Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 181 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Reus is a god game by Abbey Games in which you take control of nature through the hands of mighty giants. You possess all imaginable powers over nature! There is only one thing on the planet that you do not control: mankind, with all their virtues and and all their vices. You can shape their world, but not their will. It’s your responsibility to maintain a balance in which man is not overpowered by nature, and nature does not fall to man’s greed. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. May 20, 2013
    90
    It's a delight to play at every turn, and it strikes the perfect balance between providing new content and not overloading players. Beneath its unassuming appearance exists a challenging experience that will last a good long time.
  2. May 24, 2013
    85
    There are some truly brilliant concepts on display here, and this is the first fantastic god game the genre has seen in a long time. It’s a shame that the lack of game modes hinders Reus so much, as it’s really something special.
  3. Jun 8, 2013
    85
    Reus brings something entirely new to the god game genre but still manages to feel and look familiar. It's complex and well balanced system will keep you busy for hours as you watch the different civilizations develop themselves.
  4. May 31, 2013
    78
    Most of the times it takes too much effort to make all the small things of your world run smoothly, but when it happens, it's a rewarding accomplishment.
  5. 71
    Challenging and clever, Reus asks that you make the most of its rather small toolset. Gratuitous repetition and the absence of a fast forward button take some of the fun out of its demanding formula after a dozen hours or so. While there aren’t enough possibilities here to influence and care for the people of your planet as would befit a true god game, Reus certainly is an impressive effort and puts indie developer Abbey Games on the map.
  6. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    Reus is a math puzzle dressed as a god sim. Do not mistake it for a laid-back economic strategy game - playing Reus is never a relaxing experience. It is too bad that some of the challenges crop up because of the poorly-designed UI.
  7. May 23, 2013
    60
    Reus is a god game, but not one that makes you feel particularly omnipotent. That’s partly because all the divine heavy lifting and occasional smiting is performed indirectly, by a set of elemental colossi, but also because Reus’ complex simulation can be rather daunting. God is in the details, it’s true, but he didn’t have to think quite so hard about them.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 58
  2. Negative: 11 out of 58
  1. May 17, 2013
    10
    A really nice polished god games. Were you control four giants and have to help the humans out and sometimes destroy them. The graphic and music has a casual feeling to it, which is not a bad thing, since it fit's the game very well. The game-play starts out small, but just you wait. When you get farther into the game the difficulty will scale as well since new options are added and there are more things you will have to control and keep an eye on. And it's just 10$. Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    I love this game, I love everything about it, its colors, its gameplay, its menu, the concept... everything. For those of you looking for that indie gem that will captivate you for hours, this is it. Expand
  3. May 20, 2013
    9
    I've seen few games where you get to be god... This is one of the rare games you get to be a god, It also has some puzzle elements to it which are nice. The game is good if you are patient, But it should be on a mobile device instead of the PC. The game is falling a bit short on things that it could do like adding more giants, more land, more types of people and more options to do things. If they where going to make a second game for the PC They most likely should make it 3D that way it feels more like a game that would be on the PC... But really the only thing I didn't like is the damned desert people, they are crazy greedy and attack everything! Collapse
  4. May 22, 2013
    8
    This game is arguably a strategy/puzzle game. The "god" aspect of the game comes from you using four giants to manipulate a world to try and help cities of people accomplish their goals creating buildings which require a certain amount of resources being available to them. The challenge comes by requiring you to use your giants (whose abilities synergise) to make enough resources available in a limited amount of space and time. This requires planning in placement, and planning in deciding which of your giants get additional abilities upgraded along the way to meet these criteria. Additionally, if you grow your cities too fast, then the inhabitants will become greedy and start trying to destroy neighbouring cities, which usually runs against your objectives. The gameplay is simple to pick up but takes time to learn and master. It may appear superficial and shallow at the beginning but the complexity really starts to stack up as you progress through the game.

    The presentation of this game through the art and music is admittedly what drew me into this game and I think that it delivers in this area. The music is laid back and calming (unless cities are trying to destroy each other) and the art style I believe is well suited for what the game is trying to do. Through the art and game mechanics, the game did engage me on an emotional level a lot more than I was expecting it to, however this is something subjective to me and may not hold true for other players.
    The overall sense I got from the game is that the devs genuinely cared about this project and put a lot of effort and soul into it.
    TLDR: A well presented game with original and enjoyable strategy/puzzle mechanics (simple to learn and hard to master) and an art-style that engaged me as a player.
    Expand
  5. May 27, 2013
    7
    Since this game wants to classify itself as a god game, I’m going to judge it by the standards of previous god games I’ve played. I’ve seen a lot of people try saying it is not a god game, but a puzzle game. Every game is a puzzle of sorts if you think about it. You’re always trying to figure out the best combination to maximize completing the end goal. The fact of the matter you play as a god controlling giants, so it’s a god game. Enough of my rant though, onto the review!
    Graphics: I won’t lie to you I’m a sucker for simple graphics. There is beauty in simplicity and this game does what it sets out to do very well. They are easy on the eyes and very well done. I don’t feel every game needs HD life like graphics to be amazing. It boils down to personal preference, and you can easily see screen shots on Steam, and judge for yourself.

    Audio: Well there’s not much there really, I honestly can’t even recall if there was music so it must not be there or be very lacking. The effects audio is nice but extremely basic.

    Gameplay: I found the gameplay very nice. Your goal is terraforming the earth into four different biomes (ocean, swamp, desert, and forests). You then place resources (plants, animals, and minerals) down onto the land which provide food, money, or technology points attracting settlers to the land. The giants have abilities to replace or morph existing tiles to change up the amount or type of resource given. As you progress the villagers will start to build projects, that upon completion they will provide you with an ambassador that will allow you to unlock a new ability for one of the giants depending upon the village type (the type of village is determined from the three biomes). If you overload the village with too much resources of a single type at once they will become greedy going to war with neighboring villages, and even eventually becoming bold enough to attack the giants. You can distract the villages from become violent with certain resource types adding danger to the village. At which point you must beat down or totally destroy the village. The true challenge of the game comes from the time limits referred to as eras. When you first start you have a time limit of thirty minutes to complete the challenges (they stack from game to game). After you complete so many of the challenges you unlock the next era expanding the time to an hour per game. There are three eras with a max time of an hour and half. As you unlock more challenges they even unlock new resource types.
    Review: I really enjoy this game it is challenging and yet still pretty relaxing. It isn’t free of any problems though. I found when trying to complete specific challenges that the game play kind of got slow and turned into a waiting game of the villages expanding their border so they could get new resources. I also am not a very big fan of the fact that the giants powers reset after every era. It increases the challenge aspect, but its aggravating at the same time because it slows and hinders advancing the villages when starting a new era. Also the game itself in the god game genre is very simplistic. When I hear god game I automatically expect a very complex and deep game, such a Black & White. While not perfect by any means that game was complex. So if you’re looking for complexity you may find it lacking. The game itself is great if you want a short time limit challenge. I find it a nice break from my other games to try and knock out another era. It is not a game I could find myself getting lost in which is something I look for in my god games. For ten dollars though it is an easy purchase and you get what you pay for.

    Score breakdown/summary:
    Graphics: 10/10 There is beautify in simplicity and its executed very well.
    Audio: 6/10 The audio is very simplistic and there is no music. Good music would have really increased the value.
    Gameplay: 9/10 smooth no noticeable glitches. Simple with an appropriate level of complexity for what is presented.
    Review’s Critique: 6/10 It’s a nice game for the price, but it is not what I’d imagine as an ideal god game, and completing some of the challenges is sort of tedious and slow going.
    Final Score: 7.75
    Expand
  6. May 20, 2013
    5
    i give this game a 5.
    55 visuals and artwork.
    05 gameplay.

    Seriously, this game has not any gameplay at all. I really mean it, nothing at
    all. After 30 minutes you have nothing to do anymore, and seeing the settlements expand is not fun at all. Buy Black & white instead.

    Anyway the visuals are really good, i praise the graphic behind it.
    Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    0
    One of the worst games I've ever played. Awful lack of direction, mixed with low quality game-play, and generally boring atmosphere makes for a terrible game. It is at best annoying. would never play again. Spoiler: It's awful. Expand

See all 58 User Reviews