Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    60
    On the whole, Resonance is serviceable entry in a genre where very few games are being made. The plot's not stellar, but it's still pretty good. The animation was fluid, and some of the scenes are quite gorgeous. The music also does a good job of setting the mood for the various locales and situations. Despite how harsh I might be, it's solid enough for being a ten dollar indie title and I do recommend checking it out for adventure fans.
  2. Jul 10, 2012
    60
    Purely from a gameplay standpoint this is one of the most consistently well designed adventure games I've played, and tackling its scenarios was a delight, but while nearly any other video game genre gets away with its particular narrative vices, story and characters are such crucial aspects of this one. Poor characterisation and a too familiar storyline is ultimately enough to render Resonance a mechanically impressive adventure game that sorely lacks personality.
  3. Jun 22, 2012
    60
    Make no mistake, Resonance is an impressive achievement for its tiny indie developer: a vast and intriguing adventure game made mostly by one person, filled with mystery, and confronting issues a lot bigger than most games dare to touch. Keep that in mind and you might be able to forgive its missteps. I almost could. But not quite.
  4. Jul 12, 2012
    50
    Inconsistent writing and shallow characterizations keep this adventure game from fully resonating.
  5. Jul 11, 2012
    50
    Garbed in retro aesthetics, an upbeat soundtrack, engaging puzzles, and a story that whispered promises of a long and grandiose experience, Resonance was definitely armed to the teeth. As a puzzle packed title, it does well enough to keep players immersed and plugged in. But as a story driven spectacle, expected from any point-and-click title, having things dim down prematurely is a sure disappointment and is best kept as a one time foray.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 4 out of 26
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing! I mean it really feels as if Im playing a game straight from 1994. This game just overflows with those nostalgic feelings of the glory days of Adventure gaming. The puzzles are tough the dialog is great and the voice acting is fantastic! Full Review »
  2. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    This game is at the top of it's league right now. What an awesome adventure with very intense story that is spread out in very good dialogue. Makes your imagination just take you away in a awesome tale. And you know what? You are in it ...aren't you? Full Review »
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    Just finished my first playthrough of Resonance and that's really my main complaint. It's a really solid puzzle game and the story and voice acting are very good quality. I did have two main complaints, the first being there are a few points where the puzzles/situations seem out of place of the story. The "puzzle box" being prime example. Other than that it was a little short, I clocked about 8-9 hours out of the game on first play but it was only $10. I'd say if your a fan of well written puzzlers its a must, if your not then its a cheap way to have a really good couple of afternoons. Full Review »