Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City PC

Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City Image
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is the next game in the Resident Evil series brought to you by the former developers of SOCOM, Slant Six.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
E3 2011: Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. May 29, 2012
    70
    Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is an average game that will receive more attention for the name rather than its own merits. Nonetheless, the game has good moments of indiscriminate shooting albeit a short and not particularly innovative singleplayer. The multiplayer increases the fun but we doubt about the survival of the community past this summer.
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    62
    Obviously, Raccoon City is not the best Resident Evil game. It's a third person shooter with poor AI, clunky gameplay and standard production values. Its campaign is quite short, but its multiplayer modes provide hours of zombie fun.
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    60
    Operation Raccon City has a pretty good multiplayer and some smooth controls. That is unfortunately where the goodness ends. The singleplayer is weak and the A.I. is just as stupid as the zombies.
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    46
    A Weskered development gives us the Wong game. Resident Evil: Operation Raccoon City is evil in the wrong sense. [Sept 2012, p.70]
  5. May 23, 2012
    40
    All these guns and abilities are wasted in a game that never makes good on its potential, and what potential you glimpse is overshadowed by a careless porting job that makes you wonder why the teams responsible even bothered in the first place.
  6. Jun 28, 2012
    37
    And yet again, the only bright spot in a game about zombies is a CG promo that has nothing in common with the actual gameplay.
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 18, 2012
    30
    Absolutely useless addition to Resident Evil series throws away almost everything that made this series famous. The solo campaign is almost unplayable and multiplayer isn't any better. [June 2012]

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 42
  2. Negative: 16 out of 42
  1. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game is not like any prior Resident Evil game. That is to say, this game is enjoyable. Gone is any frustration at a cripple pretty-boyThis game is not like any prior Resident Evil game. That is to say, this game is enjoyable. Gone is any frustration at a cripple pretty-boy main character who has his feet bolted to the ground as soon as he pulls out a gun. Gone is any frustration at managing a Tetris-esque inventory. Every Resident Evil game should be like this; fun, enjoyable, playable. Even if the desktop versions seems like a port, it is still better than any other game in this series. Buy this game, and if you want to learn the rest of the story, just check the wiki or Youtube. Don't subject yourself to any other Resident Evil Game. Expand
  2. May 19, 2012
    9
    This game is hardcore. I can get head shots with my mates and find some of that green herb. Good times. This game may have some glitches butThis game is hardcore. I can get head shots with my mates and find some of that green herb. Good times. This game may have some glitches but nothing that a pro gamer cannot handle. Get this game gamers. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion this game is underrated, it isn't much like the other resident evil games, such as you don't have any inventory space like you did the in the old ones, you can only carry 1 F.A spray, 1 anti-virus spray and some grenades. But you can get different powers which comes in very useful while, fighting off a tough enemy, a pack of enemies or helping out team mates. What i like about this resident evil is that you can play with three other people, also how the game links in with the storyline of resident evil 2 and 3 as you come across some rather familiar faces. The controls are good as well, i liked using the mouse compared to a gamepad or buttons i had to in resident evil 4. The multiplayer feature is a definite bonus in my opinion, being able to play against other players using different sets of skills i think added +2 on to my rating, the other 6 came from the story line, the weapons, the system of unlocking weapons and skills and the skills themselves. A good game and good gameplay. Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    Resident Evil has always been primarily for the fans of classic horror surival. Not for fans of shooters, the new Call of Duty. And if the newResident Evil has always been primarily for the fans of classic horror surival. Not for fans of shooters, the new Call of Duty. And if the new RE was to go toward the shooter as only the brave game? Well, um, if you do not have to mean a lot for the entire series and has been done by good, why not? It is a pity that the authors probably just depend on hand that they could pull out of this product and not on the injured fans. New RE to match, looks weak, it is boring, heavy and not polished. Is the RE fans, and for fans of shooters, this game is not good. If you do not play over the network, your only companions-BOTS overwhelm the game. The game in general is not addictive gameplay as the previous section, but despite what the authors say, if you want to know everything, and you also get the pathetic part. The game can be played, but most are not receiving special benefits from it to the fans have been terribly hurt. My rating- 5/10 Expand
  5. Jun 17, 2012
    4
    This game is a failure. It could be much better with it's great background. When I shoot, I don't feel i'm using a gun. I see there are manyThis game is a failure. It could be much better with it's great background. When I shoot, I don't feel i'm using a gun. I see there are many skills the squad can use; but i think half of them are useless. Movement of this game is bad as well. Lucky I finished this game at my friend's house, didn't spend money on it. Expand
  6. Jun 22, 2012
    2
    One by one review. The Graphic is good enough to please your eyes. The Story is somewhat fair. The AI is deadly terrible, both friends andOne by one review. The Graphic is good enough to please your eyes. The Story is somewhat fair. The AI is deadly terrible, both friends and foes, you can HARDLY heal (and antivirus-ing) your AI teammates (They will move around away from you), The Control is good EXCEPT for the "throwing body to the ground" action (which annoyingly put you down when you're running to get herbs) & the "auto wall-cover", which is ridiculously stick you to a wall when you get near, and SLOWING you (while you're trying to get out of firing line strafing, most often case).The Weapon option is quite broad. The Character active skills are disturbing (You can get three, but only one may be brought to the battle). The Bugs & Glitches are almost in every corner of the map, very bad game polishing before release. Overall: Bad, or Worse (Considering this a long way out-of-RE usual standard) Collapse
  7. Aug 16, 2013
    0
    This game stands to be 1 of 3 games I reviewed without finishing. This game is by far the WORST port I have ever seen. Not just in the controlThis game stands to be 1 of 3 games I reviewed without finishing. This game is by far the WORST port I have ever seen. Not just in the control and menu scheme, which feels like awful, but in the graphics optimization. I run games like Farcry 3, Battlefield 3 and Skyrim on maxed out settings but can't run this game at reasonable frames on the lowest and ugliest settings.
    The performance of this port is not just unacceptable, it's actually rather painful. If this game was rated purely on its port quality, the developers would be on the same level as Stellar Stone...Yeah, I said it.
    Expand

See all 42 User Reviews