Revenge of the Titans PC

Revenge of the Titans Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Construct and command your ground defences in a series of increasingly massive battles across the solar system, in our frenetic arcade mash-up of Real Time Strategy and Tower Defence!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    90
    Revenge of the Titans is a nearly perfect game. It will annihilate all of your free time for as long as you're consumed by it. It will also make you want to punch your screen at least once. If you missed out on the opportunity to get it in the Humble Bundle, you can get the game on Steam for $14.99, or check the official website for special deals. Either way, it's worth your time, money, and occasional frustration.
  2. PC Gamer
    May 18, 2011
    85
    A chaotic(yet surprisingly deep)tower defense game, Revenge of the Titans is as charming as it is challenging. [July 2011, p.76]
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    85
    Revenge of the Titans is what you get when you inject some real indie love into a tired genre - style, innovation, experimentation and instant playability. Some may find themselves frustrated with a customization approach that leaves room for epic failures, but most will find the open-ended nature of it all quite refreshing.
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    80
    A clever, huge and charming strategy game. While the puritanical focus on retro minimalism means it might not be as rich in visual variety as its contemporaries, the breadth of the strategy coolly grants it safe harbour from the grey reaper of rinse'n'repeat boredom.
  5. Jul 21, 2011
    80
    Revenge of the Titans bring something new to the table, which can be dubbed as an achievement in and of itself, considering the slowly flooding tower defense-genre. It defines itself with challenging gameplay, an amazing visual style, which results into a fast, intense and refreshing game.
  6. May 5, 2011
    77
    It's simple, well executed and, so long as you're not bothered by a little trial and error with your research, good fun.
  7. May 25, 2011
    70
    Does a lot of clever stuff within the tower defense genre, emulating the same rules-based gameplay that made the genre popular while adding new complications. But it is also let down by the flaws that plague the genre -- the snowball effect of mistakes, the necessity to plan and build for specialized enemies at the cost of overall effectiveness.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    This game is truly not for everybody but it is for me. I find this game to be funny and addictive, what more can I want? The game can beThis game is truly not for everybody but it is for me. I find this game to be funny and addictive, what more can I want? The game can be challenging but not frustratingly so, at least that's the way I feel about it. Graphics are not important on this type of game so they will do as they are, there is no need for the next gen 3D on this one, 2D works just fine here. There are some good new ideas that get time to get used to but in the end they work really good on this game. I really can't seem to find anything to complain about so that makes me give it 10/10. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Revenge of the Titans is a great old-school rts-tower defense mix game in every way. First impression you will get is the graphics. In myRevenge of the Titans is a great old-school rts-tower defense mix game in every way. First impression you will get is the graphics. In my opinion the retro style of the game works very well and looks great. There is a little lack of variation when it comes to all the different aliens or towers, but in fact that you get them one by one by research, you will surely learn to differ between them. Beside this the graphics bring you a very nice atmosphere and they work great.
    The Sound are also very retro and they sound like in the old days, when music in games were composed with beeps from you Computer. For sure the quality of the beeps is better, but it´s still made in the old way. The pieces are very nice composed, especially the fugue in the endgame is very nice.... well if i remember it right it´s a bach-cover ^^
    The gameplay is often a point were people complain. I felt the same in the first hours. After every level you can research new technology and new aliens will drop in. Later in the game, you may feel, that your research decisions were wrong, because you get a hard time killing some new special aliens, so you feel like starting all over again. This annoys some people. Well: At first, there every level still available, so you can go back 3 levels instead of all levels, to make your research. Second you maybe will have a hard time to kill those guys, but it´s still very possible. It will cost you a lot´s of money and you will lose a lot of buildings, but that´s war. Don´t predict that you can play this game in a save and flawless way like other tower defense games. Third there is always a "make it easier" button, after you failed a level.
    In the End it´s also a very retro gameplay as in the old days, were games were freakingly hard to beat. Remember great games like xcom, were you have to restart and try different stuff so many times, until you get a working research and economy.
    I love it!
    Expand
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    9
    Would have rated this as 6 a year ago for incosistent difficulty and need to backtrack, but the developers really polished it since then. Now,Would have rated this as 6 a year ago for incosistent difficulty and need to backtrack, but the developers really polished it since then. Now, in 2013., it's a wonderful game. Great visual style, brilliant soundtrack, plays really quickly, no fussing to get to the point. Also, sandbox mode editor is great DLC. Expand
  4. Jan 16, 2012
    7
    A slick, good humored game with a lot of character; this is why we love indie developers. My only real complaint is how fast the difficultyA slick, good humored game with a lot of character; this is why we love indie developers. My only real complaint is how fast the difficulty ramps up, and the fact that you have to take a very specific route through the technology tree, which you'll only figure out after re-starting the campaign four or five times. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2015
    7
    Not bad, not bad. Although my tower defense choice still remains with Power Grid, this is a fun and stable analog.
    I like the game overall,
    Not bad, not bad. Although my tower defense choice still remains with Power Grid, this is a fun and stable analog.
    I like the game overall, so i'll jump to things that would improve it for me:
    - please make a pause button, at least in the beginning of a level so an initial defense template can be laid out.
    - better upgrade tree! Agh! Icons are cool, but lines or arrows with required technology highlighted would make things so much clearer.
    - explanation of bonuses would be welcome (for example - do i get bonuses if my factories gather from two or three crystals, or do i actually loose efficiency that way? are some several guns of the same category better when chained together? etc.)
    - so, classical tower defense games try to (at least in the beginning) to lock the marching hordes of enemies into lines which are restricted by the landscape. Titans seem to be attaching from predefined points, but it's anybody's guess as to their invading trajectory. That pushes the ring of defense toward the HQ right from the start of a level. Kind of stale and repetitive in this sense.

    Asides from minuses - solid tower defense game that if improved can become AWESOOOME!
    Expand
  6. AWG
    Aug 9, 2013
    6
    A Tower Defense game defined by the famous Puppygames style. A good one. Not perfect,A Tower Defense game defined by the famous Puppygames style. A good one. Not perfect, but enjoyable. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    2
    Regrettably, the game is flawed in quite a few ways. Mainly, lack of variation. All enemies look pretty much the same, and behave identically.Regrettably, the game is flawed in quite a few ways. Mainly, lack of variation. All enemies look pretty much the same, and behave identically. Some are armored, others are not, thats about the only difference. Any of your towers will do the job, just build enough of them. Thus, there is no paper/stone/scissors principle at work here. And indeed there couldn't be, considering the fact that you don't have all your different weapons available in the campaign. Instead, you decide to focus on one particular area of research, and whatever weapons you get out of it will have to do the job. Then its just spamming turrets of whatever variety you decided to research, and the rest of the level is spent frantically replacing barricades all around. The game is hectic, there's little tactics to it, and every level looks the same and plays the same. I like the retro-look, but thats about it. If you want a really good and enjoyable TD game, go play Orcs Must Die instead. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews