something else or something more. It was clear to Capcom that just using the original formula of survival horror wasn't going to work for RE4. This is where everything changed for the series, and quite dramatically, not minor.

    It was the first time ammo conservation was too easy, especially for a seasoned RE player. The voice acting in this one was quite bad, considering how it was their first triple A release. The Spanish characters speak using some generic English accent and often say 'bloke', which is an Australian term. According to Americans, all people outside of America (Capcom's translation team) are a conglomerate of random things merely outside of America.I get that the voice acting in RE1 was horrible, but the funding was very low and it was a game from 1996, not 2005.

    The game was far from scary as it was trying too hard to entertain. Seeing "zombies" place traps and pick up chainsaws turned the initial (and anticipated) opening experience from bread and butter zombie fighting to just silly, over-the-top, juvenile attempts at horror. As the game progressed on, it shifted into an even worse, bad, pre-juvenille Halloween scare-show that your parents would take you to. Every monster was trying too hard to scare you, and that just defeated the purpose immediately. What made the originally RE games scary was the remote feeling of being left behind with zombies, not on some kind of freak show where monsters from every bad 80's movie keep calling you over to look at them like an attention starved drama queen.

    And the I think the worst insult I can give this game is that it was BORING. I couldn't bring myself to play it after 10 hours or so. Capcom just took a giant dookie on this game, and copied the same crap that Konami was doing for Resident Evil ("epic" boss fights against giants, cinema like cut scenes which make no sense in a survival horror game). It was Capcom's all out attempt to re-make a game that was amazing when it first came out and when challanged with making something new and good again they failed both times. First with RE:3, which was just a boring, hastily put together copy of RE:2, and then with RE:4 which was just a re-done franchise and almost near copy of every generic PS2 action game.
    Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2013
    10
    Dear capcom just do a one good thing in your life and give us a good PC port of RE4!
    Is it to hard to make a new PC port and release it on Steam?
    I think no.
  3. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    When I bought this game about 5 years ago, I did not expect that I will still play it today. Easily one of the best games of the past decade. A lot of people hate the PC version for the controls and the lack of mouse support. For me the controls add the much needed difficulty, that today's games are lacking (few exceptions of course). Mastering the gameplay and completing the story inWhen I bought this game about 5 years ago, I did not expect that I will still play it today. Easily one of the best games of the past decade. A lot of people hate the PC version for the controls and the lack of mouse support. For me the controls add the much needed difficulty, that today's games are lacking (few exceptions of course). Mastering the gameplay and completing the story in professional mode for the first time was incredibly rewarding. I can't compare it to other versions, since I haven't played them, but I would still choose the PC version because I think it's the ultimate hardcore gaming experience (since then I played it with a controller too, but I still like to play it with keyboard as well). I also like aspects, like you can't move when you shoot and the realistic aiming. The level design is great, to be able to find the most efficient strategy against the monsters, takes a great deal of patience and trials. Needs a deeper understanding of how they work in their environment and you have to learn exactly where they are come from and how many of them in each level. This way you can learn, which kind of ammunition needs to be saved up for certain parts. The presentation is also great, with the eerie settings, chilling soundtrack and memorable and scary enemies. The story is not really special, but somehow it's very engaging and long too. This is the perfect TPS and a gaming experience that shouldn't be missed. Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    the story involves you playing as leon kennedy, some might remember from resident evil 2. it basically involves you investigating a mysterious new virus that spread in europe and the president's daughter of the usa, gets kidnapped. gameplay controls are not that good to be honest. feels really blocky, but the aiming is okay. lots of crazed zombies to fight, they are faster moving thanthe story involves you playing as leon kennedy, some might remember from resident evil 2. it basically involves you investigating a mysterious new virus that spread in europe and the president's daughter of the usa, gets kidnapped. gameplay controls are not that good to be honest. feels really blocky, but the aiming is okay. lots of crazed zombies to fight, they are faster moving than resident evil 3 and require better control. music and graphics are solid, it definitely looks like a port from ps2 but its still solid. no support for 360 controller so using a keyboard and mouse can be problematic at times for console ported games. Expand
  5. sLm
    Oct 17, 2012
    9
    It took me a whole school grade to complete it. It was long, scary, and it took place at Spain XDDD I can't ask for anything else, it's just an awesome game.
