Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. A solid and yet pointless action-rpg that is missing almost everything what made God of War a blast: spectacular bossfights, a thrilling plot, charismatic characters, impressive architecture and design, a fluid combat system and an epic orchestral soundtrack - you won't find any of that in Rise of the Argonauts.
  2. A strong and remarkable story of true warriors and leaders is the best example of this blockbuster game. You can spend great weekends with it but NEVER try to learn any historical facts from Argonauts for Zeus’s sake. [Issue#174, Jan 2009]
  3. Persevere a little and you'll soon be having a lot of fun. [Apr 2009, p.72]
  4. Just another half-assed console port. [Mar 2009, p.74]
  5. There are some good ideas, the fights look great, but Liquid Entertainment wasted their good concept. The fights turn out to be simple key bashing, there is not enough good dialogue for a RPG and far too much babbling for an action game.
  6. 65
    The problem is how the game's put together – so much has been stripped from what we traditionally think of as an RPG and an action game that the result feels like an awkward, neutered hybrid bloated by hours and hours of static dialogue sequences.
  7. Rise of the Argonauts may be based on some ambitious ideas, but the implementation is terribly uneven and filled with obvious corner-cutting. The "action" and "RPG" elements are both weak and what little gameplay there is feels flat and uninteresting. PC conversion is a rush job with little effort to cater for the platform.
  8. Fails to be what it sets out to be – a game. But still manages to be a charming journey for anyone with plenty of patience.
  9. 60
    Rise of the Argonauts is an unquestionably flawed game. This should not be taken to mean it's not fun to play. Even with the underwhelming aspects of the game factored in, this is a truly ambitious game. It feels like an A-list title made with a C-list budget, but there is heart to it.
  10. Rise of the Argonauts has a nice story and something to offer, but shortcomings like this chip away at the fun and ultimately keep the game from matching its legendary sources of inspiration.
  11. The developers probably wanted the game to have Action and RPG characteristics in equal doses, but the blend ultimately failed. And I personally regret that the mystifying ancient Greek missed its potential in this title.
  12. Disappointing! Granted, the aggressive argonauts deliver a fresh setting and some good ideas. But when it comes to the basics, the gaming experience is rather weak.
  13. Decent visuals, juicy combat system and the interesting character development are the games strong points, but a horde of glaring design errors pushes them aside. And it takes a lot of dedication to suffer through the incredibly boring preparations to the journey. [Feb 2009]
  14. Innovation in Rise of Argonauts goes in the wrong direction. Although the story is not bad and the epic and mythic world remains interesting, it's gameplay mechanics and technical flaws make the game boring and uninteresting.
  15. Not enough story or character for a role playing game, not enough combat for an action game, Rise of the Argonauts must languish in Tartarus, the mythological Greek hell.
  16. If there's an upside to this game, it's that despite the shallow combat system, it's rather amusing to spill blood in battle. That's a small upside for a game that costs $60 and demands you sit through hours of talking just to kill stuff.
  17. While Rise of the Argonauts offers lots of hacking and slashing, which is fun for a time, its story, style and sound aren’t enough to atone for its shallowness and elevate this odyssey to the epic heights to which it aspires.
  18. Bland, unoriginal, buggy, beleaguered with frame-rate issues, filled with visual 'quirks', and featuring combat that's lacking any great sense of satisfaction, Rise of the Argonauts is a truly lacklustre action-RPG experience.
  19. Die-hard roleplaying game fans might have shrugged off its technical flaws and turgid combat if only the story had a pay-off. But instead of a tragic hero, Jason’s a dud. [Feb 2009, p.86]
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. TanerY?ld?r?m
    Dec 31, 2008
    9
    It's neighter a God of War nor any other RPGs.

    This is something like a movie whose director is just you. You make your own choices,
    It's neighter a God of War nor any other RPGs.

    This is something like a movie whose director is just you.
    You make your own choices, you make your own history, you make your own story, you choose and follow your own fate.

    This game is absolutely fantastic. Yes, it has some bad flaws such as dated textures, stiffed animations expecially on characters' faces, no mini map, a little stuttering and frame drop. But the goods definately outnumber the bads.

    Excellent sound design, voice and music that suit the characters and whole story.
    Excellent story that sucks you in and provides you choices to direct your own movie.
    Excellent cut-scenes that suit the story.
    Excellent fighting system with lots of varieties and choices and finishing moves with a good use of slow-motion.
    Excellent, innonative skill tree and experience system.

    By the way, remember, strong stories in the games is the future of the gaming industry. I have been in PC gaming for 11 years. Now i can clearly see that how a strong story completely changes all of my feelings about a video game. I was almost crying in some parts of ROTA.

    A must buy.

    Eagerly anticipating the next Argonaouts story with a little more action and bug-free gameplay.
    Full Review »
  2. AaronGoodman
    Jan 21, 2009
    8
    Well, I have not yet finished this game, but it has been a very enjoyable game from my perspective. I'm not a huge RPG fan, but this gameWell, I have not yet finished this game, but it has been a very enjoyable game from my perspective. I'm not a huge RPG fan, but this game hits a nice balance between just enough RPG and Action to keep me hooked. Even though I have had my share of dialog related crashes with the game, it is still a very well done game and looks fantastic on my gaming rig at 1680x1050. I get around 85 fps average for the whole game. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2014
    10
    This game was ahead of its time. Critics seemed to have taken the high production values for granted. This is an epic tale worth exploringThis game was ahead of its time. Critics seemed to have taken the high production values for granted. This is an epic tale worth exploring for the story alone. The artwork is amazing. Very few bugs. Great voice acting. If anyone was to make a game to explore Greek mythology today the game would probably not make money. Full Review »