Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Mar 19, 2011
    85
    There's a steep learning curve, but once you're comfortable with what Rift offers, you will find a deeply immersive experience. Telara is a worthy alternative to Azeroth for anyone looking to explore a new world.
  2. Mar 22, 2011
    80
    Class flexibility, a solid infrastructure, and an element of unpredictability keep Rift from feeling like just another online fantasy game.
  3. Mar 30, 2011
    85
    For what RIFT tries to do, it does very well. I rarely felt bored with all the random events and rifts constantly breaking up the monotony of questing. It's also important to give Trion a tremendous amount of credit for releasing such a "complete" MMO.
  4. Mar 14, 2011
    86
    The exceptional storyline and intriguing lore make even the less interesting parts of the game enjoyable.
  5. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    Trion's ad campaigns promised a revolution; Rift itself merely delivers commendable refinement.
  6. Mar 14, 2011
    80
    If you hanker for a new world – one that feels familiar yet fresh, with an atmosphere of discovery and experimentation – then Rift stands proudly, ready to greet you with open arms.
  7. Mar 25, 2011
    90
    What's really been most surprising to me is that the gaming experience as a whole is so fully developed for a startup MMO.
  8. May 9, 2011
    90
    Out of nowhere, Trion has delivered a solid MMO with a balance of smart innovation and polished imitation, and it sets itself apart enough to be worth a look for those who are seeking something different than the same old grind.
  9. Mar 29, 2011
    83
    Whether or not the end game content manages to keep my attention remains to be seen, but so far this is easily the most polished MMO I've ever played within a month of launch, and I can easily see myself re-subscribing to it next month.
  10. Mar 11, 2011
    75
    Rift's potential is what's most impressive about it. Here's a game that's already accomplished more than half of what all those "WoW-killers" ever did, and it's still in its infancy. Does it have its issues? Of course. Would I rather play WoW? Right now, yes I would. But Blizzard's had over seven years to develop its product, and Trion's just getting started.
  11. Apr 5, 2011
    80
    All in all, Rift is the first real alternative to the best theme park MMORPGs on the market, WoW and LotRO. And this is without any doubt, a good thing!
  12. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    Rift is a true polished gem shining upon the MMO scene and I don't see that light dimming anytime soon. This is truly a must buy for any MMO fans.
  13. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    Rift needs to prove it can offer far more beyond 50. Trion's baby already shows some promise of being the most successful MMO release since World of Warcraft, but the endgame currently stands as a looming question mark that overshadows everything else.
  14. May 1, 2011
    80
    RIFT is a solid proposal and we have seen very few of them in the latest years. Its gameplay is typical but also has a lot of interesting and fun innovations.
  15. Mar 28, 2011
    83
    While Rift still has some things to iron out in terms of balance, bugs and lag, that's par for the course for any new MMO and since launch, the Rift team has been actively talking to the community and addressing their concerns. Although many of the quests could use a heavier dose of originality, the game as a whole offers a large amount of interest and fun; so much in fact, it just might lure more than a few players away from that other MMO.
  16. Mar 17, 2011
    85
    Absolutely colossal, Rift aims high and hits its mark, proving that there's room to grow within the traditional MMO format.
  17. May 3, 2011
    90
    It may not be a WoW-killer, but it certainly gives the Blizzard juggernaut serious competition.
  18. Mar 24, 2011
    83
    Rift does many things that other MMORPGs introduced over the last few years, but to its credit - it does them well and in many cases better. While it's not innovative, it's a solid, enjoyable game worth player investment and acclaim.
  19. May 4, 2011
    92
    Ultimately though, RIFT has had one of the smoothest launches in MMO history, and Trion Worlds has shown publicly that they're willing to own up to their mistakes as soon as they're made, and are quick to enact change to prevent things from recurring, as shown by their near-instant creation of the coin-lock system and their authenticators, as well as their reaction to the end of the River of Souls event.
  20. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    If you're looking for something radically different in the MMORPG realm you won't find it in Rift, but you will find a quality game.
  21. Mar 18, 2011
    80
    Rift is a quite brilliant MMORPG, perfect if you've never played a persistent online game before, and really interesting if you're a staunch fan of the genre.
  22. Mar 28, 2011
    90
    Rift is a great online role-playing game that boasts with a beautiful, varied and light effects permeated world.