  6. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    I'm a hardcore PC gamer and I don't usually confused about the controls. I played it with keyboard and that's a good challenge for me. The graphics are cool but others says it sucks, I admit the cut-scene was low quality and what's important is it's story. The story is enjoyable, the gameplay are great, and the puzzles are challenging too. I don't really give high rating in games but theI'm a hardcore PC gamer and I don't usually confused about the controls. I played it with keyboard and that's a good challenge for me. The graphics are cool but others says it sucks, I admit the cut-scene was low quality and what's important is it's story. The story is enjoyable, the gameplay are great, and the puzzles are challenging too. I don't really give high rating in games but the reason I give it 10 is because it's challenge me as a PC gamer. Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2012
    6
    I didn't play the console versions, but this one is OK. Resident Evil 4 on PC haves fancy graphics, but the controls are complicated. Resident Evil 4 on PC, is just like copying the Gamecube version, and putting in the PC, with the same controls tutorial, where in PC the controls are showed from Gamecube controls. Still, fun and addictive. 69 out of 100
  8. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    Wow! What an amazing game it is! This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is veryWow! What an amazing game it is! This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is very immersive and it's hard to put it down. Expand
  9. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    Use a gamepad and it's instantly as good as it is on consoles. The graphics are slightly better, and with one of the many available texture packs it's much better. The FMV looks terrible but the PC version is the best of this outstanding game.
  10. Mar 14, 2012
    1
    Overrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. BuyOverrated, boring game that fully discrases the name of resident evil. Capcom took there fans and took a complete dookie on there face and smeared it around! This is a terrible game. Its not even an RE GAME! WOW! Its got Leon And Ada... Woopty doo, its still not worthy of bearing the name Resident Evil 4. Resident Evil 4 should of been something completely different. This is stupid. Buy Resident Evil Outbreak, Resident Evil Code veronica, or Resident evil Operation Raccoon City INstead! Expand
  11. Jan 18, 2012
    8
    Peut-etre un dès meilleur jeu de zombi que j'ai jouer, mais surement pas les meilleur graphismes cependant améliorer depuis le patch 2.0 , seulement 30 FPS ça pique les yeux.
    je conseille fortement d'avoir une manette PC car pour les combinaisons de touche il est difficile de les trouver du premier coup
  12. Dec 4, 2011
    6
    this game is fun and great but got harmed by a controller zombies,Controller was a painful and i should waste my money for a controller.And i didn`t see any changes between PS2 and PC,it was same thing.Graphics and videos was still Low Detail....And i think consider this game was a lousy port.
  13. Nov 28, 2011
    7
    This game is amazing. This game is the definition of a horror game, in my opinion. The story line is well-written, and the voice acting is much better than that of the previous games. This game deserves a 10, but I give it a 7. The reason being is that it does not make for a good PC port. The controls are very hard to play on, and the aiming system is flawed. Aside from this, though itThis game is amazing. This game is the definition of a horror game, in my opinion. The story line is well-written, and the voice acting is much better than that of the previous games. This game deserves a 10, but I give it a 7. The reason being is that it does not make for a good PC port. The controls are very hard to play on, and the aiming system is flawed. Aside from this, though it does the horror genre and the Resident Evil series proud. This one is worth picking up and playing! Expand
  14. Apr 21, 2011
    10
    The port itself was not so great, but with a couple mods (Mouse Aiming, Hi-Res and Improved Textures) It becomes the best version of the game. My main gripe is that the quick time event buttons are numbered actions, instead of the name of the action or a picture of the key it is related to.
  15. Rhyek
    Mar 25, 2009
    4
    Lousy graphics, low-quality FMV's, but what's really annoying about this game is the incredibly awkward controls. I played maybe 30 minutes and got so frustrated I had to alt-f4. You have to actually make an effort to simultaneously run/walk and turn towards your desired direction; you can't turn around quickly enough to target a surprise enemy; targetting an enemy is aLousy graphics, low-quality FMV's, but what's really annoying about this game is the incredibly awkward controls. I played maybe 30 minutes and got so frustrated I had to alt-f4. You have to actually make an effort to simultaneously run/walk and turn towards your desired direction; you can't turn around quickly enough to target a surprise enemy; targetting an enemy is a dreadful process. When you're trying to aim at something it sort of feels like the main character suffers from epilepsy: your weapon's laser keeps wobbling about like it's hell-bent on getting you killed. I tried with both and XBOX 360 controller and keyboard/mouse. Same result.
    This game really needed an auto-target function.
    It reminds me of how slow the combat mechanism was for Silent Hill 2 for the PC when I tried playing it, though these are definitely worse.
    There's something wrong with a supposedly horror game when most of your distress can be attributed to you not being able to get your character to do what you want them to do when you want them to do it.
    Expand
  16. warrenduffy
    Jan 25, 2009
    7
    Like others said, there are a variety of community mods/enhancements that are free to download that make this game totally worth playing--new textures, a better lighting dynamic, even the cinematics have been improved. Capcom should've released it this way by themselves of course, but they cut corners and it looks like junk. After installing said enhancements, I compared it to my oldLike others said, there are a variety of community mods/enhancements that are free to download that make this game totally worth playing--new textures, a better lighting dynamic, even the cinematics have been improved. Capcom should've released it this way by themselves of course, but they cut corners and it looks like junk. After installing said enhancements, I compared it to my old PS2 version--whoa! Without a doubt, community modders have come to the rescue and have almost made this bad PC port of a LAST GEN game (almost) look as good as pretty as a THIS GEN game. You don't need a killer rig to run the enhancements either. For the "Basic Community Patch" (or the "Ultimate Community Patch" for those with higher-end video cards), just Google "Resident Evil Community Patch." Enjoy! I sure am. Expand
  17. Technicha
    Oct 7, 2008
    7
    A really really awful port. But if you patch it and download a couple of mods this game can be enjoyable. The modding community really makes this game worth playing with using improved models, skins, layout changes and Mousemod.
