Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A particle physicist's mysterious and spectacular death sparks a race to find his hidden vault and claim his terrifying new discovery. The player will take control of four characters whose lives become entangled in the search for the scientist's vault. They will have to learn to trust eachA particle physicist's mysterious and spectacular death sparks a race to find his hidden vault and claim his terrifying new discovery. The player will take control of four characters whose lives become entangled in the search for the scientist's vault. They will have to learn to trust each other and work together to overcome the obstacles in their way and to keep this new and powerful technology out of the hands of a dangerous organization. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    90
    Overall, Resonance was an extremely satisfying adventure and deserves its place among the genre's finest. Not enough games like this are released these days, and even if you don't play them very often, I would highly recommend taking the time to enjoy this one.
  2. Jun 25, 2012
    90
    With multiple paths and endings and a dense story it's totally worth more than a single playthrough, even after you've managed to get through all the head scratching. Like the rest of Wadjet's catalog, Resonance is an absolute must play for any classic adventure nut, and worth checking out for any more modern fan.
  3. Aug 23, 2012
    85
    While at times frustrating (like all good adventure games), Resonance is an interesting combination of gritty, creepy, and above all else, humorous. Working with memories, and different characters' perceptions of events makes for a satisfying approach to the story.
  4. Jun 29, 2012
    80
    Resonance is a labour of love, and it shows. The game offers an intelligent, deep story and challenging but well designed puzzles. If you like smart games, this is a must-play.
  5. Jun 22, 2012
    76
    An interesting story and intelligent puzzles help to transform this adventure into a good thriller. This is an enchanting retro trip with clever ideas.
  6. Jul 23, 2012
    70
    There's still plenty of life in the genre, as this creative romp amply demonstrates, even if fully appreciating it takes more patience than some will be able to muster.
  7. Jul 11, 2012
    50
    Garbed in retro aesthetics, an upbeat soundtrack, engaging puzzles, and a story that whispered promises of a long and grandiose experience, Resonance was definitely armed to the teeth. As a puzzle packed title, it does well enough to keep players immersed and plugged in. But as a story driven spectacle, expected from any point-and-click title, having things dim down prematurely is a sure disappointment and is best kept as a one time foray.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Jun 20, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing! I mean it really feels as if Im playing a game straight from 1994. This game just overflows with those nostalgic feelingsAbsolutely amazing! I mean it really feels as if Im playing a game straight from 1994. This game just overflows with those nostalgic feelings of the glory days of Adventure gaming. The puzzles are tough the dialog is great and the voice acting is fantastic! Expand
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The really impressive thing is that each of the four characters has an incredibly strong reason to be involved in the events of the story. Typically in adventure games, the hero does it "just for a lark" (the vast majority) or because they're a bit nosey, even though they're putting their life at serious risk (Broken Sword, Gabriel Knight). Don't get me wrong, I'm not knocking those games, but there's a real sense of forced participation on the part of the main characters. Why does Gabriel Knight end up risking his life repeatedly to fight against an evil voodoo entity? Why, because he's researching a new book. Why does George Stobart go against an international conspiracy capable of assassinating VIPs? Because... he... does?
    ==============================================
    ==============================================
    It's the various motivations, and how nuances and morally ambiguous they can be, that put this game ahead of the pack. You never need just accept that they're in a room taping a sponge to a broom to distract the guard so they can go in and steal his cake so they can bribe the fat man guarding the keys to the scooter, just because that's how they roll. No, in this game it all flows through and makes sense, so the puzzles hang together better and blend into the setting rather than feeling horribly tacked-on (like in the otherwise fantastic The Longest Journey). And the other thing is the puzzles actually make sense. How do you log into the top secret computer? Well you hack into a regular PC, check the emails, get just enough info to get someone's username on the super computer, reset their password on it, then check the new password in their email account on the regular PC. None of that "tie a cat to a pogo stick and use it to catch a passing pigeon, which you then glue a microphone to so you can have it fly outside the window and record the man talking about his password".
    ==============================================
    ==============================================
    The story is fantastic, the characters are believable and well-written, the music and artwork is wonderful, and there are some tough choices and genuinely shocking twists.
    Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    This game is at the top of it's league right now. What an awesome adventure with very intense story that is spread out in very good dialogue.This game is at the top of it's league right now. What an awesome adventure with very intense story that is spread out in very good dialogue. Makes your imagination just take you away in a awesome tale. And you know what? You are in it ...aren't you? Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    I've never been much for these kind of games, i tried a bunch but never finished any. Resonance was the first one i actually finished. A veryI've never been much for these kind of games, i tried a bunch but never finished any. Resonance was the first one i actually finished. A very engrossing story, solid puzzles and a major turn in the story i absolutely didn't see coming made the brilliant experience i had with Resonance. It's a bit like reading a book, you watch as events unfold but you can't do much about it. That linearity could be viewed as a complaint i guess, bit i was fine with it. The voice acting is rock solid, humorous and even touching at times. The puzzles are of good difficulty and you always get help by talking to the other characters, witch really helps to keep the game fast paced. It is by no means a super special something you never heard before kind of story, but it has plenty of twists that will keep you glued to your screen, it certainly did for me. Awesome stuff, it really made me reconsider this genre, i may revisit all the other games in this genre i have, perhaps wrongly, discarded. Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    Just finished my first playthrough of Resonance and that's really my main complaint. It's a really solid puzzle game and the story and voiceJust finished my first playthrough of Resonance and that's really my main complaint. It's a really solid puzzle game and the story and voice acting are very good quality. I did have two main complaints, the first being there are a few points where the puzzles/situations seem out of place of the story. The "puzzle box" being prime example. Other than that it was a little short, I clocked about 8-9 hours out of the game on first play but it was only $10. I'd say if your a fan of well written puzzlers its a must, if your not then its a cheap way to have a really good couple of afternoons. Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    8
    I really enjoyed this game, just the freedom of point 'n click adventure games would be a plus. The way the game let me talk to otherI really enjoyed this game, just the freedom of point 'n click adventure games would be a plus. The way the game let me talk to other characters about someone behind their back, but refuse to do so when they're in the room was an amusing find, I think the developers really put thought into the dialogue and reactions the characters would have to different situations, characters and items (except the detective). The story was gripping and kept me guessing. I finished this game in one sitting and I enjoyed it immensely. That said, I wish they made better use of the memory mechanic, it's a neat idea, but it was rarely used in actual puzzle solving. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2012
    0
    I'm honestly not sure that other people are reviewing the same game I am. The one comment that seems fit is that the graphics in this game areI'm honestly not sure that other people are reviewing the same game I am. The one comment that seems fit is that the graphics in this game are akin to that in "Beneath a Steal Sky". In other words, horrible even for 10 years ago. Made by a single developer, this game comes across as the type of thing one would find in a developer's portfolio for a job interview, not a released game. The voice acting is stilted and not evocative in any way. To it's credit, the story is somewhat interesting and there is some humor in it. The best news is that there is a demo freely available from the distributor's website. I strongly advise anyone thinking of buying this game to download it and try it out. If you like what you see in the demo, it's probably worth the money. Myself, I could not get past the horrible graphics. Collapse

See all 27 User Reviews

Trailers