Revenge of the Titans Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Construct and command your ground defences in a series of increasingly massive battles across the solar system, in our frenetic arcade mash-up of Real Time Strategy and Tower Defence!
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    90
    Revenge of the Titans is a nearly perfect game. It will annihilate all of your free time for as long as you're consumed by it. It will also make you want to punch your screen at least once. If you missed out on the opportunity to get it in the Humble Bundle, you can get the game on Steam for $14.99, or check the official website for special deals. Either way, it's worth your time, money, and occasional frustration.
  2. May 18, 2011
    85
    A chaotic(yet surprisingly deep)tower defense game, Revenge of the Titans is as charming as it is challenging. [July 2011, p.76]
  3. Jul 6, 2011
    85
    Revenge of the Titans is what you get when you inject some real indie love into a tired genre - style, innovation, experimentation and instant playability. Some may find themselves frustrated with a customization approach that leaves room for epic failures, but most will find the open-ended nature of it all quite refreshing.
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    80
    A clever, huge and charming strategy game. While the puritanical focus on retro minimalism means it might not be as rich in visual variety as its contemporaries, the breadth of the strategy coolly grants it safe harbour from the grey reaper of rinse'n'repeat boredom.
  5. Jul 21, 2011
    80
    Revenge of the Titans bring something new to the table, which can be dubbed as an achievement in and of itself, considering the slowly flooding tower defense-genre. It defines itself with challenging gameplay, an amazing visual style, which results into a fast, intense and refreshing game.
  6. May 5, 2011
    77
    It's simple, well executed and, so long as you're not bothered by a little trial and error with your research, good fun.
  7. May 25, 2011
    70
    Does a lot of clever stuff within the tower defense genre, emulating the same rules-based gameplay that made the genre popular while adding new complications. But it is also let down by the flaws that plague the genre -- the snowball effect of mistakes, the necessity to plan and build for specialized enemies at the cost of overall effectiveness.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    This game is truly not for everybody but it is for me. I find this game to be funny and addictive, what more can I want? The game can beThis game is truly not for everybody but it is for me. I find this game to be funny and addictive, what more can I want? The game can be challenging but not frustratingly so, at least that's the way I feel about it. Graphics are not important on this type of game so they will do as they are, there is no need for the next gen 3D on this one, 2D works just fine here. There are some good new ideas that get time to get used to but in the end they work really good on this game. I really can't seem to find anything to complain about so that makes me give it 10/10. Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2011
    9
    Best tower defense game I've played in a long time. Difficult, no broken mechanics, randomly generated hours of fun. Enemies do not follow aBest tower defense game I've played in a long time. Difficult, no broken mechanics, randomly generated hours of fun. Enemies do not follow a fixed path and adapt to the situation. The graphics style has a retro theme and the game is quite challenging. Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    Very interesting game-play, keeps you thinking about not just the approaching enemies but also your resource supply and income (you need thisVery interesting game-play, keeps you thinking about not just the approaching enemies but also your resource supply and income (you need this to build). Like what's been said; it's tower defence and RTS combined so it's hard even calling it "tower defence" in the first place. It's more like "base defence".. Why? Instead of monsters just running through the level to get to the other side, they are instead aiming for your main base in which you have to defend. This game gets challenging for sure but you are also rewarded unlock-able tower weapons, defence buildings and repair units to make life a bit easier. That also depends on how one uses these properly by placing them in their most effective areas to get maximum efficiency. That's where the RTS comes in.

    Way more interesting than normal straight tower defence, I bought this game a while ago and still find myself playing it. It's got huge re-playability which is also a huge plus personally. GET IT!
    Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2012
    7
    THE REASON, PLAIN AND SIMPLE. ADDICTIVE, CHALLENGING AND DECISION MAKING, make this game an absolute gem of tower defense. The AI system isTHE REASON, PLAIN AND SIMPLE. ADDICTIVE, CHALLENGING AND DECISION MAKING, make this game an absolute gem of tower defense. The AI system is intelligent and numerous, they will learn and adapt, like walking around the range of your towers. Using key points to attack , if others fail. An addictive upgrading system, makes every decision challenging. Buy it now and I know you will like if your a fan of strategy. Who gives a **** about graphics, with creative AI and addictive game-play. 9 OUT OF 10 BABY!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    7
    I wish I could give this game a higher score because it has great charm with wonderful humor and between-levels dialogue. Sadly though theI wish I could give this game a higher score because it has great charm with wonderful humor and between-levels dialogue. Sadly though the game is VERY unbalanced with almost no instructions on what buildings and upgrades are worth pursuing. So although the game is fun and addictive, it just isn't polished enough for me to recommend. Only serious tower defense junkies should play this game! Nevertheless, it was fun for the 12 hours it took me to finish on the hardest difficulty. Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2012
    7
    Awesome and fast paced tower defense, protect your base from titans invading the planet, or perish while trying, a lot of weapons and powerAwesome and fast paced tower defense, protect your base from titans invading the planet, or perish while trying, a lot of weapons and power ups with a few enemy types, from smaller little beast to giant aliens, a must have indie game. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    2
    Regrettably, the game is flawed in quite a few ways. Mainly, lack of variation. All enemies look pretty much the same, and behave identically.Regrettably, the game is flawed in quite a few ways. Mainly, lack of variation. All enemies look pretty much the same, and behave identically. Some are armored, others are not, thats about the only difference. Any of your towers will do the job, just build enough of them. Thus, there is no paper/stone/scissors principle at work here. And indeed there couldn't be, considering the fact that you don't have all your different weapons available in the campaign. Instead, you decide to focus on one particular area of research, and whatever weapons you get out of it will have to do the job. Then its just spamming turrets of whatever variety you decided to research, and the rest of the level is spent frantically replacing barricades all around. The game is hectic, there's little tactics to it, and every level looks the same and plays the same. I like the retro-look, but thats about it. If you want a really good and enjoyable TD game, go play Orcs Must Die instead. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews