Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    This is the first-person shooter distilled, a tribute to PC gaming's glorious days of yore. You need to play it. [Sept 2013, p.88]
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    85
    At $14.99 it is perfect for gamers that cut their FPS teeth on games like the original and others like it. Interceptor has done an amazing job at recreating one of my fondest memories of PC gaming.
  3. Aug 1, 2013
    85
    It stays true to the original with its design philosophy and retention of some of the original assets, but it also brings modern conveniences to the forefront without all the pay to win or over-saturated downloadable content nonsense.
  4. Jul 31, 2013
    85
    It’s a total throwback that openly defies nearly every advancement of the last 15 years. But for once, this is in the service of a great play experience and not simple laziness (or a time/budget crunch).
  5. Mar 11, 2014
    82
    Rise of the Triad is a faithful tribute to both the original game and to the FPS games of the nineties in general. Hopefully the technical issues will be patched out soon, though. [Nov 2013]
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    80
    It may be a little buggy and unbalanced, but Rise of the Triad is a gleefully stupid and hugely entertaining retro shoot 'em up. [Oct 2013, p.62]
  7. Aug 30, 2013
    80
    Right now, Rise of the Triad is a thrilling, fast-paced return to the sensibilities of '90s shooters, and is well worth dropping 15 bucks on; in the future, with new content, mod support and rebalanced online play patched in, it has the potential to be even better, and it bodes well for future remake projects Interceptor has its eye on.
  8. Aug 12, 2013
    80
    ROTT might not a the game that you will play for ever. It might not even be a game you will finish. But it will make you forget about your mortgage, your job, or your fear of missing out. For one or two fleeting hours, you’ll be a kid again, and that selfish pleasure is worth it.
  9. Aug 2, 2013
    80
    An unsubtle, explosive idiot of a game, that's actually far smarter for knowing it's so stupid. Lovely labyrinthine levels, huge guns and even huger guts, it's a bit of a corker.
  10. Aug 1, 2013
    80
    Fans of the original rejoice; it’s everything you’d want in a resurrection. Newcomers should exercise more caution. ROTT is a fantastic game with unrestrained charm, but it comes with a little more fire than modern games will have prepared you to expect.
  11. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    Despite a few iffy choices and some frame rate issues, this new, fresh version of an FPS semi-classic breathes new life into the classic shooter genre. Even if you didn't grow up playing these games in the early-mid 90s, I think you'll still value the kind of action that Rise of the Triad provides.
  12. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    It’s clear that Interceptor Interactive was determined to do two things: Place as many Kim Jong-Un jokes in a video game level as humanly possible, and craft a game that follows in the footsteps of the original Rise of the Triad.
  13. Aug 7, 2013
    78
    A "blast from the past" not everyone will enjoy, but that certainly has a lot of fun to give to those looking for a classic action game.
  14. Jul 31, 2013
    76
    Rise of the Triad is a must-have for fans of the original ROTT or for those that enjoy 1990's FPS gaming. At $15, it's a great value, too.
  15. Aug 20, 2013
    75
    Even though Rise of the Triad is a buggy experience that’s slowly getting fixed with each subsequent patch, it still stands as one of the best examples of a classic title being given a facelift for the modern age.
  16. Aug 7, 2013
    75
    Rise of the Triad is back as a faithful tribute and this means that it's funny like the original but it's also old like the original.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 221 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 75
  2. Negative: 26 out of 75
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    The devs promised a patch to fix the performance... 1.0.1 was patched to remove the developer debug commands (yes) and getting LAN (a sellingThe devs promised a patch to fix the performance... 1.0.1 was patched to remove the developer debug commands (yes) and getting LAN (a selling point, according to them) to actually work. This is what we get for forking out our money. Now they are saying it might be another 5 weeks to patch it in. Sorry, but I'm not going to waste my time with your piss poor game. Don't lie to us and tell us the game runs 120fps, dont lie and say you can make your own weapons, don't lie and say weapon fov can be adjusted, don't lie and say your first patch will fix our major problems, when all you did was remove the debug commands. I mean REALLY? they claimed to be optimising the game and polishing it for months, this is the result of all their hard work? Boy, I can't wait to see what they have left in store! /sarcasm Even one of the developers commented on forum 'WE'RE SORRY GUYS, WE THOUGHT YOU WOULD LOVE IT!" meaning this is their best work. Nope, cash grab, cash grab, cash grab. You have my money, you're probably laughing, but I hope you choke on it, because I'm never buying one of your games ever again. Even if it's free, I don't want your stinking trash on my computer. Game died in 1 day, not even 500 people playing compared to 2000 on day one. R.I.P. ROTT IN PIECES. OH THE PUNS Full Review »
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Launch day Video issues are a common thing now a days...My 6990 has a few problems getting 60...But turning off a few things and it worksLaunch day Video issues are a common thing now a days...My 6990 has a few problems getting 60...But turning off a few things and it works great. This Game is nuts! AND the first game i think since 2002 to have DIRECT IP CONNECTION FOR MP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AWESOME. WHen you log in (Gog and steam MP servers for all) It says welcome to the master race! Full Review »
  3. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    People giving this game a 10/10 are either paid stooges or out of their minds. This game has so many faults it would take all day to list. ThePeople giving this game a 10/10 are either paid stooges or out of their minds. This game has so many faults it would take all day to list. The controls are sloppy, the graphics are outdated by a decade, the levels are small and uninspired, the movement speed is absurd, the auto-save is broken, the A.I. is stupid, and those are just the things that are working as intended. There are also a multitude of bugs causing graphic glitches, clipping, frame rate drops, and downright crashes. Yes, it is a bargain bin $15 title, but that is no excuse for releasing a piece of software that clearly still belongs in alpha testing. I gave this 2/10 only out of nostalgia, and it's a shame because this classic franchise deserved a better developer. Full Review »