  18. LukeI
    Aug 15, 2008
    8
    I gave this game 8 instead of a 10 for a few reasons. 1. S***est controls ever! You need to have 58 fingers before you find the control scheme 'EASY' 2. Graphics! GameCube wins here! Notice that they are blocky; after to killing a Ganado I thought he was wearing tissue boxes painted brown instead of shoes! And it's stupidly easy to tell what your can pickup or interact I gave this game 8 instead of a 10 for a few reasons. 1. S***est controls ever! You need to have 58 fingers before you find the control scheme 'EASY' 2. Graphics! GameCube wins here! Notice that they are blocky; after to killing a Ganado I thought he was wearing tissue boxes painted brown instead of shoes! And it's stupidly easy to tell what your can pickup or interact with! What with the light brown barrels and everything else GREY. 3. Cutscenes! Horrible FMVs with the crappest quality! But, then again, most of this can be fixed! MouseAim Patch: CHECK GameCube Graphics Patch: CHECK FMV Into In-Game Graphics: NO CHECK :( And no zombies! Isn't this what RE is all about? I mean, keep the new Camera Angle and Aiming (Not just UP, LEVEL, DOWN !!!) but make it a zombie game! This game is definatly more Action than Horror/Adventure. But all in all, given the Added extras, and mods, 8/10 is a sufficient rating. Good work Capcom, But Resident Evil 2 was just soo much better. Expand
  19. db
    Apr 26, 2008
    0
    The controls and settings are so bad that it negates everything else the game has to offer. You have to control- alt -delete or alt-F4 just to quit the game, and there isn't even invert look. If they dont want mouse support, then, at least allow full configuration of the controls.
  20. PeteW.
    Apr 24, 2008
    5
    I will never buy capcom again---this game is pathetic and was only released for the pc to STEAL money from gamers!
  21. SaloM.
    Mar 7, 2008
    8
    This game is and will be, for many generations, one of the best games ever crafted... right?... RIGHT!?... For the PC, it may not... the gameplay, storyline, and everything (from the PS2 version) remains untouched (thank god), and, unfortunately, the graphics also remained untouched... This was one of the selling points back in the GameCube version, and the PC version just lack all the This game is and will be, for many generations, one of the best games ever crafted... right?... RIGHT!?... For the PC, it may not... the gameplay, storyline, and everything (from the PS2 version) remains untouched (thank god), and, unfortunately, the graphics also remained untouched... This was one of the selling points back in the GameCube version, and the PC version just lack all the Oomph that the GC had. If your machine can handle Crysis (like mine :D), you may be a bit disappointed about the graphics, but if you can bare with it, you'll get one of the best games ever created. Expand
  22. GlennM.
    Jan 6, 2008
    5
    If you liked Resident Evil 4 for the PS2 this is almost identical, right down to the lousy control scheme that ties the run to the reload. In a game where you want to run all the time and never walk, it makes it impossible to set a controller to always run. If you have a programmable controller, you will HAVE to press 2 buttons to run or you will be constantly reloading when you If you liked Resident Evil 4 for the PS2 this is almost identical, right down to the lousy control scheme that ties the run to the reload. In a game where you want to run all the time and never walk, it makes it impossible to set a controller to always run. If you have a programmable controller, you will HAVE to press 2 buttons to run or you will be constantly reloading when you don't want to. Another game without fully reconfigurable controls, drops it from a 10 to a frustrating 5. Expand
  23. Alex
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is very immersive and it's hard This game is fantastic. It seems like all I hear on reviews about the PC port is how much it sucks compared to a console, but really it isn't that bad. Sure it might take some getting used to, and the controls are a bit lacking but I learned it and it soon became second nature. That aside, it is one of the greatest games I've ever played. It is very immersive and it's hard to put it down. Expand
  24. JoeS.
    Sep 11, 2007
    8
    Despite not having mouse support, or lacking shaders before the patch, this game runs and controlls superbly with a Xbox 360 controller. Sure the graphics are horrible compared to todays games, but it is a fun game if you can get past the cheasy-ness of everything.
  25. Saigouno
    Sep 8, 2007
    9
    For those who think this game is bad in graphic and worse in gameplay controls,Let me tell you something:dont try to complain about the gameplay controls if it is you yourself who dont have the ablity to adapt to it.dont claim yourselves as a gamer if you dont have the ability to play with keypads.RE4 wont be rated high in the Ps2 console if it is a worse game.And for graphics...do you For those who think this game is bad in graphic and worse in gameplay controls,Let me tell you something:dont try to complain about the gameplay controls if it is you yourself who dont have the ablity to adapt to it.dont claim yourselves as a gamer if you dont have the ability to play with keypads.RE4 wont be rated high in the Ps2 console if it is a worse game.And for graphics...do you know what is call a good graphic...i assume that you dont know.graphics with smooth textures is not consider as good,it can only be called pretty.only the graphics that can show the style and feeling of the game can be called good.We play games with our mind ,not our eyes,shallow minds...And the story ,characters:dont try to said the story is poor if you have not played the whole series be cause you dont have what it takes to said so.This story is continuing the unfinished story of RE2 and RE Veronica,so dont try to give comments if you haven played them before.no strafe ,cannot turn quickly...that is where the callenge is.if you are always relying for a mouse aiming then go to play counter strikes .mouse aimings are for novices.mlm Collapse
  26. DaveW.
    Aug 25, 2007
    5
    This game is pretty for a Gamecube game and pretty for a PS2 game. However it lacks the depth in gameplay, story, and atmosphere of earlier titles in the series making it a very average game.
  27. SDP.
    Aug 19, 2007
    9
    Excellent mix of puzzles and action. Once you finish the game the "professional" mode is unlocked as well as other extras. Great game!
  28. CarlH.
    Aug 14, 2007
    6
    The only decent aspect of this game is the shooting, everything else was bad, really bad. The characters are some of the cheesiest, corniest and lamest ive ever witnessed in a game, such awful dialogue. The graphics were terrible, missing many effects that completely detracted from the overall experience and no mouse support? Terrible, just terrible.
  29. JarenS.
    Aug 14, 2007
    4
    Lack of mouse support really killed it for me. That and having trouble seeing past my character, not being able to turn very quickly, aim and move at the same time, and not being able to strafe. I don't mind some of the bad textures and transitions. What I care about is control, and this game simply does not give me that.
  30. JaxM.
    Aug 13, 2007
    3
    Very crappy port to the PC version. I bought this expecting the game developers to at least attempt to customize the settings, controls, etc. for the PC. But instead, it's a direct port from console to PC. When you install it, you will find out what I mean when you can't use your mouse, you can't escape out of a game, and you become more frustrated at the fact that you Very crappy port to the PC version. I bought this expecting the game developers to at least attempt to customize the settings, controls, etc. for the PC. But instead, it's a direct port from console to PC. When you install it, you will find out what I mean when you can't use your mouse, you can't escape out of a game, and you become more frustrated at the fact that you spend $20 on it. Expand
  31. HashMyth
    Aug 5, 2007
    6
    All I have to say is that this game was fun but the controls are lame, and for all complaints about the gfx looking crappy, when you first start the game with the auto load screen... CLICK ON SETUP idiots... I had my rez at 1600x1200 and it made the PS2 version look like crap... Also there is a patch out there, I dident play without the patch and thats what made it look way better. a 6 All I have to say is that this game was fun but the controls are lame, and for all complaints about the gfx looking crappy, when you first start the game with the auto load screen... CLICK ON SETUP idiots... I had my rez at 1600x1200 and it made the PS2 version look like crap... Also there is a patch out there, I dident play without the patch and thats what made it look way better. a 6 out of 10 due to the messed up controler issue. PS: I have a Saitek keyboard and the damn game wont pick up anything else for a game controler but the keyboards extra game pad... Capcom has no idea how to make a console game for a PC. Expand
  32. KurtK.
    Aug 4, 2007
    5
    + for good Graphics, good character models + for best implementation of escort missions, unlike other games the escorted character doesn't get into to the line of fire and you can hide the person into a trunk + for many hours of gameplay + for weapons + for replayability + for "STRANGJAAAR" and "WELLLLLCOMMMMMME" - for tanklike controls, i dont mind the missing mouse support (doom I + for good Graphics, good character models + for best implementation of escort missions, unlike other games the escorted character doesn't get into to the line of fire and you can hide the person into a trunk + for many hours of gameplay + for weapons + for replayability + for "STRANGJAAAR" and "WELLLLLCOMMMMMME" - for tanklike controls, i dont mind the missing mouse support (doom I & doom II didnt have mouse controls) but even with a gamepad i especially for this game it feels like i am controlling a tank with a cow sitting on its turret and a two fat men sitting on cow. - for these stupid parts of the game where you have to press certain or multiple buttons very fast and the message on the screen says something like "press button 1 and 3" no matter what your key/button bindings are - you cant shoot and run/strafe - what the hell ? In Silent Hill 2,3 and 4 you can walk/run and shoot depending on the weapon - so dont tell me it is because RE4 is a console game - the 3rd Person view is very disturbing, normally i always prefer 3rd person view to 1rst person view, maybe it is the distance or the elevation angle but i cant see sh.t ( games with better 3dprs. view are: Silen Hill 1-4, Max Payne 1-2, gothic I-III ....). Expand
  33. AnthonyN.
    Aug 2, 2007
    6
    No Mouse Control.
  34. JonT.
    Jul 28, 2007
    6
    Yea, Capcom looked like they didnt really concentrate on the game that much. I tried installing it on my Windows Vista, and everything worked fine, the graphics, movie schenes and all,but the one thing that bothered me was the gameplay. When u move the person, theres like glitches in the game. In the PS2 and GC version when u move him its nice and smooth, while in the PC version, its Yea, Capcom looked like they didnt really concentrate on the game that much. I tried installing it on my Windows Vista, and everything worked fine, the graphics, movie schenes and all,but the one thing that bothered me was the gameplay. When u move the person, theres like glitches in the game. In the PS2 and GC version when u move him its nice and smooth, while in the PC version, its slow. Did anyone had trouble with it on a Windows Vista? Expand
  35. WillT.
    Jul 22, 2007
    5
    RE4 is probably the most over-rated game in the past 10 years. I have played this version as well as the PS2 version and neither are much fun. The game's difficulty is derived from the slow and constrained control scheme more than anything else.
  36. EK
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    With all the negative reviews, I thought I would add my 2 pennies worth. I really had a blast playing this game. The story was engrosing and action non-stop. Above all, this game did what it was meant to do...ENTERTAIN. But playing this console port with a gamepad really is a must. I can understand why people are frustrated with the lack of mouse aiming and there is a mouse mod out there, With all the negative reviews, I thought I would add my 2 pennies worth. I really had a blast playing this game. The story was engrosing and action non-stop. Above all, this game did what it was meant to do...ENTERTAIN. But playing this console port with a gamepad really is a must. I can understand why people are frustrated with the lack of mouse aiming and there is a mouse mod out there, but even so I have avoided it and played with a pad. I feel it may have made gameplay too easy with mouse aiming and tedious to play like the House of the Dead games on the PC. The pad proves quite vital for the essential dodging that you have to do too. What's more, RE4 is budget priced and together with a decent gamepad costs not much more than a full priced game...and that pad might come in handy for other games in your collection too! Even so, aiming is a little too sensitive with the pad and I don't know how it compares to the console versions, but it is a heck of a lot easier than playing with the keyboard. Graphically, it may not compare with the latest PC shooters, but they were atmospheric, everything moved nicely. And of course remember to add the patch for full effects ( the US version comes already patched) The game runs stable and the resolution CAN be altered. Unfortunately the cut scenes are low-res and not real time like the GC version. All in all, this is a great action game with good repeat play potential and what with the extras theres a lot of content to play through. If you don't have a gamepad and don't intend to buy one, then you might want to avoid RE4. If you do, this game is a joy to play. Thanks UbiSoft and Capcom for bringing this console classic to the PC. Expand
  37. PeterA.
    Jun 27, 2007
    5
    This game was seriously disappointing. The lack of customizing the controls, the fixed low resolution, and lack of mouse support really killed this game for me. This is probably the worst port I've seen to the PC in quite some time.
  38. Erik
    Jun 21, 2007
    2
    NO sidestep NO adequate mousecontrol NO walking while aiming.
  39. C.H.
    Jun 13, 2007
    3
    I expected improved graphics and full keyboard/mouse support. What I got was an absolutely faithful port of the console version. Right down to the fact that you need a gamepad to play! There is no mouse support and the keyboard controls are absolutely horrible. There are no improvements to the graphics, so while the game may be fun to play (IF i had a gamepad), it is horrendous to look I expected improved graphics and full keyboard/mouse support. What I got was an absolutely faithful port of the console version. Right down to the fact that you need a gamepad to play! There is no mouse support and the keyboard controls are absolutely horrible. There are no improvements to the graphics, so while the game may be fun to play (IF i had a gamepad), it is horrendous to look at. It's a real shame, since RE4 on the console was fantastic. The PC port is a poor shadow of a great game. Expand
  40. LokeszH.
    Jun 13, 2007
    8
    This is a a pleasure to play. The game has a nice story and the opponants are a lot of fun. Sound and visuals contribute a lot to a feeling of immersion. Graphics are a bit outdated. The original was build in 2004 and it shows. Stil it is very beautiful and the simplistic textures don't spoil anything. The sound isn't always placed in the right spot. Sometimes you hear someone This is a a pleasure to play. The game has a nice story and the opponants are a lot of fun. Sound and visuals contribute a lot to a feeling of immersion. Graphics are a bit outdated. The original was build in 2004 and it shows. Stil it is very beautiful and the simplistic textures don't spoil anything. The sound isn't always placed in the right spot. Sometimes you hear someone who is already somwere else. Just minor bugs. Controls are a bit tedious. I use a gamepad but movement isn't analog. The joystick has one speed for running and for turning. The analog controls are there cause when you are aiming you can control the speed of the gun. But I don't feel very comfortable with it. After a while you get used but it isn't the strong point of the game. One strong point are the opponants. There are a lot of strange creatures that require different tactics to oppose. I remember battling a slow, blind man who swings large sharp blades in a cramped room! The other strong point is the environment. I found the finest creepy graveyard I ever met in a game. Buildings often have beautiful interiors (ugly's also). In the beginning of the game I just walked through a nice village with some peasants at work ... Looked very nice and peacefull at first. If you want to know what happens next than you should try it for yourself. Expand
  41. HarryS.
    Jun 13, 2007
    2
    A lazy port of a great game. A real shame if this is the first RE game you play and you make the mistake of playing it on the pc you wont play another one. Gamecube version gets 9/10 from me.
  42. JackD.
    May 22, 2007
    6
    WHen i heard PC RE4 i was so excited. I am very disappointed. the first thing i did was amp my resolution up. but the graphics are horrible! i mean come on! Its a PC game. it should be better. The controls are horrible. 1, 2, 3, 4? i dont even know what those are. and No MOUSE?! how did they think this would work. Microsoft should just do this game again for the 360. it would look better WHen i heard PC RE4 i was so excited. I am very disappointed. the first thing i did was amp my resolution up. but the graphics are horrible! i mean come on! Its a PC game. it should be better. The controls are horrible. 1, 2, 3, 4? i dont even know what those are. and No MOUSE?! how did they think this would work. Microsoft should just do this game again for the 360. it would look better and have both parts. Expand
  43. RichS.
    May 22, 2007
    9
    I don't see why people are complaining about the graphics so much... It's a port, what should you realistically be expecting to get? Before the patch I do agree that the graphics were bad, but hey, that's why they made a patch. It is pretty much required to have a controller to play this game, but if you own a PC and play any sports game then you most likely have one (or if I don't see why people are complaining about the graphics so much... It's a port, what should you realistically be expecting to get? Before the patch I do agree that the graphics were bad, but hey, that's why they made a patch. It is pretty much required to have a controller to play this game, but if you own a PC and play any sports game then you most likely have one (or if you're like me 3) already. When buying a port, especially from Capcom, don't expect them to reinvent the wheel because they're just not going to do it because it's not going to make them as much money and that's what it's all about for them because they're a BUSINESS. Expand
  44. GavG.
    May 21, 2007
    9
    I have to disagree with most of the other posts here. I had this game on GC & would give that version a perfect 10. The PC version loses only one point from me, because yes I guess people do want a mouse control option, which it oddly lacks, and the graphics technically could be better. Having said that, it works beautifully with a gamepad (I use an XBox 360 controller) and the graphics I have to disagree with most of the other posts here. I had this game on GC & would give that version a perfect 10. The PC version loses only one point from me, because yes I guess people do want a mouse control option, which it oddly lacks, and the graphics technically could be better. Having said that, it works beautifully with a gamepad (I use an XBox 360 controller) and the graphics are definitely superior to the GC & any other console version of the game. They give you almost no gfx options to play around with (other than resolution basically) but as I said I think it looks significantly better than the very nice-looking GC version, and runs very well on my year-old, now mid-spec PC. Never slows down, loads very quickly & everything looks crisper than it did on GC. In summary I'm just confused why both the critics & fans are generally slating this excellent PC game. People who haven't played / owned this on a console really should not overlook this very good game. Expand
  45. AdamS.
    May 20, 2007
    8
    A phenomenal game, whether on console or PC. Surprised at how many people are bashing this game thanks to a few minor (albeit inexcusable) mistakes on Ubisoft / Capcom's part. The dark texture issue has been resolved with a patch. Textures as a whole are pretty muddy, but not bad enough to send me running for the hills. The resolution is completely acceptable at 1024 x 768. Sound A phenomenal game, whether on console or PC. Surprised at how many people are bashing this game thanks to a few minor (albeit inexcusable) mistakes on Ubisoft / Capcom's part. The dark texture issue has been resolved with a patch. Textures as a whole are pretty muddy, but not bad enough to send me running for the hills. The resolution is completely acceptable at 1024 x 768. Sound could be better, but does the job. And the biggest issue, the control scheme, is certainly aggravating at times (have fun aiming with the wasd keys as opposed to a proper analog device) but still acceptable. Played all the way through, and had a phenomenal time experiencing RE4 all over again on the PC. I feel that people are rating this game based on what Ubisoft could have / should have done with the port, and that's a shame, as it might scare away some PC owners from experiencing one of the best games ever made. Expand
  46. JohnB.
    May 18, 2007
    2
    Abysmal. Capcom really dropped the ball on this one. Whatever you may say about how good a game it was on console, on PC it's dire. The texture quality is awful, there have been no positive changes made and the biggest screw-up is the control system, which is UNPLAYABLE without a gamepad. No effort was made to add mouse-support, something which would have made the game fantastic in Abysmal. Capcom really dropped the ball on this one. Whatever you may say about how good a game it was on console, on PC it's dire. The texture quality is awful, there have been no positive changes made and the biggest screw-up is the control system, which is UNPLAYABLE without a gamepad. No effort was made to add mouse-support, something which would have made the game fantastic in my honest opinion. Aiming with the keypad is IMPOSSIBLE, nuff said. Do not touch this with a ten-foot bargepole, buy a Gamecube and pick it up second hand instead. Expand
  47. Konron
    May 17, 2007
    5
    A bad port of an otherwise great game. After Capcom patched the game, they added shading and lighting and other visual effects that were originally missing, but it still doesn't look as good as the Gamecube version. You'd best have a PC controller if you really must play this, because it has no native mouse support, but there is a third-party mouse support patch out there that A bad port of an otherwise great game. After Capcom patched the game, they added shading and lighting and other visual effects that were originally missing, but it still doesn't look as good as the Gamecube version. You'd best have a PC controller if you really must play this, because it has no native mouse support, but there is a third-party mouse support patch out there that isn't so good. Pray that they add mouse support and better graphics quality when they release it in North America. Expand
  48. MichaelM.
    May 14, 2007
    10
    Completely different than the rest of the games. Can't believe how they changed the story and the game play was awesome.
  49. JustinM.
    May 11, 2007
    3
    GC version was amazing, was very excited for PC version because using the mouse would be great.... CAN"T EVEN USE IT?!?!?!??! WTF! why buy it? what a waste of money. I couldn't believe you can't use the mouse... very VERY! disappointing.
  50. TomG.
    Apr 28, 2007
    5
    A great game, but a mediocre port to the PC. Numerous technical flaws make the PC port... how do you say... suck.
  51. JimmusM.
    Apr 24, 2007
    6
    A direct port from the Playstation 2 game, which was a direct port from the Nintendo Gamecube, as far as I know. Capcom continues to crap out unoptimized ports for the PC and wondering why nobody buys their games. Resident Evil 4 is one of my all-time favorite Playstation 2 games - good graphics, decent controls (for the PS2), less cheesy dialogue, and a great gameplay mechanic. Simply A direct port from the Playstation 2 game, which was a direct port from the Nintendo Gamecube, as far as I know. Capcom continues to crap out unoptimized ports for the PC and wondering why nobody buys their games. Resident Evil 4 is one of my all-time favorite Playstation 2 games - good graphics, decent controls (for the PS2), less cheesy dialogue, and a great gameplay mechanic. Simply one of the best "survival horror" games around. This game had great potential on the PC, if they had implemented high graphics resolutions and color-depth, sound improvements like EAX, and given it a mouse-driven control scheme. Instead, they did texture conversions that make everything look repetitive, dull and washed-out; you need to configure a gamepad, or fight with keyboard controls for their headscratching decision to make almost all actions require two buttons/keys pressed, as in aiming with one button, and shooting with another. Why not change the game enough to use "Quake Keys" (WASD) and a mouse? Beyond your programming abilities, Capcom? The game is fun, to be sure, but it could have been superior on the PC, and it could have sold a good number of copies. As it is, it joins the long line of craptastic Capcom hack-jobs, all of which will only remembered for how poor they were. And finally, the game is renamed from Resident Evil 4 to Biohazard 4. Nevermind the fact that there are no Biohazards 1-3, but there were two other crappy ports of Resident Evil 2&3 for the PC. This only confirms that Capcom is sloppy and hoping to sling its titles out for PC gamers who knew the games from console systems. Expand
  52. Kyle
    Apr 24, 2007
    3
    This was my first experience with Resident Evil, and I've got to say it's utter crap, aside from the voice acting. Every good action sequence is broken up and repeated over and over due to "Dragon's Lair" style of control (push these two buttons together or your head gets chopped off, and you have half of a second to do it), the most awful control scheme in history. The This was my first experience with Resident Evil, and I've got to say it's utter crap, aside from the voice acting. Every good action sequence is broken up and repeated over and over due to "Dragon's Lair" style of control (push these two buttons together or your head gets chopped off, and you have half of a second to do it), the most awful control scheme in history. The camera angles are horrible...a third of the screen is permanently occupied by your character's shoulders. There is no mouse support, either, because apparently it would make the game too easy. It doesn't have the action of F.E.A.R., the atmosphere of Silent Hill, or the heart-pounding suspense of Splinter Cell and Thief. Truly a disgrace to the horror genre. Expand
  53. LeoL
    Apr 12, 2007
    3
    The worst graphics on a PC port ever.....no shaders or lighting, no mouse aim, no graphical display of corresponding keyboard keys. Eg shift or 'E' is called 8 or 9 or some other number. I want my money back, but can't because it's a PC game, if this was a 360 game from EB I would have it back a 1/2 hour after starting it.
  54. IanT.
    Apr 11, 2007
    3
    Resident Evil four on the Game Cube and PS2 can be easily called one of the greatest games ever and nobody who has played them can deny that fact. However this port is just plain painful to play. For someone like me who has played the original versions, I was disgusted at what Ubisoft has done to my precious RE4. Not only having the prerendered cut scenes from the ps2 version which mind Resident Evil four on the Game Cube and PS2 can be easily called one of the greatest games ever and nobody who has played them can deny that fact. However this port is just plain painful to play. For someone like me who has played the original versions, I was disgusted at what Ubisoft has done to my precious RE4. Not only having the prerendered cut scenes from the ps2 version which mind you were only there because of the ps2s limited hardware, but the dynamic lighting and the shaders seemed to have been lost in translation to the pc leaving everything with a strange white glow that especially in the later levels will make your eyeballs hurt. Coupled with the absense of mouse aiming that should be standard with any computer game hell even the pc version of the godfather had mouse aiming and the lack of vibration support which is just plain a bad move, esspecilly since anyone daring enough to risk their eyesight to play this game will be using a joystick adds up to a game that you should much rather burn than play. If you must play resident evil hop on amazon.com and pick up a Gamecube for $99.99 then get Resident Evil 4 for $18.99. Its almost depressing that a game that is is more than worth the aforementioned $118.98 to play could turn into a game nowhere near worth the fifty dollars they charge just by going through the ubisoft development center, which is causing me to fear for some of my favorite franchises such as Splinter Cell or Rayman. My only hopes is the reason why Capcom payed so little attention to those crazy europians at Ubisoft is because they are putting full force towards Resident Evil five. Bottom line is after reading this instead of buying this game promptly beat yourself over the head with the closest blunt object you can find then buy the Gamecube or PS2 or even the Wii version, I havent even seen the Wii version but aiming with the Wiimote would be a major improvment over anything this crap wagon can offer. And after you buy and enjoy RE4 like you should and want to see what you narrowly avoided, just dig up an old rabbit ear tv and cover the screen with tracing paper and laugh and feel relived that you did not loose fifty bucks to see it. Expand
  55. MikeB.
    Apr 10, 2007
    0
    Having been a massive fan of the Resident Evil series since the first game came out I was eagerly anticipating a release on the pc this year. To say I'm disappointed is a massive understatement. This is a truly horrendous port from the gamecube, indeed it is the worst port I've EVER played. Basically what you have here is a 1st person shooter without mouse compatability. Aiming Having been a massive fan of the Resident Evil series since the first game came out I was eagerly anticipating a release on the pc this year. To say I'm disappointed is a massive understatement. This is a truly horrendous port from the gamecube, indeed it is the worst port I've EVER played. Basically what you have here is a 1st person shooter without mouse compatability. Aiming weapons is impossible with any degree of accuracy and so the game falls flat at the very first hurdle. Another complete stinker in gameplay terms is the interactive cutscenes where you are urged on screen to press certain buttons at certain times. All well and good until you realize the developers haven't bothered changing the on screen commands to relate to the pc. SO now when you see "press 1 and 2" it really means "enter and space". Its just lazy and sloppy development and results in you spending fifteen minutes at each cutscene guessing which buttons you should press. For all the games plaability issues you would think it at least has awesome graphics. It looked pretty good on the gamecube 2 years ago so you would think that would have been improved a lot for the pc. Oh dear oh dear oh dear. The pc version looks WORSE than the original! Texture are lame and choppy, with no option to change the resolution at all and the whole game in general is far too bright, killing any atmosphere. Even basic things like mist and fog elements whch were in the original have been dropped for this, leaving comedy moments were enemies, instead of running off into the fog, simply disappear into mid-air. To sum up this is a horrible port with absolutely no regards to pc players whatsoever and should be thoroughly ignored. If you MUST play this game, and believe me, it is an excellent console game, you'd be better advised to buy a second hand Gamecube with it than waste your money on this dross. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. It's a simple port of a console game and as such is best played on a console.
  2. The best bit is that you can experience the whole story again through the eyes of a completely different character, thus unwrapping further details about the plot. This kind of storytelling is not found too often and it was certainly a pleasure to undertake.
  3. This is actually technically inferior to the console versions, and it badly hurts the experience. Just because it works on the PC doesn't make it a PC game - ask for your fiver back, Capcom. [Apr 2007, p.84]