Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A parody of the open-world action genre, Retro City Rampage takes modern game mechanics and mashes them into an authentic 8-bit experience. It's one half fast paced arcade game, the other half a hilarious story mode! It's all the driving and shooting you'd expect and a whole lot more! WithA parody of the open-world action genre, Retro City Rampage takes modern game mechanics and mashes them into an authentic 8-bit experience. It's one half fast paced arcade game, the other half a hilarious story mode! It's all the driving and shooting you'd expect and a whole lot more! With missions that twist pages straight from classic game experiences, you get to re-live and rewrite history in a way only a modern anti-hero could! When it comes to enemies, weapons are only the beginning! Put on your boots and jump on their heads! Toss 'em around to knock the rest down! Become truly unstoppable with awesome power-ups! Through its world, characters and missions, Retro City Rampage lampoons the entire 8-bit era from its games to the TV, movies and pop culture! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    90
    It's exactly what we expected: a deep tribute to video games, mainly from the 80/90's. Crazy and intense, Retro City Rampage is able to entertain without a groundbreaking visual aspect. It could've been longer and the translation (at least into Spanish) could've been better, but if you like gaming and you miss the old school games, then it's a must-have.
  2. Oct 11, 2012
    85
    A love letter to the Pixel generation, an ode to an Era that'll never come back, this Retro City Rampage blasts through the screen with an irresistible combination of pure Old School visuals and intense gameplay a là GTA, on top of the wildest -the DeLorean from Back to the Future turned into a pure roadkill machine??- and craziest icons from the TV, Cinema and Videogames of the last 30 years. A must have for those children of the Eighties.
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    80
    Grand Theft Auto along with the whole 80's culture is brazenly imitated by this game. Still, it's an incredibly original title, it's even retro lovers gem. If you remember 8bit, you should not be discouraged by some flaws and the high difficulty level.
  4. Jan 31, 2013
    75
    Retro City Rampage is a game that certainly has it's flaws, but if you lived through the 80's or 90's, this a game made for you. The adventure of Player is filled with references to that time period, and if words like Ninja Turtles, Mario, Contra and Batman bring back memories, you'll have great fun with Retro City Rampage.
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    I definitely had fun with Retro City Rampage, that much is clear.
  6. Oct 16, 2012
    70
    Though the variety of gameplay gives Retro City Rampage a broad scope, the redundancy of driving back and forth quickly becomes stale.
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    40
    As a game it's boring. As a parody it totally sucks.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 3 out of 22
  1. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This game is a blast, but it'll probably only feel like an 8/10 if you never played the NES classics. In which case, I suggest you look upThis game is a blast, but it'll probably only feel like an 8/10 if you never played the NES classics. In which case, I suggest you look up the references in this game and play those classics. Anyway, easily worth $15. Also, great controller support. Expand
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Excellently executed, to the minutes of details this is an instant, timeless classic. Must play for any NES / oldschool game enthousiast andExcellently executed, to the minutes of details this is an instant, timeless classic. Must play for any NES / oldschool game enthousiast and also for those willing to learn about the glory days of gaming. LOVE the pixel art, chip tunes and oldschool throwbacks! 10 / 10 Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    This game is everything you've ever played. Every game you've ever loved. And more. At first I was slightly apprehensive about spendingThis game is everything you've ever played. Every game you've ever loved. And more. At first I was slightly apprehensive about spending £10 on a game that, on the surface, may seem like something you'd find on a flash games website. But then I started playing. I'm not going into detail for fear of giving anything away, but if you love retro/arcade games and you're sitting around wondering if it's worth it: It is. Collapse
  4. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    First of all I would like to say I am A hardcore gamer as well as the casual gamer and what I found her was that mix Plus... Old schoolFirst of all I would like to say I am A hardcore gamer as well as the casual gamer and what I found her was that mix Plus... Old school graphics that the TV video options give you the chance to play or looking or take In the game. Anyone who **** about the Graphics should be taken away and beat till they understand.... Graphics do not make the game... as they are the plus. that said...

    Graphics. Good and does the game right... everything seem dumbed down and right to the point. Due to the best part of the game
    Gameplay. Yep great so far nothing to complain about other than a lock on system would have been nice during the Gunfire. The best part about the game play? It Is every NES, Movie, and pop parody since.. the 80's However that Is packed Into the addicting GTA game play mode and this Is what makes this game good to great!

    Music. Just fine.... The radio stations rock!

    Play-A-Bility... Tons, and tons, and more like any other sandbox game you can think of??? This Is what the NES days would have given us If we had the know how to make a game like this. Tons to do and see and play Games within games and dumb within in dumb. For one reason or part of the game will bring you back.. My only gripe Is... It seems almost to real for a parody. I feel like I live In this world when I play and find It not so funny... Yet more Interesting. A true classic and a must get!
    Expand
  5. Apr 19, 2013
    6
    This would have been amazing about 20 years ago now it's just an irrelevant parody lost in a new generation of games.
    This game fits better
    This would have been amazing about 20 years ago now it's just an irrelevant parody lost in a new generation of games.
    This game fits better for something like the ipad so you can play it on the go instead of waisting time when you could be playing better games like bioshock or tomb raider.
    Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2012
    6
    As others have stated, it's a soulless nostalgia pandering game with ok controls but nothing to do with them. This has absolutely noAs others have stated, it's a soulless nostalgia pandering game with ok controls but nothing to do with them. This has absolutely no personality of it's own and just tries its hardest to be liked by everyone and anyone that has been alive for more than twenty years. I love GTA style games but this one was obviously produced by someone missing the point. Parody does not simply mean reference. Don't be suckered in with it's false charm. Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2014
    1
    after one minute positive impression, i found 8 bit style chosen because lazy, or out of resources.
    longer i played the more this one started
    after one minute positive impression, i found 8 bit style chosen because lazy, or out of resources.
    longer i played the more this one started feeling little unfinished. We have been playing better looking retrogames, with more charm in objects and plots, -even the originals from which many of ideas here have ben copied were implemented better. Here you got fast copy of lots of material for fast content. i started feeling i've already played this with those old original implementations. Hmm i think i buy my kid Renegade Ops instead of this.
    Expand

See all 22 User Reviews