Resident Evil: Revelations PC

Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 307 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Resident Evil: Revelations tells the story of what happens between Resident Evil 4 and Resident Evil 5.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. May 28, 2013
    85
    Revelation has some flaws - an imperfect controlling system, some short and too easy levels and really stupid story moments, that are typical for the Resident Evil series. Still, despite all this, the new RE is a great game. Episodic formula works great with telling a large, multithreaded story, the game has some real horror, great boss fights and a new game mode. It's definitely worth your time.
  2. May 20, 2013
    85
    It’s been so long since I could say, without any second guessing or qualifiers, that I like a Resident Evil game. I don’t just like Revelations — I adore it. Slower mechanics, scrounging for items, and marching headlong into the unknown are features not entirely lost in new RE games, but they’re rarely expressed as well as they were in pre-RE4 titles.
  3. May 23, 2013
    85
    Porting Revelations to make it readily available to millions of gamers was a smart move by Capcom, but if you have played the 3DS version already then there is nothing new here for you. For everyone else, Capcom has done console and PC gamers a favor in providing a thrilling and riveting addition to this truly evil series.
  4. May 20, 2013
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. May 21, 2013
    75
    Revelations is definitely reminiscent of the old school days of the series, and those craving that particular experience should not miss out.
  6. May 20, 2013
    75
    This HD version shares all the problems its predecessor has, including noticeably limited enemy variety and weak allied AI that can't hit the broad side of a barn.
  7. May 22, 2013
    65
    Revelations is a decent adventure, but it doesn't come close to reaching the heights the series has in the past.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 54
  2. Negative: 16 out of 54
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    Challenging, fun, exciting, creepy,
    As Resident Evil fan (since Re/bio1)I like the way they brought back the old school "survival horror" and
    Challenging, fun, exciting, creepy,
    As Resident Evil fan (since Re/bio1)I like the way they brought back the old school "survival horror" and mixed it in with the new school look.
    But the Controlls are a bit annoying (at the first moment) and I wasn't happy about jill's look, not the best(preffe the design from re5) but it is okay.
    so um,
    9/10.
    Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    9
    This game is cool. I recommend it to all old fans of Resident Evil, especially of series 1, 2 and 3. I was annoyed with aiming, even with proThis game is cool. I recommend it to all old fans of Resident Evil, especially of series 1, 2 and 3. I was annoyed with aiming, even with pro mouse on pro mousepad I could not aim properly. Beside, dialogs were a bit lame, but I like a move Capcom has made. Going back to darkness, true horror. This is how Resident Evil should be. Assuming:
    - graphics, I dont mind, I like it's own unique style(RE always had very average gfx, I like that)
    - sound is great
    - story, very twisted and disappointing on start(I was like "WTF?!" when I saw second mission)
    - gameplay, cool but aiming should be corrected
    - Jill Valentine, she does not look like original character from 3rd part. Why she has changed so much?

    Capcom should defiantly go for horror mode. Otherwise they will kill entire series in matter of few years. If I want to play a shooter I will go for shooter, I want Resident Evil as i was from start. This is how game succeed and this is how it should be all time.

    9, why? Play, dont mind graphics. You'll realise.
    Expand
  3. May 30, 2013
    9
    It's better then RE4/RE5/RE6. The best RE from last ten years!
    Game have oldschool atmosphere.
    When I play game my feelings was like I play
    It's better then RE4/RE5/RE6. The best RE from last ten years!
    Game have oldschool atmosphere.
    When I play game my feelings was like I play in game from first trilogy: tensity, sometimes fear.
    It have nice soundtrack, graphics(not in videos, but in gameplay), story, gameplay! You can found here some puzzles.
    Sorry for my english.
    Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2013
    7
    This game is generally very well created. It has unique setting. Player is pitted into the ghost ship, with enemies crawling around everyThis game is generally very well created. It has unique setting. Player is pitted into the ghost ship, with enemies crawling around every corner and behind every door. It sets up the intense and unsettling atmosphere and claustrophobic elements that comes from game's setting also helps intensifying atmosphere of game. One downside of this is, that this game tries to put some variety in gaming by shifting the game's perspective to that of someone else. That includes someone in snowy mountain, the office building under siege, etc. Although all levels are quite well designed, it never struck me as strong as the haunted ship.

    Unlike the previous Resident Evil series where action overthrew the very fundamental the horror out of window, this game quite succeeds in its attempt to balance the horror and the action. There are a lot of weapons to help you survive, but you never feel completely prepared for encounter with enemies. This also adds nice intensity to general feel of game.

    However, this game's story is completely detached from original storyline, which might throw off some Resident Evil fan. Well, this can be forgiven as story isn't much of big deal in Resident Evil games. However, what I can't forgive is the graphic. Although things looks ok generally, the texture looks like it just crawled from 2008. Although graphic isn't much of concern when you're trying survive, I expected it to be on par with games currently out there.

