Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 195 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Reus is a god game by Abbey Games in which you take control of nature through the hands of mighty giants. You possess all imaginable powers over nature! There is only one thing on the planet that you do not control: mankind, with all their virtues and and all their vices. You can shape theirReus is a god game by Abbey Games in which you take control of nature through the hands of mighty giants. You possess all imaginable powers over nature! There is only one thing on the planet that you do not control: mankind, with all their virtues and and all their vices. You can shape their world, but not their will. It’s your responsibility to maintain a balance in which man is not overpowered by nature, and nature does not fall to man’s greed. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 20, 2013
    90
    It's a delight to play at every turn, and it strikes the perfect balance between providing new content and not overloading players. Beneath its unassuming appearance exists a challenging experience that will last a good long time.
  2. May 24, 2013
    85
    There are some truly brilliant concepts on display here, and this is the first fantastic god game the genre has seen in a long time. It’s a shame that the lack of game modes hinders Reus so much, as it’s really something special.
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    85
    Reus brings something entirely new to the god game genre but still manages to feel and look familiar. It's complex and well balanced system will keep you busy for hours as you watch the different civilizations develop themselves.
  4. May 31, 2013
    78
    Most of the times it takes too much effort to make all the small things of your world run smoothly, but when it happens, it's a rewarding accomplishment.
  5. 71
    Challenging and clever, Reus asks that you make the most of its rather small toolset. Gratuitous repetition and the absence of a fast forward button take some of the fun out of its demanding formula after a dozen hours or so. While there aren’t enough possibilities here to influence and care for the people of your planet as would befit a true god game, Reus certainly is an impressive effort and puts indie developer Abbey Games on the map.
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    Reus is a math puzzle dressed as a god sim. Do not mistake it for a laid-back economic strategy game - playing Reus is never a relaxing experience. It is too bad that some of the challenges crop up because of the poorly-designed UI.
  7. May 23, 2013
    60
    Reus is a god game, but not one that makes you feel particularly omnipotent. That’s partly because all the divine heavy lifting and occasional smiting is performed indirectly, by a set of elemental colossi, but also because Reus’ complex simulation can be rather daunting. God is in the details, it’s true, but he didn’t have to think quite so hard about them.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 63
  2. Negative: 13 out of 63
  1. May 17, 2013
    10
    A really nice polished god games. Were you control four giants and have to help the humans out and sometimes destroy them. The graphic andA really nice polished god games. Were you control four giants and have to help the humans out and sometimes destroy them. The graphic and music has a casual feeling to it, which is not a bad thing, since it fit's the game very well. The game-play starts out small, but just you wait. When you get farther into the game the difficulty will scale as well since new options are added and there are more things you will have to control and keep an eye on. And it's just 10$. Collapse
  2. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    I love this game, I love everything about it, its colors, its gameplay, its menu, the concept... everything. For those of you looking for thatI love this game, I love everything about it, its colors, its gameplay, its menu, the concept... everything. For those of you looking for that indie gem that will captivate you for hours, this is it. Expand
  3. May 19, 2013
    9
    Reus is a true gem of a game. You play as the god of a planet and effectively terriform this world with the help of 4 adorably calm guardiansReus is a true gem of a game. You play as the god of a planet and effectively terriform this world with the help of 4 adorably calm guardians who each take on the aspect of nature. As you do so mankind settles and you and your guardians try to help mankind florish. The mechanics of terraforming are streamlined and sophisticated making it a joy to engage with. However the beauty of the game is in its styling. Calming music, gentle guardians and the act of growing nature settle you deeply into the role of caretaker of this planet, offering a uniquely soothing gameplay. I'm a big fan. Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    Reus is a sim game where you control four giants capable of terraforming the planet to make it a place where human villages can thrive. But,Reus is a sim game where you control four giants capable of terraforming the planet to make it a place where human villages can thrive. But, if you give them too much, they may turn against each other or against you. Each time you play, your progress will allow you to build bigger, better things the next time around.

    I love these types of sim games, and I've had a ton of fun with Reus. I love trying to figure out the best way to give my village as much food as possible so they can build the next upgrade in the small amount of space they have. There are many ways to go about playing, and lots of viable strategies. Greed can make the game tough at times, though, because some of the villages will gain greed without provocation and start burning other villages down, which gets annoying at times.

    The graphics are simple and colorful, and they do their job well. The sound and music are fine. The game controls fairly well. My biggest criticism against this game is that the tech tree is pretty complex, and there's no way to pull up a map of it inside the game.

    If you like sim games or slower-paced strategy games, Reus is definitely worth buying.
    Expand
  5. May 23, 2013
    7
    I don't know why people are hating on this game. This is one of the best games I've ever played. It's new, refreshing, and it is a really goodI don't know why people are hating on this game. This is one of the best games I've ever played. It's new, refreshing, and it is a really good break from the generic FPS that gets cranked out yearly. People are complaining that it's not a God game, but a puzzle game. It is a combination of both genres. Although it is more a puzzle game, you can slack off and go make your own cities, even though they build themselves, anyway, you can get them to go to war, get really advance technology, be a trading city, etc. Now I'm going to talk about the actual puzzles themselves. They really aren't that hard in the beginning, but as you progress through the game, the time limits get shorter, and the puzzles get harder. I really don't want to spoil much more, but you really should buy this game, I mean it's only like $9 or $10. Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2013
    5
    It's a number crunching game. Don't like Civilization without combat? Then this one will feel like repetitive work. Otherwise give it a shot.It's a number crunching game. Don't like Civilization without combat? Then this one will feel like repetitive work. Otherwise give it a shot. It's at least an original approach. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    0
    One of the worst games I've ever played. Awful lack of direction, mixed with low quality game-play, and generally boring atmosphere makes forOne of the worst games I've ever played. Awful lack of direction, mixed with low quality game-play, and generally boring atmosphere makes for a terrible game. It is at best annoying. would never play again. Spoiler: It's awful. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews

Trailers