• Publisher: Cadenza
  • Release Date: Jan 31, 2013
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Feb 20, 2013
    66
    Retrovirus successfully updates the little-used concept of 3D six-axis combat known best from Descent for contemporary audiences, but it suffers from insane difficulty spikes, a tendency toward repetition and a disjointed story.
  2. Feb 7, 2013
    70
    Retrovirus is a nod to the classic Descent series that makes battling virtual viruses a mostly pleasant pursuit.
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    65
    A decent Descent-like shooter that unfortunately lacks of variety and fresh ideas.
  4. Feb 4, 2013
    73
    The proficient graphics, distinctive environments, and interesting story keep you playing in spite of the frustrating difficulty spikes and lack of polish. It’s a brave move to try and recreate a long-dead genre like Cadenza has done, and they’ve wound up with a solid game.
  5. Jan 30, 2013
    60
    This is one best enjoyed in shorter bursts. Cadenza Interactive's work shows promise and if the name Descent brings fond memories this comes recommended.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    70
    A worthy successor to the Descent legacy, but lacking the depth of gameplay that would’ve made it a classic of equal standing.
  7. Mar 12, 2013
    80
    Retrovirus is a great adventure and it gives you some insight into what your computer could be dealing with each day you use it.
  8. Jan 30, 2013
    80
    Once you get past the vertigo, Retrovirus becomes a great little shooter that also resurrects an FPS sub-genre that absolutely deserves its new lease on life.
  9. Feb 20, 2013
    68
    This is a solid shooter reliving in the tradition of Descent or Forsaken that lacks variety in the long run.
  10. Mar 30, 2013
    74
    Without prods from the story to push onwards, Retrovirus is reliant on the appeal of its three-dimensional shootouts to push you towards the end. Thankfully, they are up to the job. [Apr 2013, p.107]
  11. May 13, 2013
    60
    Retrovirus is strongly inspired by Descent, so its old school gameplay diverges from current standards, which doesn’t have to be a drawback. The game’s biggest strength is how the world looks. [CD-Action 06/2013, p.81]
  12. Feb 13, 2013
    70
    Retrovirus is a functional shooter that suffers from difficulty spikes and a too-small online community. It’s like Tron with its wild conception of what the inside of a computer could be and breathes life into the lifeless. For a setting so well realized, and so much fun to explore, it is worth the cost of admission.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Feb 9, 2013
    5
    I had given this game an 8. But it's just too unstable (even after a slew of updates).

    Couple crashing with save points that are a bit far
    between and too many stages that are just kill X number of enemies before continuing and you have game that becomes tedious.

    Other gripes include: whilst the stages are not big they are still too big. I think this game might have benefited from being smaller and more focused. And the sound effects really sound (ha!) like they were an afterthought.

    Combat also is tricky as there is a lot of clutter; I regularly get hooked on projections and wedge in debris while 6doffing my way around enemies.

    Is this game bad though? No. It's pretty and has an appealing and quirky sense of humour. It tries hard to be Descent and does capture some of what made Descent great. Am I upset I paid money for it? No, definitely not but I do wish it was a little more polished.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    Cool concept. A little bit buggy though. Only been playing for an hour and already got stuck in a tube with an observer that refused to move forcing a restart. On more than a few occasions I get pushed through or can clip through walls.

    Overall the difficulty is pretty good. A little repetitive right now but hopefully that will get better as the game goes on.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    If you're like me and have been itching for a good Descent-like game, then this should satisfy you. Unlike the other user reviewers, I never had any crashes. There are a couple places where the difficulty spikes a bit high, and I had to resort to cheap tactics to continue. I'd have loved to play MP with folks, but the browser never found a single game with other players in it. I cut my FPS teeth on Descent MP, so it would have been fun. Oh well, maybe I can convince enough friends to buy it. Full Review »