Revenge of the Titans Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Construct and command your ground defences in a series of increasingly massive battles across the solar system, in our frenetic arcade mash-up of Real Time Strategy and Tower Defence!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    90
    Revenge of the Titans is a nearly perfect game. It will annihilate all of your free time for as long as you're consumed by it. It will also make you want to punch your screen at least once. If you missed out on the opportunity to get it in the Humble Bundle, you can get the game on Steam for $14.99, or check the official website for special deals. Either way, it's worth your time, money, and occasional frustration.
  2. May 18, 2011
    85
    A chaotic(yet surprisingly deep)tower defense game, Revenge of the Titans is as charming as it is challenging. [July 2011, p.76]
  3. 85
    Revenge of the Titans is what you get when you inject some real indie love into a tired genre - style, innovation, experimentation and instant playability. Some may find themselves frustrated with a customization approach that leaves room for epic failures, but most will find the open-ended nature of it all quite refreshing.
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    80
    A clever, huge and charming strategy game. While the puritanical focus on retro minimalism means it might not be as rich in visual variety as its contemporaries, the breadth of the strategy coolly grants it safe harbour from the grey reaper of rinse'n'repeat boredom.
  5. Jul 21, 2011
    80
    Revenge of the Titans bring something new to the table, which can be dubbed as an achievement in and of itself, considering the slowly flooding tower defense-genre. It defines itself with challenging gameplay, an amazing visual style, which results into a fast, intense and refreshing game.
  6. May 5, 2011
    77
    It's simple, well executed and, so long as you're not bothered by a little trial and error with your research, good fun.
  7. May 25, 2011
    70
    Does a lot of clever stuff within the tower defense genre, emulating the same rules-based gameplay that made the genre popular while adding new complications. But it is also let down by the flaws that plague the genre -- the snowball effect of mistakes, the necessity to plan and build for specialized enemies at the cost of overall effectiveness.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 4 out of 22
  1. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    I am 30 years old and this brings back memories of the old arcade games I use to play. It has great animation and awesome art. Real fun gamer and east to learn, great for kids and adults alike! 10 out of 10! Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2012
    9
    Revenge of the Titans is an awesome tower defense game that you can just pop into whenever you feel like it.It has many different kind of buildings and enemies and i also love the slightly retro art style of the game. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    Best tower defense game I've played in a long time. Difficult, no broken mechanics, randomly generated hours of fun. Enemies do not follow a fixed path and adapt to the situation. The graphics style has a retro theme and the game is quite challenging. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    First and foremost, this is a solid, lengthy, and well built tower defense game. The gameplay is great and challenging, I only had one real dliemma that prevented it from being an easy 9, and that was the graphics. I enjoyed it for what it was worth, but now adays most of us gamers go out and buy newer computers/graphics cards etc. to make things look more and more amazing. If they updated the graphics to post 1990, and closer to 2010, it would be an amazing game and a blast to play/watch. Because honestly, when you play RTS games, isnt it fun to watch all the new graphics and special effects as big armies clash? Well, I just hope that they have a TD game that does so, and we can watch the mayhem unfold as they run into our towers.

    Conclusion: If you are a tower defense enthusiast, its worth getting definitely. If you are uncertain, the only setback should be the graphics, and if you can see past that then I would also recommend buying. Its an all around great game with an older looking/sounding environment.
    Collapse
  5. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    Awesome and fast paced tower defense, protect your base from titans invading the planet, or perish while trying, a lot of weapons and power ups with a few enemy types, from smaller little beast to giant aliens, a must have indie game. Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    7
    THE REASON, PLAIN AND SIMPLE. ADDICTIVE, CHALLENGING AND DECISION MAKING, make this game an absolute gem of tower defense. The AI system is intelligent and numerous, they will learn and adapt, like walking around the range of your towers. Using key points to attack , if others fail. An addictive upgrading system, makes every decision challenging. Buy it now and I know you will like if your a fan of strategy. Who gives a **** about graphics, with creative AI and addictive game-play. 9 OUT OF 10 BABY!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    2
    Regrettably, the game is flawed in quite a few ways. Mainly, lack of variation. All enemies look pretty much the same, and behave identically. Some are armored, others are not, thats about the only difference. Any of your towers will do the job, just build enough of them. Thus, there is no paper/stone/scissors principle at work here. And indeed there couldn't be, considering the fact that you don't have all your different weapons available in the campaign. Instead, you decide to focus on one particular area of research, and whatever weapons you get out of it will have to do the job. Then its just spamming turrets of whatever variety you decided to research, and the rest of the level is spent frantically replacing barricades all around. The game is hectic, there's little tactics to it, and every level looks the same and plays the same. I like the retro-look, but thats about it. If you want a really good and enjoyable TD game, go play Orcs Must Die instead. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews