Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Nov 26, 2012
    91
    Chances are if you're a long-standing player of Rift, a lot of what I've said in this review is (while probably encouraging) not a surprise to you. Judging by the sheer amount of improvements I've seen since the last time I played, not to mention the content added over the course of the core game's many updates, I'm guessing Rift players know their MMO of choice is clearly handled with care and attention. But if for some reason you're a Rift player who has hesitated over whether to pick up this expansion, I'll sum up my take simply: it's fantastic. Go get it.
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    91
    Storm Legion is a great add-on. It extends the strengths of Rift and has some groundbreaking new ideas like the awesome new housing system. Also the new souls are tactical and fit perfectly in the gameplay concept.
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    90
    Although there's not much about this expansion to entice new players into the game, it does offer a big incentive for returning players to renew their subscriptions. If you like RIFT, you'll enjoy Storm Legion.
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    88
    This expansion adds such a massive amount of content to Rift that everyone interested in MMOs should give it a go. It´s classic in a way, but the content is top notch and has a lot of useful features like houses.
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    84
    Storm Legion is arguably the best expansion to come out in 2012 for any MMO. If you have not already played Rift now is a great time to give it a try. With the introduction of Dimensions Trion has set Rift up to have a lot of interesting and unique player created content to supplement Trion's internal development cycle.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    84
    It gives fans precisely what they want: more of everything they're already enjoying. Some might wish for an expansion that pushes the boundaries a little more, especially when so many other MMOs are shaking up the genre with radical new ideas. But at the end of the day, Storm Legion adds a ton of fresh content, including two enchanting new continents, at a reasonable price.
  7. Dec 4, 2012
    83
    It's with the addition of Dimensions that Trion Worlds really breaks new ground, providing players with a powerful tool to create truly unique constructions.
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    82
    Storm Legion isn't the most innovative of expansions, but the vast amount of content added makes it practically essential for Rift fans.
  9. Jan 5, 2013
    80
    Storm Legion provides more life and depth to the world of RIFT, which it needed badly. Bringing more souls, quests, dungeons and lands can only help RIFT possibly become the 'other' MMO option when finding an alternative to World of Warcraft.
  10. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    Two new huge continents, four new souls and a ton of new quests will bring us back to Telara to fight against the new threat. Are we ready for Storm Legion?
  11. Nov 24, 2012
    80
    If you've been playing Rift since launch, whether to purchase this expansion or not doesn't even require thought. It's the content/feature pack you were promised and on that note it delivers in spades. New players, however, may find what's on offer to be woefully dated alongside a player population significantly diminished next (and due to) to the more recent competition in the market.
  12. Dec 1, 2012
    70
    This may seem like a given, but the best way to sum up Storm Legion is that it's an expansion for players who love Rift and want more of it. Where most expansions attempt to transform and refine gameplay, this one seeks only to enlarge it. Its sole (and worthy) contribution to MMO innovation lies in its spectacular player housing, and that doesn't change what Rift is at its core. I doubt it'll be enough to win back people who've left out of disillusionment with one feature or another, but for those who're still here it's a keeper.
  13. Nov 28, 2012
    70
    The new class souls and Dimensions are a great welcome to the game for new and old players, and the gigantic new continents add some much-needed diversity to the end game.
  14. Nov 26, 2012
    70
    Rift has always been an immersive contender in a market that is tough to compete in. Yet not only has Rift survived, it has flourished - well enough to support an expansion, and Trion Worlds shows love for their game's community with this monster of an update. Many players swear by Rift, and with such a strong and lovingly-crafted expansion, it seems likely that the number will grow. If you already play Rift, then by now you know what an awesome addition Storm Legion is to the game. If not, consider this deep and complex MMORPG a worthy contender for your time.
  15. Dec 30, 2012
    60
    While technically a great expansion, the core game simply can't compete with its recent peers. [Jan 2013, p.74]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Rift: Storm Legion has a ton of added content. The new map is 3 times the size of the old map. The quests are more fun. They also addedRift: Storm Legion has a ton of added content. The new map is 3 times the size of the old map. The quests are more fun. They also added carnage quests which play a lot like guild wars 2 quests. You can now upgrade armor through different levels like upgrade a green cape to a blue item level cape, etc. More dungeons, content, etc. The only thing that is annoying is leveling again. It will take you about as long as it took you to get to 50 to get from 50-60. I really just wanted to jump right into the end game content. I guess its unavoidable though. Full Review »
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I came back to RIFT for Storm Legion after I had reached endgame in the original. The new content and new ways of leveling are a lot of fun,I came back to RIFT for Storm Legion after I had reached endgame in the original. The new content and new ways of leveling are a lot of fun, and I feel constantly engaged by the world. From a lore standpoint, I like the fact that rifts have gone from being 'Oh no we're being invaded!' to 'Time to start taking the fight to the enemy!', which is appealing. And Dimensions! People who want player housing are going to be thrilled with this, it's fantastic! All in all, I couldn't be more satisfied with Storm Legion and look forward to playing all the way through it. Full Review »
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Storm Legion brings a host of new material and exiting new features, far more than the typical MMO expansion. While it has a ton of newStorm Legion brings a host of new material and exiting new features, far more than the typical MMO expansion. While it has a ton of new content the real improvements are gameplay changes. New types of rifts and content means that you are literally spoiled for choice at endgame. The levelling experience has been vastly improved and quest lines are immersive, despite this questing remains a weak spot in the game. With different things to do during leveling (Carnage, Rifts, Quests, Instant Adventures, Dungeons, Onslaughts) the game does vary things up nicely. The game world and art direction is beautiful and detailed however still shows signs of poor optimisation as a result of the aging 'Gamebryo' engine, which isn't optimised for multicore support. Despite this, the game is more than competent and brings nothing but improvements to the game. The direction RIFT is heading in is truly exciting and is deserving of its subscription status. 9/10 Full Review »