Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Aug 1, 2013
    55
    While the $15 asking price makes ROTT's flaws more palatable, the sadistic single-player level design, the optimization problems and bugs, and the limited multiplayer content are major turnoffs.
  2. Aug 1, 2013
    60
    Rise of the Triad delivers on over-the-top weapons, goofy power-ups, and one of the most sincere deathmatch modes in quite some time, and it's undeniably a retro experience from top to bottom.
  3. Aug 12, 2013
    74
    Everything that you loved and hated about the 1994 original—ludicrous gibs, explosives, boss fights, and first-person platforming.
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    74
    Priced on release day at only $15, this game is a worthy, if flawed, tribute to the 90’s PC gamer that can be enjoyed by the old-school and new-school alike.
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    70
    Where the modern FPS has become bloated with features and alternate gameplay styles, this is focused on delivering a simple experience that’s true to its origins.
  6. 50
    A fun reminder of how first person shooters used to be, but the opportunity to marry the best of the old and the new has been studiously avoided.
  7. Aug 7, 2013
    62
    Rise of the Triad has its heart in the right place. How often does a game give you six different rocket launchers? But goofiness doesn't remedy the multitude of bugs. Hopefully Interceptor will address these issues, but right now, Rise of the Triad is less of a triumphant comeback and more of a fun diversion.
  8. Aug 6, 2013
    70
    Rise of the Triad will never be confused for a great FPS, but it’s pure popcorn fun from beginning to end.
  9. 60
    A retro thing by every bit of it. Even though it won't save the game industry, it manages to entertain flat and plain, and it remembers how shooters used to look like many years before. [Issue#233]
  10. Aug 1, 2013
    50
    I really don’t want to rag too much on Rise of the Triad given it works so hard – and often succeeds – to just be an even-more-ridiculous modern-looking remake of a classic FPS. In many ways Interceptor have done exactly that, but in others I really wish they’d been more ambitious.
  11. Aug 7, 2013
    54
    I like old school action. But this shooting gallery doesn’t deliver.
  12. Aug 28, 2013
    60
    When Rise of the Triad is just a shooter, it’s a great shooter. Unfortunately it also tries to be a first-person platformer and these segments are awful. [CD-Action 10/2013, p.64]
  13. Aug 12, 2013
    70
    I can’t fault what Interceptor Entertainment have created with Rise of the Triad. They’ve accomplished what they set out to do – bring a faithful remake of a very old first-person shooter that hasn’t sacrificed it’s soul for modern gaming. Any gamer who loved the classic shooters of the 90′s will have a blast with it.
  14. Aug 3, 2013
    65
    This remake operation by Interceptor and Apogee contains many flaws that undermine its overall success; autosaves are too infrequent, frustrating platform sections, as well as a game formula that is so naive and "harmless" (splatter included) that will hardly find proselytes out of the retrogamers circle.
  15. Aug 13, 2013
    50
    Buggy and unfinished.
  16. Jul 31, 2013
    60
    It's good, silly fun, and nails the experience of the original just about perfectly, but it's also a reminder that not everything from those early days of run-and-gun deserves to be celebrated.
  17. Jul 31, 2013
    70
    A faithful and enjoyable update of an overlooked FPS classic. It won't set the world alight, but Rise of the Triad deserves the attention of anyone who fondly remembers the FPS games of yesteryear or resents the slow hand-holding and cover-taking of recent corridor shooters.
  18. 70
    A blast from the past, a type of shooter that just isn't made these days. Ridiculously fast, absurdly gory and deliberately silly. Certainly not for everyone, and the online play still needs some work, but if you're in any way tempted by this game, you should go right out and buy it.
  19. 70
    Rise of the Triad can stand on its own legs if you take it for what it is, which is a throwback to an era of shooters long gone.
  20. Sep 11, 2013
    70
    Despite its constant punishment and inherently derivative nature, it stands apart from its modern-day competitors. Its appeal and its absurdity are one and the same.
  21. Aug 8, 2013
    65
    A fast, brutal and extremely old-school shooter with a considerable amount of flaws. I wanted to delete the game on more than one occasion - it has lots of technical issues, horrendous optimization and some irritating gameplay solutions. But all in all I had fun, and kept playing - not just because of the review. Rise of the Triad is pretty cool, but you need to accept it for what it is.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 221 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 75
  2. Negative: 26 out of 75
  1. Aug 2, 2013
    0
    The devs promised a patch to fix the performance... 1.0.1 was patched to remove the developer debug commands (yes) and getting LAN (a sellingThe devs promised a patch to fix the performance... 1.0.1 was patched to remove the developer debug commands (yes) and getting LAN (a selling point, according to them) to actually work. This is what we get for forking out our money. Now they are saying it might be another 5 weeks to patch it in. Sorry, but I'm not going to waste my time with your piss poor game. Don't lie to us and tell us the game runs 120fps, dont lie and say you can make your own weapons, don't lie and say weapon fov can be adjusted, don't lie and say your first patch will fix our major problems, when all you did was remove the debug commands. I mean REALLY? they claimed to be optimising the game and polishing it for months, this is the result of all their hard work? Boy, I can't wait to see what they have left in store! /sarcasm Even one of the developers commented on forum 'WE'RE SORRY GUYS, WE THOUGHT YOU WOULD LOVE IT!" meaning this is their best work. Nope, cash grab, cash grab, cash grab. You have my money, you're probably laughing, but I hope you choke on it, because I'm never buying one of your games ever again. Even if it's free, I don't want your stinking trash on my computer. Game died in 1 day, not even 500 people playing compared to 2000 on day one. R.I.P. ROTT IN PIECES. OH THE PUNS Full Review »
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Launch day Video issues are a common thing now a days...My 6990 has a few problems getting 60...But turning off a few things and it worksLaunch day Video issues are a common thing now a days...My 6990 has a few problems getting 60...But turning off a few things and it works great. This Game is nuts! AND the first game i think since 2002 to have DIRECT IP CONNECTION FOR MP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AWESOME. WHen you log in (Gog and steam MP servers for all) It says welcome to the master race! Full Review »
  3. Aug 1, 2013
    0
    People giving this game a 10/10 are either paid stooges or out of their minds. This game has so many faults it would take all day to list. ThePeople giving this game a 10/10 are either paid stooges or out of their minds. This game has so many faults it would take all day to list. The controls are sloppy, the graphics are outdated by a decade, the levels are small and uninspired, the movement speed is absurd, the auto-save is broken, the A.I. is stupid, and those are just the things that are working as intended. There are also a multitude of bugs causing graphic glitches, clipping, frame rate drops, and downright crashes. Yes, it is a bargain bin $15 title, but that is no excuse for releasing a piece of software that clearly still belongs in alpha testing. I gave this 2/10 only out of nostalgia, and it's a shame because this classic franchise deserved a better developer. Full Review »