Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 230 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Revelations tells the story of what happens between Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 28, 2013
    85
    Revelation has some flaws - an imperfect controlling system, some short and too easy levels and really stupid story moments, that are typical for the Resident Evil series. Still, despite all this, the new RE is a great game. Episodic formula works great with telling a large, multithreaded story, the game has some real horror, great boss fights and a new game mode. It's definitely worth your time.
  2. May 20, 2013
    85
    It’s been so long since I could say, without any second guessing or qualifiers, that I like a Resident Evil game. I don’t just like Revelations — I adore it. Slower mechanics, scrounging for items, and marching headlong into the unknown are features not entirely lost in new RE games, but they’re rarely expressed as well as they were in pre-RE4 titles.
  3. May 23, 2013
    85
    Porting Revelations to make it readily available to millions of gamers was a smart move by Capcom, but if you have played the 3DS version already then there is nothing new here for you. For everyone else, Capcom has done console and PC gamers a favor in providing a thrilling and riveting addition to this truly evil series.
  4. May 20, 2013
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. May 21, 2013
    75
    Revelations is definitely reminiscent of the old school days of the series, and those craving that particular experience should not miss out.
  6. May 20, 2013
    75
    This HD version shares all the problems its predecessor has, including noticeably limited enemy variety and weak allied AI that can't hit the broad side of a barn.
  7. May 22, 2013
    65
    Revelations is a decent adventure, but it doesn't come close to reaching the heights the series has in the past.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 48
  2. Negative: 13 out of 48
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    Challenging, fun, exciting, creepy,
    As Resident Evil fan (since Re/bio1)I like the way they brought back the old school "survival horror" and
    mixed it in with the new school look.
    But the Controlls are a bit annoying (at the first moment) and I wasn't happy about jill's look, not the best(preffe the design from re5) but it is okay.
    so um,
    9/10.
    Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    10
    The RE series were going downhill after RE5, but this one is simply tremendous.
    Story is good and it is fun to play in Raid mode. The
    graphics are all right and the gameplay is good. Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    When I first played the game, I thought is going to be worse as hell, but when I almost finished it I realised that RE: R is the second best after 6. Good graphics, nice levels, scary plot and captivating characters. What I didn't like was the lack of defence, the tiny melee attack and poor aiming. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    7
    This game is generally very well created. It has unique setting. Player is pitted into the ghost ship, with enemies crawling around every corner and behind every door. It sets up the intense and unsettling atmosphere and claustrophobic elements that comes from game's setting also helps intensifying atmosphere of game. One downside of this is, that this game tries to put some variety in gaming by shifting the game's perspective to that of someone else. That includes someone in snowy mountain, the office building under siege, etc. Although all levels are quite well designed, it never struck me as strong as the haunted ship.

    Unlike the previous Resident Evil series where action overthrew the very fundamental the horror out of window, this game quite succeeds in its attempt to balance the horror and the action. There are a lot of weapons to help you survive, but you never feel completely prepared for encounter with enemies. This also adds nice intensity to general feel of game.

    However, this game's story is completely detached from original storyline, which might throw off some Resident Evil fan. Well, this can be forgiven as story isn't much of big deal in Resident Evil games. However, what I can't forgive is the graphic. Although things looks ok generally, the texture looks like it just crawled from 2008. Although graphic isn't much of concern when you're trying survive, I expected it to be on par with games currently out there.

    I can't help but feeling this game is like B-rated horror movie. Although there are certainly some good traits about this game, I don't think this is worth full game price, even more so considering this is originally 3DS game. Survival horror (or action) fans will guaranteed to find enjoyment in this game, but I'd wait until price drops.
    Expand
  5. May 25, 2013
    6
    At short ,
    This game is more of the same the old formula with a different look and new gadgets ,i don't care for the graphics or the raid
    mode, the scare rate is 0/10,The story was industrial RE.
    Bottom line It has been done already.
    Expand
  6. May 21, 2013
    5
    What about getting a new graphic motor? What about the mouse sensibility? What about local coop mode?

    I really think they are using all the
    same game that started on RE5 on all these news games, please... INNOVATE!

    5/10
    Expand
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    0
    terribly ported game. to be honest, on a 3ds it might be fun to play, on a pc its just a waste of money.
    the graphics are dated, the are
    many ugly looking textures and videobugs like floating blood,
    enemies often get stuck walking into objects, the levels are so short and boring, then youre spammed with video cut sequences, and to make it even worse, you have to watch a resume of what you just did in a short video as well, every few levels.
    i didnt expect much, but this game still disappointed me.
    if youre looking for a fun resident evil game, buy any game but this. honestly. in my opinion, even racoon city was more fun to play.
    graphics 0 sounds 0 (pistol sounds like a toygun, etc.) animations 0, story 3, controls 1, actual fun while playing 0 all together its not worth buying, not even on sale. get it on ds or else it will feel like a robbery.
    Expand

See all 48 User Reviews