Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 252 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Revelations tells the story of what happens between Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 28, 2013
    85
    Revelation has some flaws - an imperfect controlling system, some short and too easy levels and really stupid story moments, that are typical for the Resident Evil series. Still, despite all this, the new RE is a great game. Episodic formula works great with telling a large, multithreaded story, the game has some real horror, great boss fights and a new game mode. It's definitely worth your time.
  2. May 20, 2013
    85
    It’s been so long since I could say, without any second guessing or qualifiers, that I like a Resident Evil game. I don’t just like Revelations — I adore it. Slower mechanics, scrounging for items, and marching headlong into the unknown are features not entirely lost in new RE games, but they’re rarely expressed as well as they were in pre-RE4 titles.
  3. May 23, 2013
    85
    Porting Revelations to make it readily available to millions of gamers was a smart move by Capcom, but if you have played the 3DS version already then there is nothing new here for you. For everyone else, Capcom has done console and PC gamers a favor in providing a thrilling and riveting addition to this truly evil series.
  4. May 20, 2013
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. May 21, 2013
    75
    Revelations is definitely reminiscent of the old school days of the series, and those craving that particular experience should not miss out.
  6. May 20, 2013
    75
    This HD version shares all the problems its predecessor has, including noticeably limited enemy variety and weak allied AI that can't hit the broad side of a barn.
  7. May 22, 2013
    65
    Revelations is a decent adventure, but it doesn't come close to reaching the heights the series has in the past.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 50
  2. Negative: 15 out of 50
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    Challenging, fun, exciting, creepy,
    As Resident Evil fan (since Re/bio1)I like the way they brought back the old school "survival horror" and
    mixed it in with the new school look.
    But the Controlls are a bit annoying (at the first moment) and I wasn't happy about jill's look, not the best(preffe the design from re5) but it is okay.
    so um,
    9/10.
    Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    10
    The RE series were going downhill after RE5, but this one is simply tremendous.
    Story is good and it is fun to play in Raid mode. The
    graphics are all right and the gameplay is good. Expand
  3. May 27, 2013
    9
    this is one of the best resident evil games for many years its amazing not just on ds but on xbox to unlike other more resent resident evil games this game is more like the old ones and one of the best games i've played all year. Expand
  4. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    This is a good game, that accomplishes the prerequisites for a Resident Evil game. It is far from the best Resident Evil games, but still is a enjoyable game. The organization in episodes is a good idea that make the story more interesting. The ship Queen Zenobia is a good location for the plot, but the game sometimes is repetitive and the enemies are boring. If you like Resident Evil series you will like Revelations, but this game does not give a millionth of the fear and the satisfaction that the old Residents gave to us. Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    6
    Resident Evil Revelations is a very strange game, to me. Allow me to get the negatives out of the way first :

    At first, I hated it with a
    passion. All of the good things from the recent, modern Resident Evil games were gone. Upon hitting an enemy, they seldom react, if ever. You would end up emptying entire clips into an enemy only for them to go through a pre-baked death animation once their invisible health bar reached zero. The ability to dodge or perform context actions is virtually gone. The only time you can perform a context attack is when the random number roller decides you have triggered a 'stun state' on the enemy, at which point you move close, then hold down the action button, and release to perform a close combat attack. While that sounds similar to recent games, your character is simply stood still in a random pose while they 'charge up damage' for release, and just looks dumb in all honesty. The new dodging mechanic is atrocious. You have to position yourself directly in the way of the attack, and then flick forwards on the controller (if using the USB XBOX360 controller) to dodge. If your timing is even slightly off, you will naturally get hit. The problem? The game doesn't prompt you when the 'flick now to dodge' period is, and the only area to trigger it is often in the dumbest location to be, often directly in front of the enemy.

    Now, this said? It isn't that bad of a game. The mechanics can be frustrating as hell, but the game quickly grows on you. Once you discard any notion of playing a 'modern' Resident Evil game, it gets better (albeit with weak bullet-sponging action for a shooter). You have to pay more attention to how you move, so that you don't allow yourself to become cornered or open to certain kinds of attack (there is a 'standard' enemy that has a slow ranged attack). You have to pay more attention to your ammo, be wary of your health, and weigh up how to engage the enemy or whether to just retreat. Granted, I was playing on one difficulty above normal, so I imagine the standard experience is quite tame, perhaps even boring.

    The story is a usual hammy Resident Evil affair, but one that feels strangely non-canon given how little mention it gets elsewhere in the series, despite how huge of an event the story would have been in the Resident Evil world (and the formation of the BSAA). Despite the gameplay change, after my first two bitter chapters where I was still hung up on modern RE games, I really got into it, and felt compelled to keep playing to see how it all turns out. The story is a bit messy, with the focus jumping between various groups of characters, but otherwise pretty solid if you don't mind the usual dramatic action tropes. Though as per usual RE writing, there was one supremely aggravatingly poorly written character, the typical random sex-appeal female who makes everything about "do you have a crush on me?" "are you trying to ask me out?" "why won't this guy take my hint?". Thanks for making every one of your players roll their eyes with the force of a tornado, guys. Thankfully Jill provides a stoic, highly effective and mission-focused female lead that squarely flips off all the usual bimbo qualities in favour of being a straight-up field agent. Chris is also less of a complete meathead here too, and when he finally gets to stand beside Jill as a support character, you finally get an "IT'S GO TIME" echo of the original Resident Evils. Parker, the new support character, is suprisingly likeable for a goofball. His sense of humour is not so overdone that he doesn't know when to shut up and put on his game face, and he actually has a bit of depth to him rather than being a slightly chubby comic relief guy. He actually feels like somebody you want to have covering your back, y'know?

    The lack of a sprint and dodge function was a bit vexing at first, and the lack of combat reactions really betrayed this game, but overall it's an enjoyable experience if you can just let go of the AAA-style modern REs. It won't be for everyone though, so I would suggest downloading the demo before you purchase. Also, it is worth noting that this is a port of a portable console game, with a little re-working on visuals. Even then, the visuals are not exactly superb. There are some beautiful little details here and there, but the lower-poly enemy models are very noticeable.

    I like that they are trying to give their fans a more nostalgic flavour, but I don't think they needed to discard the positives they learned from their newer games. Some of the enemy designs are excellent, while others are quite lacking. Gotta give those concept dudes some real credit for what they replaced the standard zombies with!

    Unless you only enjoyed the modern ones, if you are a Resident Evil fan, consider my rating at a +1.
    If you aren't a fan of the series, I would subtract one or maybe even two.
    I can see this being a real marmite game, you'd either love it or hate it.
    Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2014
    5
    This was a major step backwards from RE6 in virtually every category. I expected much better from the latest of the Resident Evil franchise. I am certain that if they had wanted to do a better job with this game, they could and would have. I'm just glad I got it while it was on sale.. Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    0
    terribly ported game. to be honest, on a 3ds it might be fun to play, on a pc its just a waste of money.
    the graphics are dated, the are
    many ugly looking textures and videobugs like floating blood,
    enemies often get stuck walking into objects, the levels are so short and boring, then youre spammed with video cut sequences, and to make it even worse, you have to watch a resume of what you just did in a short video as well, every few levels.
    i didnt expect much, but this game still disappointed me.
    if youre looking for a fun resident evil game, buy any game but this. honestly. in my opinion, even racoon city was more fun to play.
    graphics 0 sounds 0 (pistol sounds like a toygun, etc.) animations 0, story 3, controls 1, actual fun while playing 0 all together its not worth buying, not even on sale. get it on ds or else it will feel like a robbery.
    Expand

See all 50 User Reviews