Ridge Racer Unbounded PC

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 82
  2. Negative: 27 out of 82

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    There is a lot of cars, races and cities in this game. The graphic is cool and mods are very fun. This game is better than Split/second so it is 9/10 for me. And I love like some races aren´t easy like in NFS. I mean you will have to restart them. I think I never pressed restart button in NFS. I expected a funny arcade game like Flatout 2 and I got it! And you can build yourThere is a lot of cars, races and cities in this game. The graphic is cool and mods are very fun. This game is better than Split/second so it is 9/10 for me. And I love like some races aren´t easy like in NFS. I mean you will have to restart them. I think I never pressed restart button in NFS. I expected a funny arcade game like Flatout 2 and I got it! And you can build your tracks. It is amazing. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    For fans of flatout it is a perfect game ! Game is well optimized , for fact that it has so awesome graphic. It isjust good and funy arcade. i would recomended to all flatout players :)
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    8
    Very addictive. Hard to put down. You drift, boost, frag opponents, and drive through buildings. The AI is very aggressive. Graphics and audio are good and there are plenty of cars. The Bugbear development team have made an excellent game, again. The only caveat on this review is the multiplayer lobby. I am yet to find a well populated online race, and the options for letting you find themVery addictive. Hard to put down. You drift, boost, frag opponents, and drive through buildings. The AI is very aggressive. Graphics and audio are good and there are plenty of cars. The Bugbear development team have made an excellent game, again. The only caveat on this review is the multiplayer lobby. I am yet to find a well populated online race, and the options for letting you find them are inadequate. RR Unbounded is a fun arcade racer, but if you really want to race against other people then chances are you might be disappointed. Expand
  4. May 15, 2012
    10
    It's not a 10 game but I find that superficial reviews need some balancing.

    The actual note is 8 for this. Really fun but it's a bit weird when you first play it. Expecting the following games : Burnout, Flatout, NFS even Ridge Racer is a mistake. The combined elements make for a unique experience that begins to be rewarding after some plays. When you get around the game mechanics
    It's not a 10 game but I find that superficial reviews need some balancing.

    The actual note is 8 for this. Really fun but it's a bit weird when you first play it.

    Expecting the following games : Burnout, Flatout, NFS even Ridge Racer is a mistake. The combined elements make for a unique experience that begins to be rewarding after some plays.

    When you get around the game mechanics you'll have fun I promise you!
    Expand
  5. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    This racer is more of a mix of elements from Split Second, Blur, and Burnout (I haven't played the Flatout series so forgive the omission). The only thing "Ridge Racer" about this game are the light trails when boosting. Although RR:U does not match the quality of the mechanics from any of those games, mixing those mechanics ensures the game still reaches the same level of action that isThis racer is more of a mix of elements from Split Second, Blur, and Burnout (I haven't played the Flatout series so forgive the omission). The only thing "Ridge Racer" about this game are the light trails when boosting. Although RR:U does not match the quality of the mechanics from any of those games, mixing those mechanics ensures the game still reaches the same level of action that is still fast and NON-STOP (non-stop chains of drifting, environment destruction, and fragging - your mileage may vary). Watch the Steam trailer, because what you will see is actually what you will get. Even the music from that video is taken from the game. User created tracks ensure longer replay value, but multiplayer competition is, as of now, non-existent. It may not be unique like the games that it seems to emulate, but it's still a great addition to anyone's virtual racing collection. Oh, and it runs at a smooth 60fps with vsync on as long as your PC can handle it. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    Brilliant game.The graphics and controls are fantastic. Its up there with Burnout, Split Second, Blur, NFS, and Flatout Ultimate Carnage and maybe even better than some of those.
  7. Jan 10, 2015
    8
    Game: Ridge Racer Unbounded
    Genre: Racing
    Developer: Namco/BugBear Entertainment System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 80/100 Value Score: 8.0/10 • Story: */10 • Characters: 7/10 • GamePlay: 7/10 • Graphics: 8/10 • Sound: 8/10 • Music: 7/10 • Length: 8/10 • Replay Value: 8/10 • Player Value: 7/10 Pros +Variety of type of races and events including Domination Race,
    Game: Ridge Racer Unbounded
    Genre: Racing
    Developer: Namco/BugBear Entertainment
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 80/100
    Value Score: 8.0/10

    • Story: */10
    • Characters: 7/10
    • GamePlay: 7/10
    • Graphics: 8/10
    • Sound: 8/10
    • Music: 7/10
    • Length: 8/10
    • Replay Value: 8/10
    • Player Value: 7/10

    Pros
    +Variety of type of races and events including Domination Race, Frag Attack, Shindo Racing, Drift Attack and Time Attack all across seven different districts
    +Innovative gameplay to the Ridge Racer series includes destruction of vehicles and buildings
    +Create your own track mode allows you to create your own race map/level
    +Online mode includes Multiplayer and the ability to create/do challenges
    +Includes cameos and custom cars dedicated to Pacman, Tekken, Soul Calibur and other Namco series

    Cons
    -Plays nothing like Ridge Racer since its made by the FlatOut development group
    -Soundtrack not as good as other Ridge Racer games
    -Level design is quite limited and almost feels like you are in the same map/level
    -You are limited to what cars you can use depending on the event
    -Controls especially with drifting can be frustrating
    -Difficulty and learning curve is a bit high
    Expand
  8. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    I have not played any ridge racer game before this, but this game actually makes me want to know more about the series. At first I was a little annoyed at the fact the the drifting was utter crap and the game itself was WAY too hard, but then I started to understand how to play it properly, I stopped thinking the drifting was horrible, I realised it was a game that needed patience to play,I have not played any ridge racer game before this, but this game actually makes me want to know more about the series. At first I was a little annoyed at the fact the the drifting was utter crap and the game itself was WAY too hard, but then I started to understand how to play it properly, I stopped thinking the drifting was horrible, I realised it was a game that needed patience to play, because it takes a while of getting used to. When you get to the point of winning races, it is quite a fun game. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    May 16, 2012
    68
    If you love demanding arcade racing games, heavy on OCD, give it a chance, as soon as its price is lowered. Otherwise, you can find much better games of the genre out there. [May 2012]
  2. CD-Action
    May 10, 2012
    85
    Unbounded is a part of a franchise strongly associated with consoles but somehow turns out to be average on X360 and one of the best arcade racing games in years on PC. On PC it just plays better (even with a keyboard!) and is extremely rewarding. [June 2012, p.66]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 9, 2012
    70
    A significant shift from previous installments towards a greater show and extreme drifting. If you prefer Split/Second type of racing the new Ridge Racer won't disappoint you. [May 2012]