Resident Evil 6 PC

Resident Evil 6 Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 817 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil 6 is the sixth installment in the series. With 4 unique, yet overlapping story threads, each with their own pair of protagonists for either solo or co-op play, both offline and online, not only does Resident Evil 6 deliver different perspectives and play styles but, with theResident Evil 6 is the sixth installment in the series. With 4 unique, yet overlapping story threads, each with their own pair of protagonists for either solo or co-op play, both offline and online, not only does Resident Evil 6 deliver different perspectives and play styles but, with the introduction of the innovative Crossover mechanic players are be able to team up and share the horror with others. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Apr 1, 2013
    85
    Fans looking to scratch the survival horror itch will likely still not come away impressed by the direction the series has taken. Resident Evil has become more of an action-horror game; a change I have welcomed with open arms.
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    80
    It's as long, intense and replayable as the console version, but there are few additions to this one. Still, if you didn't play it when it was first released, and if you don't mind the new path the series has taken, RE 6 is a great option.
  3. Feb 4, 2014
    80
    Perhaps it's still too experimental and difficult than the sixth entry in a series ought to be, but despite everything, RE6 offers top-tier cinematic action and series-high storytelling. For fans who've yet to try it, the PC version is the right choice.
  4. Mar 22, 2013
    70
    What we have here is an incredibly long, incredibly flawed, and yet paradoxically engaging experience.
  5. Apr 2, 2013
    70
    Resident Evil 6 is a long and funny cooperative action game, but you have to overlook the outdated gameplay and level design to fully appreciate it.
  6. Apr 3, 2013
    67
    Resident Evil 6 PC is arguably the definitive version of the game – best graphics, all-inclusive, best multiplayer backbone – and obviously worthy of a playthrough if you’re PC-only gamer. However, if you played the console version last year (our review here), it’s probably not worth double-dipping and it still handles best on a controller.
  7. PC Gamer
    May 21, 2013
    45
    An apocalyptic disappointment that never rises above mediocrity, but often sinks into tedium. [July 2013, p.72]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 177
  2. Negative: 76 out of 177
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    10
    I played enough of this game to recommend it to you. There's everything to love and nothing to hate. If we consider the last trilogy, ResidentI played enough of this game to recommend it to you. There's everything to love and nothing to hate. If we consider the last trilogy, Resident Evil from 4 to 6 this is easily the best of them all, the culmination of the action Capcom offers. You can do all sort of new moves which are awesome, you can slide, dodge, land on your back and shoot from the ground (which can be done when enemies drop you too), you can fight in melee with combos or switching to a melee weapon. I really like the fluidity of the game and it's even more fun with a friend. The coop of this game is great, you are not helpless per sé, you can counter enemies' grapples, you can even "stand up" for yourself if you survive long enough in a down state, but, of course, it's a lot easier if there's a team mate helping you out but that may not be always possible due to tactics gone wrong or levels where you have to stay apart for some time.
    There is much to explore, some campaigns have more exploration than others, graphics are really good for my standards (which may be low since I don't really care) and it goes at 60 fps even if the benchmark told me it would go at 20-30. The campaigns are a great idea, different enemies, different characters, different playstyles and it's a hard game too! I play at Professional difficulty, invested 23 hours in the game right now and I'm something as halfway through (I'm doing chapter 3 with Chris now after doing 3 chapters with Jake and Leon). I really can't find anything wrong with this game, it gives me the challenge I seek, the adrenaline, the fear (the fear of dying but there are some jumps too), the gameplay is perfect as I see it, this was much more than I anticipated, I'll definitely play this multiple times. I'm giving it a 10 because as I said before, I can't find much wrong with it and I didn't have such fun with an action game for a while.
    Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Impressive, with a touch of old school and some new, Resident Evil 6 may be a place of horror and action, depending on which character you relate to more, not to mention the breathtaking cinematographic scenes and perfectly designed to take to realistic, taking everything good in previous installments, discarding bad ideas and adding one of the most stunning and dramatic Horror stories of the moment, besides adding the QTE (quick time event) to revive your survival instincts to get a strategic move to kill your enemy or have the misfortune to get your death.
    Resident Evil 6... my favorite game and I recommend it to you...
    Expand
  3. Apr 11, 2013
    9
    Es un juegazo, tiene diferentes campañas que se van mezclando en una misma linea argumental. La historia es impresionante, esta vez hanEs un juegazo, tiene diferentes campañas que se van mezclando en una misma linea argumental. La historia es impresionante, esta vez han preferido contarte la historia en vez de encontrarte notitas y leerlas durante el juego.
    La verdad es que la historia está muy muy bien, la aparición de tantos personajes y alusiones al pasado son la leche.

    En cuanto al gameplay, tiene el mejor gameplay de la saga sin duda, con muchísimas posibilidades, el movimiento es fluido, está muy bien optimizado para Pc y está muy logrado el sistema de apuntar.
    Puedes cambiar las cámara de la espalda y aumentar tu rango de visión (fov). Cabe destacar que la posibilidad para jugar a pantalla partida se agradece mucho, así como poder jugar cooperativo online.

    Muy grande por parte de Valve regalarnos los personajes de Left 4 dead 2 jugables para el modo Mercenarios Sin piedad, y gracias Capcom por no cobrarnos por ello, los DLC gratis son siempre bienvenidos.

    Finalmente es un juego que es muy recomendable para jugadores nuevos, o jugadores clásicos de RE.

    Podríamos decir que la campaña de Leon es la más fiel a los Resident Evil Clásicos, más zombies normales (no soldados mutantes), y luego especiales y puzzles.

    En cambio tenemos la de Chris Redfield, más enfocada a la acción en plan Gears Of War con tus soldados, escenarios de día, etc.

    Luego tenemos un poco la mezcla de Jake, con más toques de aventura. Y la campaña de Ada impresionante, muchos toques de sigilo e infiltración.

    Lo recomiendo muchísimo, no le doy un 10 porque me parece que se han pasado con lo de "Caza de agentes" y no tienen un sistema para controlar el VoIP. La gente entra a als partidas con el microfono abierto y los altavoces a tope, y se escuchan ecos terribles que arruinan la experiencia de juego, lo dicho.

    Gracias Capcom por el regalo.
    Expand
  4. Mar 26, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the better console ports that I have seen, plenty of new features to the game, mostly in primping an customizing your profile though. At the point of writing this, the COOP is playable with occasional drop outs and lag but not enough to ruin the experience. The problem come in with the controls however. They have given you more control of your character, but aiming and shooting are very flaky up close as the camera angle always seems to be jut of, enough to cause you to miss those crucial up close shots consistently enough to make close quarter's fighting a real chore. The zombies have also sen a big overhaul, mainly in the form of new types of zombies, enough to keep fights interesting, especially early on. The second overhaul, zombie moves i one I am not so fond of. Zombies now can leap massive distances and when down on the ground are even more dangerous than their walking variant.
    Overall the game is good but is held back back some basic control problems that really should not plague a game that i so similar to its predecessors which were a joy to play.
    Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    4
    Repetitive and boring. Few options for weapons, plenty of ammo and simply no scare to justify a horror survival titlle. There are no puzzlesRepetitive and boring. Few options for weapons, plenty of ammo and simply no scare to justify a horror survival titlle. There are no puzzles to be solved. Not recommend. Expand
  6. May 20, 2013
    3
    A let down to this series let RE die now please because I frankly had enough of all the RE games being clones of other games now.

    Also they
    A let down to this series let RE die now please because I frankly had enough of all the RE games being clones of other games now.

    Also they is only 5 chapters in this game that's it, was that how many in RE4 & RE5 too?
    the answer is YES so why only 5 chapters?

    Put more work in this game please cos 5 is not enough maybe 8 or 10 or..... soo but having 5 chapters is never enough and to me a bit short and since 1 and 5 chapters are the same thing as Leon I find out as I had to redo all the chase the chopper on the streets all over again and I hated it complete waste of my time why copy the same acts? Complete rubbish thats why!!!

    Next time put more effect in this game please then we won't moan about how lousy job you guys done.

    Don't play this game it will annoy you xD
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2015
    0
    Literally the worst game I have ever played that I expected to like. I couldn't justify spending time finishing it. Contains every badLiterally the worst game I have ever played that I expected to like. I couldn't justify spending time finishing it. Contains every bad design decision ever made packed into one game. The game stands of an example of what not to do when making a game for every possible game-play design decision. It would be a much better use of your time to just watch the game on YouTube if you're desperate to experience this train-wreck.

    If you buy this game you will experience:
    Quick Time Events. Thousands of Quick Time Events.
    So much repetition. Sparse checkpoints in areas riddled with instant deaths.
    Forced stealth segments in a non stealth game.
    Enemy invincibility frames for common enemies
    Failure to save in coop on D/C, which will occur regardless of internet quality (I was on LAN).
    Camera grabs during critical game play moments, many times killing you. Movement during critical sequences is often trial and error.
    Coop being unplayable due to said camera grabs focusing on the other character.
    Clunky UI. A combination of mouse and keyboard input is often required even for simple things.
    Inventory management hell, in an otherwise action oriented game.
    Shaky mouse cross-hair with mouse aiming.

    This game is more frustrating than fun. If you must play it, do yourself a favor and turn off quick time events. You will find enough other "content" to sate your masochism.
    Expand

See all 177 User Reviews