    I can't help but feeling this game is like B-rated horror movie. Although there are certainly some good traits about this game, I don't think this is worth full game price, even more so considering this is originally 3DS game. Survival horror (or action) fans will guaranteed to find enjoyment in this game, but I'd wait until price drops.
    Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    6
    Resident Evil Revelations is a very strange game, to me. Allow me to get the negatives out of the way first :

    At first, I hated it with a
    Resident Evil Revelations is a very strange game, to me. Allow me to get the negatives out of the way first :

    At first, I hated it with a passion. All of the good things from the recent, modern Resident Evil games were gone. Upon hitting an enemy, they seldom react, if ever. You would end up emptying entire clips into an enemy only for them to go through a pre-baked death animation once their invisible health bar reached zero. The ability to dodge or perform context actions is virtually gone. The only time you can perform a context attack is when the random number roller decides you have triggered a 'stun state' on the enemy, at which point you move close, then hold down the action button, and release to perform a close combat attack. While that sounds similar to recent games, your character is simply stood still in a random pose while they 'charge up damage' for release, and just looks dumb in all honesty. The new dodging mechanic is atrocious. You have to position yourself directly in the way of the attack, and then flick forwards on the controller (if using the USB XBOX360 controller) to dodge. If your timing is even slightly off, you will naturally get hit. The problem? The game doesn't prompt you when the 'flick now to dodge' period is, and the only area to trigger it is often in the dumbest location to be, often directly in front of the enemy.

    Now, this said? It isn't that bad of a game. The mechanics can be frustrating as hell, but the game quickly grows on you. Once you discard any notion of playing a 'modern' Resident Evil game, it gets better (albeit with weak bullet-sponging action for a shooter). You have to pay more attention to how you move, so that you don't allow yourself to become cornered or open to certain kinds of attack (there is a 'standard' enemy that has a slow ranged attack). You have to pay more attention to your ammo, be wary of your health, and weigh up how to engage the enemy or whether to just retreat. Granted, I was playing on one difficulty above normal, so I imagine the standard experience is quite tame, perhaps even boring.

    The story is a usual hammy Resident Evil affair, but one that feels strangely non-canon given how little mention it gets elsewhere in the series, despite how huge of an event the story would have been in the Resident Evil world (and the formation of the BSAA). Despite the gameplay change, after my first two bitter chapters where I was still hung up on modern RE games, I really got into it, and felt compelled to keep playing to see how it all turns out. The story is a bit messy, with the focus jumping between various groups of characters, but otherwise pretty solid if you don't mind the usual dramatic action tropes. Though as per usual RE writing, there was one supremely aggravatingly poorly written character, the typical random sex-appeal female who makes everything about "do you have a crush on me?" "are you trying to ask me out?" "why won't this guy take my hint?". Thanks for making every one of your players roll their eyes with the force of a tornado, guys. Thankfully Jill provides a stoic, highly effective and mission-focused female lead that squarely flips off all the usual bimbo qualities in favour of being a straight-up field agent. Chris is also less of a complete meathead here too, and when he finally gets to stand beside Jill as a support character, you finally get an "IT'S GO TIME" echo of the original Resident Evils. Parker, the new support character, is suprisingly likeable for a goofball. His sense of humour is not so overdone that he doesn't know when to shut up and put on his game face, and he actually has a bit of depth to him rather than being a slightly chubby comic relief guy. He actually feels like somebody you want to have covering your back, y'know?

    The lack of a sprint and dodge function was a bit vexing at first, and the lack of combat reactions really betrayed this game, but overall it's an enjoyable experience if you can just let go of the AAA-style modern REs. It won't be for everyone though, so I would suggest downloading the demo before you purchase. Also, it is worth noting that this is a port of a portable console game, with a little re-working on visuals. Even then, the visuals are not exactly superb. There are some beautiful little details here and there, but the lower-poly enemy models are very noticeable.

    I like that they are trying to give their fans a more nostalgic flavour, but I don't think they needed to discard the positives they learned from their newer games. Some of the enemy designs are excellent, while others are quite lacking. Gotta give those concept dudes some real credit for what they replaced the standard zombies with!

    Unless you only enjoyed the modern ones, if you are a Resident Evil fan, consider my rating at a +1.
    If you aren't a fan of the series, I would subtract one or maybe even two.
    I can see this being a real marmite game, you'd either love it or hate it.
    Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2013
    5
    In regards to the PC version of this game, not only is it falsely advertized stating "improved visuals", but the mouselook control was putIn regards to the PC version of this game, not only is it falsely advertized stating "improved visuals", but the mouselook control was put into this engine via hackjob and it just feels like something that's been forced out of a handheld and onto computers.... oh yeah; right. It is.

    Taking the game from its stereoscopic 3D original and downgrading it to monoscopic 2D without even building the option to enable 3D if one has the hardware is a gigantic downgrade. I don't care how many more polygons you render, how many more colors the palette can actively use it's garbage because the depth perception or even the option to have it has been removed. To me, having loved the 3DS version this was a gigantic letdown that tore 40% of what the game had to offer away from the experience.

    What's really a letdown about the downgrade to monoscopic 2D here is this is a desperate move by Capcom to cash in over their failed Resident Evil 6 release. It's turning out to be more of a slap in the face to the gamer than anything else. It's been rushed, downgraded and it's essentially the very same game with nothing new to offer.
    Collapse
  7. Jun 12, 2014
    0
    absolutely terrible port. crap graphics and doesn't even have 720 or 1080p resolution so im stuck with a small screen only played it for 10absolutely terrible port. crap graphics and doesn't even have 720 or 1080p resolution so im stuck with a small screen only played it for 10 minutes its the biggest waste of money. Expand

See all 54 User Reviews