Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 211 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Rising Storm is the next game in the Red Orchestra franchise. You know the gameplay, features and realistic audio and graphics of RO2 - Rising Storm will take this to the Pacific Theater, adding even more features, new levels, new weapons and new factions. The game allows the player to fight across iconic locations from the famous island-hopping campaigns in the Pacific from 1942 to 1945, as the US Army and Marine Corps fight it out with the Imperial Japanese army and Special Naval Landing Forces. Players experience beach assaults, jungle fighting, close quarters night fighting and more across Guadalcanal, Iwo Jima and Saipan, among other iconic battles. The player is able to take the part of either side – American or Japanese – battling it out online in multiplayer on up to 64-player servers. Rising Storm also introduces an entirely new type of gameplay to the franchise - asymmetrical warfare. The American’s have the apparent advantage in firepower with their fast firing semi-automatic rifles, fully automatic weapons, and devastating flamethrower. The Japanese balance this out with gameplay elements that model their raw courage, ferocity, and cunning use of equipment. Their knee mortars allow them to rain indirect fire down on their enemies from anywhere in the map. Grenades can be planted and turned into booby-traps for unwary GIs. The Japanese put very high store on close-quarter combat, with a bayonet on almost every weapon – even machine guns and SMGs. Their banzai charge suppresses the enemy making it difficult for them to return fire and gives them an opportunity to close in to use bayonets and katanas on their opponents. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 11, 2013
    87
    So if you are looking for a thrilling Pacific theatre WWII shooter and don’t mind having to master it to gain the respect of your fellow players, you should definitely be playing Rising Storm right now.
  2. Jun 3, 2013
    86
    This time the battle takes us out of the cold Stalingrad to the warm islands of the South Pacific. With few changes, but as addictive as Red Orchestra 2, Raising Storm continues to be one of the best multiplayer games out there.
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    85
    The maps are devastatingly effective. [Aug 2013, p.74]
  4. Jul 5, 2013
    81
    Quotation Forthcoming.
  5. Jul 12, 2013
    80
    This is refreshingly different from run of the mill action like Call of Duty. Even after the engine update it isn’t pretty, but what it lacks in beauty it makes up for with striking realism and a tense atmosphere.
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    80
    Rising Storm brings no shame on Red Orchestra 2. Quite the opposite, it strengthens its position as a multiplayer shooter game. The game's atmosphere, graphics, Japanese banzai attacks, and American weaponry along with balanced maps will get you. You will not find a better adapted battlefield of the Pacific War.
  7. Jul 2, 2013
    70
    I expected something close to Battlefield but Rising Storm is far more demanding. It’s been a while since I cursed so much while playing an online shooter. With every round I was telling myself it’s enough, but I kept coming back to get my butt kicked again. Try it – you might enjoy it too. [CD-Action 08/2013, p.73]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 7 out of 63
  1. May 30, 2013
    10
    This game far exceeded my expectations. I'm a big fan of the Red Orchestra series, and just when I was starting to get bored of RO2, Rising storm comes along. AND IT'S AWESOME :D really immersive, gritty and realistic, it is really satisfying. Collapse
  2. May 10, 2014
    10
    Solid, realistic shoting mechanics, unsymmetrical but ballanced sides, good graphics, amazing sounds, great map design.

    Best realism based
    online shoter available. And probably things woun't change untill RO3 comes out. Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    Rising Storm is the best experience you can have online as FPS so far. Great value package with the first Red Orchestra 2 gift as bonus, servers are merged and you can switch between two wonderful scenarios. Unfortunately the first RO2 was released with some minor problem, now Rising Storm is a full relaunch product. An astonishing indie game that doesn't have nothing less than triple A like Battlefield or Call Of duty. Awesome price also, you can buy for a ridicolous price on steam. Expand
  4. Jun 4, 2013
    9
    This is a great game! Sure it takes a bit of practice in realism mode but its well worth the effort. Unlike initial release of RO2:HOS this game is very polished... Excellent job Tripwire! Expand
  5. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Rising Storm is a realistic, multiplayer only, first person shooter set in the pacific theatre. It has set the standard of first person shooters for me. As soon as I entered the game, I was thrown into a immersive world, where artillery shells were being called down near my position, the commander was barking orders to the squad leaders and the Americans were pushing us back.

    There are two opposing factions in this game. The Axis represented by the Japanese and the allied forces represented by the United States of America. Each side has specific classes and features that make their faction good at a specific field. For instance the Japanese can deploy mobile knee mortar units, while the Americans have the flamethrower. The Japanese can banzai charge, bringing the morale of the Americans down while they get rushed. The Americans I believe can do suppressing fire which brings down morale. These are nice differences that when executed correctly can bring victory to either side.

    There are four different squads, each composed of different classes. Each squad has a squad leader, which squad members can spawn on. There is one commander, which can call artillery strikes and recon. The commander is basically playing a strategy game, although it’s in first person and other players might not listen to his commands. This leads to a sense of realism, as other players are dealing with their own problems or might be too cowardly to charge a position.

    The game also gave me a sense of importance, because of the emphasis in being in a squad. While you’re unable to be a lone wolf, or kill the entire opposing team with ease, the feeling of being important is very much apparent. It’s a nice feeling going in, and it’s what keeps me coming back for more.

    The emphasis on team work is brutal. You either work as a team, or you lose the match. There is no getting by that. It’s one of the best features in the game, but also one of the worst. It’s incredibly frustrating when a commander doesn’t have a mic, or the squad leaders don’t know what they’re doing. Even more so annoying is when a commander does not listen to anyone on his team. If you’re going to be in a leader position, please have a mic.

    The graphics are some of the most aesthetically pleasing I've seen, and even on the lower settings the game is just as functional although bland looking. The game could use some optimization in this area though. I often don't feel like I'm getting the best experience with my hardware, and sometimes there just seems to be some slow downs. On other computers, the game looks amazing.

    Overall, this is one of the best first person shooters I have played if not the best. It's for a specific gamer, that values teamwork and realistic gameplay.
    Expand
  6. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    This game is amazing value for its price! great realistic and gritty game and its fun to play. just do not expect it to play out like call of duty, otherwise you are going to die a lot. Expand
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    I bought the uncut version game of the game. It is still requiring Steam and it is cut now! I want the full game experience and not some crippled paternalized version! That's a No Go for me: 0 points! Expand

See all 63 User Reviews