Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 7 out of 7
  1. Jul 23, 2013
    45
    While this isn't among the worst movie video game tie-ins, it certainly doesn’t buck the trend of mediocrity. It’s simply… not arresting.
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    30
    R.I.P.D.: The Game is bad.
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    30
    Poor design choices and a lack of content result in R.I.P.D. the Game fitting the stereotype that movie tie-in video games aren’t worth your time and money. While there’s some cool looking weapons (such as a banana) to unlock as a reward for continuous play, after playing for a few hours nothing really seems worth the trouble.
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    25
    A pitiful excuse for a cooperative shooter and a prime example of a disappointing movie tie-in.
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    20
    Using an existing - mediocre- title to do a total conversion for adapting a - pretty bad - movie? Well, why not, but don't count on us to play it.
  6. Jul 19, 2013
    20
    It saddens me to say that there really isn’t anything redeemable about R.I.P.D.. It’s boring, repetitive, and there really isn’t any circumstance I can think of that would make me recommend it to anyone. I could prolong this depressing review by talking about some of the game’s smaller features, but it would all be for nothing, as they are really just more garbage thrown onto the pile. And I’d much rather rid myself of R.I.P.D. by playing a better game.
  7. Jul 19, 2013
    0
    Apathy is also the only emotion I feel towards R.I.P.D. It’s a rushed, lazy, poorly developed game that barely stands up on its own. Somehow it gets even worse with the license, bringing it into a bad licensed game pantheon alongside E.T.
User Score
1.5

Overwhelming dislike- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 13 out of 14
  1. Jul 18, 2013
    1
    This game sucks. Really! It is a complete and full re-skin of Godmode (Which BTW wasn't very good either) With a few added maps andThis game sucks. Really! It is a complete and full re-skin of Godmode (Which BTW wasn't very good either) With a few added maps and animations. And for anyone who is gonna argue against me, HOW DO YOU MAKE A COMPLETE GAME FROM SCRATCH IN 3 MONTHS?! Exactly, you don't.

    You should really try to avoid this game at all costs, The people giving it 9, and 10's are obviously not real consumers.

    Even IF you see this discounted, DON'T BUY IT! I'm really sorry telling people not to buy games from an indie-dev, but come on! Don't buy it, this will get the dev more money and encourage other devs to make these simple re-skinned cash-grabs of their own games.

    Final score: 1, If you play this in Co-Op you may find a little bit of enjoyment, but that's IT! AVOID THIS GAME AT ALL COSTS!
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    0
    Worse game i've ever played.

    Currently playing it but the first time you notice is that literallty a copy of their previous game God Mode.
    Worse game i've ever played.

    Currently playing it but the first time you notice is that literallty a copy of their previous game God Mode.

    Just some stuff got changed, but nothing got deep in the game.

    The game play is awful and not fluid at all. MANY crashes.

    I don't recommend!
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    1
    This game is literaly God mode but retextured. Aside from that and you can bet who will get the most kills, it's God Mode. The maps are mehThis game is literaly God mode but retextured. Aside from that and you can bet who will get the most kills, it's God Mode. The maps are meh and just overal a bad game. Basicly another fail to make a good game based off of a movie Full Review »