Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A parody of the open-world action genre, Retro City Rampage takes modern game mechanics and mashes them into an authentic 8-bit experience. It's one half fast paced arcade game, the other half a hilarious story mode! It's all the driving and shooting you'd expect and a whole lot more! With missions that twist pages straight from classic game experiences, you get to re-live and rewrite history in a way only a modern anti-hero could! When it comes to enemies, weapons are only the beginning! Put on your boots and jump on their heads! Toss 'em around to knock the rest down! Become truly unstoppable with awesome power-ups! Through its world, characters and missions, Retro City Rampage lampoons the entire 8-bit era from its games to the TV, movies and pop culture! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    90
    It's exactly what we expected: a deep tribute to video games, mainly from the 80/90's. Crazy and intense, Retro City Rampage is able to entertain without a groundbreaking visual aspect. It could've been longer and the translation (at least into Spanish) could've been better, but if you like gaming and you miss the old school games, then it's a must-have.
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    85
    A love letter to the Pixel generation, an ode to an Era that'll never come back, this Retro City Rampage blasts through the screen with an irresistible combination of pure Old School visuals and intense gameplay a là GTA, on top of the wildest -the DeLorean from Back to the Future turned into a pure roadkill machine??- and craziest icons from the TV, Cinema and Videogames of the last 30 years. A must have for those children of the Eighties.
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    80
    Grand Theft Auto along with the whole 80's culture is brazenly imitated by this game. Still, it's an incredibly original title, it's even retro lovers gem. If you remember 8bit, you should not be discouraged by some flaws and the high difficulty level.
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    75
    Retro City Rampage is a game that certainly has it's flaws, but if you lived through the 80's or 90's, this a game made for you. The adventure of Player is filled with references to that time period, and if words like Ninja Turtles, Mario, Contra and Batman bring back memories, you'll have great fun with Retro City Rampage.
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    I definitely had fun with Retro City Rampage, that much is clear.
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    70
    Though the variety of gameplay gives Retro City Rampage a broad scope, the redundancy of driving back and forth quickly becomes stale.
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    40
    As a game it's boring. As a parody it totally sucks.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 3 out of 20
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This game is a blast, but it'll probably only feel like an 8/10 if you never played the NES classics. In which case, I suggest you look up the references in this game and play those classics. Anyway, easily worth $15. Also, great controller support. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Excellently executed, to the minutes of details this is an instant, timeless classic. Must play for any NES / oldschool game enthousiast and also for those willing to learn about the glory days of gaming. LOVE the pixel art, chip tunes and oldschool throwbacks! 10 / 10 Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This game is everything you've ever played. Every game you've ever loved. And more. At first I was slightly apprehensive about spending £10 on a game that, on the surface, may seem like something you'd find on a flash games website. But then I started playing. I'm not going into detail for fear of giving anything away, but if you love retro/arcade games and you're sitting around wondering if it's worth it: It is. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    This game is great. I was laughing my ass off the first time I played it, thinking, "are those pixelated ninja turtles that are chasing me?". What I enjoy about this game is how much better it is than Grand Theft Auto 3, which is the main game it's parodying. The cutscenes are appropriately fast paced and while it does get difficult to the point of having to retry 10-20 times, it's still a hell of a lot better and much more fun than the unfair and frustrating difficulty associated with Grand Theft Auto 3 missions. The combat system is clean and works great (MUCH unlike GTA3) and it feels that if this game really was released on the NES back in the day (the developer originally created this game on the NES, then ported it to the PC and modern consoles) it would have had super universal praise, 10/10s everywhere unlike what I'm seeing by the "modernized" critical press.
    The only problem I have with this game is the difficulty, which for others they may feel right at home with it. Even after you stop laughing at the many references or some of them start shooting over your head, the core game is still quirky and fun. Try out the demo and see if it's for you.
    Expand
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm a teenager who didn't grow up in the era of the 80s, and I found this game enjoyable, at times. The game starts out with your average tutorial, but as the game goes on the missions only get more and more frustrating. An example, of a frustrating moment in this game is the mission "sweaty" jumping. The objective of it is to get to the top of the floor. Sounds simple enough, but to make it more difficult it's all timed jumping. The timed jumping isn't that bad, but having to listen to the same music looping over and over again while attempting to complete the level is annoying. Now, the game's missions are difficult at times, and the game keeps you, as the player, coming back to see how the story unfolds. However, the missions sometimes feel too difficult maybe that is to emulate the NES was back then. Overall, the game is a good game, if you want to play it for the GTA feeling of it. The customization of the character is unique because there's multiple things you can customize about the character(hair, face, hat etc...) For the difficulty of the game, the annoying missions, the unique customization, and retaining the feeling of the an actual GTA game. I rate it a 6. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    This would have been amazing about 20 years ago now it's just an irrelevant parody lost in a new generation of games.
    This game fits better
    for something like the ipad so you can play it on the go instead of waisting time when you could be playing better games like bioshock or tomb raider. Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2014
    1
    after one minute positive impression, i found 8 bit style chosen because lazy, or out of resources.
    longer i played the more this one started
    feeling little unfinished. We have been playing better looking retrogames, with more charm in objects and plots, -even the originals from which many of ideas here have ben copied were implemented better. Here you got fast copy of lots of material for fast content. i started feeling i've already played this with those old original implementations. Hmm i think i buy my kid Renegade Ops instead of this. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews