User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 8 out of 71

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    9
    Sound: Nice amazing themes, very soothing. 10.

    Graphics: Top notch graphics, although I think Guild Wars 2 takes it by a bit. 9.5. Gameplay: Same amazing gameplay, with newly added features, a new continent, and plenty of items for purchase. Rift went free to play during my adventure from 50-60 and I must admit, it’s still a superb title and now offers so much content. Newer
    Sound: Nice amazing themes, very soothing. 10.

    Graphics: Top notch graphics, although I think Guild Wars 2 takes it by a bit. 9.5.

    Gameplay: Same amazing gameplay, with newly added features, a new continent, and plenty of items for purchase. Rift went free to play during my adventure from 50-60 and I must admit, it’s still a superb title and now offers so much content. Newer dungeons add new mechanics, and Rifts feels like a traditional MMO with some of its own features. 9.5.

    Story: Not the best story but like WoW it has its lore, and it is interesting, but then again only the hardcore can experience end game content. 8.5.

    Replay Value: Plenty to do in Rift, I also enjoy how it has dungeon ques for older dungeons, and you can do them at a higher level. Seems they just implemented the feature that levels you down to equal you out with a certain dungeon, the good thing about this is that there’s less dungeon ques for everyone. 10.

    Overall Score: 9.5 out of 10.
    Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Trion never disappoints when it comes to adding content to the game. This expansion tripled the size of the world, added player-housing, more souls for the classes, and finally capes to wear. The new zones look beautiful and the artwork really sets them off. Still one of the best looking MMO's on the market if you have a good rig to run it on.

    The level cap was raised to 60 and can feel
    Trion never disappoints when it comes to adding content to the game. This expansion tripled the size of the world, added player-housing, more souls for the classes, and finally capes to wear. The new zones look beautiful and the artwork really sets them off. Still one of the best looking MMO's on the market if you have a good rig to run it on.

    The level cap was raised to 60 and can feel like a grind at times after 50, but its not too bad considering all that is available to do and your many options in getting XP in comparison to most games. Don't rush it, try and enjoy it without the itch to get 60 as fast as possible.
    Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Piles of content, great stories, fun game. Sure it has it's own issues like every other game, and it's PVP system is abysmal at best, but overall Trion did a great job on this expansion.
  4. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    I came back to RIFT for Storm Legion after I had reached endgame in the original. The new content and new ways of leveling are a lot of fun, and I feel constantly engaged by the world. From a lore standpoint, I like the fact that rifts have gone from being 'Oh no we're being invaded!' to 'Time to start taking the fight to the enemy!', which is appealing. And Dimensions! People who wantI came back to RIFT for Storm Legion after I had reached endgame in the original. The new content and new ways of leveling are a lot of fun, and I feel constantly engaged by the world. From a lore standpoint, I like the fact that rifts have gone from being 'Oh no we're being invaded!' to 'Time to start taking the fight to the enemy!', which is appealing. And Dimensions! People who want player housing are going to be thrilled with this, it's fantastic! All in all, I couldn't be more satisfied with Storm Legion and look forward to playing all the way through it. Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Tempest Bay is an amazing city. Dimensions are incredible. I was surprised by how many items are available and how versatile the system is. This is the best themepark mmorpg out there.
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Alright, haven't played Storm Legion content yet, once I do I will update my score accordingly. I will say however that the change in gameplay from when I originally started to play the game to when I returned in these last few days and overall ability to do things in the world and the amount of stuff to do has been enhanced for the better, especially for those fans of WoW, and when I sayAlright, haven't played Storm Legion content yet, once I do I will update my score accordingly. I will say however that the change in gameplay from when I originally started to play the game to when I returned in these last few days and overall ability to do things in the world and the amount of stuff to do has been enhanced for the better, especially for those fans of WoW, and when I say fans I'm talking about the people who enjoy playing this type of gameplay style, not those who love just having max gear or being all powerful from the getgo. The soul system is a bit confusing at first but once you understand it, it is fairly simple. Same goes for the Rift systems. Protip, do NOT try to solo a major rift, and be careful trying to do it with minor ones. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Rift: Storm Legion has a ton of added content. The new map is 3 times the size of the old map. The quests are more fun. They also added carnage quests which play a lot like guild wars 2 quests. You can now upgrade armor through different levels like upgrade a green cape to a blue item level cape, etc. More dungeons, content, etc. The only thing that is annoying is leveling again. It willRift: Storm Legion has a ton of added content. The new map is 3 times the size of the old map. The quests are more fun. They also added carnage quests which play a lot like guild wars 2 quests. You can now upgrade armor through different levels like upgrade a green cape to a blue item level cape, etc. More dungeons, content, etc. The only thing that is annoying is leveling again. It will take you about as long as it took you to get to 50 to get from 50-60. I really just wanted to jump right into the end game content. I guess its unavoidable though. Expand
  8. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    have a good comp. and rift is a great experience. the instant adventure is a great feature and when i first played tthe pvp i enjoyed it very much..the ftp doesnt make it buy to win it just sppeeds the process
  9. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Rift Storm Legion is awesome! If you are looking to raid Rift will fill that crave. Raiding content is challenging and rewarding. All of the bosses have multiple mechanics which makes each fight unique. At times the faction rep can be a grind. PvP content is improving. And with the Free to Play model you can't beat it. Trion Worlds listens to the community and makes the game betterRift Storm Legion is awesome! If you are looking to raid Rift will fill that crave. Raiding content is challenging and rewarding. All of the bosses have multiple mechanics which makes each fight unique. At times the faction rep can be a grind. PvP content is improving. And with the Free to Play model you can't beat it. Trion Worlds listens to the community and makes the game better and better. Do not miss out of this game it is awesome! Expand
  10. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    Storm Legion takes the base game to a whole new level.
    The impressive feature list adds to and enhances RIFT in a plethora of ways.
    Dimensions offer tons of freedom and room for creativity. The new souls are interesting and fun. The new zones are gorgeous and well-built. Storyline quests are more interesting. Servers are packed with players. Essentially, Trion has delivered
    Storm Legion takes the base game to a whole new level.
    The impressive feature list adds to and enhances RIFT in a plethora of ways.
    Dimensions offer tons of freedom and room for creativity.
    The new souls are interesting and fun.
    The new zones are gorgeous and well-built.
    Storyline quests are more interesting.
    Servers are packed with players.

    Essentially, Trion has delivered exactly what a true expansion pack for a AAA MMORPG should be.
    Expand
  11. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Rift is a game that does everything right.

    The heart of Rift is the souls system, which enables one to configure not one, but THREE full talent-trees and use all three at the same time. Each talent-tree can be swapped out among a truly amazing multitude, and finding which you like the most and synergize the best is one of the best aspects of Rift. There's a huge amount of variety and
    Rift is a game that does everything right.

    The heart of Rift is the souls system, which enables one to configure not one, but THREE full talent-trees and use all three at the same time. Each talent-tree can be swapped out among a truly amazing multitude, and finding which you like the most and synergize the best is one of the best aspects of Rift.

    There's a huge amount of variety and diversity in the games mechanics, even if it does (to put it lightly) take a few pointers from WoW.

    It's an amazing game, and I highly recommend it. It's also free, so there's no reason to not check out what you've been missing.
    Expand
  12. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Storm Legion brings a host of new material and exiting new features, far more than the typical MMO expansion. While it has a ton of new content the real improvements are gameplay changes. New types of rifts and content means that you are literally spoiled for choice at endgame. The levelling experience has been vastly improved and quest lines are immersive, despite this questing remains aStorm Legion brings a host of new material and exiting new features, far more than the typical MMO expansion. While it has a ton of new content the real improvements are gameplay changes. New types of rifts and content means that you are literally spoiled for choice at endgame. The levelling experience has been vastly improved and quest lines are immersive, despite this questing remains a weak spot in the game. With different things to do during leveling (Carnage, Rifts, Quests, Instant Adventures, Dungeons, Onslaughts) the game does vary things up nicely. The game world and art direction is beautiful and detailed however still shows signs of poor optimisation as a result of the aging 'Gamebryo' engine, which isn't optimised for multicore support. Despite this, the game is more than competent and brings nothing but improvements to the game. The direction RIFT is heading in is truly exciting and is deserving of its subscription status. 9/10 Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 5, 2013
    80
    Storm Legion provides more life and depth to the world of RIFT, which it needed badly. Bringing more souls, quests, dungeons and lands can only help RIFT possibly become the 'other' MMO option when finding an alternative to World of Warcraft.
  2. Dec 30, 2012
    60
    While technically a great expansion, the core game simply can't compete with its recent peers. [Jan 2013, p.74]
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    84
    Storm Legion is arguably the best expansion to come out in 2012 for any MMO. If you have not already played Rift now is a great time to give it a try. With the introduction of Dimensions Trion has set Rift up to have a lot of interesting and unique player created content to supplement Trion's internal development cycle.