Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    90
    Overall, Resonance was an extremely satisfying adventure and deserves its place among the genre's finest. Not enough games like this are released these days, and even if you don't play them very often, I would highly recommend taking the time to enjoy this one.
  2. 90
    Overall, Resonance is a highly entertaining game. It has a first-rate story, great aesthetics, and the intangible qualities that make a game hard to put down.
  3. Jun 28, 2012
    90
    A deep dive into retro adventure games: one clever and entangling adventure from the apparently bland start to one of the two different epic endings.
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    90
    With Resonance, Vince Twelve has demonstrated how it's possible to create a compelling and fresh adventure thanks to the perfect combination of a fashinating story, great puzzles and innovative ideas.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    90
    With multiple paths and endings and a dense story it's totally worth more than a single playthrough, even after you've managed to get through all the head scratching. Like the rest of Wadjet's catalog, Resonance is an absolute must play for any classic adventure nut, and worth checking out for any more modern fan.
  6. Jun 22, 2012
    90
    You really can't go wrong by spending some time with Resonance. While at first glance it may hark back to games like Beneath a Steel Sky, it's a fresh, modern mystery. It's set the bar rather high for other adventure game developers, and not just indies, though they really drive the genre right now. It might have been over all too quickly, but it was undoubtedly worth the five year wait.
  7. Jun 19, 2012
    90
    Resonance took a long time to arrive, but this meaty, challenging sci-fi thriller has unquestionably been worth the wait.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing! I mean it really feels as if Im playing a game straight from 1994. This game just overflows with those nostalgic feelings of the glory days of Adventure gaming. The puzzles are tough the dialog is great and the voice acting is fantastic! Full Review »
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    This game is at the top of it's league right now. What an awesome adventure with very intense story that is spread out in very good dialogue. Makes your imagination just take you away in a awesome tale. And you know what? You are in it ...aren't you? Full Review »
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    Just finished my first playthrough of Resonance and that's really my main complaint. It's a really solid puzzle game and the story and voice acting are very good quality. I did have two main complaints, the first being there are a few points where the puzzles/situations seem out of place of the story. The "puzzle box" being prime example. Other than that it was a little short, I clocked about 8-9 hours out of the game on first play but it was only $10. I'd say if your a fan of well written puzzlers its a must, if your not then its a cheap way to have a really good couple of afternoons. Full Review »