  23. Mar 8, 2011
    70
    Despite the fact that Rift is a well crafted game, with some fresh ideas and a nice class system, its desire to confront World of Warcraft ("We're not in Azeroth anymore") forces a point-to-point comparison where the Trion game doesn't succeed beat the Blizzard champion.
  24. Apr 26, 2011
    90
    Rift has and offers more than we can expect from such a new online-RPG. The game has an amazing level of polish and reeks of pure quality. And even though we've seen all elements of the game before, studio Trion managed to give every one of them their own twist, what makes the whole larger than the sum of its parts.
  25. Apr 12, 2011
    82
    Rift is a young game, so it's natural for it to exhibit some growing pains during these early months. Still, even amidst the relative flux of rapidly-changing classes and other early-game kinks, the experience feels remarkably complete and cohesive.
  26. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    Despite of being a World of Warcraft clone, RIFT is definetly a good and recommended MMORPG for those looking for a "themepark" experiencie. It is filled with plenty of content, and it is almost bug-free, so Trion has definetly achieved what they were trying to: a good, complete and polite massive online game.
  27. Mar 14, 2011
    90
    It has taken all the boring bits of the genre, reworked them and delivered a well polished game that continues to surprise and delight.
  28. Mar 4, 2011
    80
    The launch of an MMO, even a well-crafted and solid one like Rift, is but a doorway to the land of perpetual development, with as many chances to succeed than to fail. This is probably why Trion chose to deliver a game that feels comfortable, and functional, with only light touches of innovation - a solid foundation upon which to build. While I'm awaiting to discover what they will propose during the upcoming year, I'm savoring the arrival of a new big MMO on the market, and the pleasures of playing with it.
  29. 70
    Solid MMO attracts players with vast and detailed game world and tested game mechanics but lacks really interesting quests and experiments. [Issue#203]
  30. Mar 22, 2011
    90
    Whether you're an MMO veteran looking for your next fix, or if you're a newbie looking to expand tour horizons and jump into the genre for the first time, RIFT is an excellent place to start. Just remember - we're not in Azeroth anymore.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 522 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 46 out of 212
  1. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    Rift is an excellent first mmo for anyone and a nice relief for WoW veterans. the class system is creative and lets you make a ton of different combinations. the rifts are a nice touch and to tell you the truth i didnt think i would care much for them. the rifts add a sense of urgency and unity in the community and offer decent rewards. the graphics in and outside of rifts are just short of top notch. extremely tiny bits of lags but other than that no technical problems to speak of. I highly recommend this game to anyone who wants all the good of a traditional mmo with a twist for fun Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    I have been playing Rift since its head-start, and I must admit that I've had the best first week experience ever. Servers have been smooth. Updates were done when necessary, addressing issues reported as soon as possible. Leveling has been interesting, although traditional and linear. Graphics look great even on my old computer. Quite a lot of people are playing it, so no shortage of players. However, three things really stood out. First, the whole class system is truly a work of genius. I love how I can mix and match my souls to experiment with different specs. There is no cookie-cutter build, and the strength of a character is determined by the skills of a player, not by whether she or he avidly followed someone else's guideline. Two, there's always something to do in the game. The game is so dynamic, having rifts and invasions all over different zones, not to mention Warfronts (PvP Battleground), challenging instances, and raids (which I've not been able to try yet). You have the sense of actually getting involved in this imaginary world. Third, last but not least, it is fun. It's difficult to pinpoint and state exactly why it is fun, but, trust me, it is so much fun. The game definitely has great and lasting value for its price, so I suggest you run into Rift and try it out now. Full Review »
  3. Mar 1, 2011
    9
    Excellent and extremely diverse class system. The world isn't stale like you find in many other MMOs. I've routinely had a goal in mind and been pulled into the world events. I am a casual player and I like it a lot more than WoW. I always hate to make that comparison, but it needs to be made. The only downside I can specify right now is that the server gets laggy during larger events. However, I suppose this will be refined as this game develops. There are a lot of people playing which is a plus and most seem to really like the game. I'd also like to state that the game seems to be quite a bit more challenging on the PvE side of the fence which I personally like. Overall this game is quite impressive. A must buy for any MMO fan. Full Review »