Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 1994 shooter returns with a full Unreal Engine 3 remake featuring a classic arsenal and online modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    This is the first-person shooter distilled, a tribute to PC gaming's glorious days of yore. You need to play it. [Sept 2013, p.88]
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    Despite a few iffy choices and some frame rate issues, this new, fresh version of an FPS semi-classic breathes new life into the classic shooter genre. Even if you didn't grow up playing these games in the early-mid 90s, I think you'll still value the kind of action that Rise of the Triad provides.
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    80
    It may be a little buggy and unbalanced, but Rise of the Triad is a gleefully stupid and hugely entertaining retro shoot 'em up. [Oct 2013, p.62]
  4. 70
    A blast from the past, a type of shooter that just isn't made these days. Ridiculously fast, absurdly gory and deliberately silly. Certainly not for everyone, and the online play still needs some work, but if you're in any way tempted by this game, you should go right out and buy it.
  5. Aug 8, 2013
    65
    A fast, brutal and extremely old-school shooter with a considerable amount of flaws. I wanted to delete the game on more than one occasion - it has lots of technical issues, horrendous optimization and some irritating gameplay solutions. But all in all I had fun, and kept playing - not just because of the review. Rise of the Triad is pretty cool, but you need to accept it for what it is.
  6. Aug 1, 2013
    60
    Rise of the Triad delivers on over-the-top weapons, goofy power-ups, and one of the most sincere deathmatch modes in quite some time, and it's undeniably a retro experience from top to bottom.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    40
    This aged hard action liquor will pull your feet out of your shoes and even your socks. However, walking on broken pieces of gameplay that offers many flaws and frustration causes a bit more stinging than it once did.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 72
  2. Negative: 25 out of 72
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    Simply put, a team of dudes with a dream were able to push out a better product than Duke Nukem Forever, that actually captures the sugar-high rush of ADHD and the 90's, while remaining fun to play and tasteful.

    Simply put, it's a must buy for the price...
    If you don't like the game, at least support the developers who poured their souls into the game.
    Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    WOW this takes me back, to when life was simple and all I had was a PC, me and my brother had intel 286's (WHAT!) and networked to play till he had to go to school and I had to go to work. This is how games should be, not too serious and fun to play, hope they do some of their other titles and what price too. WHAT MORE CAN YOU WANT WOOOHOOO. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Launch day Video issues are a common thing now a days...My 6990 has a few problems getting 60...But turning off a few things and it works great. This Game is nuts! AND the first game i think since 2002 to have DIRECT IP CONNECTION FOR MP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AWESOME. WHen you log in (Gog and steam MP servers for all) It says welcome to the master race! Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2013
    8
    Definite optimization issues on varied pc with different configurations and lack of servers is an issue as well. Over all its worth the 15 dollars. Let's hope the devs keep rolling out patches. Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2013
    5
    Why 5/10? Because of optimization. I've got Asus Radeon HD 7770 Graphics card and amd phenom II x4 945 processor 8 gb ram and this game is frapsing on LOW.... i can turn off EVERYTHING and set EVERYTHING to low and it gices a sh**.... I like this game for humor style fast moving but graphics it destroys EVERYTHING. I played on my brothers card geforce 550 titanium.... and it was a lot better than mine card. So 2 capabilities NVIDIA gave them money for worse optimalization for radeon cards or the messed up something. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2014
    4
    The only thing that i loved about this was the nostalgic fast gameplay of 90s shooters. Having performance issues and bugs. Single players difficulty is definitely overkilled, even easy seemed hard. AI simply aimbots you from every corner. And its quite difficult to realize where the shots actually come from. And the later levels also seemed kinda rushed or lazy. Multiplayer was okay. I wouldnt be hard with it if its on Beta state. But full release? Do not rush & stick more to the original chemistry. To be fair its a bit better than some big title remakes. Expand
  7. Jul 3, 2014
    0
    I would not do this ever but i have to do it.

    It's been almost a year now and they still have not patched this HORRIBLE performance issue.
    I re-installed this game to see if it finally would work without me having to manually mess with the .ini files to get good performance but no. I dropped everything to Low on that game launcher and it did just as terribly as if i had the settings on Ludicrious. I cannot beleive this and that is why i quit and uninstalled it. Rise of the Triad is exaclty the kind of game i would want, but i cannot beleive how they don't bother to freakin fix the game. it's great how we have lierally zero Arcade FPS nowadays, and this one that is actually Arcade FPS, wont be fixed. I cannot do anything else but give a zero to this game because i am so furious right now. Expand

See all 72 User Reviews