Rise of Flight: The First Great Air War Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: All is not quiet on the Western Front in 1917 high above the trenches and scarred No Man’s Land the sound of piston engines can be heard, the chatter of machine guns fill the air and the bark of flak bursts echo across the countryside. During the First World War a new breed of warriorAll is not quiet on the Western Front in 1917 high above the trenches and scarred No Man’s Land the sound of piston engines can be heard, the chatter of machine guns fill the air and the bark of flak bursts echo across the countryside. During the First World War a new breed of warrior emerged, reminiscent of the Knights of old, inspired by chivalry and pushed to their limits by modern technology, they fought a new kind of war an air war. Welcome to Rise of Flight: The First Great Air War. [777 Studios] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    90
    The best World War I combat flight simulator ever. To hold your airplane in the skies is an easy task. But it will take some time and lot of training to become a real ace. Rise of Flight is heavily inspired by IL-2 Sturmovik's style and it is able to deliver and entertain almost every virtual pilot.
  2. A fantastic WWI flight-sim for the hard-core that might encourage a few others to join the ranks. [Oct 2009, p.93]
  3. Has all the ingredients for sim greatness, except a strong singleplayer campaign and a robust number of planes. [Jan 2010, p.108]
  4. Rise of Flight offers a great simulation of the planes of WWI, lacks however in terms of campaign design and multiplayer.
  5. Rise of Flight offers great and realistic battles during the First World War, but without a story and variety it's short-lived fun. But there's no comparable game out there where you can just go and fly into battle without much hassle. A joystick is recommended.
  6. There is a reason for comparisons between Rise of Flight and the legendary IL-2 Sturmovik. Rise of Flight is truly a good game. Now all it needs to do is to use its potential.
  7. Rise of Flight is at its core a strong flight simulator. So while flying is fun, dogfighting and bombing ultimately left something to be desired.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 33
  2. Negative: 9 out of 33
  1. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    It is simply amazing.

    After a Day of hard work, I take off in a plane just to roam over France and England and have some chivalry with
    It is simply amazing.

    After a Day of hard work, I take off in a plane just to roam over France and England and have some chivalry with folks around the world. The flight model is superb (I am in love with the Nieuport 11), the graphics are stunning and the on-line community is super. You should give it a try. They have a free play version to check it out.
    Expand
  2. Sep 6, 2013
    10
    The best WWI flight sim out there. So many details. Beautiful planes, flight model, and so many details. Fly either single or two seaters.The best WWI flight sim out there. So many details. Beautiful planes, flight model, and so many details. Fly either single or two seaters. Two seater missions as never before. Call in artillery. Fly armed escorts.

    And, of course PWCG. What's not to love:). (Visit the forum and this will make sense).

    It's not quite perfect yet. A few more planes, a few more tweaks and it will be there. This is a sim for true flight sim lovers. It is not casual, so don't expect to play it with a mouse. But f you like flight sims and you like your action up close and personal, nothing beats it.
    Expand
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    Rise of Flight is a first rate flight sim and probably the best all around World War One sim currently available. The graphics areRise of Flight is a first rate flight sim and probably the best all around World War One sim currently available. The graphics are outstanding, and the developer has included a number of scaling options to fit a wide range of PCs. Any standard joystick will work fine for controls. The flight model is very good, with each airplane having its own unique personality - none feels generic. Overall, Rise of Flight recreates the sense of flight better than any sim I've ever played. Just flying the planes is great fun. With a new campaign mode scheduled for the next (free!) update, Rise of Flight is a worthy successor to Red Baron. NOTE: The DRM system has changed substantially since the early reviews. Apart from logging on to install the game, download updates, or change your in-game profile (the nationality of your pilot), the game can be played entirely offline. I go weeks without ever logging on to the server; there's absolutely no need to for day-to-day single-player play. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2013
    9
    Rise of Flight offers the purest propsim flying that you can find. You find yourself high up in the air in a wood and canvas biplane, with aRise of Flight offers the purest propsim flying that you can find. You find yourself high up in the air in a wood and canvas biplane, with a very basic engine humming in front of you, ready to perform deadly combat where you can see your opponent's white in the eyes.

    The sim was released in 2009 with just 4 planes, and it has come a very very long way since then, it has been improved in ever possible way. There is a lot of DLC available, but even the free to play version at riseofflight.com is breeming with content that will last you weeks if not months. The amount of fidelity you get in flight models, graphics and game modes is unparallelled. And you can experience it without having to spend a penny, so there's no reason not to be your own judge on it!
    Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2012
    7
    I have ROF, and I am here to tell you WITHOUT A DOUBT that the Fokker Dr1 flight model is NOT accurate! And before you say "how would you knowI have ROF, and I am here to tell you WITHOUT A DOUBT that the Fokker Dr1 flight model is NOT accurate! And before you say "how would you know that?" , let me just say... Because I own one!
    I am the owner of a full size Fokker Dr1 Triplane that I have been flight testing for the past three months. Look up "vongrube" on YouTube and you can watch my flight videos.
    The ROF Dr1 flight model is horrible! Watch my videos. You don't see the nose pitching up and down, or the plane skittering all over the sky. If my plane acted that way on the first test flight, I would probably not have survived the experience. Granted...my plane IS touchy, and unstable...just like the original. But no where close to what ROF depicts! In 35 years as a fixed wing and helicopter pilot I have NEVER flown any aircraft that flies the way ROF depicts their triplane!
    I wish these game designers would actually sit down with REAL pilots of these classic planes and interview them intensly. Then, allow them to fly the simulator and listen to their input. If you really want to know how a plane flies, talk to an actual pilot OF that plane. Stop taking second, third, and fourth hand stories from magazines and books, and then try to interpret the meanings. There are plenty of pilots who fly actual and replica warbirds out there (including myself) who would be more than willing to help out with an accurate flight model simulation.
    Expand
  6. SimonF
    Aug 28, 2009
    4
    Compared to Over Flanders Fields...this sucks! Buying additional aircraft, being logged onto Russian Servers,..little in the way of Compared to Over Flanders Fields...this sucks! Buying additional aircraft, being logged onto Russian Servers,..little in the way of atmospherics...I feel cheated! Collapse
  7. Dec 27, 2013
    0
    I think this developer gets the most greedy award for 2013. That's saying a lot considering who they compete against for said award (EA,I think this developer gets the most greedy award for 2013. That's saying a lot considering who they compete against for said award (EA, Ubisoft etc). As of this writing this game is on a flash sale on Steam for 75% off. If I were to purchase this game at that discount with all of it's "DLC's" it would cost me $60. That's at 75% off. why do people support devs who act like this? Boggles the mind. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews