Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is the next game in the Resident Evil series brought to you by the former developers of SOCOM, Slant Six.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. May 29, 2012
    70
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is an average game that will receive more attention for the name rather than its own merits. Nonetheless, the game has good moments of indiscriminate shooting albeit a short and not particularly innovative singleplayer. The multiplayer increases the fun but we doubt about the survival of the community past this summer.
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    62
    Obviously, Raccoon City is not the best Resident Evil game. It's a third person shooter with poor AI, clunky gameplay and standard production values. Its campaign is quite short, but its multiplayer modes provide hours of zombie fun.
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    60
    Operation Raccon City has a pretty good multiplayer and some smooth controls. That is unfortunately where the goodness ends. The singleplayer is weak and the A.I. is just as stupid as the zombies.
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    46
    A Weskered development gives us the Wong game. Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is evil in the wrong sense. [Sept 2012, p.70]
  5. May 23, 2012
    40
    All these guns and abilities are wasted in a game that never makes good on its potential, and what potential you glimpse is overshadowed by a careless porting job that makes you wonder why the teams responsible even bothered in the first place.
  6. Jun 28, 2012
    37
    And yet again, the only bright spot in a game about zombies is a CG promo that has nothing in common with the actual gameplay.
  7. 30
    Absolutely useless addition to Resident Evil series throws away almost everything that made this series famous. The solo campaign is almost unplayable and multiplayer isn't any better. [June 2012]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 40
  2. Negative: 17 out of 40
  1. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game is not like any prior Resident Evil game. That is to say, this game is enjoyable. Gone is any frustration at a cripple pretty-boy main character who has his feet bolted to the ground as soon as he pulls out a gun. Gone is any frustration at managing a Tetris-esque inventory. Every Resident Evil game should be like this; fun, enjoyable, playable. Even if the desktop versions seems like a port, it is still better than any other game in this series. Buy this game, and if you want to learn the rest of the story, just check the wiki or Youtube. Don't subject yourself to any other Resident Evil Game. Expand
  2. Apr 10, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion this game is underrated, it isn't much like the other resident evil games, such as you don't have any inventory space like you did the in the old ones, you can only carry 1 F.A spray, 1 anti-virus spray and some grenades. But you can get different powers which comes in very useful while, fighting off a tough enemy, a pack of enemies or helping out team mates. What i like about this resident evil is that you can play with three other people, also how the game links in with the storyline of resident evil 2 and 3 as you come across some rather familiar faces. The controls are good as well, i liked using the mouse compared to a gamepad or buttons i had to in resident evil 4. The multiplayer feature is a definite bonus in my opinion, being able to play against other players using different sets of skills i think added +2 on to my rating, the other 6 came from the story line, the weapons, the system of unlocking weapons and skills and the skills themselves. A good game and good gameplay. Expand
  3. May 20, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. No one ever said that this game would be like other RE games, it was obvious from the start that it's a multiplayer based spin off. It's not supposed to be survival in classic RE ways, otherwise it would be boring for four players. Still, the game is not easy, especially on hardest difficulty, where the real challenge is. As I notice, many people judge the game by single player, so is wrong, because main potential of this game is multiplayer. It's not the game's fault if people fail to understand that. Expand
  4. Apr 8, 2013
    5
    If it wasn't for Heroes Multiplayer mode this game would be an absolute failure. The campaign was by far the most boring thing i have ever played. It would have been more interesting to play as the actual main characters. Controls are alright but it was difficult to adapt to and finally the amount of lag and sudden freeze in the game angers me A LOT! Waste of money and time. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2014
    5
    I love the franchise of Resident Evil, each game, obviously. I don't know, I delayed playing this game a lot, just saying it will be a chaos, but it was just a bit different than I thought. I didn't understand why, at the beggining, I face a monster and then it disappear and I will never see him. Why ? What was his purpose? Also, the movement is weird, not so good. The graphics are okai, but not so nice for 2012. I don't know, I didn't like the gameplay; if you drop down, you can't go back. If there appear many creatures, you have a limited space to move and survive. The most I liked is that Raccoon City is the single RE with real zombies. The comrades are useless and if you die, they cannot revive you. Why ? You're the single good piece in the game. Rare times they heal you, rare times they defend you... They are for nothing. I didn't play the multiplayer, to confirm that if there you can be resurrected, but it's weird. They cannot do something special. I said the movement, the gameplay, now the plot. I didn't understand it at all. I don't know why you can kill Leon ( I have to mention that the game is happening between RE 2 an 3 ) and in the RE 4 you play as him. Something's not linking. Anyway, the characters are good and you can choose what you like, which is a good thing. The last thing I didn't like is that the game ends suddenly, after you have to kill or defend Leon, and that totally decepted me. All in all, is a playable game, and in my opinion, it's from 5 up. From me, 5. Expand
  6. LBC
    Oct 31, 2013
    3
    Operation Raccoon City is a game that should be great, but just isn't. Playing as Umbrella Operatives? Aw yeah! Zombie-infested multiplayer matches? Sign me up! These are awesome concepts that are poorly executed. What we have here is another run of the mill class-based third person shooter. Glitches and awkward deaths are plentiful. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2013
    0
    I was pretty excited when Steam notified me that Resident Evil: Raccoon City Complete Pack went on sale. What I didn't realize was why it went on sale. After purchasing the game on Steam(without checking the metascore) I started playing with the expectation of a great cinematic storyline and details in the gameplay like Resident Evil: Outbreak (PS2), Resident Evil 4 (PS2 and PC), and Resident Evil 5 (PC). Like everyone, I was disappointed because it lacked a storyline and the gameplay "sucked". When you try shooting at the zombies/spec ops the AI would always run in front of you thus causing damage to themselves and making you heal them(where you can't get them close enough to heal multiple team mates at once). When you're under attack they're 1)already at the door to the next segment or 2)too slow in coming to your aid. I'm sure multiplayer may be a different story, but my interest in the game didn't last long enough to get to multiplayer. Both the storyline and AI intelligence has taken two steps back from previous Resident Evil games. I just hope Capcom will redeem themselves in an uncoming Resident Evil 7 where the singleplayer has an actual cinematic storyline with better AI. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews