Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 1994 shooter returns with a full Unreal Engine 3 remake featuring a classic arsenal and online modes.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 40
  2. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Aug 27, 2013
    90
    This is the first-person shooter distilled, a tribute to PC gaming's glorious days of yore. You need to play it. [Sept 2013, p.88]
  2. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    Despite a few iffy choices and some frame rate issues, this new, fresh version of an FPS semi-classic breathes new life into the classic shooter genre. Even if you didn't grow up playing these games in the early-mid 90s, I think you'll still value the kind of action that Rise of the Triad provides.
  3. Sep 4, 2013
    80
    It may be a little buggy and unbalanced, but Rise of the Triad is a gleefully stupid and hugely entertaining retro shoot 'em up. [Oct 2013, p.62]
  4. 70
    A blast from the past, a type of shooter that just isn't made these days. Ridiculously fast, absurdly gory and deliberately silly. Certainly not for everyone, and the online play still needs some work, but if you're in any way tempted by this game, you should go right out and buy it.
  5. Aug 8, 2013
    65
    A fast, brutal and extremely old-school shooter with a considerable amount of flaws. I wanted to delete the game on more than one occasion - it has lots of technical issues, horrendous optimization and some irritating gameplay solutions. But all in all I had fun, and kept playing - not just because of the review. Rise of the Triad is pretty cool, but you need to accept it for what it is.
  6. Aug 1, 2013
    60
    Rise of the Triad delivers on over-the-top weapons, goofy power-ups, and one of the most sincere deathmatch modes in quite some time, and it's undeniably a retro experience from top to bottom.
  7. Aug 28, 2013
    40
    This aged hard action liquor will pull your feet out of your shoes and even your socks. However, walking on broken pieces of gameplay that offers many flaws and frustration causes a bit more stinging than it once did.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 67
  2. Negative: 23 out of 67
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    If you are a "CoD-mLg-SOBudGET=quality" kindeh' guy, don't get this. You'd hate it. You think graphics and story really matter in this.

    If
    you are a Doom-loving Quake's great kindeh' guy, buy the hell out of this game. Rise of the Triad feels like a 90's FPS, a lot like Quake. I'm giving a 9, because Interceptor hasn't been too quick on fixing the games performance, so, you might want to wait on getting this, it's hell on AMD chipsets. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    WOW this takes me back, to when life was simple and all I had was a PC, me and my brother had intel 286's (WHAT!) and networked to play till he had to go to school and I had to go to work. This is how games should be, not too serious and fun to play, hope they do some of their other titles and what price too. WHAT MORE CAN YOU WANT WOOOHOOO. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Launch day Video issues are a common thing now a days...My 6990 has a few problems getting 60...But turning off a few things and it works great. This Game is nuts! AND the first game i think since 2002 to have DIRECT IP CONNECTION FOR MP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AWESOME. WHen you log in (Gog and steam MP servers for all) It says welcome to the master race! Expand
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    9
    Absolutely awesome! Rise of The Triad (ROTT) is an updated Quake/Arena style shooter, bringing the original '94 ROTT game as well as old school Quake style shooters back into gamers' hands. The game retails for $14.99 which in this opinion is a bit under-priced. The folks at Apogee have created an extremely *fun* shooter that embodies a lot of what the modern shooters no longer have, namely: wackiness, imagination, ludicrous gibs and a lots and lots of speed. The current best selling shooters are all about trying to create a sense of realism, they try to put you on the battlefield, and while they are clearly still tops, ROTT is not trying to copy that model, and Apogee never said that they were. Instead they have created a fast paced and unrealistic (haha it is powered by Unreal 3 after all) shooter that is incredibly enjoyable to play. I am giving it 9/10 due to its one minor flaw, the inability to save when desired, as the current check-point system does not work well with game, and was not a part of the original.

    If you are looking for an extremely fun, fast paced shooter, you can't go wrong with this game and should buy it. If you are looking for another battlefield simulator, you also should buy it so you can see what another shooter is like. Once you get used to it, you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2013
    5
    Why 5/10? Because of optimization. I've got Asus Radeon HD 7770 Graphics card and amd phenom II x4 945 processor 8 gb ram and this game is frapsing on LOW.... i can turn off EVERYTHING and set EVERYTHING to low and it gices a sh**.... I like this game for humor style fast moving but graphics it destroys EVERYTHING. I played on my brothers card geforce 550 titanium.... and it was a lot better than mine card. So 2 capabilities NVIDIA gave them money for worse optimalization for radeon cards or the messed up something. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2014
    4
    The only thing that i loved about this was the nostalgic fast gameplay of 90s shooters. Having performance issues and bugs. Single players difficulty is definitely overkilled, even easy seemed hard. AI simply aimbots you from every corner. And its quite difficult to realize where the shots actually come from. And the later levels also seemed kinda rushed or lazy. Multiplayer was okay. I wouldnt be hard with it if its on Beta state. But full release? Do not rush & stick more to the original chemistry. To be fair its a bit better than some big title remakes. Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    0
    This is a game for masochists only. It is so frustrating because of the hyper-sensitive controls and retarded platforming. You're expected to jump onto moving platforms at Quake III speeds and if you miss judge the landing by one pixel you fall into lava and die. You than have to restart at a ridiculously far back starting point because the checkpoints are really far apart.
    This game would be fun if their was actual shooting in it. There is more jumping and platforming than shooting. Also, the explosions from your own weapons are more likely to kill you than from enemy fire because the blast radius is ridiculous, especially since most fighting is done in small spaces.
    This game is all the reasons I hated old school shooters no shooting, only crappy frustrating platforming and dumb level design.
    Expand

See all 67 User Reviews