Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City PC

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City Image
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 186 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is the next game in the Resident Evil series brought to you by the former developers of SOCOM, Slant Six.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. May 29, 2012
    70
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is an average game that will receive more attention for the name rather than its own merits. Nonetheless, the game has good moments of indiscriminate shooting albeit a short and not particularly innovative singleplayer. The multiplayer increases the fun but we doubt about the survival of the community past this summer.
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    62
    Obviously, Raccoon City is not the best Resident Evil game. It's a third person shooter with poor AI, clunky gameplay and standard production values. Its campaign is quite short, but its multiplayer modes provide hours of zombie fun.
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    60
    Operation Raccon City has a pretty good multiplayer and some smooth controls. That is unfortunately where the goodness ends. The singleplayer is weak and the A.I. is just as stupid as the zombies.
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    46
    A Weskered development gives us the Wong game. Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is evil in the wrong sense. [Sept 2012, p.70]
  5. May 23, 2012
    40
    All these guns and abilities are wasted in a game that never makes good on its potential, and what potential you glimpse is overshadowed by a careless porting job that makes you wonder why the teams responsible even bothered in the first place.
  6. Jun 28, 2012
    37
    And yet again, the only bright spot in a game about zombies is a CG promo that has nothing in common with the actual gameplay.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 18, 2012
    30
    Absolutely useless addition to Resident Evil series throws away almost everything that made this series famous. The solo campaign is almost unplayable and multiplayer isn't any better. [June 2012]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 45
  2. Negative: 18 out of 45
  1. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game is not like any prior Resident Evil game. That is to say, this game is enjoyable. Gone is any frustration at a cripple pretty-boyThis game is not like any prior Resident Evil game. That is to say, this game is enjoyable. Gone is any frustration at a cripple pretty-boy main character who has his feet bolted to the ground as soon as he pulls out a gun. Gone is any frustration at managing a Tetris-esque inventory. Every Resident Evil game should be like this; fun, enjoyable, playable. Even if the desktop versions seems like a port, it is still better than any other game in this series. Buy this game, and if you want to learn the rest of the story, just check the wiki or Youtube. Don't subject yourself to any other Resident Evil Game. Expand
  2. May 20, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No one ever said that this game would be like other RE games, it was obvious from the start that it's a multiplayer based spin off. It's not supposed to be survival in classic RE ways, otherwise it would be boring for four players. Still, the game is not easy, especially on hardest difficulty, where the real challenge is. As I notice, many people judge the game by single player, so is wrong, because main potential of this game is multiplayer. It's not the game's fault if people fail to understand that. Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    7
    Now, I am reviewing this game months after its release, during the first few months it was plagued by mouse movement and graphical problemsNow, I am reviewing this game months after its release, during the first few months it was plagued by mouse movement and graphical problems that Slant six has since patched up. I can run it with very little problems with a GTX430 (though my listing is fair performance). With the qualifier of shaky launch out of the way, Those expecting an atypical Resident evil game need to look elsewhere, this game is not an adventure game which the regular games, being TPS and survival horror, require at the very core of their gameplay. This is an action game, through and through for co-operative, high paced combat. Hardcore LFD-heads may enjoy the change of pace, but familiar shoes this game fills. Controls are a little wonky, but they make sense, and can be made well of over time (takes some getting used to). The fact that they fixed the bugs THEN released DLC shows that Slant six cares about this title, as we would expect from the famous SOCOM developer. The DLC is coming up on Steam as I write this, I may append to this later after i finish playing around with it (1.8 gb worth!) All in all, if you like cooperative action gameplay with character progression, (buy abilities with xp, take 1 of 3 to each mission, and they are useful:), buy new guns with xp too), and don't mind fiddling for a little while with unusual controls, you will find this game has plenty of replay to sink your teeth into. My biggest complaint is that bots can't rez you, making single player in this game frustratingly difficult on any difficulty. AI in general seems to run a little loose, but it's not game-breaking. There is some nice options for versus matches (Umbrella vs. the US Gov't) Get three friends to rock a campaign of this with you for the night, though, and you will have a blast:) I'd give it a 7/10, the game is shaky, but an excellent effort that is still worth your time if this is your genre. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    5
    If it wasn't for Heroes Multiplayer mode this game would be an absolute failure. The campaign was by far the most boring thing i have everIf it wasn't for Heroes Multiplayer mode this game would be an absolute failure. The campaign was by far the most boring thing i have ever played. It would have been more interesting to play as the actual main characters. Controls are alright but it was difficult to adapt to and finally the amount of lag and sudden freeze in the game angers me A LOT! Waste of money and time. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2016
    5
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City may be fun and enjoyable for some players, but for me it just didn't feel right. Additionally, for aResident Evil: Operation Raccoon City may be fun and enjoyable for some players, but for me it just didn't feel right. Additionally, for a 2012 video game, the overall system requirement to run this game smoothly is annoyingly high. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2012
    2
    One by one review. The Graphic is good enough to please your eyes. The Story is somewhat fair. The AI is deadly terrible, both friends andOne by one review. The Graphic is good enough to please your eyes. The Story is somewhat fair. The AI is deadly terrible, both friends and foes, you can HARDLY heal (and antivirus-ing) your AI teammates (They will move around away from you), The Control is good EXCEPT for the "throwing body to the ground" action (which annoyingly put you down when you're running to get herbs) & the "auto wall-cover", which is ridiculously stick you to a wall when you get near, and SLOWING you (while you're trying to get out of firing line strafing, most often case).The Weapon option is quite broad. The Character active skills are disturbing (You can get three, but only one may be brought to the battle). The Bugs & Glitches are almost in every corner of the map, very bad game polishing before release. Overall: Bad, or Worse (Considering this a long way out-of-RE usual standard) Collapse
  7. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    I was pretty excited when Steam notified me that Resident Evil: Raccoon City Complete Pack went on sale. What I didn't realize was why it wentI was pretty excited when Steam notified me that Resident Evil: Raccoon City Complete Pack went on sale. What I didn't realize was why it went on sale. After purchasing the game on Steam(without checking the metascore) I started playing with the expectation of a great cinematic storyline and details in the gameplay like Resident Evil: Outbreak (PS2), Resident Evil 4 (PS2 and PC), and Resident Evil 5 (PC). Like everyone, I was disappointed because it lacked a storyline and the gameplay "sucked". When you try shooting at the zombies/spec ops the AI would always run in front of you thus causing damage to themselves and making you heal them(where you can't get them close enough to heal multiple team mates at once). When you're under attack they're 1)already at the door to the next segment or 2)too slow in coming to your aid. I'm sure multiplayer may be a different story, but my interest in the game didn't last long enough to get to multiplayer. Both the storyline and AI intelligence has taken two steps back from previous Resident Evil games. I just hope Capcom will redeem themselves in an uncoming Resident Evil 7 where the singleplayer has an actual cinematic storyline with better AI. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews