• Publisher: Kalypso
  • Release Date: Sep 27, 2013
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 77
  2. Negative: 18 out of 77

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2013
    4
    The game is good in many ways if you have played the patrician port royale games before

    some things are done nice but in my opinion its the same repeating that the whole series was about... trade up to get some cash buy few production buildings and produce the rarest stuff and sell it for big profit unending stream of cash

    I yet again made the mistake of playing this game and
    finding it dull/boring/repetitive after 3/4 hours
    this will be the last patrician/port royale/rise of venice game for me...

    KALYPSO makes great games the only problem lately is. they are always lacking replay value and alot of essential gameplay elements..

    conclusion: PLAY: if you like repetitive tasks games DON'T PLAY: if you are getting bored after doing 2/3 hours the same stuff and don't feel like you accomplished something
    Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    4
    Rise of Venice is a very standard ship trading simulator, which has copied everything from previous games in the sub-genre. It does this well... I experienced only one bug, though it was a critical bug which ruined my campaign play (there was a mission where the goal spawn never spawned). Otherwise, it's well-polished. With RoV, the sub-genre's been given a fresh coat of paint (though... identical games didn't come out more than a couple years ago, so this isn't particularly needed). It suffers the same problem as similar games, where there's quickly nothing interesting to do once you've figured out the trade mechanics. You cart product from an area which produces the product (or where you produce the product) to somewhere where they don't produce it, and take the profit.... over and over. I frankly think EVE Online has effectively rendered this subgenre obsolete or it would, if it weren't subscription-based. You can cart goods around and arb all you want in EVE, and it's plenty more deep and interesting when the buyers and sellers are real people, instead of waiting for consistent, predictable goods consumption having trading being just a small part of a much more grand picture helps a lot in maintaining engagement, too. Ship combat in RoV is quite clunky, and for whatever reason, I consistently had trouble getting the ship I was controlling to board enemy ships when I was right up alongside the enemy vessel, so I eventually just stopped manual ship combat and switched to automatic battles. This also isn't uncommon for the subgenre. Overall, I'd say it's shockingly unambitious, very forgettable, and merely a facelift for people who may not have already played almost-identical games. I mean it's not a "bad" game it's just a knock-off of something I've already played. If you have played almost-identical games, well... Why pay to play what amounts to practically the same game twice? Expand
  3. Oct 8, 2013
    2
    There are games that make you smile, and those that make you cry. Terrible graphics, terrible strategies, terrible waters. Just terrible. A Simply woeful game
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Feb 3, 2014
    60
    A competent, niche title that never fully realises its potential. Fills a gap in the modern game library but little more than that. [Feb 2014, p.88]
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    77
    Free-flowing strategy with a wealth of features. An element of grind, but plenty of satisfying moments too .
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    70
    Rise of Venice finds an interesting angle on the trading history. However, it's a shame that virtual Venice is filled with rats and troublesome pigeons. It's a fail they were not swept out entirely. Anyway, we've just been playing a beautiful strategy game with one very ugly bug.